DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Restriction/Election Response filed on 01/13/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, reading on FIG. 1, FIG. 4, FIG. 5, and FIG. 9, in the reply filed on 01/13/2026 is acknowledged and entered into the record.
Claims 4, 6-7, 14, and 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species 2 – Species 6, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as being anticipated by Jan (US 2014/0035081).
Regarding claim 1, Jan (see, e.g., FIG. 6) discloses a semiconductor packaging assembly comprising:
a circuit board 209a comprising a first surface e.g., top of 209a, a second surface e.g., bottom of 209a facing away from the first surface e.g., top of 209a, at least one receiving hole e.g., space between portions of 209a recessed from the first surface e.g., top of 209a toward the second surface e.g., bottom of 209a, each of the at least one receiving hole e.g., space between portions of 209a having a same size, and a plurality of first welding pads 208 on the first surface e.g., top of 209a (Para 0044, Para 0048);
at least one chip 206 received in the at least one receiving hole e.g., space between portions of 209a and spaced apart from the circuit board 209a by a gap e.g., lateral space between 206 and 209a, wherein each of the at least one chip 206 comprises an active surface e.g., top of 206 facing away from the second surface e.g., bottom of 209a, a passive surface e.g., bottom of 206 facing away from the active surface e.g., top of 206, and a plurality of pins 207 arranged on the active surface e.g., top of 206 (Para 0037);
a packaging body 210, 220 in the gap e.g., lateral space between 206 and 209a and bonded to the at least one chip 206 and the circuit board 209a (Para 0036, Para 0044); and
wires 205 attached to a third surface e.g., top surface of 220 (e.g., option where 220 partially covers 205) of the packaging body 210, 220 facing away from the second surface e.g., bottom of 209a, and each of the wires 205 electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of pins 207 and at least one of the plurality of first welding pads 208 (Para 0037, Para 0044).
Regarding claim 2, Jan (see, e.g., FIG. 6) teaches the semiconductor packaging assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first welding pads 208 is arranged at an edge of the first surface e.g., top of 209a close to the at least one chip 206, the plurality of pins 207 is arranged at an edge of the active surface e.g., top of 206, and each of the plurality of pins 207 is adjacent to one of the plurality of first welding pads 208.
Regarding claim 11, Jan (see, e.g., FIG. 6) discloses an opto-electromechanical device comprising:
a semiconductor packaging assembly 300 comprising:
a circuit board 209a comprising a first surface e.g., top of 209a, a second surface e.g., bottom of 209a facing away from the first surface e.g., top of 209a, at least one receiving hole e.g., space between portions of 209a recessed from the first surface e.g., top of 209a toward the second surface e.g., bottom of 209a, each of the at least one receiving hole e.g., space between portions of 209a having a same size, and a plurality of first welding pads 208 on the first surface e.g., top of 209a (Para 0044, Para 0048);
at least one chip 206 received in the at least one receiving hole e.g., space between portions of 209a and spaced apart from the circuit board 209a by a gap e.g., lateral space between 206 and 209a, wherein each of the at least one chip 206 comprises an active surface e.g., top of 206 facing away from the second surface e.g., bottom of 209a and a passive surface e.g., bottom of 206 facing away from the active surface e.g., top of 206, a plurality of pins 207 arranged on the active surface e.g., top of 206 (Para 0037, Para 0044);
a packaging body 210, 220 in the gap e.g., lateral space between 206 and 209a and bonded to the at least one chip 206 and the circuit board 209a (Para 0036, Para 0044); and
wires 205 attached to a third surface e.g., top of 220 (e.g., option where 220 partially covers 205) of the packaging body 210, 220 facing away from the second surface e.g., bottom of 209a, and each of the wires 205 electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of pins 207 and at least one of the plurality of first welding pads 208 (Para 0037, Para 0044).
Regarding claim 12, Jan (see, e.g., FIG. 6) teaches opto-electromechanical device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of first welding pads 208 is arranged at an edge of the first surface e.g., top of 209a close to the at least one chip 206, the plurality of pins 207 is arranged at an edge of the active surface e.g., top of 206, and each of the plurality of pins 207 is adjacent to one of the plurality of first welding pads 208.
Claims 1, 5, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as being anticipated by Hu (US 2016/0212851).
Regarding claim 1, Hu (see, e.g., FIG. 3’) discloses semiconductor packaging assembly comprising:
a circuit board 20, 27 (see also FIG. 2A) comprising a first surface 20a, a second surface 20b facing away from the first surface 20a, at least one receiving hole 300 recessed from the first surface 20a toward the second surface 20b, each of the at least one receiving hole 300 having a same size, and a plurality of first welding pads 280 on the first surface 20a (Para 0059, Para 0084, Para 0087);
at least one chip 23 received in the at least one receiving hole 300 and spaced apart from the circuit board 20, 27 by a gap e.g., lateral space between 23 and 20, 27, wherein each of the at least one chip 23 comprises an active surface e.g., top of 23 facing away from the second surface 20b, a passive surface 23b facing away from the active surface e.g., top of 23, and a plurality of pins 280 arranged on the active surface e.g., top of 23 (Para 0084, Para 0085, Para 0087);
a packaging body 39 in the gap e.g., lateral space between 23 and 20, 27 and bonded to the at least one chip 23 and the circuit board 20, 27 (Para 0087); and
wires 38a attached to a third surface e.g., top of 39 of the packaging body 39 facing away from the second surface 20b, and each of the wires 38a electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of pins 280 and at least one of the plurality of first welding pads 280’ (Para 0085-Para 0087).
