Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 and 11-19 in the reply filed on 09/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding rejection on claim 1, applicant argued that Bai’s approach fundamentally differs from the claimed convolution-based approach recited by claim 1, wherein Bai is an iterative deconvolution algorithm or an iterative inverse reconstruction model used to estimate an ideal image f from an observed image g, but claim 1 recites a convolution-based forward model approach where point spread functions corresponding to each SEM image are used in convolution equations to estimate an observed image g based on an ideal image f and the point spread function (PSF). Applicant furthered that Bai fails to address sample charging effects through the claimed mathematical framework.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. First off, “degradation function” of Bai is generally called a point spread function (PSF) in the art. Second off, despite lack of disclosing the term “sample charging effect”, Bai teach reasons describing sample charging effect that cause degradation of resolution (paragraph 0003), which lead to later teachings for solutions. Third off, though applicant argued Bai fails to teach “generating a reduced sample charging effect image based on convolution equations comprising…,” the argued claim language “… based on… comprising…” is insufficient to link all claimed elements in a specific or limited manner for one or ordinary skill in the art to interpret in the way applicant intended. The argued claim lacks limitations such as, inputs and outputs, different possible equation stages, all convolution equations or some convolution equations, claimed elements being related convolution equations directly or indirectly, etc. Lots of details or features that describe “the claimed mathematical framework” applicant argued are missing. Yet, Bai does teach techniques to solve issues described in paragraph 0003, wherein images are generated throughout Bai’s processing, convolution equations are applied in somewhere of the processing, and image representations and corresponding degradation functions (or PSFs) are involved. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Bai does teach argued claim.
Thus, the rejection is proper and maintained.
Regarding 103 rejections, applicant’s arguments are based on the argument against claim 1 rejection.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained above, the argued independent claim is sufficiently broad, wherein one of ordinary skill can read Bai’s teaching on the argued independent claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Thus, rejections are proper and maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bai et al. (US2011/0187847).
To claim 1, Bai teach a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions recorded thereon (Fig. 2), the instructions when executed by a computer implementing operations comprising:
obtaining a first SEM image from a first electron beam scan with a parameter being a first quantity (4a of Fig. 6, Iin,1; paragraph 0088);
obtaining a second SEM image from a second electron beam scan with the parameter being a second quantity different from the first quantity (4b of Fig. 6, Iin,x>1; paragraph 0088); and
generating a reduced sample charging effect image (paragraph 0089) based on convolution equations (paragraphs 0111, 0114) comprising a representation of the first SEM image (Figs. 4-5; paragraph 0085; g1 of Fig. 16b), a representation of the second SEM image (g2 of Fig. 16b), a first point spread function corresponding to the first SEM image (A1 of Fig. 16b) and a second point spread function corresponding to the second SEM image (A2 of Fig. 16b).
To claim 14, Bai teach a system (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 15, Bai teach a method of reducing a sample charging effect in a scanning electron microscope (SEM) image (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 12, Bai teach claim 1.
Bai teach wherein the operations further comprise obtaining one or more additional SEM images from additional electron beam scans with the parameter for each of the additional electron beam scans being quantities different from the first and second quantities (Fig. 1).
To claim 13, Bai teach claim 1.
Bai teach wherein the operations further comprise: performing the first electron beam scan using a scanning electron microscope; and performing the second electron beam scan using the scanning electron microscope (Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (US2011/0187847).
To claims 2 and 16, Bai teach claims 1 and 15.
Bai teach wherein generating the reduced sample charging effect image comprises relating the first point spread function to the second point spread function in dependence on a difference in sample charging effect between the first electron beam scan and the second electron beam scan (obvious in scenarios of Figs. 4-5, 7, paragraphs 0085-0086, 0091-0092).
To claim 11, Bai teach claim 1.
Bai teach wherein the reduced sample charging effect image is generated in dependence on one or more equations comprising one or more Fourier transform operations (1302 of Fig. 18, converting images into frequency space, obvious to use Fourier transform operation for implementation, which is also well-known in the art, hence Official Notice is taken).
Claim(s) 3-5, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (US2011/0187847) in view of Nakahira et al. (US2008/0251719).
To claims 3 and 17, Bai teach claims 1 and 15.
But, Bai do not expressly disclose wherein generating the reduced sample charging effect image comprises retrieving one or both of the first and second point spread functions from the first and second SEM images using the convolution equations.
Nakahira teach generating the reduced sample charging effect image comprises retrieving one or both of the first and second point spread functions from the first and second SEM images using the convolution equations (Figs. 1, 4, 14 and 16; paragraph 0015), which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the method of Bai, in order to enhance calculations.
To claims 4 and 18, Bai and Nakahira teach claims 3 and 17.
Bai and Nakahira teach wherein retrieving one or both of the first and second point spread functions comprises expressing the point spread function in a parameterized form (Bai, paragraph 0108).
To claims 5 and 19, Bai and Nakahira teach claims 3 and 17.
Bai and Nakahira taech wherein generating the reduced sample charging effect image comprises using the retrieved point spread functions to generate the reduced sample charging effect image (Bai, Fig. 16b).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 January 31, 2026