DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 and 23-26 in the reply filed on 2/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/19/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (US 2022/0059626) (of record by Applicant as US 11,778,865).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kwon (‘626) teaches in figure 2 and the corresponding text, a display panel (DP) comprising: a base layer (BL); a pixel defining layer (PDL) disposed on the base layer, the pixel defining layer including a first light-emitting opening (PXA, left hand side) and a second light-emitting opening (PXA, right hand side) spaced apart from the first light-emitting opening in a first direction; a barrier wall (BK) disposed on the pixel defining layer, the barrier wall including a first barrier wall portion (BK1) which defines a first barrier opening which overlaps the first light-emitting opening and a second barrier wall portion (BK2) which defines a second barrier opening which overlaps the second light-emitting opening; a first light-emitting element (EL) disposed in the first barrier opening, the first light-emitting element including a first anode (AE), a first emission pattern (EML), and a first cathode (CE) which contacts the first barrier wall portion; and a second light-emitting element (LE) disposed in the second barrier opening, the second light-emitting element including a second anode (AE), a second emission pattern (EML), and a second cathode (CE) which contacts the second barrier wall portion, wherein a recess (no number, gap between BK1 and BK 2) is defined in the barrier wall between the first barrier wall portion and the second barrier wall portion.
Regarding dependent claim 10, Kwon (‘626) teaches a portion of the second emission pattern and a portion of the second cathode are disposed in the recess.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Kwon (‘626) teaches when viewed from above a plane, has a bar shape which extends in the first direction or a second direction crossing the first direction (see figure 3).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Kwon (‘626) teaches the recess has a circular shape when viewed from above a plane (see figure 8B).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Kwon (‘626) teaches the recess includes a plurality of recesses (SP1) arranged in the first direction or a second direction crossing the first direction (see figure 8B).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Kwon (‘626) teaches the recess includes a plurality of recesses (SP1) arranged around the first barrier opening and the second barrier opening when viewed from above a plane. (see figure 8B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2022/0059626) (of record by Applicant as US 11,778,865) in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0119114), of record by Applicant.
Regarding claim 2, Kwon (‘626) teaches all of the claimed limitations, including a lower inorganic encapsulation layer (101), but does teach that the lower encapsulation layer is comprised of a first lower inorganic encapsulation pattern which overlaps the first light- emitting opening and is disposed on the first light-emitting element and the first barrier wall portion; and a second lower inorganic encapsulation pattern which overlaps the second light-emitting opening and is disposed on the second light-emitting element and the second barrier wall portion.
Further regarding claim 2, Kim et al. (‘114) teaches in figure 6 and the corresponding text a display device comprised of, in part, a lower inorganic encapsulation layer comprised of a first lower inorganic encapsulation pattern (241) which overlaps the first light-emitting opening and is disposed on the first light-emitting element and the first barrier wall portion; and a second lower inorganic encapsulation pattern (242) which overlaps the second light-emitting opening and is disposed on the second light-emitting element and the second barrier wall portion for the purpose of protecting the electrodes from being exposed to moisture and/or air (see paragraph 0097).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the first and second lower encapsulation layer of Kim in place of the single lower encapsulation layer in Kwon portion for the purpose of protecting the electrodes from being exposed to moisture and/or air.
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. (‘114) teaches a portion of the first lower inorganic encapsulation pattern and a portion of the second lower inorganic 0 encapsulation pattern are accommodated in the recess.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. (‘114) teaches a space is defined between a portion of the first lower inorganic encapsulation pattern and the pixel defining layer in the recess, and a portion of the second lower inorganic encapsulation pattern is disposed in the space.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. (‘114) teaches the recess, a portion of the first lower inorganic encapsulation pattern and a portion of the second lower inorganic encapsulation pattern contact each other (electrically contacted via electrode OP21), and another portion of the first lower inorganic encapsulation pattern and another portion of the second lower inorganic encapsulation pattern are spaced apart from each other in the first direction.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 6, Kwon (‘626) teaches a groove (the opening where MN extends between BK1 and BK2) is defined in a thickness direction of the barrier wall in a region of the lower encapsulation layer which overlaps the recess.
Regarding claim 7, Kwon (‘626) teaches the groove is defined by the lower encapsulation layer (101), while Kwon (‘626) teaches the first and second encapsulation patterns to replace the single layer.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 8, Kwon (‘626) teaches an upper surface of the lower encapsulation layer which overlaps the recess is flat.
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. (‘114) teaches an upper surface of the first lower inorganic encapsulation pattern and an upper surface of the second lower inorganic encapsulation pattern are aligned with each other in a region which overlaps the recess.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 2 above.
Regarding independent claim 23, Kwon (‘626) teaches in figure 2 and the corresponding text, a display panel (DP) comprising: a base layer (BL); a pixel defining layer (PDL) disposed on the base layer, the pixel defining layer defining a first light-emitting opening (PXA) and a second light-emitting opening (PXA) therein; a barrier wall (BK) disposed on the pixel defining layer, the barrier wall including a first barrier wall portion (BK1) which defines a first barrier opening which overlaps the first light-emitting opening and a second barrier wall portion (BK2) which defines a second barrier opening which overlaps the second light-emitting opening, wherein a recess (no number, the gap between BK1 and BK2) is defined between the first barrier wall portion and the second barrier wall portion; a first light-emitting element (EL) disposed in the first barrier opening; a second light-emitting element (LE) disposed in the second barrier opening.
Kwon (‘626) also teaches a lower inorganic encapsulation layer (101) which covers the first light-emitting element and is at least partially accommodated in the recess and covers the second light-emitting element and at least partially accommodated in the recess.
Kwon (‘626) does not teach the lower encapsulation layer including a first lower inorganic encapsulation pattern which covers the first light-emitting element and is at least partially accommodated in the recess and a second lower inorganic encapsulation pattern which covers the second light-emitting element and at least partially accommodated in the recess.
Further regarding claim 23, Kim et al. (‘114) teaches in figure 6 and the corresponding text a display device comprised of, in part, a lower encapsulation layer including a first lower inorganic encapsulation pattern (241) which covers the first light-emitting element and is at least partially accommodated in the recess and a second lower inorganic encapsulation pattern (242) which covers the second light-emitting element and at least partially accommodated in the recess for the purpose of protecting the electrodes from being exposed to moisture and/or air (see paragraph 0097).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the first and second lower encapsulation layer of Kim in place of the single lower encapsulation layer in Kwon portion for the purpose of protecting the electrodes from being exposed to moisture and/or air.
Regarding claim 24, Kwon (‘626) in view of Kim et al. (‘114) teaches a groove (the opening where MN extends between BK1 and BK2) is defined in a thickness direction of the barrier wall in a region of the lower encapsulation layer which overlaps the recess, a portion of a side surface which defines the groove is defined by the first lower inorganic encapsulation pattern, and another portion of the side surface is defined by the second lower inorganic encapsulation pattern.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 23 above.
Regarding claim 25, Kim et al. (‘114) teaches an upper surface of the first lower inorganic encapsulation pattern and an upper surface of the second lower inorganic encapsulation pattern are aligned with each other in a region which overlaps the recess.
The reason for combining is the same as for claim 23 above.
Regarding claim 26, Kwon (‘626) teaches the second light-emitting element includes a second emission pattern (EML) and a second cathode (CE) which contacts the second barrier wall portion, and wherein a portion of the second emission pattern and a portion of the second cathode are disposed in the recess.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0130196 disclose the state of the art for a display device.
Contact Information
JOSEPH L. WILLIAMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875