DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/25 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 6-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
ANTECEDENT BASIS — CLAIM 2
Claim 2 recites “a holder structured to be placed on a wall or a pedestal at the EV charging facility and hold a second portion of the EV charger cord set for storage when the EV connector is not connected to an EV for charging.” However, claim 1 does not introduce a “first portion” of the EV charger cord set, nor does claim 1 otherwise define what portion of the EV charger cord set is the “second portion.” Claim 1 recites “a majority of the EV charger cord set,” but it is unclear whether the claimed “second portion” refers to the remaining/minority portion, the portion including the EV connector, a different portion of the cable, or an additional portion distinct from the claimed majority.
Accordingly, the metes and bounds of claim 2 are unclear.
SUGGESTED AMENDMENT
Applicant may amend claim 2 to recite, for example, “hold a remaining portion of the EV charger cord set including the EV connector,” “hold a minority portion of the EV charger cord set,” or otherwise introduce first and second portions with clear antecedent basis.
FUNCTIONAL RESULT LANGUAGE — CLAIM 4
Claim 4 recites “wherein the junction box affixed to the portion of the top surface of the EV charging facility eliminates damages to the EV charger cord set and/or tripping hazards to the user.” This limitation is indefinite because the claim does not provide an objective structural boundary for determining when the junction box “eliminates” damage or tripping hazards. Whether damage or tripping hazards are eliminated depends on installation height, cord length, user movement, EV movement, storage condition, charging condition, and other external use conditions not recited in the claim.
The claim therefore does not clearly define what structure is required to satisfy the limitation, or how to determine infringement or patentability based on the alleged elimination of damage and/or tripping hazards.
SUGGESTED AMENDMENT
Applicant may amend claim 4 to recite objective structural limitations, such as a defined mounting position, height, cable routing, holder location, or relationship between the suspended cord portion and the ground/pathway, or may delete the intended-result language.
ANTECEDENT BASIS — CLAIM 6
Claim 6 recites “wherein the EV charging facility comprises an indoor EV charging facility and the top portion is a ceiling of the indoor EV charging facility.” Claim 1 recites “a portion of top surface of the EV charging facility,” but does not introduce “the top portion.” It is unclear whether “the top portion” refers to the claimed “top surface,” a different portion of the EV charging facility, or another unclaimed overhead structure.
Accordingly, claim 6 is indefinite.
SUGGESTED AMENDMENT
Applicant may amend claim 6 to recite, for example, “wherein the EV charging facility comprises an indoor EV charging facility and the top surface comprises a ceiling of the indoor EV charging facility.”
UNCLEAR RETRACTOR STRUCTURE AND CABLE PORTION — CLAIM 7
Claim 7 recites “the retractor being structured to be affixed to the ceiling at one end via the fixing component and to the retractor cord at another end.” The phrase “at one end” and “at another end” does not clearly identify whether the referenced ends are ends of the retractor, the retractor cord, the fixing component, or another component. The claim also recites that the retractor is “affixed . . . to the retractor cord,” although the retractor cord is recited as part of the retractor. This makes the physical relationship between the retractor, fixing component, retractor cord, and ceiling unclear.
Claim 7 further recites that the retractor is structured to “grip one end of the majority of the EV charger cord set via the cord grip.” The claim does not clearly define the boundaries of the “majority” portion such that an “end” of that majority portion can be identified. It is also unclear whether the cord grip grips the majority portion, the remaining portion including the EV connector, or a transition between the majority portion and the remaining portion.
Claim 7 further recites that “the retractor and the cord holder together maintain the majority of the EV charger cord set to be suspended overhead and out of a path of the user and/or the EV via the strain relief.” The phrase “via the strain relief” is unclear because the strain relief is part of the cord holder, yet the claim grammatically suggests that both the retractor and the cord holder maintain the cord set via the strain relief.
For these reasons, claim 7 is indefinite. Claims 8-10 are indefinite at least by virtue of their dependency from claim 7.
SUGGESTED AMENDMENT
Applicant may amend claim 7 to specify the exact structural relationship, for example, that the retractor has a housing or first end affixed to the ceiling by the fixing component, that the retractor cord extends from the retractor, and that the cord grip grips a defined remaining portion or transition portion of the EV charger cord set. Applicant may also clarify that the cord holder maintains the majority portion via the strain relief, while the retractor raises and lowers the portion including the EV connector.
LOCKING MECHANISM — CLAIMS 8 AND 9
Claims 8 and 9 recite a “locking mechanism” structured to lock, unlock, and release the retractor cord. The term “mechanism” is a generic placeholder, and the claims recite the element primarily by the functions it performs, namely locking the retractor cord at a length, unlocking the retractor cord, and releasing the retractor cord. The claims do not recite sufficient structure, such as a latch, pawl, ratchet, clutch, detent, brake, cam, spring-biased catch, or other identified structure, for performing the claimed locking and unlocking functions.
The “locking mechanism” limitation is treated as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The specification must disclose corresponding structure for performing the claimed functions. The specification states that the retractor may include a “locking mechanism (not shown)” and describes the locking/unlocking functions, but does not disclose adequate corresponding structure for performing those functions. See, e.g., Spec. ¶¶ [0024] and [0027]. Because adequate corresponding structure is not disclosed, the scope of claims 8 and 9 cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Claim 9 is also indefinite because it recites “another user input” and then recites “the user input comprising a downward force exerted against the retractor.” It is unclear whether “the user input” refers to the “another user input” of claim 9 or to the “user input” previously recited in claim 8.
SUGGESTED AMENDMENT
Applicant may amend claims 8 and 9 to recite definite structure for the locking mechanism, if supported by the original disclosure, or may amend the claims to avoid functional claiming without corresponding structure. Applicant may also clarify claim 9 by reciting “the another user input comprising a downward force” or otherwise identifying which user input performs the unlocking function.
TROLLEY / TROLLEY TRACK STRUCTURE — CLAIM 11
Claim 11 recites “one or more trolleys structured to be affixed to the ceiling in a series via fixing components” and then recites “one or more trolly tracks each including wheels and being structured to travel away and toward the junction box via corresponding trolly tracks.” This language is indefinite for multiple reasons.
First, it is unclear whether the trolleys or the trolley tracks include wheels. The claim states that the “trolly tracks” include wheels, but the surrounding claim language and specification indicate that the trolleys are the moving components and the tracks are the guide structures.
Second, the claim states that the “trolly tracks” are “structured to travel away and toward the junction box via corresponding trolly tracks.” This is circular and unclear because the same tracks appear to be both the moving component and the guide structure through which movement occurs.
