Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: the replacement drawings do not include reference leaders to the pool edge “103”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2014/0263087 by Renaud et al. (hereinafter “Renaud”), further in view of US2020/0056890 by Newman et al. (hereinafter “Newman”).
US2020/0056890 by Newman et al. (hereinafter “Newman”), further in view of US2019/0284827 by Witelson et al. (hereinafter “Witelson”).
Regarding claim 1, Renaud teaches teaches A docking system for an automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC), the docking system comprising: a dock comprising (i) a support surface for the APC and (ii) a ground-engaging foot; . See for example paragraph [0026] where the docking station is positioned on the edge of a swimming pool, with a mating surface resting on the swimming pool edge, reading on a ground-engaging foot. See also paragraphs [0033]-[0034], where the pool cleaner docks with the docking station to recharge or otherwise be inactive, including through use of a locking mechanism for detachably securing the cleaner, reading on a support surface for the APC.
Renaud does not explicitly teach an underwater-facing camera, wherein the underwater-facing camera is configured to monitor the APC underwater. Although Renaud states that the processing for the pool cleaner’s vision can be located on the docking station, and might be implying that the vision system and optic sensors themselves might be on the docking station (see, e.g., paragraph [0029]), Renaud does not explicitly teach that the dock has a camera.
However, Newman teaches an underwater-facing camera, wherein the underwater-facing camera is configured to monitor the APC underwater. See for example paragraphs [0011] and [0014], where the dock includes an underwater camera for navigating the APC.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Renaud with the underwater camera system of Newman with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the dock to assist in navigation, improving the performance of the pool cleaner and reducing the need for supervision. Renaud already describes the benefits of a cleaning system in paragraphs [0031] and [0042], and Newman’s provision of a camera on the dock allows the pool cleaner to more efficiently navigate to dirty areas.
Claims 10 and 16 have similar limitations to claim 1 above, and are therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 2, Renaud teaches The docking system of claim 1, further comprising a sensor in addition to the underwater-facing camera, wherein the sensor is configured to gather information about the APC. See for example the vision system described in paragraph [0029] which appears to be located on the cleaning robot, reading on The docking system of claim 1, further comprising a sensor…. That system is used for navigating the pool robot.
Claim 12 has similar limitations to claim 2 above, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 3, Renaud teaches further comprising a sensor in addition to the underwater-facing camera, wherein the sensor is configured to gather non-visual information for controlling the APC or other equipment for a swimming pool or spa. See for example the vision system described in paragraph [0029] which appears to be located on the cleaning robot and includes other sensors such as “pressure sensor(s), flow sensor(s), distance sensor(s), optical sensors, heat sensors, turbidity sensors, pH sensors.” That system is used for navigating the pool robot.
Claim 14 has similar limitations to claim 3 above, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 4, Renaud teaches wherein the non-visual information comprises oxidation-reduction potential information, pH information, temperature information, conductivity information, and/or salinity information. See for example paragraph [0029], where the docking station can including pH sensors.
Claim 15 has similar limitations to claim 4 above, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 5, Renaud does not explicitly teach, but Newman teaches wherein the docking system is configured to identify a location of the APC within a swimming pool or spa based on data from the camera. See paragraphs [0014]-[0015] and [0032], where the camera identifies the APC location in the pool.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Renaud with the underwater camera system of Newman with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the dock to assist in navigation, improving the performance of the pool cleaner and reducing the need for supervision. Renaud already describes the benefits of a cleaning system in paragraphs [0031] and [0042], and Newman’s provision of a camera on the dock allows the pool cleaner to more efficiently navigate to dirty areas.
Regarding claim 6, Renaud does not explicitly teach, but Newman teaches wherein the camera is configured to detect the APC within a target area and send a location of the APC within the target area based on the detection of the APC by the camera. In addition to paragraphs [0014]-[0015] and [0032] above, see also paragraphs [0019]-[0023] where the system conveys the location information to the APC.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Renaud with the underwater camera system of Newman with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the dock to assist in navigation, improving the performance of the pool cleaner and reducing the need for supervision. Renaud already describes the benefits of a cleaning system in paragraphs [0031] and [0042], and Newman’s provision of a camera on the dock allows the pool cleaner to more efficiently navigate to dirty areas.
Regarding claim 7, Renaud does not explicitly teach, but Newman teaches wherein the APC comprises a location communicator and wherein the camera is configured to monitor the APC by detecting at least the location communicator. See for example paragraphs [0015]-[0017] where the APC has a suitable marker (location communicator) so the camera can track its position.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Renaud with the underwater camera system of Newman with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the dock to assist in navigation, improving the performance of the pool cleaner and reducing the need for supervision. Renaud already describes the benefits of a cleaning system in paragraphs [0031] and [0042], and Newman’s provision of a camera on the dock allows the pool cleaner to more efficiently navigate to dirty areas.
Claims 13 and 20 have similar limitations to claim 7 above, and are therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 9, Renaud does not explicitly teach, but Newman teaches wherein the location communicator is configured to provide location information based on a characteristic of the location communicator. See for example paragraphs [0014]-[0015] and [0032], where the APC has a suitable marker (location communicator) so the camera can track its position in the pool based on identifying the marker.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Renaud with the underwater camera system of Newman with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the dock to assist in navigation, improving the performance of the pool cleaner and reducing the need for supervision. Renaud already describes the benefits of a cleaning system in paragraphs [0031] and [0042], and Newman’s provision of a camera on the dock allows the pool cleaner to more efficiently navigate to dirty areas.
Claim 19 has similar limitations to claim 9 above, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 17, Renaud does not explicitly teach, but Newman teaches wherein the docking station comprises a location communicator on the dock, and wherein the location communicator is configured to provide location information to the APC within a swimming pool or spa. See for example paragraphs [0014]-[0015] and [0032], where the APC has a suitable marker (location communicator) so the camera can track its position in the pool based on identifying the marker. See also paragraphs [0019]-[0023] where the system conveys the location information to the APC.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Renaud with the underwater camera system of Newman with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the dock to assist in navigation, improving the performance of the pool cleaner and reducing the need for supervision. Renaud already describes the benefits of a cleaning system in paragraphs [0031] and [0042], and Newman’s provision of a camera on the dock allows the pool cleaner to more efficiently navigate to dirty areas.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renaud in view of as applied to claims 3 and 17 above, and further in view of US2020/0250337 by Armon et al. (hereinafter “Armon”).
Regarding claim 8, Renaud does not explicitly teach, but Armon teaches wherein the location communicator comprises a light source. See for example paragraph [0072] where the pool cleaning robot can include a light source.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Renaud, modified by the underwater camera system of Newman, with the light source of Armon with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the camera system to more easily detect the pool cleaning robot when the water is murky or at night.
Claim 18 has similar limitations to claim 8 above, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US2021/0276441 by Ben-David et al. teaching visually navigating robots (including pool robots) to a docking station.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORDAN T SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666