Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartung (US Patent No. 10134654) and in further view of Arai (PGPub No. 20160093795).
Regarding claim 1, Hartung teaches a method of producing a semiconductor module, the method comprising: providing a power module assembly that comprises a floor section (Fig. 1A points to a power semiconductor module comprising a substrate 2 (floor section).), a housing that encloses an interior volume over the floor section (Id. points to a module housing 6.), and a power semiconductor die mounted to a power electronics carrier within the interior volume (Id. points to one or more semiconductor chips 1 (power semiconductor die) and an assembly layer 25 (power electronics carrier).); filling the interior volume with a potting compound (Fig. 1B and Col. 8, lines 28-33 point to a first encapsulation 25 (potting compound) which may comprise hard silicone gels, elastic silicone rubbers, or encapsulation material such as mold epoxy.).
Hartung fails to explicitly teach providing inductive heatable particles within the power module assembly; and inductively heating the inductive heatable particles to activate and/or accelerate a chemical reaction in the semiconductor module.
Arai teaches providing inductive heatable particles within the power module assembly (Fig. 1A and [0046] point to a semiconductor device comprising an upper magnetic shield member 70 which may be formed by a potting method using an epoxy resin containing fillers (inductive heatable particles), specifically a soft magnetic material.); and inductively heating the inductive heatable particles to activate and/or accelerate a chemical reaction in the semiconductor module (It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would perform an induction curing process (chemical reaction) on the epoxy resin (potting compound) of shield member 70 by which the fillers/soft magnetic material (inductive heatable particles) are induced to generate heat which would naturally activate/accelerate the process.). Thus, it is considered obvious that a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that inductive heatable particles are additionally formed in order to increase thermal conductivity throughout the potting compound.
Regarding claim 2, Arai teaches wherein the inductive heatable particles comprise magnetic nanoparticles (Fig. 1A and [0046] point to an upper magnetic shield member 70 which may be formed by a potting method using an epoxy resin containing fillers (inductive heatable particles), specifically a soft magnetic material such as soft iron (magnetic nanoparticles).). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the inductive heatable particles comprise magnetic nanoparticles like soft iron in order to provide magnetic isolation and/or apply an induction heating curing process to the potting compound.
Regarding claim 3, Hartung in combination with Arai teaches providing an inductive heatable plate that is thermally coupled to the potting compound, wherein the inductive heatable plate comprises the inductive heatable particles ([0046] of Arai points to a soft magnetic material such as soft iron (inductive heatable particles). Fig. 1A and Col. 5, lines 25-37 of Hartung further point to a substrate metallization layer 22 (inductive heatable plate) which may be formed by depositing a metal powder (inductive heatable particles).). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the inductive heatable plate comprises inductive heatable particles like soft iron in order to provide both magnetic isolation and heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 4, Hartung teaches wherein the inductive heatable plate is a metal baseplate that forms the floor section (Fig. 1A and Col. 5, lines 25-37 point to a substrate metallization layer 22 (inductive heatable plate).).
Regarding claim 8, Arai teaches wherein providing inductive heatable particles within the power module assembly comprises incorporating the inductive heatable particles into the potting compound (Fig. 1A and [0046] point to an upper magnetic shield member 70 which may be formed by a potting method using an epoxy resin containing fillers (inductive heatable particles), specifically a soft magnetic material.), and the chemical reaction cures the potting compound (It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would perform a curing process (chemical reaction) on the epoxy resin (potting compound) of shield member 70.). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the potting compound further incorporates inductive heatable particles in order to cure the potting compound via inductive heating.
Regarding claim 9, Arai teaches wherein providing inductive heatable particles within the power module assembly comprises incorporating the inductive heatable particles into the potting compound (Fig. 1A and [0046] point to an upper magnetic shield member 70 which may be formed by a potting method using an epoxy resin containing fillers (inductive heatable particles), specifically a soft magnetic material.), and the chemical reaction activates an adhesion promoter in the potting compound (It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would perform a curing process (chemical reaction) on the epoxy resin (potting compound) of shield member 70, which in turn would naturally promote adhesion between the epoxy resin and the surrounding region(s).). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the potting compound further incorporates inductive heatable particles in order to create an adhesive encapsulates and/or further stabilizes the underlying region(s).
Regarding claim 10, Arai teaches wherein providing inductive heatable particles within the power module assembly comprises incorporating the inductive heatable particles along or within the housing (Fig. 1A and [0046] point to an upper magnetic shield member 70 comprising a soft magnetic material (inductive heatable particles), which is formed along/within the mold resin 80 (housing).). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the inductive heatable particles are formed along or within the housing in order to provide uniform heating throughout the potting compound within the housing and/or provide paths of heat dissipation away from the potting compound and towards the housing.
