DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed January 22, 2025 has been considered.
________________________________________
Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
The limitations in claims 8 and 9 reciting a "locking mechanism structured to" perform the stated locking and unlocking functions are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The recited mechanism is a generic placeholder modified by functional language, and the claims do not recite structure sufficient to perform the complete functions. The corresponding disclosure is the locking mechanism described with retractor 20 and retractor cord 23 in paragraphs 0033-0034 and Figures 2-2D, including the disclosed response to a user pull. The specification states that the locking mechanism is not shown and does not identify a particular mechanical structure that carries out the recited locking and unlocking functions.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 7-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter regarded as the invention.
Claim 7 recites "a second end of the retractor being structured to be affixed to the retractor cord at another end, grip one end ... raise ... and lower." It is unclear whether the second end, the retractor, the retractor cord, or another component performs the gripping, raising, and lowering functions. Claims 8-10 depend from claim 7 and do not cure that ambiguity.
Claims 8 and 9 additionally recite a "locking mechanism" by the functions it is structured to perform. Under the interpretation above, the specification does not disclose sufficiently definite corresponding structure for performing the complete locking and unlocking functions. The scope of the claimed mechanism therefore is not reasonably certain.
Claim 19 contains the same unresolved clause structure: "a second end of the retractor being structured to be affixed to the retractor cord at another end, grip one end ... raise ... and lower." The actor for the gripping, raising, and lowering functions is unclear.
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - US 2011/0074351 A1.
Reference 2 - US 2022/0176840 A1.
Reference 3 - US 3,027,115 A.
Reference 4 - US 3,039,717 A.
Reference 5 - US 5,524,548 A.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) An electric vehicle charger cable management system for use at an EV charging facility coupled to a power source via an EV charger, comprising: (L2) an EV charger cord set including an EV connector and an EV charger cable coupled to the EV connector; (L3) a bracket configured to be mounted to a top surface of the EV charging facility; and (L4) a junction box coupled to the EV charger cable and including electrical wirings, the junction box being structured to electrically connect the EV charger to the EV charger cord set via the electrical wirings, the electrical wirings comprising power lines for supplying power to charge an EV, wherein the junction box is configured to (L5) be affixed to the bracket and mounted on a portion of the top surface via the bracket, and (L6) maintain a majority of the EV charger cord set suspended overhead and out of a path of a user or the EV.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 teaches an overhead EV charging-cable management system at a charging facility. (L2) It teaches power cable 70 and connector 110. (L3) It teaches bracket 50 mounted adjacent ceiling track 30. (L4) Reference 2 teaches J-Box 108 coupled between charging cable 112 and electrical power-distribution cables 106, with power conductors supplying charging current. (L5) Reference 1 teaches bracket 50 secured at the overhead support location and Reference 2 teaches placing the electrical termination box at the charging station. (L6) Reference 1 teaches overhead track 30, trolley 40, movable pulley 42, fixed pulley 52, rollers 54, and cable 70 supporting the cable overhead and out of the vehicle/user path.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the overhead cable-support arrangement of Reference 1 with the charging-station junction-box termination of Reference 2, because the box provides a protected, serviceable transition between facility conductors and the movable charging cord while the overhead bracket and pulley arrangement carries the cord. The components perform their established functions in the combined installation and yield the predictable result of an overhead EV charging cord connected through a protected electrical termination.
________________________________________
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 1, wherein the EV charger is located remotely from the EV charging facility.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. Reference 2 teaches EVSEP panel 104 remote from charging station 110 and connected through distribution cables 106 and J-Box 108.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to locate the charger panel remotely as taught by Reference 2, because centralizing power-control equipment permits multiple charging locations to be supplied through protected branch conductors and local junction boxes, with the predictable result of a remotely located charger serving the overhead cord system.
________________________________________
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 1, wherein the electrical wirings in the junction box comprise power lines and communication lines to communicate with the EV charger and the EV for charging, terminating charging, or interrupting current.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. Reference 2 teaches power-distribution cables 106, charging cable 112, and communications bus 116, together with controller 202 and switch 204 that establish charging, terminate charging, and interrupt current upon a fault.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to carry power and charging-control communications through the protected termination of the combined system, because coordinated control and fault interruption are conventional safety functions at an EV charging outlet and produce the predictable result of controlled power delivery through the same charging installation.
