DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I, Species II, Embodiment 2: Fig. 3 (non-air gap), and Claims 1-4 and 7 in the reply filed on March 20, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Further, Claim 28 directed to “an air gap” is further withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23, 29, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claims 23 and 33, the limitation “the wire line” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Thus, the limitation renders the claims indefinite and clarification is required. As to claim 29, the limitation” the air gap” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Thus, the limitation renders the claim indefinite and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 24, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0147942 A1 to Yahashi et al. (“Yahashi”).
As to claim 1, Yahashi discloses a method for building an interposer, the method comprising: providing a substrate (101) having a surface defining a plane; depositing a first portion (103A) of a metal layer relative to the substrate (101); depositing a first photoresist layer (141, 142) on the first portion (103A) of the metal layer, making a line pattern in the first photoresist layer (141, 142), etching the first portion (103A) of the metal layer through the patterned first photoresist layer (141, 142) to form a first portion (103) of a metal line, and stripping the first photoresist layer (141, 142); depositing a first insulation layer (161) on the first portion (103) of the metal line; depositing a first barrier layer (105) on the first insulation layer (161) and the first portion (103) of the metal line; depositing a second portion (106A) of the metal layer on the first barrier layer (105); depositing a second photoresist layer (143, 144) on the second portion (106A) of the metal layer, making a line pattern in the second photoresist layer (143, 144), etching the second portion (106A) of the metal layer through the patterned second photoresist layer (143, 144) to form a second portion (106) of the metal line wherein the second portion (106) of the metal line is opposite the first portion (103) of the metal line across the barrier layer (105), and stripping the second photoresist layer (143, 144) (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0026, ¶ 0039-¶ 0058) (Notes: the recited “interposer” is met by the structures). As to claim 4, Yahashi further discloses comprising: depositing a pad (109) on the metal line (See ¶ 0053). As to claim 7, Yahashi further discloses wherein the first insulation layer (161) comprises oxide (See ¶ 0044). As to claim 24, Yahashi discloses an interposer manufactured by a method, the method comprising: providing a substrate (101) having a surface defining a plane; depositing a first portion (103A) of a metal layer relative to the substrate (101); depositing a first photoresist layer (141, 142) on the first portion (103A) of the metal layer, making a line pattern in the first photoresist layer (141, 142), etching the first portion (103A) of the metal layer through the patterned first photoresist layer (141, 142) to form a first portion (103) of a metal line, and stripping the first photoresist layer (141, 142); depositing a first insulation layer (161) on the first portion (103) of the metal line; depositing a first barrier layer (105) on the first insulation layer (161) and the first portion (103) of the metal line; depositing a second portion (106A) of the metal layer on the first barrier layer (105); depositing a second photoresist layer (143, 144) on the second portion (106A) of the metal layer, making a line pattern in the second photoresist layer (143, 144), etching the second portion (106A) of the metal layer through the patterned second photoresist layer (143, 144) to form a second portion (106) of the metal line wherein the second portion (106) of the metal line is opposite the first portion (103) of the metal line across the barrier layer (105), and stripping the second photoresist layer (143, 144) (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0026, ¶ 0039-¶ 0058) (Notes: the recited “interposer” is met by the structures). As to claim 27, Yahashi further discloses comprising: depositing a pad (109) on the metal line (See ¶ 0053). As to claim 30, Yahashi further discloses wherein the first insulation layer (161) comprises oxide (See ¶ 0044).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 22, 25-26, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0147942 A1 to Yahashi et al. (“Yahashi”) as applied to claims 1 and 24 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0028280 A1 to Sciarrillo et al. (“Sciarrillo”). The teaching of Yahashi has been discussed above. As to claims 2 and 25, although Yahashi does not further disclose wherein etching the first portion of the metal layer and etching the second portion of the metal layer comprises dry etching to form first and second portions of the metal line having first and second cross-sections, respectively, perpendicular to the plane that are non-rectangular shapes, Sciarrillo does disclose wherein etching the first portion of the metal layer and etching the second portion of the metal layer comprises dry etching to form first (804) and second (816) portions of the metal line having first and second cross-sections, respectively, perpendicular to the plane that are non-rectangular shapes (See Fig. 7, Fig. 8, ¶ 0085-¶ 0088). In view of the teaching of Sciarrillo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yahashi to have wherein etching the first portion of the metal layer and etching the second portion of the metal layer comprises dry etching to form first and second portions of the metal line having first and second cross-sections, respectively, perpendicular to the plane that are non-rectangular shapes because the dry etching forming the non-rectangular shapes improves the verticality to reduce bit line-to-bit line leakage (See ¶ 0086). As to claims 3 and 26, Yahashi in view of Sciarrillo further discloses wherein the first and second cross-sections respectively comprise a trapezoidal shape (See Sciarrillo Fig. 8). As to claims 22 and 32, although Yahashi does not further disclose wherein the metal line comprises aluminum, Sciarrillo does disclose wherein the metal line comprises aluminum (See ¶ 0018). In view of the teaching of Sciarrillo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yahashi to have wherein the metal line comprises aluminum because aluminum along with other metals of tungsten, copper, titanium, and etc. are well-known materials having low resistance for the metal line (See ¶ 0018).
Claim(s) 21 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0147942 A1 to Yahashi et al. (“Yahashi”) as applied to claims 1 and 24 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0097170 A1 to Sato et al. (“Sato”). The teaching of Yahashi has been discussed above. As to claims 21 and 31, although Yahashi discloses wherein the first barrier layer (105) comprises oxide (See ¶ 0044), Yahashi does not further disclose wherein the first barrier layer comprises nitride. However, Sato does disclose wherein the first barrier layer (93) comprises nitride (See Fig. 7, ¶ 0077). In view of the teaching of Sato, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yahashi to have wherein the first barrier layer comprises nitride because oxide and nitride are well-known insulating and barrier materials to protect the metal line (See ¶ 0077).
Claim(s) 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0147942 A1 to Yahashi et al. (“Yahashi”) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0097170 A1 to Sato et al. (“Sato”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0028280 A1 to Sciarrillo et al. (“Sciarrillo”). The teaching of Yahashi has been discussed above. As to claim 34, although Yahashi wherein the first insulation layer (161) comprises oxide (See ¶ 0044), Yahashi does not further disclose wherein the first barrier layer comprises nitride, and wherein the metal line comprises aluminum. However, Sato does disclose wherein the first barrier layer (93) comprises nitride (See Fig. 7, ¶ 0077). Further, Sciarrillo does disclose wherein the metal line comprises aluminum (See ¶ 0018). In view of the teachings of Sato and Sciarrillo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Yahashi to have wherein the first barrier layer comprises nitride, and wherein the metal line comprises aluminum because oxide and nitride are well-known insulating and barrier materials to protect the metal line and aluminum along with other metals of tungsten, copper, titanium, and etc. are well-known materials having low resistance for the metal line (See Sato ¶ 0077 and Sciarrillo ¶ 0018).
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815