DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suthiwongsunthorn et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2015/0357256 A1, hereinafter referenced as ‘Suth’)
Regarding claim 7, Suth teaches a semiconductor device (¶ 0023 & figs. 1c, 1i: 14 and/or 26), comprising:
an integrated circuit (¶ 0014: circuit components) formed on a front side of a semiconductor substrate (¶ 0014: circuit components formed at least indirectly on front side 110a of die 110; since 110 is singulated from semiconductor substrate 210, it meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘semiconductor substrate’);
a first dielectric layer (¶ 0020: 140) on a back side of the semiconductor substrate opposite to the front side (fig. 1i: 140 disposed on back side 110b of die 110); and
a second dielectric layer (¶ 0018: 150) directly on a sidewall of a semiconductor material of the semiconductor substrate (fig. 1i: 150 disposed on sidewalls 110c and 110d of die 110) and directly contacting the first dielectric layer at a substantially vertical interface coplanar with the sidewall of the semiconductor material of the semiconductor device (figs. 1i, 12e among others: 150 directly contacts 140 at a substantially vertical interface coplanar with sidewalls 110c/110d),
wherein the first and second dielectric layers define a planar lower surface of the semiconductor device (fig. 1c among others: 140 and 150 at least partially define a lower surface of 10), the planar lower surface being a mechanically altered surface (figs. 3e-3f: planar lower surface of 14 is mechanically removed from support 230, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘a mechanically altered surface’).
Regarding claim 8, Suth teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein the second dielectric layer is discontinuous from the first dielectric layer (fig. 1c: 150 forms an interface with 140, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘discontinuous’).
Regarding claim 10, Suth teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein:
the first dielectric layer includes a first dielectric material (¶ 0018); and
the second dielectric layer includes a second dielectric material different from the first dielectric material (¶ 0020: 140 comprises different material from 150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2018/0166396 A1) in view of Suth.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
an integrated circuit formed on a front side of a semiconductor substrate (¶ 0020 & fig. 5C: active and passive elements formed at least indirectly on surface 100B of substrate 100’);
an adhesive layer (¶ 0037: 190) on a back side of the semiconductor substrate opposite to the front side (fig. 5C: 190 disposed on back side 100B of 100’); and
a second dielectric layer (¶¶ 0030, 0091: 155’ and/or 160) directly on a sidewall of a semiconductor material of the semiconductor substrate and directly contacting the first dielectric layer at a substantially vertical interface coplanar with the sidewall of the semiconductor material of the semiconductor device (fig. 5C: 155’/160 formed on a sidewall of 100’ and directly contacts sidewall of 100’),.
wherein the first and second dielectric layers define a planar lower surface of the semiconductor device, the planar lower surface being a mechanically altered surface (¶ 0072 & figs. 1G-1K, 5C: planar lower surface of 190 is mechanically removed from support 310 and/or 320, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘a mechanically altered surface’).
Lee does not teach the material of the adhesive layer comprises a first dielectric.
Suth teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 1c among others) wherein a first dielectric layer (¶ 0020: 140) is disposed on a back side of a semiconductor substrate opposite to an active front side (fig. 3e: 140 formed on a back side of 110), the first dielectric layer discontinuous from a second dielectric layer (¶ 0018 & fig. 1c: at least a bottom portion of 140 discontinuous from dielectric 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the adhesive of Lee with dielectric material, as a means to provide a protective film suitable for use in a die pick process (Suth, ¶ 0088, Lee, ¶ 0039).
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In the instant case, the material of Suth is suitable to provide the adhesive layer of Lee.
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Suth teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein the second dielectric layer is discontinuous from the first dielectric layer (Lee, fig. 5C: 190, as modified to include the dielectric material of Suth, forms an interface with 155’/160, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘discontinuous’).
Regarding claim 9, Lee in view of Suth teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein the second dielectric layer includes at least two dielectric materials (Lee, ¶ 0030: 160 includes a multilayer structure, and/or comprises fillers).
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Suth teaches the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein:
the first dielectric layer includes a first dielectric material (Suth, ¶ 0020: 190 comprises resin); and
the second dielectric layer includes a second dielectric material different from the first dielectric material (155’/160 of Lee is different from 140 of Suth).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Suth as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2020/0091090 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Suth teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein the second dielectric material includes an oxide, a nitride, an oxynitride, or a combination thereof (Lee, ¶ 0092: 155’ includes oxide).
Lee in view of Suth does not teach the first dielectric material includes an oxide, a nitride, an oxynitride, or a combination thereof.
Chen teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 2: 400) including a first dielectric layer (¶ 0012: 104, similar to 190 of Lee and/or 140 of Suth) on a back side of a semiconductor substrate (fig. 2 among others: 140 disposed on back side of 105a/105b), the first dielectric material including an oxide, a nitride, an oxynitride, or a combination thereof (¶ 0012: 104 includes oxide and/or nitride).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the first dielectric material of Lee in view of Suth with an oxide or nitride, as a means to reduce coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) mismatch and a local warpage of the semiconductor dies (Chen, ¶ 0013).
Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. In the instant case, the material of Chen is suitable to provide the first dielectric material of Lee and Suth.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Suth as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Han et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2021/0013181 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Suth teaches the semiconductor device of claim 10, comprising a second dielectric material (Lee, 190 and/or Suth, 140) on the back side of a substrate (Lee, fig. 1G and/or Suth, fig. 1c).
Lee in view of Suth does not teach the semiconductor device further comprising:
one or more vias extending from the front side of the semiconductor substrate past the second dielectric material on the back side, the one or more vias coupled with the integrated circuit and configured to provide one or more electrical connections for the integrated circuit on a surface of the second dielectric material.
Han teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 1: 10) including one or more vias (¶ 0017: 110) extending from a front side of a semiconductor substrate past a first dielectric layer on the back side (fig. 1: 110 extends from a front side of 101, similar to 110’ of Lee, past a dielectric material 101b on a back side), the one or more vias coupled with an integrated circuit (¶ 0017: 110 coupled with semiconductor device of 101) and configured to provide one or more electrical connections for the integrated circuit on a surface of the second dielectric material (¶ 0026: 110 configured to provide electrical connections 111 and/or 130 for 101 on a surface of 101b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the semiconductor device of Lee in view of Suth with the vias of Han, as a means to provide an upper semiconductor package stably mounted on a lower semiconductor package or a package in which an upper semiconductor package is electrically connected to a substrate (Han, ¶ 0004), reducing size and improving productivity of the package (Han, ¶ 0039).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art fails to teach or clearly suggest the limitations stating:
“wherein the first dielectric layer comprises an oxide of the silicon comprised by the semiconductor substrate and extends past a back side of the semiconductor substrate” as recited in claim 1.
Claims 2-5 depend on claim 1, and are allowed for implicitly including the allowable subject matter above.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and/or 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 7-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818