DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 0918/2023 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyokang Lee et al, (hereinafter LEE), US 20200343463 A1, in view of Ru-Da Rhe et al, (hereinafter RHE), US 20210048907 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, LEE teaches a display device (Fig. 1, 100, stretchable display device), comprising:
a lower substrate (Fig. 1, 110) which includes an active area (Fig. 1, AA), a first non-active area (Fig. 1, NA) disposed on both sides of the active area (Fig. 1, AA), a second non-active area (annotated Figure 1, NA) disposed above the active area (Fig. 1, AA), and a third non- active (annotated Figure 1, NA) area disposed on both sides of the second non-active areas (annotated Figure 1, NA);
a plurality of plate patterns (Fig. 1, 111/111a/120, first/second substrates) disposed in the active area (Fig. 1, AA), the first non-active area (Fig. 1, NA), the second non-active area (annotated Figure 1, NA), and the third non-active area (annotated Figure 1, NA);
a plurality of line patterns (Fig. 1, 180, connection lines) disposed between the plurality of plate patterns (Fig. 1, 111/111a/120, first/second substrates) in the active area (Fig. 1, AA), the first non-active area (Fig. 1, NA), and the second non-active area (annotated Figure 1, NA); and
a plurality of link lines (Fig. 3, CS, connection supports, are replaced with wires or other conductors, [0060]) disposed on the plurality of plate patterns (Fig. 1, 111/111a/120, first/second substrates) in the second non-active area (annotated Figure 1, NA).
Though LEE teaches the connection support which are replaced with wires or other conductors for electrical connection, LEE does not disclose a display device, comprising: a plurality of link lines disposed on the plurality of plate patterns in the second non-active area.
RHE teaches a display device (Fig. 1, touch display device), comprising:
a plurality of link lines (Fig. 1, 152, touch lines, [0062]) disposed on the plurality of plate patterns (Fig. 1, 170/180/190, touch pad/second compensation electrodes) in the second non-active area (Fig. 1, NA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified LEE to incorporate the teachings of RHE, such that a display device, comprising: a plurality of link lines disposed on the plurality of plate patterns in the second non-active area, so that the touch lines, 152 including touch sensing lines, RL and touch drive lines, TL are disposed in the non-active area, NA and the signal lines electrically connected to the light emitting element, 120 thereby minimizing occurrence of a parasitic capacitor (RHE, [0080]).
Regarding Claim 2, LEE as modified RHE the display device according to claim 1.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, 100, stretchable display device), wherein the plurality of plate patterns (Fig. 1, 111/111a/120, first/second substrates) includes:
a plurality of first plate patterns (Fig. 1, 111/111a, first substrates) disposed in the active area (Fig. 1, AA) and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1, [0049]);
a plurality of second plate patterns (Fig. 1, 120, second substrates) disposed in the first non-active area (Fig. 1, NA) and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1, [0049]);
a plurality of third plate patterns (Fig. 1, 120, second substrates) disposed in the second non-active area (annotated Figure 1, NA) and having the plurality of link lines (Fig. 3, CS, connection supports, are replaced with wires or other conductors, [0060]) disposed therein; and
a fourth plate pattern (Fig. 1, 120, second substrates) disposed in the third non-active area (annotated Figure 1, NA).
RHE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, touch display device), wherein
a plurality of third plate patterns (Fig. 1, 170/180/190, touch pad/second compensation electrodes) disposed in the second non-active area (Fig. 1, NA) and having the plurality of link lines (Fig. 1, 152, touch lines, [0062]) disposed therein.
Regarding Claim 3, LEE as modified RHE the display device according to claim 2.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, 100, stretchable display device), wherein the plurality of line patterns (Fig. 1, 180, connection lines) includes:
a plurality of first line patterns (Fig. 1, 181, first connection lines) disposed between the plurality of first plate patterns (Fig. 1, 111/111a, first substrates);
a plurality of second line patterns (Fig. 1, 184, fourth connection lines) disposed between the plurality of second plate patterns (Fig. 1, 120, second substrates); and
a plurality of third line patterns (Fig. 1, 182, second connection lines) disposed between the plurality of third plate patterns (Fig. 1, 120, second substrates).