Third, the claim recites that the trolleys are affixed to the ceiling in a series, but also appears to require travel away from and toward the junction box. It is unclear what component is fixed to the ceiling and what component moves relative to the junction box.
Fourth, claim 11 recites “corresponding holding portions” without previously introducing the “holding portions.” It is unclear whether the holding portions are portions of the EV charger cable, portions of the EV charger cord set, portions of the trolley system, or another structure.
Accordingly, claim 11 is indefinite. Claims 12-17 are indefinite at least by virtue of their dependency from claim 11.
SUGGESTED AMENDMENT
Applicant may amend claim 11 to recite, for example, that one or more trolley tracks are affixed to the ceiling via fixing components, that one or more trolleys each include wheels and are structured to travel along corresponding trolley tracks away from and toward the junction box, and that the cord grips grip defined holding portions of the EV charger cord set.
DEPENDENT TROLLEY CLAIMS — CLAIMS 12-17
Claims 12 and 13 depend from claim 11 and recite movement of the one or more trolleys via the one or more trolley tracks. Because claim 11 does not clearly define whether the trolleys or the tracks move, claims 12 and 13 are indefinite.
Claim 14 depends from claim 11 and recites end-stops disposed at ends of the series of trolley tracks. Because claim 11 does not clearly define the trolley tracks, the moving trolley structure, or the series of tracks, claim 14 is indefinite by dependency.
Claims 15 and 16 depend from claim 11 and recite that the trolleys are directly affixed to the ceiling or suspended from the ceiling via the trolley tracks. Because claim 11 does not clearly define the fixed and moving components, claims 15 and 16 are indefinite by dependency.
Claim 17 recites “each trolley holds a loop formed by a corresponding holding portion of the EV charger cord and a corresponding cord grip.” The term “EV charger cord” lacks clear antecedent basis because the claims recite an “EV charger cord set” and an “EV charger cable,” but do not previously recite an “EV charger cord.” It is unclear whether “EV charger cord” refers to the EV charger cable, the EV charger cord set, or another structure.
SUGGESTED AMENDMENT
Applicant may amend claims 12-17 after clarifying claim 11. Applicant may also amend claim 17 to recite “EV charger cord set” or “EV charger cable,” as intended, and introduce the holding portions in claim 11 or claim 17 with proper antecedent basis.
UNCLEAR RETRACTOR STRUCTURE — CLAIM 19
Claim 19 recites “the retractor being structured to be affixed to a second portion of the top surface at one end via the fixing component and to the retractor cord at another end.” As discussed above for claim 7, the phrase “at one end” and “at another end” does not clearly identify the component having the referenced ends, and the phrase “affixed . . . to the retractor cord” is unclear because the retractor cord is recited as part of the retractor.
Claim 19 also recites that the retractor is structured to “grip one end of a majority of the EV charger cord set via the cord grip.” The claim does not clearly define the boundaries of the “majority” portion or which end is gripped.
Claim 19 further recites that “the junction box, the retractor and the cord holder together maintain the majority of the EV charger cord set to be suspended overhead and out of a path of the user and/or the EV via the strain relief.” The phrase “via the strain relief” is unclear because the strain relief is part of the cord holder, yet the claim grammatically applies the phrase to the combined operation of the junction box, retractor, and cord holder.
Accordingly, claim 19 is indefinite.
SUGGESTED AMENDMENT
Applicant may amend claim 19 to clearly identify the fixed end of the retractor, the movable retractor cord, the portion of the EV charger cord set gripped by the cord grip, and which component provides strain relief.
TROLLEY / TROLLEY TRACK STRUCTURE — CLAIM 20
Claim 20 recites “one or more trolleys structured to be affixed to another portion of the top surface in a series via fixing components” and “one or more trolly tracks each including wheels and being structured to travel away and toward the junction box via corresponding trolly tracks.” This language is indefinite for the same reasons discussed above for claim 11.
It is unclear whether the trolleys or the trolley tracks include wheels; whether the trolley tracks or trolleys travel; how the trolley tracks travel “via corresponding trolly tracks”; and what structure is fixed to the top surface versus what structure moves toward and away from the junction box.
Claim 20 also recites “corresponding holding portions” without previously introducing the holding portions. It is therefore unclear whether the holding portions are portions of the EV charger cord set, EV charger cable, trolley system, or another component.
Accordingly, claim 20 is indefinite.
SUGGESTED AMENDMENT
Applicant may amend claim 20 to recite, for example, that the trolley tracks are affixed to the top surface, that the trolleys each include wheels and travel along corresponding trolley tracks, and that the cord grips grip defined holding portions of the EV charger cord set.
CLAIM OBJECTIONS / INFORMALITIES
Claims 1, 19, and 20 recite “electrical wirings” and then refer to “the electric wirings.” Although the intended meaning appears to be “the electrical wirings,” correction is required for consistency.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the strain relief comprises a plate and structured to provide a strain relief.” The phrase should be corrected to “wherein the strain relief comprises a plate and is structured to provide strain relief,” or otherwise rewritten for proper grammar.
Claims 11 and 20 use “trolly tracks.” If “trolley tracks” is intended, the claims should be amended for consistency throughout the claim set.
REFERENCES USED
Reference 1: Bianco et al., US 2011/0074351 A1, “Overhead Electric Vehicle Charging System.”
Reference 2: Harris et al., WO 2022/125492 A1, “Electric Vehicle Charging System and Method.”
Reference 3: Jefferies et al., US 9,975,443 B2, “Electric Vehicle Charging Station Locking Cable Reel.”
Reference 4: Appleton, US 3,039,717 A, “Locking Device for Take-Up Reel.”
Reference 5: Fox, US 5,524,548 A, “Festoon Brake System.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 3.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 4.
Claims 11-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2, and further in view of Reference 5.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 1
An electric vehicle (EV) charger cable management system for use at an EV charging facility coupled to a power source via an EV charger, comprising: an EV charger cord set including an EV connector and an EV charger cable coupled to the EV connector; a bracket; and a junction box coupled to the EV charger cable and including electrical wirings, the junction box being structured to electrically connect the EV charger to the EV charger cord set via the electric wirings, be affixed to a portion of top surface of the EV charging facility via the bracket, and maintain a majority of the EV charger cord set to be suspended overhead and out of a path of a user or the EV.
Rejection of Claim 1 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses an electric vehicle charging system for use at an EV charging facility, including a parking garage 12 having charging stations 14 and an outdoor charging facility 210 having charging stations 212. The charging stations are coupled to a power source through charging control/power-supply equipment, including load center 90, control module 60, control box/POS module 100, controller 241, and related electrical components.
