DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190164945 (Chae et al).
Considering claim 17, Chae discloses a light emitting device, comprising (Figs. 55-57):
a first subunit (423) including a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (423a), an active layer ([0690]), and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (423b); a second subunit disposed over the first subunit (433), and including a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (433a), an active layer ([0690]), and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (433b); a third subunit (443) disposed over the second subunit, and including a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (433a), an active layer ([0690]), and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (433b); and first through third pad electrodes (471, 473, and 477ab) extending parallel to a direction and along a length of the first subunit, the second subunit, and the third subunit and (Figs. 56 and 57, note it can be seen that the first through third electrode pads are formed with an upper portion that extends parallel to a direction of the substrate and a lower portion that extends perpendicular to the substrate which is along the length of the subunits) electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layers of the first through third subunits, respectively, wherein the number of subunits overlapping with each of the first through third pad electrodes is different from one another (Figs. 56 and 57, note that the lengths of the electrode pads differ and overlap with different numbers of LED stacks (subunits)).
Referring to claim 18, Chae discloses wherein: the first pad electrode is electrically connected to the first subunit, the second pad electrode is electrically connected to the second subunit, and the third pad electrode is electrically connected to the third subunit (Figs. 56 and 57 and [0695]).
Regarding claim 19, Chae discloses further comprising: a fourth pad electrode (475), wherein the number of subunits overlapping with at least one of the first through third pad electrodes is equal to the number of subunits overlapping with the fourth pad electrode (Fig. 56).
Pertaining to claim 20, Chae discloses wherein each of the first to third pad electrodes has different lengths (Figs. 56 and 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190164945 (Chae et al).
Concerning claim 1, Chae discloses a light emitting device, comprising (Figs. 55-57)
a substrate (451) ([0638]); a first LED stack (423) disposed on the substrate, and including a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (423a), an active layer ([0640]), and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (423b) . . .; a second LED stack (433) disposed between the substrate and the first LED stack (Fig. 56), and including a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (433a), an active layer ([0640]), and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (433b); a third LED stack (443) disposed between the substrate and the second LED stack (Fig. 56); and including a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (433a), an active layer ([0640]), and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (433b); a lower insulation layer (461) covering the first through third LED stacks ([0693]); an upper insulation layer (481) disposed on the lower insulation layer (Fig. 56 and [00698]); and electrode pad layers (471, 473, 475, and 477ab) disposed on the upper insulation layer, and electrically connected to the first through third LED stacks (Fig. 56 and 57), wherein: the lower insulation layer has openings (461a, 461b, 461c, 461d, and 461e) allowing electrical connection to the first through third LED stacks (Fig. 56 right side), the upper insulation layer covers the lower insulation layer such that each of the openings of the lower insulation layer is at least partially exposed (Fig. 56 and [0698]), and the electrode pad layers extend on the upper insulation layer to pass through openings in the lower insulation layer (Fig. 56 and [0698]).
Chae does not disclose (according to the embodiment as shown in Figs. 55-57) the first LED stack having a roughened surface disposed toward the substrate or the lower insulation layer and the upper insulation layer are disposed between the substrate and the electrode pad layers. However, Chae discloses several different embodiments for a light emitting device. Specifically, Chae discloses in the formation of the first LED stack that the exposed surface of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 423a may be subjected to texturing to improve light extraction efficiency, whereby a light extraction structure such as a roughened surface can be formed on the surface of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer 423a ([0678]). This texturing is don after the formation of the LED stack and therefore the roughened structure is formed towards the substrate (Fig. 52D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment as disclosed in Figs. 55-57 to have a roughened surface disposed toward the substrate (as seen in Fig. 52D and disclosed in [0678]) in order to improve light extraction efficiency.
Additionally, Chae discloses another embodiment (Fig. 85)
in which the configuration of the light emitting device is altered such that the lower insulation layer (661) and the upper insulation layer (681) are disposed between the substrate (651) and the electrode pad layers (673a) (rectangular portion in annotated Fig. 85 above). In this configuration The upper insulation layer 681 may be formed of, for example, silicon oxide or silicon nitride, and may include a distributed Bragg reflector. In addition, the upper insulation layer 681 may include a transparent insulation layer and a reflective metal layer or a multilayered organic reflective layer formed on the transparent insulation layer to reflect light, or may include a light absorption layer formed of a black epoxy resin to block light. In the structure wherein the upper insulation layer 681 reflects or blocks light, the upper insulation layer 681 is formed to at least partially expose the upper surface of the third LED stack 643 in order to allow light to be emitted to the outside. ([0880]-[0881]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of Chae depicted in Figs. 55-57 such that the lower insulation layer and the upper insulation layer are disposed between the substrate and the electrode pad layers in order to form a structure that has the ability to emit/block light in desired portions of the device.