________________________________________
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 1, wherein the EV charging facility is an indoor EV charging facility, the top surface is a ceiling, and the junction box is affixed to one of a plurality of locations on the ceiling.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 teaches ceiling track 30 and overhead bracket 50 in an indoor parking structure. Selecting one of the available ceiling positions for the local junction box of Reference 2 is a placement choice dictated by bay location and conductor routing.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to affix the local junction box at a selected ceiling position near the overhead support, because that location shortens unsupported conductor runs, coordinates the electrical transition with the cable support, and predictably accommodates different parking-bay layouts.
________________________________________
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 6, further comprising a retractor having a fixing component, retractor cord, and cord grip, with the recited first- and second-end attachment and gripping, raising, and lowering functions; and (L2) a cord holder having a fixing component and a strain relief suspended from the ceiling, the strain relief comprising a plate with an aperture providing a conduit for a portion of the cord set, wherein the junction box, retractor, and strain relief maintain a majority of the cord set overhead and out of the user/EV path.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 6 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 teaches spring return 80, return cable 82, bracket 50, pulleys 42/52, and rollers 54 that grip/support and raise or lower cable 70 and connector 110. (L2) Reference 3 teaches base plate 12 having apertured portion 22 and grommet 23 through which cord 18 passes, together with strain-relief clamp 25 secured to plate 12 by screw 26. In the overhead system, that known plate/aperture strain-relief structure provides the claimed conduit and transfers cord load to the fixed support.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the overhead retracting cable of References 1 and 2 with the plate, aperture, grommet, and clamp strain relief of Reference 3, because the known strain relief transfers tensile load away from the electrical termination and protects the cord where it passes through a support. Mounting that plate at the overhead support predictably protects the movable charging cable without changing the operating principle of the retractor.
________________________________________
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3, and further in view of Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 7, wherein the retractor includes a locking mechanism structured to lock the retractor cord at a length that allows the EV connector to remain at the first height during storage based on a downward-force user input.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 7 analysis is incorporated. Reference 4 teaches locking device 33 with dog 34, ratchet plate 36, notches 38, and spring 40, operated by a short pull on the suspended member to hold the take-up line at a selected extension.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the pull-operated locking take-up mechanism of Reference 4 in the retractor of the combined system, because it permits a user at floor level to select and retain a convenient connector height without separate controls and predictably holds the suspended cord against retraction.
________________________________________
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3, and further in view of Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 8, wherein the locking mechanism is structured to unlock based on another downward-force user input and release the retractor cord to lower the EV connector to the second height.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 8 analysis is incorporated. Reference 4 teaches that another short pull disengages dog 34 from ratchet plate 36 so the take-up line can move and the suspended member can be repositioned.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the pull-operated lock to release on a subsequent pull as taught by Reference 4, because alternating lock and release states gives a user direct control of connector height and predictably allows the connector to be lowered for charging.
________________________________________
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 7, wherein the strain relief comprises a plate structured to provide strain relief to the junction box and retractor by distributing the stress of holding the cord set over the plate.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 7 analysis is incorporated. Reference 3 teaches cord 18 passing through apertured portion 22 of base plate 12 and held by strain-relief clamp 25 secured to plate 12, thereby transferring tensile stress from the cord to the plate rather than to the electrical connection.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 3's plate-supported cord clamp at the overhead junction/retractor span, because distributing cord tension over the fixed plate protects both adjacent devices and predictably reduces stress at their cord interfaces.
________________________________________
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 6, further comprising a trolley system maintaining the cord set off the ground, including (L2) trolley tracks affixed to the ceiling, (L3) trolleys suspended from and traveling along the tracks on wheels toward and away from the junction box, (L4) downward holding cords attached to corresponding trolleys, and (L5) cord grips attached to the holding cords and gripping corresponding portions of the cord set, the components holding a majority at a predetermined height and the connector-bearing remainder off the ground.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 6 analysis is incorporated. Reference 5 teaches a festoon cable-support system that keeps cable 36 elevated. (L2) It teaches rail 12. (L3) It teaches tow trolley 14, end trolley 16, intermediate trolleys 20/22/24, and wheels 26/28 traveling on rail 12. (L4) It teaches support cables 42 and tow line 46 extending from the trolley structure. (L5) It teaches saddle 34 supporting the corresponding loops of cable 36 so the cable is carried in an elevated festoon while moving toward and away from the supply end.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to support the overhead EV charging cable of References 1 and 2 with the rail, wheeled trolleys, support lines, and saddles of Reference 5, because a festoon system distributes the weight of a flexible cable while permitting extension and return along a defined path. Applying that known support architecture yields the predictable result of keeping the charging cord elevated while allowing the connector to reach a vehicle.
