DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendment filed 07/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-14 remain pending.
The previous 35 USC 112 rejection of claims 6 and 7 is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The previous prior art rejections are maintained and reiterated below. See Response to Arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kusunoki et al. (US 2015/0072184).
Regarding claim 1, Kusunoki discloses an energy storage apparatus comprising:
outer housing 200 (a first exhaust part, solid arrow);
communication part 130B (a second exhaust part, dashed arrow);
wherein the first exhaust part is configured for communicating with pressure valve 150 (a pressure releasing device of a battery 400); and
the second exhaust part communicates with the first exhaust part and an external environment S2, so that a gas generated by the battery is discharged through the pressure releasing device, the first exhaust part, and the second exhaust part (Fig. 8).
The pressure valve 150 is an umbrella valve. Reset valves such as umbrella values function as check valves which permit flow in one direction and block flow in the other direction (para 0085), thereby preventing gas from entering a compartment of the battery. Annotated Fig. 8 to Kusunoki is provided below.
Regarding claim 10, Kusunoki discloses wherein the first exhaust part and the second exhaust part are bent relative to each other (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Kusunoki discloses wherein the first exhaust part is configured for a plugging connection with the pressure releasing device (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Kusunoki discloses energy storage devices 400, pressure valve 150, and the directional exhaust device of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Kusunoki discloses interior space S1 (battery compartment).
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2014/0141292).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a vent cap for a battery comprising:
a body 100 (a second exhaust part);
an insert 200 installed inside the body 100 (a first exhaust part);
wherein the first exhaust part is configured for communicating with a valve 300 (a pressure releasing device of a battery); and
the second exhaust part communicates with the first exhaust part and an external environment 136, so that a gas generated by the battery is discharged through the pressure releasing device, the first exhaust part, and the second exhaust part (Figs. 4 and 5).
The valve has an umbrella-like shape (abstract) and is reliably operated according to the internal pressure of the storage battery 500 to thereby quickly exhaust the gas and efficiently block inflow of external air (para 0038), thereby preventing gas from entering a compartment of the battery. Figures 4 and 5 to Lee provided below.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses wherein the first exhaust part is provided with first installation part extending away for the first exhaust part along a radial direction of the first exhaust part; and wherein the first installation is pressed against the second exhaust part (Fig. 4, coupling protrusion 250).
Regarding claim 3, coupling protrusion 250 serves as a first sealing member (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses wherein the directional exhaust device further comprises a second installation part connected to the second exhaust part; and wherein the first exhaust part is sleeved on an inner wall or an outer wall of the second installation part (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the second exhaust part and the second installation part form an integral structure.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses wherein the first exhaust part is configured for a plugging connection with the pressure releasing device (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the vent cap for a battery (abstract), valve 300, and the directional exhaust device of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-8 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the prior art does not teach a directional exhaust device. In response, it is respectfully submitted both Kusunoki and Lee both teach umbrella values, which is a type of check valve that prevent gasses from entering a compartment of the battery. For this reason, the prior art rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723