Regarding Claim 4, LEE as modified RHE the display device according to claim 3.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 6, 600, stretchable display device), wherein the plurality of third plate patterns (Fig. 1, 120, second substrates) includes:
a 3-1-th plate pattern (annotated Figure 6, 120, second substrates) disposed to be adjacent to an edge (annotated Figure 6) of the lower substrate (Fig. 1, 110) in the second non-active area (Fig. 6, NA); and
a plurality of 3-2-th plate patterns (annotated Figure 6, 690 (a-c), fourth substrates) extending (annotated Figure 6) to the active area (Fig. 6, AA) from the 3-1-th plate pattern (annotated Figure 6, 120, second substrates) and is spaced apart from each other (annotated Figure 6),
wherein the plurality of third line patterns (Fig. 6, 687, seventh connection line) disposed between the plurality of 3-2-th plate patterns (annotated Figure 6, 690 (a-c), fourth substrates).
Regarding Claim 5, LEE as modified RHE the display device according to claim 4.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 8, 800, stretchable display device), wherein at least a portion of the plurality of 3- 2-th plate patterns (annotated Figure 8, 820 (a-b), fourth substrates) extends obliquely to be radially disposed (annotated Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 6, LEE as modified RHE the display device according to claim 4.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 8, 800, stretchable display device), wherein n link lines (Fig. 8, CS, connection supports, are replaced with wires or other conductors, [0060]) are disposed in each of the plurality of 3-2-th plate patterns (Fig. 8, 820 (a-b), fourth substrates).
RHE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, touch display device), wherein n link lines (annotated Figure 1, 152, touch lines, [0062]) are disposed in each of the plurality of 3-2-th plate patterns (Fig. 1, 170/180/190, touch pad/second compensation electrodes).
Regarding Claim 8, LEE as modified RHE the display device according to claim 4.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, 100, stretchable display device), further comprising a plurality of connection pads (Fig. 1, 130, COF (Chip on Film), [0042]) disposed on the 3-1-th plate pattern (annotated Figure 1, 120, second substrates), wherein each of the plurality of connection pads (Fig. 1, 130, COF (Chip on Film), [0042]) is electrically connected (Figs. 2-3, [0094]) to the plurality of link lines (Fig. 3, CS, connection supports, are replaced with wires or other conductors, [0060]).
RHE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, touch display device), further comprising a plurality of connection pads disposed on the 3-1-th plate pattern (Fig. 1, 170/180/190, touch pad/second compensation electrodes), wherein each of the plurality of connection pads (Fig. 1, 170/180/190, touch pad/second compensation electrodes) is electrically connected (Fig. 1, [0056]) to the plurality of link lines (Fig. 1, 152, touch lines, [0062]).
Regarding Claim 9, LEE as modified RHE the display device according to claim 4.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 6, 600, stretchable display device), further comprising:
a plurality of first connection lines (Fig. 6, CS, connection supports, are replaced with wires or other conductors, [0060]) extending in a first direction (Fig. 6, X-direction) and is disposed on the plurality of first line patterns (Fig. 1, 181, first connection lines) and the plurality of second line patterns (Fig. 1, 184, fourth connection lines);
a plurality of second connection lines (Fig. 6, CS, connection supports, are replaced with wires or other conductors, [0060]) extending in a second direction (Fig. 6, Y-direction) which is different from the first direction (Fig. 6, X-direction) and is disposed on the plurality of first line patterns (Fig. 1, 181, first connection lines) and the plurality of second line patterns (Fig. 1, 184, fourth connection lines); and
a plurality of third connection lines (Fig. 6, CS, connection supports, are replaced with wires or other conductors, [0060]) disposed on the plurality of third line patterns (Fig. 1, 182, second connection lines).
Regarding Claim 10, LEE as modified RHE the display device according to claim 9.
RHE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, touch display device), further comprising a link connection line (Fig. 1, 182, connection line) disposed on the plurality of 3-2-th plate patterns (Fig. 1, 170/180/190, touch pad/second compensation electrodes) and is electrically connected (Fig. 1, [0099]) to some link line (annotated Figure 1, 152, touch lines, [0062]) among the plurality of link lines (annotated Figure 1, 152, touch lines, [0062]),
wherein the link connection lines (Fig. 1, 182, connection line) disposed in the plurality of 3-2-th plate patterns (Fig. 1, 170/180/190, touch pad/second compensation electrodes) are electrically connected (Fig. 1, [0099], [0110]) to each other through the plurality of third connection lines (Figs. 1/5, 184, connection contact hole).
Regarding Claim 11, LEE as modified RHE the display device according to claim 9.