Reference 1 discloses an EV charger cord set including an EV connector and an EV charger cable coupled to the EV connector. In the indoor embodiment, power cable 70 is the EV charger cable, and level 2 vehicle connector 110 is the EV connector. Reference 1 further discloses that connector 110 connects with the vehicle outlet terminal to supply electric power to charge the vehicle battery. In the outdoor embodiment, power cable 214 and terminal connector 216 provide the same EV charging cable/connector relationship.
Reference 1 discloses a bracket. Bracket 50 is suspended from track 30 and mounts fixed pulley 52 and opposed rollers 54. Reference 1 also discloses rail-like track 30 mounted to the ceiling of the garage or suspended at an overhead location. The bracket/track structure supports and guides power cable 70 in an overhead cable management arrangement.
Reference 1 discloses overhead suspension of the EV charger cable. Power cable 70 loops around movable pulley 42, passes over fixed pulley 52, and passes between rollers 54 so that the cable is suspended below the ceiling in a retracted inoperative mode above the aisle between parked vehicles. Spring return device 80, coilable cable 82, U-shaped bracket 44, movable pulley 42, and trolley 40 bias power cable 70 toward a stable retracted position. Reference 1 further discloses that control box 100 and connector 110 are suspended from power cable 70 and generally positioned above the top of the vehicle, and that pull cord 112 allows the operator to pull connector 110 downward for charging.
Reference 1 does not expressly disclose, in the indoor ceiling embodiment, that the overhead connection point is a “junction box” coupled to the EV charger cable and including electrical wirings in the precise manner claimed. Reference 2 supplies this feature. Reference 2 discloses EV charging system 100 including EV supply equipment units EVSEPs 102 located in EVSEP panel 104, electrical power distribution cables 106, junction boxes or J-boxes 108 located near associated charging stations 110, and plug-in charging cables 112. Reference 2 further discloses that electrical power distribution cables 106 distribute electrical power from EVSEPs 102 to J-boxes 108 and charging stations 110, and that gateway 118 distributes control pilot signals to handles 114 of charging cables 112 via J-boxes 108. Thus, Reference 2 teaches a junction box coupled between EV charging equipment and an EV charging cord/connector set, with internal electrical wiring for power and control/communication.
It would have been obvious to modify the overhead EV cable management arrangement of Reference 1 by using the junction-box architecture of Reference 2 at the overhead connection point of Reference 1. The modified system would include an EV charger cord set, bracket 50/track 30, and a junction box corresponding to Reference 2’s J-box 108 coupled to the EV charger cable and mounted at the overhead/top surface region of the facility using the bracket/track mounting arrangement taught by Reference 1. The resulting junction box would electrically connect the remote or upstream EV charger equipment to the EV charger cord set through electrical wirings, while the overhead pulley/trolley/retractor arrangement of Reference 1 maintains a majority of the EV charger cord set suspended overhead and out of the path of the user and EV.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 1 and Reference 2 to provide a centralized or remote EV charging power/control architecture with a local overhead cable-management connection point. Reference 1 already teaches the benefit of keeping the EV charging cable overhead and retractable to prevent interference with users and vehicles, while Reference 2 teaches using J-boxes 108 near charging stations 110 to route power and control pilot signals from EVSEPs 102 to charging cables 112. Substituting or incorporating Reference 2’s J-box 108 at Reference 1’s overhead connection point would have predictably simplified installation, enabled remote EV charger placement, preserved power/control wiring functionality, and maintained Reference 1’s overhead cable-safety benefits. The combination uses known EV charging components for their known functions and would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both references concern conductive EV charging cables, EV connectors, charging stations, and power/control interconnection between supply equipment and a vehicle connector.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 2
The EV charger cable management system of claim 1, further comprising: a holder structured to be placed on a wall or a pedestal at the EV charging facility and hold a second portion of the EV charger cord set for storage when the EV connector is not connected to an EV for charging.
Rejection of Claim 2 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 3
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 1 as set forth above. Reference 1 further teaches storing the connector and associated cable portion in an overhead position when not in use, including connector 110 and control box 100 suspended from cable 70 in the retracted position. However, Reference 1 does not expressly require a separate wall- or pedestal-mounted holder.
Reference 3 discloses an EV charging station EVCS/EVSE 10 including pedestal or housing 11, EVSE connector 13, handle 14, and docking station 15. Reference 3 teaches that when charging station 10 is not in use, handle 14 is inserted into docking station 15 on pedestal 11, and docking station 15 physically supports and protects EVSE connector 13 when not in use. Docking station 15 therefore corresponds to the claimed holder, pedestal 11 corresponds to the claimed pedestal, and handle 14/connector 13 with cable 12 corresponds to the claimed second portion of the EV charger cord set held for storage when the EV connector is not connected to an EV.
It would have been obvious to include Reference 3’s docking station 15 on a wall or pedestal in the combined Reference 1/Reference 2 system to provide a positive storage support for connector 110 and the remaining/minority portion of cable 70 when connector 110 is not connected to the vehicle.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to add Reference 3’s docking station 15 to the overhead EV charging system of Reference 1 as modified by Reference 2 to provide a defined storage location for the connector when not in use. Reference 1 already seeks to keep connector 110 and cable 70 accessible and away from user/vehicle paths, and Reference 3 expressly teaches that docking station 15 physically supports and protects EVSE connector 13 on pedestal 11. The combination would have predictably improved storage, reduced connector damage, and made the connector easier for a user to locate without changing the EV charging function.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 3
The EV charger cable management system of claim 1, wherein the EV charger is located remotely from the EV charging facility.
Rejection of Claim 3 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 1 as set forth above. Reference 2 further discloses EVSEPs 102 located in EVSEP panel 104, with electrical power distribution cables 106 extending from EVSEPs 102 to J-boxes 108 and associated charging stations 110. Thus, the EV charging/control equipment is located in a panel separate from the charging station connection point, while J-boxes 108 and plug-in charging cables 112 are located at or near charging stations 110.
The claimed EV charger located remotely from the EV charging facility is therefore taught or at least suggested by Reference 2’s EVSEP panel 104 and EVSEPs 102 being separated from the local charging stations 110 and J-boxes 108 by distribution cables 106.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 3
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 2’s remote EVSEP panel 104 with Reference 1’s overhead charging cable arrangement to centralize EV charging control and circuit protection while leaving only the cable-management and connector components at the charging location. This arrangement would predictably reduce local equipment bulk, simplify maintenance, and allow multiple overhead charging stations to be supplied from a centralized panel.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 4
The EV charger cable management system of claim 1, wherein the junction box affixed to the portion of the top surface of the EV charging facility eliminates damages to the EV charger cord set and/or tripping hazards to the user.