Regarding claim 11, Arai teaches wherein the housing comprises interior walls that divide the interior volume into a plurality of compartments (Figs. 5B-6A point to a mold resin 80 (housing) that is formed in each region C enclosed by the broken lines (a plurality of compartments).), and wherein incorporating the inductive heatable particles along or within the housing comprises incorporating the inductive heatable particles along or within the interior walls (Fig. 1A and [0046] point to an upper magnetic shield member 70 comprising a soft magnetic material (inductive heatable particles), which is formed along/within the mold resin 80 (housing).). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that a plurality of compartments are formed by the housing in order to better control the incorporation of the inductive heatable particles and the curing process of the potting compound.
Regarding claim 12, Hartung in combination with Arai teaches wherein incorporating the inductive heatable particles along or within the housing comprises forming a passive heatable structure that is arranged along an inside surface of the housing and comprises the inductive heatable particles ([0046] of Arai points filling an epoxy resin with a soft magnetic material such as soft iron (inductive heatable particles). Fig. 1A, Col. 5, lines 63-67, and Col. 7, line 67-Col. 8, line 7 of Hartung further point to a first encapsulant 51 which may comprise filler material (inductive heatable particles) and a module housing 6 (housing; passive heatable structure) made of an electrically insulating material such as plastic. In light of [0030] of the claimed invention, which discloses that both the housing and the passive heatable structure may both comprise plastic, the term “passive heatable structure” is interpreted to mean the same as the portion(s) of the housing that is in contact with the inductive heatable particles.). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the inductive heatable particles are incorporated along or within the housing in order to provide uniform heat dissipation away from the potting compound.
Regarding claim 14, Hartung in combination with Arai teaches incorporating the inductive heatable particles along or within the housing comprises injection molding a structure that comprises a concentration of the inductive heatable particles ([0046] of Arai points filling an epoxy resin with a soft magnetic material (inductive heatable particles). Fig. 1A, Col. 7, line 67-Col. 8, line 7, and Col. 10, lines 34-39 of Hartung further point to a first encapsulant 51 comprising a filler material (inductive heatable particles), which may be formed via injection molding.). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the inductive heatable particles are applied via an injection molding process in order to streamline the fabrication process.
Regarding claim 15, Hartung teaches a semiconductor module, comprising: a floor section (Fig. 1A points to a power semiconductor module comprising a substrate 2 (floor section).); a housing that encloses an interior volume over the floor section (Id. points to a module housing 6.); a power semiconductor die mounted to a power electronics carrier within the interior volume (Id. points to one or more semiconductor chips 1 (power semiconductor die) and an assembly layer 25 (power electronics carrier).); a potting compound within the interior volume (Fig. 1B and Col. 8, lines 28-33 point to a first encapsulation 25 (potting compound) which may comprise hard silicone gels, elastic silicone rubbers, or encapsulation material such as mold epoxy.).
Hartung fails to explicitly teach inductive heatable particles, wherein the inductive heatable particles are either within the potting compound or are within a structure that is thermally coupled to the potting compound.
Arai teaches inductive heatable particles, wherein the inductive heatable particles are either within the potting compound or are within a structure that is thermally coupled to the potting compound (Fig. 1A and [0046] point to a semiconductor device comprising an upper magnetic shield member 70 which may be formed by a potting method using an epoxy resin (potting compound) containing fillers (inductive heatable particles), specifically a soft magnetic material.). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that inductive heatable particles are additionally formed in order to increase thermal conductivity throughout the potting compound.
Regarding claim 16, Arai teaches wherein the inductive heatable particles comprise magnetic particles (Fig. 1A and [0046] point to an upper magnetic shield member 70 which may be formed by a potting method using an epoxy resin or the like containing fillers (inductive heatable particles), specifically a soft magnetic material such as soft iron (magnetic particles).). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the inductive heatable particles comprise magnetic particles like soft iron in order to provide magnetic isolation and/or apply an induction heating curing process to the potting compound.
Regarding claim 17, Arai teaches wherein the magnetic particles comprise any one of the following: ferromagnetic particles; ferrimagnetic particles; and superparamagnetic particles (Fig. 1A and [0046] point to an upper magnetic shield member 70 which may be formed by a potting method using an epoxy resin or the like containing fillers (inductive heatable particles), specifically a soft magnetic material such as soft iron (ferromagnetic particles).). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the inductive heatable particles comprise ferromagnetic particles like soft iron in order to provide magnetic isolation apply an induction heating curing process to the potting compound.
Regarding claim 18, Hartung teaches an inductive heatable plate that is thermally coupled to the potting compound (Fig. 1A and Col. 5, lines 25-37 of Hartung point to a substrate metallization layer 22 (inductive heatable plate).).