RHE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, touch display device), further comprising an electrostatic discharging circuit (Fig. 5, Cb, second mutual capacitor, [0060]) disposed on the plurality of 3-2-th plate patterns (Fig. 1, 170/180/190, touch pad/second compensation electrodes),
wherein the electrostatic discharging circuits (Fig. 5, Cb, second mutual capacitor, [0060]) disposed on the plurality of 3-2-th plate patterns (Fig. 1, 170/180/190, touch pad/second compensation electrodes) are electrically connected (Fig. 1, [0111-0112], [0116]) to each other through the plurality of third connection lines (Figs. 1/5, 184, connection contact hole).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of RHE, and further in view of Seulki Kim et al, (hereinafter KIM), US 20210343955 A1.
Regarding Claim 7, LEE as modified RHE the display device according to claim 4.
RHE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, touch display device), wherein at least some of the plurality of link lines (annotated Figure 1, 152, touch lines, [0062]) further includes a zigzag portion (annotated Figure 1) which is connected to the straight portion (annotated Figure 1) and extends in a zigzag shape (annotated Figure 1), and lengths of the zigzag portions (annotated Figure 1) in the plurality of link lines (annotated Figure 1, 152, touch lines, [0062]) are different (annotated Figure 1).
LEE as modified RHE does not explicitly disclose the display device, wherein the plurality of link lines includes a straight portion which straightly extends along an extending direction of the plurality of 3-2-th plate patterns.
KIM teaches the display device (Fig. 7, 100′, stretchable display panel), wherein the plurality of link lines (annotated Figure 7, 730, the connecting lines) includes a straight portion (annotated Figure 7) which straightly extends along an extending direction (annotated Figure 7) of the plurality of 3-2-th plate patterns (Fig. 7, 112p, second substrates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LEE as modified RHE to incorporate the teachings of KIM, such that the display device, wherein the plurality of link lines includes a straight portion which straightly extends along an extending direction of the plurality of 3-2-th plate patterns, so that the gate driving connecting lines, 730 may be disposed between the pads and the second substrates may be electrically connect the pads on two adjacent individual substrates and provide high-potential power lines to the touch display panel (KIM, [0199]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of RHE, and further in view of Dee Park et al, (hereinafter PARK), US 20030117540 A1.
Regarding Claim 12, LEE as modified RHE the display device according to claim 3.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 6, 600, stretchable display device), further comprising:
a plurality of high potential power link line (Fig. 1, 182, second connection line may serve as a high potential power line, [0103]) disposed on the fourth plate pattern (Fig. 1, 120, second substrates);
a plurality of low potential power link line (Fig. 1, 181, first connection line may serve as a low-potential power line, [0102]) disposed on the fourth plate pattern (Fig. 1, 120, second substrates) and spaced apart (annotated Figure 1) from the high potential power link line (Fig. 1, 182, second connection line may serve as a high potential power line, [0103]); and
LEE as modified RHE the display device, further comprising: a line on glass (LOG) line disposed on the fourth plate pattern and spaced apart from the high potential power link line and the low potential power link line.
PARK teaches the display device (Fig. 5, liquid crystal display, [0049]), further comprising:
a line on glass (LOG) line (Figs. 5/8, 42/60, line-on-glass type signal line, [0054-0056]) disposed on the fourth plate pattern (Fig. 5, 44, gate metal pattern on a lower substrate, 40, [0051], [0056]) and spaced apart from the high potential power link line and the low potential power link line (Figs. 5/8, [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LEE as modified RHE to incorporate the teachings of PARK, such that the display device, further comprising: a line on glass (LOG) line disposed on the fourth plate pattern and spaced apart from the high potential power link line and the low potential power link line, so that the LOG-type signal lines, 60 greatly decreases the line resistance value in a confined area (PARK, [0060]).
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of RHE, further in view of PARK, and further in view of KIM.
Regarding Claim 13, LEE as modified RHE and PARK teaches the display device according to claim 12.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 6, 600, stretchable display device), wherein the plurality of high potential power link line (Fig. 1, 182, second connection line may serve as a high potential power line, [0103]) includes:
a plurality of first high potential power link lines (Fig. 2, 182, second connection line may serve as a high potential power line, [0103]) spaced apart from each other (annotated Figure 2).
LEE as modified RHE and PARK does not explicitly disclose the display device, wherein the plurality of high potential power link line includes: a plurality of first high potential power link lines spaced apart from each other; and a plurality of second high potential power link line disposed on the plurality of first high potential power link lines and electrically connecting the plurality of first high potential power link lines.