Continuing to claim 2, Chae discloses wherein one of the electrode pad layers (477ab) passes through a plurality of openings of the lower insulation layer to be commonly electrically connected to the first conductivity type semiconductor layers of the first through third LED stacks (Fig. 56).
Regarding claim 5, Chae discloses wherein three of the electrode pad layers (471, 473, and 477ab) are electrically connected to second conductivity type semiconductor layers of the first through third LED stacks, respectively, through different openings of the lower insulation layer (Figs. 56 and 57).
Pertaining to claim 6, Chae discloses further comprising: transparent electrode layers (445 and 435) respectively disposed on the second conductivity type semiconductor layers of the first through third LED stacks ([0654]), wherein three of the electrode pad layers are connected to the transparent electrode layers, respectively (Fig. 56).
As to claim 7, Chae discloses wherein the upper insulation layer has openings corresponding to the openings in the lower insulation layer ([0698]).
Concerning claim 9, Chae discloses wherein at least one of the electrode pad layers includes a curved upper surface (circled portion in annotated Fig. 56 above).
Continuing to claim 10, Chae discloses wherein each of the electrode pad layers extends toward a center and an outside of the light emitting device from the opening of the lower insulation layer, and at least one electrode pad layer extends more lengthily to the outside of the light emitting device than to the center of the light emitting device from the opening of the lower insulation layer (Fig. 55).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190164945 (Chae et al) in view of US 20210057481 (Chae et al, hereafter referred to as Chae’481)
Considering claim 3, Chae discloses further comprising: an ohmic contact layer (425) disposed on . . .the first conductivity type semiconductor layer of the first LED stack ([0667]-[0668]) . . . , wherein one of the electrode pad layers (477ab) is connected to the ohmic contact layer (Fig. 56).
Chae does not disclose the ohmic contact layer is disposed on an entirety of a surface of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer of the first LED or that it is formed on a side opposite the substrate. However Chae’481 discloses a light emitting device configuration
in which an ohmic layer (62) is formed on an entirety of the central surface of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer (23a) of the first LED stack (23) on a side opposite the substrate (41) ([0089]). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). MPEP 2144.04 IV. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of Chae in view of Chae’481 absent evidence that such configuration is significant.
Referring to claim 4, Chae in view of Chae’481 disclose wherein one of the electrode pad layers (Chae 471 and 473) directly contacts the first conductivity type semiconductor layers of the second LED stack and the third LED stack (Chae Fig. 57, note that each electrode pad contacts one of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer of the third and the second LED stacks).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190164945 (Chae et al) in view of US 20210384181 (Xu et al).
As to claim 8, Chae discloses forming a lower and upper insulation layer on the LED stacks (Figs. 56 and 57).
Chae does not disclose wherein a height of an upper most surface of the upper insulation layer is lower than that of an upper most surface of the lower insulation layer. However, Xu discloses an LED stack configuration in which an upper insulation layer (146 and 148) has an upper most height that is formed lower than a height of a lower insulation layer (162) (Fig. 1B, [0184], and [0221]). Xu discloses that such configuration allows for direct bonding or formation of different LED structures and/or other layers together with less destruction to the existing structures within the planarized layers ([0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of upper and lower insulation layers of Chae in view of Xu such that a height of an upper most surface of the upper insulation layer is lower than that of an upper most surface of the lower insulation layer in order to allow for direct bonding or formation of different LED structures and/or other layers together with less destruction to the existing structures within the planarized layers.
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190164945 (Chae et al) in view of US 20200365647 (Jang et al).
Concerning claim 11, Chae discloses . . .the light emitting device, comprising (Figs. 55-57)
a substrate (451) ([0638]); a first LED stack (423) disposed on the substrate, and including a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (423a), an active layer ([0640]), and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (423b); a second LED stack (433) disposed between the substrate and the first LED stack (Fig. 56), and including a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (433a), an active layer ([0640]), and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (433b); a third LED stack (443) disposed between the substrate and the second LED stack (Fig. 56); and including a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (433a), an active layer ([0640]), and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (433b); a lower insulation layer (461) covering the first through third LED stacks ([0693]); an upper insulation layer (481) disposed on the lower insulation layer (Fig. 56 and [00698]); and electrode pad layers (471, 473, 475, and 477ab) disposed on the upper insulation layer, and electrically connected to the first through third LED stacks (Fig. 56 and 57), wherein: the lower insulation layer has openings (461a, 461b, 461c, 461d, and 461e) allowing electrical connection to the first through third LED stacks (Fig. 56 right side), the upper insulation layer covers the lower insulation layer such that each of the openings of the lower insulation layer is at least partially exposed (Fig. 56 and [0698]), and the electrode pad layers extend on the upper insulation layer to pass through openings in the lower insulation layer (Fig. 56 and [0698]).