________________________________________
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 11, wherein the trolleys travel away from the junction box for charging based on pulling the EV connector toward the EV.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 11 analysis is incorporated. Reference 5 teaches tow trolley 14 and intermediate trolleys moving along rail 12 as tow line 46 and cable 36 are pulled away from the fixed end, extending the festoon to the use location.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to extend the trolley-supported charging cord by pulling its use end toward the vehicle, because that is the ordinary operation of the festoon arrangement and predictably moves the supported cable to the charging location.
________________________________________
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 12, wherein the trolleys travel back toward the junction box upon completion of charging based on pushing the EV connector toward the junction box.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 12 analysis is incorporated. Reference 5 teaches the wheeled trolleys gathering toward the fixed end of rail 12 when the movable cable end is returned, re-forming the suspended loops of cable 36.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to return the connector toward the junction box after charging so the trolleys gather and store the cable, because reversing the extension motion is the predictable storage operation of the festoon system and clears the vehicle path.
________________________________________
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 11, wherein the trolley system has two end stops disposed at ends of the series of trolley tracks to prevent the trolleys from leaving the tracks.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 11 analysis is incorporated. Reference 5 teaches confining the trolley train between the fixed/end positions of rail 12. Providing physical stops at both rail ends is a conventional safety expedient that prevents wheels 26/28 from running off the rail.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place stops at both ends of the trolley rail, because end stops retain wheeled carriers on their guide, prevent cable-support failure, and produce the predictable result of bounded trolley travel.
________________________________________
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 11, wherein each trolley holds a loop formed by a corresponding portion of the EV charger cord set and a corresponding cord grip.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 11 analysis is incorporated. Reference 5 teaches intermediate trolleys 20/22/24 and saddle 34 supporting corresponding festoon loops of cable 36.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have each trolley grip and hold a corresponding cable loop as taught by Reference 5, because dividing the cable into supported loops distributes weight and predictably permits orderly extension and retraction.
________________________________________
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The system of claim 1, wherein the facility is an outdoor EV charging facility having a pedestal and an elongated projection protruding horizontally and outwardly from the pedestal top, and the junction box is affixed to the projection.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 teaches outdoor stanchion 220, overhead member 250 projecting from the stanchion, and junction box 235 at the outdoor charging assembly. Positioning the local junction box of Reference 2 on the projecting overhead member places the termination adjacent the supported cable.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to affix the charging-station junction box to the projecting overhead member of Reference 1, because the member already supports the elevated charging cable and provides a protected, accessible location for its electrical transition, with the predictable result of an outdoor pedestal installation having an overhead junction box.
________________________________________
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of References 2 and 3.
Claim Text
(L1) An EV charger cable management system comprising an EV charger cord set, bracket, and junction box with power wiring, the junction box electrically connecting the charger and cord set and being mounted to a first top-surface portion; (L2) a retractor having the recited fixing component, retractor cord, cord grip, attachment, gripping, raising, and lowering functions at a second top-surface portion; and (L3) a strain relief suspended from the top surface, comprising a plate with an aperture providing a conduit for the cord set, the junction box, retractor, and strain relief maintaining a majority overhead and out of the user/EV path.
Analysis
(L1) References 1 and 2 teach the cord set, overhead bracket/support, and charging-station J-Box electrical transition for the reasons mapped for claim 1. (L2) Reference 1 teaches bracket 50, spring return 80, return cable 82, pulleys 42/52, and rollers 54 supporting and vertically positioning cable 70 and connector 110. (L3) Reference 3 teaches base plate 12, apertured portion 22, grommet 23, cord 18, and strain-relief clamp 25 secured to the plate, which provide an apertured load-transferring cord support.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the overhead retracting EV-cable system and local junction-box termination with Reference 3's apertured plate and cord clamp, because the plate transfers tensile load away from the electrical termination and protects the cord at a fixed support. Locating the known supports at respective portions of the overhead surface is dictated by the span required to suspend the cable and yields the predictable claimed arrangement.