Regarding claim 5, Hu (see, e.g., FIG. 3’) teaches the semiconductor packaging assembly of claim 1, further comprising an insulating layer 31 covering the wires 38a and bonded to the third surface e.g., top of 39, wherein the wires 38a are located between the insulating layer 31 and the third surface e.g., top of 39 (Para 0087).
Regarding claim 11, Hu (see, e.g., FIG. 3’) teaches an opto-electromechanical device comprising:
a semiconductor packaging assembly 3’ comprising (Para 0083):
a circuit board 20, 27 (see also FIG. 2A) comprising a first surface 20a, a second surface 20b facing away from the first surface 20a, at least one receiving hole 300 recessed from the first surface 20a toward the second surface 20b, each of the at least one receiving hole 300 having a same size, and a plurality of first welding pads 280’ on the first surface 20a (Para 0059, Para 0084, Para 0087);
at least one chip 23 received in the at least one receiving hole 300 and spaced apart from the circuit board 20, 27 by a gap e.g., lateral space between 23 and 20, 27, wherein each of the at least one chip 23 comprises an active surface e.g., top of 23 facing away from the second surface 20b and a passive surface 23b facing away from the active surface e.g., top of 23, a plurality of pins 280 arranged on the active surface e.g., top of 23 (Para 0084, Para 0085, Para 0087);
a packaging body 39 in the gap e.g., lateral space between 23 and 20, 27 and bonded to the at least one chip 23 and the circuit board 20, 27 (Para 0087); and
wires 38a attached to a third surface e.g., top of 39 of the packaging body 39 facing away from the second surface 20b, and each of the wires 38a electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of pins 280 and at least one of the plurality of first welding pads 280’ (Para 0085-Para 0087).
Regarding claim 15, Hu (see, e.g., FIG. 3’) teaches opto-electromechanical device of claim 11, further comprising an insulating layer 31 covering the wires 38a and bonded to the third surface e.g., top of 39, wherein the wires 38a are located between the insulating layer 31 and the third surface e.g., top of 39 (Para 0087).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 2016/0212851), in view of Hatano (US 2021/0313367).
Regarding claim 18, although Hu (FIG. 3’) shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Hu (FIG. 3’) fails to expressly teach an optical element.
Hu (see, e.g., FIG. 5’) teaches an optical element 50 (Para 0098-Para 0101). Hatano (see, e.g., FIG. 1), on the other hand, teaches that the optical element 7 allows various types of light incident from an optical system, such as a lens, generally positioned above the glass to pass through to convey the light to the light-receiving surface of the image sensor (Para 0080).
The combination of Hu (see, e.g., FIG. 3’) / Hu (see, e.g., FIG. 5’) teaches the opto-electromechanical device of claim 11, further comprising an optical element 50 (as taught by Hu, FIG. 5’) and a colloid 31 (as taught by Hu, FIG. 3’), wherein the optical element 50 (as taught by Hu, FIG. 5’) is bonded to a junction of the circuit board 20, 27 (as taught by Hu, FIG. 3’) and the at least chip 23 (as taught by Hu, FIG. 3’) through the colloid 31 (as taught by Hu, FIG. 3’), and the optical element 50 (as taught by Hu, FIG. 5’) is spaced apart from the at least one chip 23 (as taught by Hu, FIG. 3’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the optical element of Hu (FIG. 5’) to the device of Hu (FIG. 3’) for the purpose of allowing various types of light incident from an optical system, such as a lens, generally positioned above the glass to pass through to convey the light to the light-receiving surface of the image sensor (Para 0080).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are allowed.
Claims 3 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Remarks
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Regarding claim 8, Jan (US 2014/0035081; see, e.g., FIG. 6) discloses a semiconductor packaging assembly comprising: at least one chip 206, each of the at least one chip 206 comprising an active surface e.g., top of 206, a passive surface e.g., bottom of 206 facing away from the active surface e.g., top of 206, and a plurality of pins 207 on the active surface e.g., top of 206 (Para 0037); a packaging body 210, 220 wrapping the passive surface e.g., bottom of 206 of the at least one chip 206 and a side surface of the at least one chip 206 connecting the passive surface e.g., bottom of 206 and the active surface e.g., top of 206, the packaging body 210, 220 comprising a third surface e.g., top of 220 facing away from the passive surface e.g., bottom of 206 (Para 0036, Para 0044); and wires 205 attached to the third surface e.g., top of 220 (e.g., option where 220 partially covers 205) of the packaging body 210, 220 and each of the wires 205 electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of pins 207 and at least one of the plurality of first welding pads 208 (Para 0037, Para 0044).
Conclusion
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817