KIM teaches the display device (Fig. 7, 100′, stretchable display panel), wherein the plurality of high potential power link line (Fig. 11, 911, first power lines) includes:
a plurality of first high potential power link lines (Fig. 11, 911, first power lines) spaced apart from each other; and
a plurality of second high potential power link line (Fig. 11, 931, first power connecting lines) disposed on the plurality of first high potential power link lines (Fig. 11, 911, first power lines) and electrically connecting (Fig. 11, [0219]) the plurality of first high potential power link lines (Fig. 11, 911, first power lines).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LEE as modified RHE and PARK to incorporate the teachings of KIM, such that the display device, wherein the plurality of high potential power link line includes: a plurality of first high potential power link lines spaced apart from each other; and a plurality of second high potential power link line disposed on the plurality of first high potential power link lines and electrically connecting the plurality of first high potential power link lines. The arrangement of first power lines, 911 electrically connect the high-potential power pads, 910 that supply high-potential power driving elements disposed on second substrates, 112a disposed in the active area A/A though the first power lines, 911 and the first power connecting lines, 931 (KIM, [0219-0222]).
Regarding Claim 14, LEE as modified RHE, PARK and KIM teaches the display device according to claim 13.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 6, 600, stretchable display device), wherein the plurality of low potential power link line (Fig. 1, 181, first connection line may serve as a low-potential power line, [0102]) includes:
a plurality of first low potential power link lines (Fig. 1, 181, first connection line may serve as a low-potential power line, [0102]) disposed on the same layer (annotated Figure 1) as the plurality of first high potential power link lines (Fig. 2, 182, second connection line may serve as a high potential power line, [0103]) and is spaced apart from each other (annotated Figure 1).
KIM further teaches the display device (Fig. 7, 100′, stretchable display panel), wherein the plurality of low potential power link line (Fig. 11, 921, second power lines) includes:
a plurality of first low potential power link lines (Fig. 11, 921, second power lines) disposed on the same layer (annotated Figure 11) as the plurality of first high potential power link lines (Fig. 11, 911, first power lines) and is spaced apart from each other (annotated Figure 11); and
a second low potential power link line (Fig. 11, 932, second power connecting lines) disposed on the same layer (annotated Figure 11) as the second high potential power link line (Fig. 11, 931, first power connecting lines) and electrically connecting (Fig. 11, [0219]) the plurality of first low potential power link lines (Fig. 11, 911, first power lines).
Regarding Claim 15, LEE as modified RHE, PARK and KIM teaches the display device according to claim 14.
PARK further teaches the display device (Fig. 5, liquid crystal display, [0049]), wherein the LOG line (Figs. 5/8, 42/60, line-on-glass type signal line, [0054-0056]) is disposed between the plurality of first high potential power link lines (Figs. 5/8, gate high voltage signal, Vgh, [0050]) and the plurality of first low potential power link lines (Figs. 5/8, gate low voltage signal, Vgl, [0050]).
Regarding Claim 16, LEE as modified RHE, PARK and KIM teaches the display device according to claim 14.
RHE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, touch display device), further comprising:
a plurality of insulating layers (Fig. 10, 116/118, dielectric film) disposed between the fourth plate pattern (Figs. 9-11, 170/180/190, touch pad/second compensation electrodes) and the plurality of first high potential power link lines (Figs. 9-11, 182, connection line) and between the plurality of first high potential power link lines (Figs. 9-11, 182, connection line) and the plurality of second high potential power link lines (Figs. 9-11, 182, connection line); and
a plurality of holes (Figs. 9-11, 184, connection contact hole) passing through the fourth plate pattern (Figs. 9-11, 170/180/190, touch pad/second compensation electrodes), the plurality of high potential power link lines (Figs. 9-11, 182, connection line), the plurality of low potential power link lines (Figs. 9-11, 182, connection line), and the plurality of insulating layers (Fig. 10, 116/118, dielectric film) in the third non-active area (Figs. 9-10, NA).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190074332 A1 – Figure 2
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – Data link line, DLL can have a zigzag pattern in the bending area, BA, [0073].
US 20040125070 A1 – Figure 5
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – Line-on-glass lines, 311A~311C may be simultaneously patterned and formed during the process of forming the gate lines and gate electrodes on the first substrate, 310, [0063].
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812