Rejection of Claim 4 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 1 as set forth above. Reference 1 teaches that cable 70 is suspended below the ceiling and above the aisle between parked vehicles in the retracted inoperative mode. Reference 1 further teaches that spring return device 80 retracts cable 70 to a non-charged overhead position after use, with connector 110 and control box 100 positioned above the top of the vehicle. In the modified system, Reference 2’s J-box 108 would be mounted at the overhead/top surface region using Reference 1’s bracket/track arrangement, so the cable exits and is supported from an overhead connection point rather than lying across the floor.
To the extent the term “eliminates” is treated as an intended result or a result-effective limitation, the combination at least teaches the structure that achieves the claimed result: overhead mounting of the junction-box connection point and suspension/retraction of the majority of the EV charger cord set out of the user/vehicle travel path. Such structure prevents or substantially reduces floor contact, dragging, vehicle run-over, dirt exposure, and user tripping hazards.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 4
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to mount Reference 2’s J-box 108 at the overhead connection point of Reference 1 to reduce cable damage and tripping risk because Reference 1’s purpose is to suspend and retract the EV charging cable above the vehicle/user path. The modification would predictably keep the cable elevated during storage and use, thereby improving safety and cable durability.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 5
The EV charger cable management system of claim 1, wherein the electrical wirings in the junction box comprise power lines and communication lines.
Rejection of Claim 5 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 1 as set forth above. Reference 2 teaches electrical power distribution cables 106 distributing power from EVSEPs 102 to J-boxes 108 and charging stations 110. Reference 2 also teaches gateway 118 distributing control pilot signals from EVSEPs 102 to handles 114 of charging cables 112 via J-boxes 108. Therefore, Reference 2 teaches power lines and communication/control-pilot lines routed through the junction-box architecture.
Reference 1 independently supports this limitation because cable 70 functions as both a power cable and a communication cable, including two-wire communication between control box/POS module 100 and control module 60. Accordingly, the modified overhead J-box would include electrical wirings comprising power lines and communication lines.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 5
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include both power conductors and communication/control-pilot conductors in the overhead junction-box wiring because EV charging requires both power delivery and control/communication with the EV connector. Reference 2’s J-boxes 108 already route power and control pilot signals, and Reference 1’s cable 70 already carries power and communication. Combining these teachings would predictably provide a complete EV charging interface at the overhead cable management location.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 6
The EV charger cable management system of claim 1, wherein the EV charging facility comprises an indoor EV charging facility and the top portion is a ceiling of the indoor EV charging facility, and wherein the junction box is affixed to one of a plurality of locations in the ceiling.
Rejection of Claim 6 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 1 as set forth above. Reference 1 expressly discloses an indoor parking garage 12 having charging stations 14. Reference 1 also discloses rail-like track 30 mounted to the ceiling of the garage or suspended at an overhead location above the garage deck between adjacent parking spaces. The ceiling of parking garage 12 corresponds to the claimed top portion/top surface of an indoor EV charging facility.
Reference 1 further teaches multiple charging stations and associated overhead charging locations in a garage. Reference 2 teaches J-boxes 108 located near associated charging stations 110. It would therefore have been obvious to mount the modified J-box 108 at one of a plurality of ceiling locations in the indoor garage of Reference 1, using bracket 50/track 30 or equivalent overhead mounting hardware, so that each charging station location has an overhead junction point for the corresponding cable.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 6
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide the modified overhead junction box at one of multiple ceiling locations because Reference 1 already teaches multiple indoor garage charging spaces served by overhead charging stations, while Reference 2 teaches distributing power/control to J-boxes 108 associated with charging stations 110. Mounting the J-box at selectable ceiling locations would predictably allow the installer to align the overhead cable with different parking spaces, garage structures, and EV inlet positions.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 7
The EV charger cable management system of claim 6, further comprising: a retractor including a fixing component, a retractor cord and a cord grip attached to the retractor cord, the retractor being structured to be affixed to the ceiling at one end via the fixing component and to the retractor cord at another end, grip one end of the majority of the EV charger cord set via the cord grip, raise the EV connector to a first height for storage and lower the EV connector to a second height for charging; and a cord holder including a fixing component and a strain relief, the cord holder being structured to be affixed to the ceiling via the fixing component, wherein the retractor and the cord holder together maintain the majority of the EV charger cord set to be suspended overhead and out of a path of the user and/or the EV via the strain relief.
Rejection of Claim 7 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 6 as set forth above.
Reference 1 discloses a retractor including a fixing component, a retractor cord, and a cord-gripping/cord-engaging structure. Spring return device 80 is mounted at the underside of track 30. Track 30 is mounted to the garage ceiling or suspended at an overhead location, and therefore the mounting of spring return device 80 to track 30 provides the claimed ceiling fixing component. Spring return device 80 includes automatic coilable cable 82, corresponding to the claimed retractor cord. Cable 82 connects to U-shaped bracket 44 of movable pulley 42; U-shaped bracket 44 and movable pulley 42 grip, retain, or engage the corresponding portion of power cable 70 through the pulley loop arrangement. Thus, U-shaped bracket 44/movable pulley 42 corresponds to the claimed cord grip attached to the retractor cord.
Reference 1 teaches that power cable 70 loops around movable pulley 42, passes over fixed pulley 52, and passes between rollers 54. Spring return device 80 biases movable pulley 42 and trolley 40 toward a stable retracted position, thereby urging power cable 70 linearly and vertically to the retracted position. In the retracted/storage position, connector 110 and control box 100 are suspended above the top of the vehicle. Pull cord 112 allows the operator to pull connector 110 downward into an electrically connected charging position. Thus, Reference 1 teaches raising the EV connector to a first height for storage and lowering the EV connector to a second height for charging.