Chae does not disclose a light emitting module, comprising: a circuit board with pads; a light emitting device disposed on the circuit board; and bonding layers for bonding the light emitting device to the circuit board or the lower insulation layer and the upper insulation layer are disposed between the substrate and the electrode pad layers.. However, Jang discloses a light emitting module (Fig. 14) that comprises a circuit board (11p) with pads (11pa); a light emitting device (100) disposed on the circuit board; and bonding layers for bonding the light emitting device to the circuit board ([0118]) which are essential parts of forming a display apparatus ([0006] and [0007]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporated a circuit board with pads with the light emitting device of Chae disposed on the circuit board and bonding layers for bonding the light emitting device to the circuit board in order to form a display device as disclosed by Jang.
Additionally, Chae discloses another embodiment (Fig. 85)
in which the configuration of the light emitting device is altered such that the lower insulation layer (661) and the upper insulation layer (681) are disposed between the substrate (651) and the electrode pad layers (673a) (rectangular portion in annotated Fig. 85 above). In this configuration The upper insulation layer 681 may be formed of, for example, silicon oxide or silicon nitride, and may include a distributed Bragg reflector. In addition, the upper insulation layer 681 may include a transparent insulation layer and a reflective metal layer or a multilayered organic reflective layer formed on the transparent insulation layer to reflect light, or may include a light absorption layer formed of a black epoxy resin to block light. In the structure wherein the upper insulation layer 681 reflects or blocks light, the upper insulation layer 681 is formed to at least partially expose the upper surface of the third LED stack 643 in order to allow light to be emitted to the outside. ([0880]-[0881]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of Chae depicted in Figs. 55-57 such that the lower insulation layer and the upper insulation layer are disposed between the substrate and the electrode pad layers in order to form a structure that has the ability to emit/block light in desired portions of the device.
Continuing to claim 12, Chae in view of Jang discloses wherein the bonding layers bond the electrode pad layers to the pads (Jang Fig. 14 and [0118]).
Considering claim 13, Chae in view of Jang discloses wherein one of the electrode pad layers (Chae 477ab) passes through a plurality of openings of the lower insulation layer to be commonly electrically connected to the first conductivity type semiconductor layers of the first through third LED stacks (Chae Fig. 56).
Referring to claim 14, Chae in view of Jang discloses wherein one of the electrode pad layers (Chae 471 and 473) directly contacts the first conductivity type semiconductor layers of the second LED stack and the third LED stack (Chae Fig. 57, note that each electrode pad contacts one of the first conductivity type semiconductor layer of the third and the second LED stacks).
Regarding claim 15, Chae in view of Jang discloses wherein three of the electrode pad layers (Chae 471, 473, and 477ab) are electrically connected to second conductivity type semiconductor layers of the first through third LED stacks, respectively, through different openings of the lower insulation layer (Chae Figs. 56 and 57).
Pertaining to claim 16, Chae in view of Jang discloses wherein: the lower insulation layer includes a distributed Bragg reflector ([0693]), and the lower insulation layer contacts the first conductivity type semiconductor layers of the first through third LED stacks (Figs. 56 and 57).
Chae in view of Jung does not disclose in the embodiment as disclosed in Figs. 55-57 of Chae the lower insulation layer is disposed over substantially all of a surface of the first LED stack opposite the substrate. However Chae discloses a configuration (Fig. 64D)
in which the lower insulation layer (561) is formed over substantially all of a surface of the first LED stack opposite the substrate (as is seen above). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). MPEP 2144.04 IV. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the configuration of Chae in view of Jung such that Chae the lower insulation layer is disposed over substantially all of a surface of the first LED stack opposite the substrate as disclosed in alternate embodiments of Chae (Fig. 64D) absent evidence that such configuration is significant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Office cites the lower insulation layer 461 and upper insulation layer 481 in FIGS. 56 and 57 of Chae as teaching the lower insulation layer and upper insulation layer of the claimed invention. However, a closer inspection of FIGS. 56 and 57 of Chae would show that its upper insulation layer 481 is shown as covering the entire surface of its light emitting element. As such, Chae cannot be characterized as disclosing that each of the openings of the lower insulation layer is at least partially exposed by the covering of its the upper insulation layer. It is noted that the cited Figs. do not show the openings, however as stated above, [0698] discloses that openings may be formed in the upper insulation layer and is being relied on for this limitation. Therefore the argument is not found to persuasive and the rejection stands.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 11, 16, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE N NEWTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 05/26/26
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897