Regarding claim 19, Hartung in combination with Aria teaches wherein the inductive heatable particles are incorporated into the potting compound ([0046] of Arai points to a soft magnetic material such as soft iron (inductive heatable particles). Fig. 1A and Col. 5, lines 25-37 of Hartung further point to a substrate metallization layer 22 (inductive heatable plate) which may be formed by depositing a metal powder (inductive heatable particles).). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the inductive heatable plate comprises inductive heatable particles like soft iron in order to provide both magnetic isolation and heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 20, Arai teaches wherein the inductive heatable particles are disposed along or within the housing (Fig. 1A and [0046] point to an upper magnetic shield member 70 comprising a soft magnetic material (inductive heatable particles), which is formed along/within the mold resin 80 (housing).). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the inductive heatable particles are formed along or within the housing in order to provide uniform heating throughout the potting compound within the housing and/or provide paths of heat dissipation away from the potting compound and towards the housing.
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartung et al. in further view of Kim (US Patent No. 10304788).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the power electronics carrier forms the floor section, and wherein the inductive heatable plate is a carrier that is brought into contact with the floor section (Fig. 3A points to a semiconductor power module comprising a substrate 302 (power electronics carrier) and a conductive portion 338 (inductive heatable plate).). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung et al. and Kim, such that inductive heatable plate is separate from the floor section in order to provide greater physical stability to the mounted semiconductor die while still enabling a path for heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches wherein providing the power module assembly comprises providing glue between outer sidewalls of the housing and the floor section (Fig. 3A points to a housing frame 308 coupled to a substrate 302. Col. 4, lines 55-61 further point to coupling components via an attachment material which includes an adhesive (e.g., glue).), and wherein the chemical reaction accelerates curing of the glue (It is considered obvious that the heat required for the curing process as described in Hartung et al. would affect the adjacent glue by accelerating its curing.). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung et al. and Kim, such that glue is applied between the housing and the floor section in order to create a seal that properly contains the potting compound within the interior volume.
Regarding claim 7, Arai teaches wherein providing inductive heatable particles within the power module assembly comprises incorporating the inductive heatable particles into the glue ([0046] points filling an epoxy resin (glue) with a soft magnetic material (inductive heatable particles).). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung and Arai, such that the glue further incorporates inductive heatable particles in order to improve the curing process via inductive heating.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartung et al. in further view of Gerber (PGPub No. 20190041472).
Regarding claim 13, Gerber teaches wherein incorporating the inductive heatable particles along or within the housing comprises spray coating the inside surface of the housing with a material that comprises a concentration of the inductive heatable particles ([0046] points to a film of ferromagnetic nanoparticles (inductive heatable particles) printed directly on a supporting structure (housing) via spray coating.). Thus, it is considered obvious that a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention would combine the teachings of Hartung et al. and Gerber, such that the inductive heatable particles are applied via spray coating in order to ensure proper heat dissipation via uniform application across the housing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant states that the previous rejection of claim 1 (as well as claims 8 and 15 for same/similar reasons) is incorrect, arguing that there is/are 1) no teaching or suggestion of inductive heating in the combined teachings of the prior art and 2) no motivation to incorporate reference Arai’s magnetic shielding structure into reference Hartung’s power module.
Regarding the first argument, Examiner argues that while the specific curing technique was incorrectly worded, the broader concept presented of performing a curing process (chemical reaction) on the epoxy (potting compound) of Arai still teaches the recited step of “inductively heating” in the claimed invention. Induction curing is a process commonly known and used in the art, and thus is considered an obvious process that one of ordinary skill in the art would apply to the epoxy of Arai in order to induce rapid heating which may better activate/accelerate the curing process. For the sake of clarification, the relevant rejection(s) have been modified to better illustrate this technique. Thus, Applicant’s argument(s) are considered unpersuasive and fail to overcome the previous rejection.
In response to Applicant’s second argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references Hartung and Arai, the Examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Applicant argues that no motivation exists because 1) Hartung’s power semiconductor module does not include MRAM devices like the one taught in Arai, and 2) the Examiner’s rationale for combining Hartung and Arai, “in order to increase thermal conductivity throughout the potting compound” has no basis in facts that can be gleaned from the prior art. Examiner argues that 1) the devices of both references are not similar in view of MRAMs, but rather due to the fact that both disclose semiconductor devices that clearly fall under the Solid State art, and 2) though not explicitly mentioned, the benefit of increased thermal conductivity in a potting compound is well known in the art and would obviously be considered by one of ordinary skill in the art; as potting compounds are used to encapsulate heat-generating components like chips and dies, any improvement in thermal conductivity would create a path of heat dissipation away from such components that would help prevent hardware failure. Thus, Applicant’s arguments are considered unpersuasive and fail to overcome the previous rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK CULLEN/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899