Reference 1 further discloses a cord holder including a fixing component and strain relief. Bracket 50 is suspended from track 30 and mounts fixed pulley 52 and opposed rollers 54. Bracket 50 and track 30 provide the fixing component, while fixed pulley 52 and rollers 54 guide, support, and relieve strain on cable 70 as it changes direction and is suspended overhead. Bracket 50, pulley 52, and rollers 54 together correspond to a cord holder with strain relief because they hold cable 70, distribute the cable load, prevent sharp bending/chafing, and maintain the majority of cable 70 overhead. In the combined system, Reference 2’s J-box 108 is located at the overhead connection point and electrically connects the EV charger to the EV charger cord set, while Reference 1’s retractor and cord holder maintain the majority of the EV charger cord set overhead and out of the path of the user and/or EV.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 1’s spring return device 80, coilable cable 82, movable pulley 42, U-shaped bracket 44, bracket 50, fixed pulley 52, and rollers 54 with the overhead J-box arrangement supplied by Reference 2 to provide automatic overhead storage and guided lowering of the EV connector. This combination would predictably keep the heavier EV charging cable elevated during storage, allow the user to lower the connector only when needed, and reduce stress at the overhead electrical connection by guiding and supporting the cable through a pulley/roller strain-relief path.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 8
The EV charger cable management system of claim 7, wherein the retractor further includes a locking mechanism structured to lock the retractor cord at a length that allows the EV connector to remain at the first height during storage based on a user input comprising a downward force exerted against the retractor.
Rejection of Claim 8 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 4
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 7 as set forth above. Reference 1 discloses spring return device 80 resembling a tool retractor, including coilable cable 82 connected to U-shaped bracket 44 and movable pulley 42. Reference 1 further teaches that pull cord 112 permits a user to pull connector 110 and control box 100 generally downwardly from an overhead storage position.
Reference 1 does not expressly show the internal locking structure of spring return device 80. Reference 4 supplies the claimed locking mechanism. Reference 4 discloses a take-up reel assembly including housing 10, supporting flange 12, drum 21, cord 22, clock spring 28, releasable locking mechanism 30, locking device 35, dog 34, ratchet plate 36, notches 38, tongue 39, spring device 40, and spring legs 42 and 43. Reference 4 teaches that locking mechanism 30 locks the drum after a predetermined length of cord 22 has been withdrawn, thereby preventing rewind by spring 28. Reference 4 further teaches that the locking device is effective when the reel is mounted on a floor or a ceiling member.
When Reference 4’s releasable locking mechanism 30/dog 34/ratchet plate 36 is applied to Reference 1’s spring return device 80 and coilable cable 82, the retractor cord is lockable at a selected length. In Reference 1’s overhead arrangement, the user’s downward pull on pull cord 112, connector 110, cable 70, and/or retractor cable 82 applies a downward force against the retractor. The lock maintains connector 110 at the selected first/storage height by preventing the retractor from further unwinding or rewinding until released.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 8
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Reference 4’s locking mechanism 30 into Reference 1’s spring return device 80 to allow the EV connector to remain at a selected overhead storage or ready height without continuous user force. Reference 1 already teaches an overhead spring-return cable system that is pulled downward for use, and Reference 4 teaches a known pull-actuated reel lock for holding a withdrawn cord length. The modification would predictably improve user control, prevent unwanted cable movement, and allow the connector to remain at an accessible but overhead storage height.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 9
The EV charger cable management system of claim 8, wherein the locking mechanism is further structured to unlock the retractor cord based on another user input and release the retractor cord so as to allow lowering of the EV connector to the second height, the user input comprising a downward force exerted against the retractor.
Rejection of Claim 9 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 4
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 8 as set forth above. Reference 4 further teaches that the locking device is releasable in response to a short pull on the unwound cord, after which the cord can move under the action of spring 28. Specifically, dog 34 and tongue 39 engage notches 38 of ratchet plate 36 to hold drum 21 against rotation, and the locking device releases in response to a short pull on cord 22.
When this known locking/release structure is applied to Reference 1’s overhead spring return device 80 and coilable cable 82, a further downward pull by the user acts as another user input to unlock the retractor cord. After release, the user can continue pulling connector 110 downward using pull cord 112 to lower connector 110 from the first/storage height to the second/charging height. Reference 1 expressly teaches that the operator pulls connector 110 and control box 100 downward into the electrically connected position with the vehicle.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 9
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the combined Reference 1/Reference 4 retractor so that a further downward pull unlocks the retractor cord because Reference 4 teaches short-pull release of a locked take-up reel, and Reference 1 already uses a downward user pull to move the overhead EV connector into charging position. This provides a simple, predictable, one-hand user interface for both retaining the connector at a selected height and releasing it for charging.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 10
The EV charger cable management system of claim 7, wherein the strain relief comprises a plate and structured to provide a strain relief to the junction box and the retractor by distributing the stress of holding the EV charger cord set over the plate.
Rejection of Claim 10 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 7 as set forth above. Reference 1 discloses bracket 50 mounted/suspended from track 30 and supporting fixed pulley 52 and rollers 54. Bracket 50 is a structural mounting member that supports the cable-guiding elements and spreads the load of cable 70 through the bracket/track structure rather than concentrating cable stress at a single electrical connection. Fixed pulley 52 and rollers 54 distribute cable loading and reduce bending/chafing as cable 70 passes from the overhead connection region through the retractor path.
In the modified system, Reference 2’s J-box 108 is provided at the overhead connection point. It would have been obvious for bracket 50 to include or be implemented as a plate-like strain-relief support because plate-type brackets are common support structures for distributing load over a mounting surface. Such a bracket/plate would provide strain relief to the modified J-box 108 and to spring return device 80 by distributing the stress of holding EV charger cable 70 over bracket 50 and the associated mounting/track structure.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 10
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide bracket 50 as a plate-type strain-relief support in the combined overhead system to distribute the weight and dynamic pulling loads of the EV charger cord set away from the electrical junction and retractor components. This would predictably reduce stress concentration, improve durability, and protect the J-box wiring and retractor during repeated cable extension and retraction.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 11
The EV charger cable management system of claim 6, further comprising: a trolley system structured to maintain the EV charger cord set off the ground of the EV charging facility at all times, the trolley system including one or more trolleys structured to be affixed to the ceiling in a series via fixing components, one or more trolly tracks each including wheels and being structured to travel away and toward the junction box via corresponding trolly tracks, one or more holding cords each attached to corresponding trolleys and extending downwardly, and one or more cord grips each attached to corresponding holding cords and structured to grip ends of corresponding holding portions, wherein the one or more trolleys, the one or more holding cords and the one or more cord grips together hold the majority at a predetermined height and maintain a remaining portion of the EV charger cord set including the EV connector suspended off the ground.
Rejection of Claim 11 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 5
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 6 as set forth above. Reference 1 further discloses a trolley-based overhead EV charging cable arrangement including track 30, trolley 40, movable pulley 42, spring return device 80, cable 70, and connector 110. Reference 1 teaches maintaining cable 70 overhead and retracting connector 110 to a height above the vehicle.