________________________________________
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) An EV charger cable management system comprising an EV charger cord set, bracket, and junction box with power wiring, the junction box electrically connecting the charger and cord set and being mounted to the top surface; and (L2) a trolley system maintaining that cord set off the ground, including top-surface trolley tracks, (L3) wheeled trolleys suspended from and traveling along the tracks toward and away from the junction box, (L4) downward holding cords, and (L5) cord grips gripping corresponding portions of the same cord set, the trolleys, holding cords, grips, and junction box holding a majority at a predetermined height and the connector-bearing remainder off the ground.
Analysis
(L1) References 1 and 2 teach the same overhead EV cord set and charging-station junction-box electrical transition mapped for claim 1. (L2) Reference 5 teaches rail 12 supporting cable 36 above the work area. (L3) It teaches tow trolley 14, end trolley 16, intermediate trolleys 20/22/24, and wheels 26/28 traveling toward and away from the fixed end. (L4) It teaches support cables 42 and tow line 46 extending from the trolley structure. (L5) It teaches saddle 34 gripping/supporting corresponding portions of cable 36 so the same cable forms elevated loops while its movable remainder extends to the use location.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 5's rail, wheeled trolleys, support lines, and saddles to carry the charging cord connected through the junction box of References 1 and 2, because the festoon architecture supports one flexible power cable in distributed loops while permitting its use end to move. The substitution is mechanically compatible and predictably keeps the same EV cord set off the ground while it is extended and stored.
________________________________________
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the cited combination does not teach the amended claim 1 junction box affixed at the top surface and maintaining a majority of the cord set overhead. The argument has been considered but is not persuasive. Reference 1 supplies the overhead bracket, track, pulleys, rollers, and supported charging cable, while Reference 2 supplies the local J-Box electrical transition between facility power conductors and the charging cable. The stated combination places the protected transition at the overhead cable-support location so that the supported cable remains overhead. The references are not being treated as if either one alone disclosed every limitation.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the plate-and-aperture strain relief now recited in claims 7, 10, and 19. The amendment necessitated further consideration. Reference 3 expressly teaches cord 18 passing through apertured portion 22 of base plate 12 and strain-relief clamp 25 secured to the plate. That structure transfers cord load to the plate and supplies the feature for which Reference 3 is added.
Applicant argues that the trolley art does not teach the particular tracks, trolleys, holding cords, grips, and same EV charger cord set of claims 11 and 20. Reference 5 teaches rail 12; wheeled tow, end, and intermediate trolleys; support cables 42 and tow line 46; and saddles 34 supporting corresponding loops of cable 36. Applied to the EV charging cord connected through the junction box of References 1 and 2, those structures support the same flexible charging cord in elevated loops while its connector-bearing end is moved to and from a vehicle.
Applicant's amendments cure the prior antecedent and terminology defects in claims 6, 11-14, 17, and 20. They do not cure the ambiguous retractor clause in claims 7 and 19 or the absence of sufficiently definite corresponding structure for the functional locking mechanism of claims 8 and 9. The section 112(b) disposition is stated below.
________________________________________
Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
________________________________________
Conclusion
Claims 2, 4, 15, and 16 are canceled. Claims 1, 3, 5-14, and 17-20 are rejected.
The rejections of claims 6, 11-14, 17, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the Office action mailed June 4, 2026 are withdrawn in view of the amendment filed September 4, 2026. The section 112(b) grounds directed to canceled claims 2, 4, 15, and 16 are moot. The section 112(b) rejections of claims 7-10 and 19 are maintained as set forth above.
________________________________________
Art Considered but Not Applied
US 2017/0267114 A1 was considered for its distributed overhead charging-cable supports but does not provide a better whole-claim primary disclosure than the applied combination, particularly for the amended plate-and-aperture strain relief.
US 2012/0013300 A1 was considered for a suspended-cable carrier arrangement but does not improve upon the rail, wheeled-trolley, and loop-support disclosure applied from Reference 5.
US 9,975,443 B2 was considered for the cable-support subject matter previously associated with canceled claim 2, but it does not provide a better whole-claim primary disclosure for the pending claims than the applied overhead charging and trolley references.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615