Reference 5 supplies the plural trolley/festoon cable management details. Reference 5 discloses trolley system 10 including rail or track 12, tow trolley 14, end trolley/end clamp 16, intermediate trolleys 20, 22, 24, wheels 26, 28, guide rollers 30, carrier body 32, saddle 34, cable 36, support cables 42, and tow line 46. Reference 5 teaches that cable 36 is festooned between tow trolley 14, intermediate trolleys 20, 22, 24, and end trolley 16, and that such a trolley system is used to organize cables or hoses that carry power from a source located adjacent the end trolley to a movable machine located adjacent the tow trolley.
It would have been obvious to implement Reference 1’s overhead EV charging cable 70/connector 110 with the plural trolley/festoon support arrangement of Reference 5. In the combined system, Reference 5’s rail 12 corresponds to the claimed trolley track, and is mounted overhead/ceiling-side as taught by Reference 1’s track 30. Trolleys 14, 20, 22, and 24 correspond to the claimed one or more trolleys arranged in series. Wheels 26, 28 and guide rollers 30 correspond to the wheeled trolley/track movement structure. Saddles 34 and support cables 42 correspond to holding cords and cord-supporting/cord-gripping elements attached to the trolleys and extending downwardly to hold the cable. Cable 36’s festooned portions correspond to holding portions of the EV charger cord set. The combined arrangement holds the majority of EV charger cable 70 at a predetermined overhead height, while the remaining portion including connector 110 remains suspended off the ground.
To the extent the claim language “trolly tracks each including wheels and being structured to travel . . . via corresponding trolly tracks” is interpreted as requiring the moving trolley/track assembly to include wheels, Reference 5 teaches wheels 26, 28 on the moving trolleys. To the extent it is interpreted literally as the track itself including wheels, the limitation is at least suggested by the integrated trolley/track assembly of Reference 5 in which wheeled trolleys travel on rail 12.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 11
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 5’s festoon trolley system with Reference 1’s overhead EV charging cable system to support a longer or heavier EV charger cable in controlled overhead loops rather than allowing the cable to sag or drag. Reference 1 already teaches overhead EV cable storage and trolley movement along track 30, and Reference 5 teaches a known cable-management trolley system for organizing power cables along a rail using multiple trolleys and festooned cable portions. The combination would predictably keep the EV charging cable off the floor, reduce tripping hazards, reduce cable wear, and permit the connector to be moved toward the EV while maintaining the majority of the cable overhead.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 12
The EV charger cable management system of claim 11, wherein the one or more trolleys are structured to travel away from the junction box via the one or more trolley tracks for charging based on a user input comprising a pulling of the EV connector toward the EV.
Rejection of Claim 12 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 5
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 11 as set forth above. Reference 1 teaches that the user pulls connector 110 downward and toward the vehicle using pull cord 112 to move connector 110 into the electrically connected charging position. Reference 5 teaches tow trolley 14 moving along rail 12 away from end trolley 16 and pulling intermediate trolleys 20, 22, 24 apart from one another along rail 12 through tow line 46. In the modified EV charging system, the fixed end/end trolley 16 is positioned adjacent the overhead junction-box/source side, and user pulling of connector 110 toward the EV causes the trolley-supported cable portions to travel away from the junction box along the track for charging.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 12
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the combined trolley system so that pulling the EV connector toward the EV moves the trolleys away from the junction box because that movement directly corresponds to extending the cable from a stored overhead position to a charging position. Reference 1 already teaches user pulling of connector 110 for charging, and Reference 5 teaches trolley separation/movement along rail 12 when the cable-supported system is extended. The arrangement would predictably allow cable extension while maintaining overhead cable support.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 13
The EV charger cable management system of claim 12, wherein the one or more trolleys are structured to travel back toward the junction box via the one or more trolley tracks upon completion of the charging based on another user input comprising a push of the EV connector towards the junction box.
Rejection of Claim 13 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 5
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 12 as set forth above. Reference 1 teaches that when charging is complete and the connection is released, spring return device 80 retracts cable 70 to the non-charged overhead position. Reference 5 teaches trolleys moving along rail 12 toward and away from end trolley 16 as the festooned cable system extends and retracts. In the modified system, the end trolley/end clamp 16 side corresponds to the junction-box/source side, and the trolley-supported EV cable returns toward the junction box during storage.
A push of connector 110 toward the junction-box/source side is an obvious manual counterpart to Reference 1’s retraction and Reference 5’s return travel. The user push assists or initiates movement of the trolley-supported cable back toward the overhead junction-box side after charging.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 13
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to configure the trolleys to return toward the junction box after charging so the cable is restored to its overhead storage configuration. Reference 1 already teaches automatic retraction to a non-charged overhead position, and Reference 5 teaches travel of trolleys along rail 12 during cable extension/retraction. Providing a user push of the connector toward the junction box as the return input would predictably improve cable storage and reduce slack after charging.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 14
The EV charger cable management system of claim 11, wherein the trolley system further comprises two end-stops each disposed at ends of the series of the one or more trolley tracks and structured to prevent the one or more trolleys from leaving the one or more trolley tracks.
Rejection of Claim 14 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 5
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 11 as set forth above. Reference 5 teaches end trolley/end clamp 16 fixed at one end 12a of rail 12. Reference 5 further explains that end trolley/end clamp 16 defines the end of the length of rail 12 along which the trolleys may travel. Thus, Reference 5 teaches a fixed end structure that limits trolley travel and prevents movement beyond the rail end.
It would have been obvious to provide an equivalent end-stop at each end of the trolley-track series in the modified EV charging system. A rail/track having moving trolleys necessarily requires defined travel limits, and Reference 5’s end trolley/end clamp 16 provides the express teaching of a fixed end-defining structure. Providing two end-stops, one at each end of the track series, would prevent trolleys 14, 20, 22, 24 from leaving rail 12 in either direction.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 14
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to provide end-stops at both ends of the overhead EV trolley track to prevent trolley derailment, cable drop, and damage to the EV charging cord set. Reference 5 expressly teaches an end clamp/end trolley 16 defining the rail travel end, and applying such fixed end structures at both ends of the overhead track would have been a predictable safety and retention measure for the combined EV charging trolley system.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 15
The EV charger cable management system of claim 11, wherein the one or more trolleys are directly affixed to the ceiling via a fixing component.
Rejection of Claim 15 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 5
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 11 as set forth above. To the extent claim 15 is definite, and under a broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with claim 11, the limitation reads on direct ceiling affixation of the trolley/track assembly that supports the trolleys. Reference 1 teaches rail-like track 30 mounted to the ceiling of the garage or suspended at an overhead location. Trolley 40 travels on track 30. Reference 5 teaches trolleys 14, 20, 22, 24 movably attached to rail 12 by wheels 26, 28.
It would have been obvious in the combined system to directly affix the trolley-supporting rail/track 12/30 to the ceiling using brackets, fasteners, or equivalent fixing components so that the trolleys are directly supported from the ceiling-mounted track assembly. This meets the claimed direct ceiling affixation of the trolley system.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 15
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to directly affix the trolley/track assembly to the ceiling because Reference 1 already teaches ceiling mounting of track 30 for an overhead EV cable, and direct ceiling mounting provides a simple, rigid, space-efficient support for a trolley system. This would predictably reduce sway, maintain cable height, and simplify installation in an indoor garage.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 16
The EV charger cable management system of claim 11, wherein the one or more trolleys are suspended from the ceiling via the one or more trolley tracks.
Rejection of Claim 16 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 5
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 11 as set forth above. Reference 1 teaches track 30 mounted to the ceiling or suspended at an overhead location. Reference 5 teaches trolleys 14, 20, 22, and 24 movably attached to rail 12 through wheels 26, 28 and guide rollers 30. Therefore, in the combined overhead EV charging system, the one or more trolleys are suspended from the ceiling by the ceiling-mounted trolley track/rail.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 16
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to suspend the trolleys from the ceiling via trolley tracks to allow the EV charger cable to travel along an overhead path while remaining off the ground. Reference 1 teaches the overhead ceiling-mounted track location, and Reference 5 teaches wheeled trolleys suspended from and moving along a rail. The combination would predictably provide a stable overhead cable support arrangement suitable for indoor EV charging facilities.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 17
The EV charger cable management system of claim 11, wherein each trolley holds a loop formed by a corresponding holding portion of the EV charger cord and a corresponding cord grip.
Rejection of Claim 17 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 5
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 11 as set forth above. Reference 5 teaches that cable 36 is festooned between tow trolley 14, intermediate trolleys 20, 22, 24, and end trolley 16. Each intermediate trolley 20 includes carrier body 32 and saddle 34 for supporting a load, including cable 36. The festooned cable portions between adjacent trolleys form loops. Saddles 34 and associated supports correspond to cord-supporting/cord-gripping structures that hold the loop portions of the cable.
When applied to Reference 1’s EV charger cable 70, each trolley in the combined system holds a loop formed by a corresponding holding portion of the EV charger cable and a corresponding cord support/grip. To the extent the claim uses “EV charger cord” rather than “EV charger cord set” or “EV charger cable,” Reference 1’s power cable 70 and Reference 5’s cable 36 satisfy the limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 17
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to hold the EV charger cable in festooned loops using trolley-supported cord grips because Reference 5 teaches that festooned cable loops organize and support power cables along a rail. Applying that structure to Reference 1’s overhead EV charger cable would predictably store cable length compactly overhead, reduce dragging and kinking, and allow controlled extension toward the EV.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 18
The EV charger cable management system of claim 1, wherein the EV charging facility comprises an outdoor EV charging facility including an EV charging pedestal and an elongated projection protruding horizontally and outwardly from a top of the EV charging pedestal, and wherein the junction box is structured to be affixed to a portion of the elongated projection.
Rejection of Claim 18 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
Analysis
Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 discloses the EV charger cable management system of claim 1 as set forth above. Reference 1 expressly discloses outdoor overhead charging facility 210. Charging facility 210 includes stanchion units 220, each having upright 240 and overhead support member 250 mounted in a cantilever-type arrangement with the upright. Upright 240 corresponds to the claimed EV charging pedestal, and overhead support member 250 corresponds to the claimed elongated projection protruding horizontally and outwardly from a top of the pedestal. Reference 1 further teaches that retractable power cable 214 is suspended through opening 252 of support member 250 and includes terminal connector 216 for mating with the EV charging terminal.
Reference 1 also teaches that power cable 214 connects via power line 213 with a power supply at junction box 235. Reference 2 teaches J-boxes 108 used to connect EVSEPs 102 to charging stations 110 and charging cables 112. It would have been obvious to mount the junction box at or on a portion of the elevated support member 250 or associated tubular bracket/conduit structure 280 of Reference 1 so that the J-box is located at the overhead cable exit/support region. This arrangement provides the claimed junction box affixed to a portion of the elongated projection.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 18
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to locate and affix the junction box on the cantilevered overhead support member 250 of Reference 1’s outdoor stanchion facility because the power cable 214 is suspended from that same overhead member and Reference 2 teaches locating J-boxes near charging stations to connect power/control wiring to charging cables. Placing the junction box at the elevated support member would predictably shorten the local cable run, protect the electrical connection, and keep the EV charger cord set overhead and away from vehicle/user traffic.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 19
An electric vehicle (EV) charger cable management system for use at an EV charging facility coupled to a power source via an EV charger, comprising: an EV charger cord set including an EV connector and an EV charger cable coupled to the EV connector; a bracket; a junction box coupled to the EV charger cable and including electrical wirings, the junction box being structured to electrically connect the EV charger to the EV charger cord set via the electric wirings and be affixed to a first portion of top surface of the EV charging facility via the bracket; a retractor including a fixing component, a retractor cord and a cord grip attached to the retractor cord, the retractor being structured to be affixed to a second portion of the top surface at one end via the fixing component and to the retractor cord at another end, grip one end of a majority of the EV charger cord set via the cord grip, raise the EV connector to a first height for storage and lower the EV connector to a second height for charging; and a cord holder including a fixing component and a strain relief, the cord holder being structured to be affixed to a third portion of the top surface via the fixing component, wherein the junction box, the retractor and the cord holder together maintain the majority of the EV charger cord set to be suspended overhead and out of a path of the user and/or the EV via the strain relief.
Rejection of Claim 19 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses an EV charger cable management system for use at an EV charging facility, including indoor parking garage 12 with charging stations 14 and outdoor charging facility 210 with charging stations 212. Reference 1 discloses power cable 70 and connector 110, corresponding to the claimed EV charger cable and EV connector. Reference 1 further discloses bracket 50, track 30, movable pulley 42, fixed pulley 52, rollers 54, spring return device 80, coilable cable 82, U-shaped bracket 44, control box/POS module 100, and pull cord 112.
Reference 2 discloses the claimed junction box coupled to the EV charger cable and including electrical wirings. In Reference 2, EVSEPs 102 in EVSEP panel 104 supply power through electrical power distribution cables 106 to J-boxes 108 and charging stations 110. Gateway 118 distributes control pilot signals to charging cable handles 114 via J-boxes 108. Thus, J-boxes 108 include or interface with electrical wirings for power and communication/control, and electrically connect EV charging equipment to charging cable 112.
It would have been obvious to affix Reference 2’s J-box 108 to a first portion of the top surface of Reference 1’s EV charging facility using Reference 1’s overhead bracket/track mounting arrangement, including bracket 50 and track 30. The modified J-box would serve as the overhead electrical connection between the EV charger equipment and the EV charger cord set.
Reference 1 discloses the claimed retractor. Spring return device 80 is affixed to the overhead track/ceiling region and includes automatic coilable cable 82. Cable 82 connects to U-shaped bracket 44 of movable pulley 42. U-shaped bracket 44 and movable pulley 42 correspond to the cord grip attached to the retractor cord because they engage and support the relevant portion of cable 70. Spring return device 80 biases trolley 40 and movable pulley 42 toward the retracted position, thereby raising connector 110 to a first/storage height. Pull cord 112 allows the operator to pull connector 110 downward to a second/charging height for connection with the EV.
Reference 1 further discloses the claimed cord holder including a fixing component and strain relief. Bracket 50 is mounted/suspended from track 30, and supports fixed pulley 52 and opposed rollers 54. Bracket 50/track 30 correspond to the fixing component, while pulley 52 and rollers 54 provide strain relief by guiding cable 70, supporting the cable weight, and reducing stress at the overhead connection point. The bracket/roller/pulley arrangement maintains the majority of cable 70 overhead and out of the path of the user and vehicle.
In the combined system, Reference 2’s J-box 108, Reference 1’s spring return device 80, and Reference 1’s bracket 50/pulley 52/rollers 54 together maintain the majority of the EV charger cord set overhead and out of the path of the user and/or EV via the strain-relief cable support structure.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 19
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine Reference 1’s overhead retractor and cord-holder arrangement with Reference 2’s junction-box EV charging architecture to provide a complete overhead EV charger cable management system having a local overhead electrical connection, guided strain relief, automatic storage, and user-lowerable connector access. The combination would predictably keep the cable overhead, distribute pulling stress away from the junction box, allow the EV connector to be lowered for charging, and permit the EV charger equipment to be located remotely or upstream from the local connector.
────────────────────────────────────────
Claim 20
An electric vehicle (EV) charger cable management system for use at an EV charging facility coupled to a power source via an EV charger, comprising: an EV charger cord set including an EV connector and an EV charger cable coupled to the EV connector; a bracket; a junction box coupled to the EV charger cable and including electrical wirings, the junction box being structured to electrically connect the EV charger to the EV charger cord set via the electric wirings and be affixed to a portion of top surface of the EV charging facility via the bracket; and a trolley system structured to maintain the EV charger cord set off the ground of the EV charging facility at all times, the trolley system including one or more trolleys structured to be affixed to another portion of the top surface in a series via fixing components, one or more trolly tracks each including wheels and being structured to travel away and toward the junction box via corresponding trolly tracks, one or more holding cords each attached to corresponding trolleys and extending downwardly, and one or more cord grips each attached to corresponding holding cords and structured to grip ends of corresponding holding portions, wherein the one or more trolleys, the one or more holding cords, the one or more cord grips and the junction box together hold a majority of the EV charger cord set at a predetermined height and maintain a remaining portion of the EV charger cord set including the EV connector to be suspended off the ground.
Rejection of Claim 20 Under 35 U.S.C. 103 Over Reference 1 in View of Reference 2, and Further in View of Reference 5
Analysis
Reference 1 discloses an EV charger cable management system for use at an EV charging facility, including indoor parking garage 12 and charging stations 14. Reference 1 discloses power cable 70 and level 2 vehicle connector 110, corresponding to the claimed EV charger cable and EV connector. Reference 1 further discloses bracket 50, track 30, trolley 40, movable pulley 42, fixed pulley 52, rollers 54, spring return device 80, coilable cable 82, control module 60, control box/POS module 100, and pull cord 112. Reference 1 maintains the EV charging cable overhead and off the user/vehicle path.
Reference 2 discloses the claimed junction box and electrical wirings. EVSEPs 102 in EVSEP panel 104 distribute electrical power through distribution cables 106 to J-boxes 108 and charging stations 110. Gateway 118 distributes control pilot signals to charging cable handles 114 via J-boxes 108. Accordingly, J-box 108 is coupled to the charging cable architecture and includes or interfaces with electrical wiring for power and communication/control. It would have been obvious to mount J-box 108 at Reference 1’s overhead/top-surface location using bracket 50/track 30 so the junction box electrically connects the EV charger to the overhead EV charger cord set.
Reference 5 supplies the plural trolley-system details. Reference 5 discloses rail/track 12, tow trolley 14, end trolley/end clamp 16, intermediate trolleys 20, 22, 24, wheels 26, 28, guide rollers 30, carrier body 32, saddle 34, supported cable 36, support cables 42, and tow line 46. Cable 36 is festooned between the trolleys, and the trolley system organizes power-carrying cables from a source adjacent end trolley 16 to a movable use location adjacent tow trolley 14.
In the combined system, Reference 5’s rail 12 is mounted to Reference 1’s top surface/ceiling location as an overhead trolley track. Reference 5’s tow trolley 14 and intermediate trolleys 20, 22, 24 are arranged in series and include wheels 26, 28 to travel along rail 12. Reference 5’s saddles 34 and support cables 42 correspond to holding cords and cord-gripping/supporting structures extending downwardly from the trolleys to support cable 36. When applied to Reference 1’s EV charger cable 70, those structures hold corresponding holding portions of the EV charger cord set and maintain the majority of the EV charger cord set at a predetermined overhead height. The remaining portion, including connector 110, remains suspended off the ground as taught by Reference 1.
To the extent claim 20’s wording suggests that the “trolly tracks” include wheels and travel via corresponding tracks, Reference 5 teaches the moving trolley/track assembly with wheels 26, 28 traveling on rail 12; this satisfies the limitation under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Motivation to Combine / Rationale for Claim 20
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 5’s festoon trolley cable-management system with Reference 1’s overhead EV charging cable and Reference 2’s junction-box architecture to support a long EV charger cord set overhead while allowing the connector to move toward and away from the vehicle. Reference 1 already teaches overhead EV cable suspension and retraction, Reference 2 teaches the J-box interconnection between EVSE equipment and charging cables, and Reference 5 teaches plural trolleys, rail travel, and festooned cable support for power cables. The combination would predictably maintain the majority of the EV charger cord set overhead, prevent ground contact, reduce tripping and cable damage, and provide guided extension/retraction of the connector.
Conclusion
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615