DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, 13-16, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0005917).
Referring to figures 1-5, Tang et al. teaches a thermal buffering electrical interconnect comprising:
an electrical circuit which generates heat (108, see abstract); and
a composite electrically connected to the circuit and comprising a porous scaffold having a phase change material (PCM) at least partially filling the porous space of the scaffold jointly of for carrying an electric current of the electrical circuit, wherein the PCM-filled porous scaffold is electrically conductive (see paragraphs# 23, figure 2).
Regarding to claim 2, the interconnect is configured for a single- use storage, buffering or failsafe application (see figures 1-4).
Regarding to claim 3, wherein, for buffering and failsafe applications, the melting point of the PCM is selected to be below the maximum safe operating temperature of the circuit (see figures 2-3, paragraph# 17).
Regarding to claim 4, the melting point of the PCM is about 5- 20°C less than the maximum safe operating temperature of the circuit (see figure 2, paragraph # 17). It is noted that the same material would provide the same melting point.
Regarding to claim 5, wherein, for single-use storage applications, the melting point of the PCM is selected to be above the initial starting temperature of the circuit but below the maximum operating temperature of the circuit (see figure 2, paragraph # 17). It is noted that the same material would provide the same melting point.
Regarding to claim 6, further comprising a wetting layer (304) formed on the surface of the circuit (108) which is contact with to the PCM-filled porous scaffold (118/302, see figure 1-3).
Regarding to claim 9, the circuit comprises an integrated circuit, a laser diode module or a power electronic module (see paragraph# 17).
Regarding to claim 10, the porous scaffold comprises an open pore foam, sponge, woolen material, or 3D printed open pore scaffolding (see paragraphs# 23).
Regarding to claim 13, the unfilled porous scaffold comprises a metal or alloy, carbon-based material, or ceramic material (figure 2, paragraphs# 21-23).
Regarding to claim 14, the metal or metal alloy comprises nickel (Ni), aluminum (Al), copper (Cu) or carbon (C) (figures 1-2, paragraphs# 21)
Regarding to claim 15, the PCM comprises a metal or metal alloy, wax or sugar alcohol (figures 1-2, paragraphs# 21).
Regarding to claim 16, the metal or metal alloy comprises gallium (Ga), indium (In), tin (Sn), bismuth (Bi), cadmium (Cd), lead (Pb), zinc (Zn) or antimony (Sb) (see paragraphs# 21, 28).
Regarding to claim 21, wherein the phase change material (PCM) has a melting point corresponding to the maximum safe operating temperature of the circuit (see figure 2, paragraph # 17). It is noted the same material would provide the same temperature.
Regarding to claim 22, wherein the phase change material (PCM) has a melting point of at least 30 °C (see figure 2, paragraph # 17). It is noted the same material would provide the same temperature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0413694) in view of Tang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0005917).
Referring to figures 1-5, Li et al. teaches a thermal buffering electrical interconnect comprising: a first electrode contact (107); an electrical circuit (124) which generates heat electrically connected to the first contact; a composite electrically connected to the circuit and comprising an electrically conductive scaffold having an electrically conductive phase change material (PCM) (120); and a second electrode (140) contact electrically connected to the metal- scaffold (120, see figure 1, meeting claim 17).
Regarding to claim 18, electrically conductive wires or traces (138) which connect to the first and second electrode contacts (107/140, see figures 1k, 4),
However, the reference does not clearly teach a composite electrically connected to the circuit got carrying an electric current of electrical circuit and comprising an electrically conductive porous scaffold having an electrically conductive phase change material (PCM) at least partially filling the porous space of the scaffold, wherein the melting point of the metal PCM is selected to be below the maximum safe operating temperature of the circuit.
Referring to figures 1-5, Tang et al. teaches a thermal buffering electrical interconnect comprising: an electrical circuit which generates heat (108, see abstract); and a composite electrically connected to the circuit and comprising a porous scaffold having a phase change material (PCM) at least partially filling the porous space of the scaffold jointly of for carrying an electric current of the electrical circuit, wherein the PCM-filled porous scaffold is electrically conductive (see paragraphs# 23, figure 2). It is noted that the same material would provide the same melting point.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a composite electrically connected to the circuit and comprising an electrically conductive porous scaffold having an electrically conductive phase change material (PCM) at least partially filling the porous space of the scaffold, wherein the melting point of the metal PCM is selected to be below the maximum safe operating temperature of the circuit in Li et al. as taught by Tang et al. because it is known in semiconductor to improve flexibility or elasticity.
Claims 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0005917), applied to claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, 13-16, 21-22 above in view of Moldenhauer et al. (DE 102021129092A1).
Referring to figures 1-5, Tang et al. teaches a thermal buffering electrical interconnect comprising:
an electrical circuit which generates heat (108, see abstract); and
a composite electrically connected to the circuit and comprising a porous scaffold having a phase change material (PCM) at least partially filling the porous space of the scaffold jointly of for carrying an electric current of the electrical circuit, wherein the PCM-filled porous scaffold is electrically conductive (see paragraphs# 23, figure 2).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the compliant dielectric material (in claims 7, 8)
Moldenhauer et al. a thermal buffering electrical interconnect having a compliant dielectric material (5) encapsulating the circuit and the PCM-filled porous scaffold (see figure 7, meeting claim 7), the compliant dielectric material comprises a silicone gel or lacquer (see paragraph# 49, meeting claim 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a compliant dielectric over the circuit and PCM in Tang et al. as taught by Moldenhauer et al. because it is known in the semiconductor art to protect the device.
Claims 11-12, 19, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0005917), applied to claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, 13-16, 21-22 above.
Referring to figures 1-5, Tang et al. teaches a thermal buffering electrical interconnect comprising:
an electrical circuit which generates heat (108, see abstract); and
a composite electrically connected to the circuit and comprising a porous scaffold having a phase change material (PCM) at least partially filling the porous space of the scaffold jointly of for carrying an electric current of the electrical circuit, wherein the PCM-filled porous scaffold is electrically conductive (see paragraphs# 23, figure 2).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the unfilled porous scaffold has a porosity of about 75 - 97 % or more and an average pore size of approximately 0.01-2.5 mm (in claim 11), the unfilled porous scaffold has a surface density of about 350 - 1500 g/m2 (in claim 12), and the electrical conductivity of the PCM- filled porous scaffold is 1-1000 S/cm or more (in claim 19), the operating temperature of the circuit (in claim 23).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at the time of the invention was made to optimize the porosity, density and electrical conductivity of the PCM layer, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (i.e.-PCM layer), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed arrangement (i.e.- the porosity, density and electrical conductivity of the PCM layer) or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen limitations or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen limitations are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 (FED. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the porosity, density and electrical conductivity of the PCM layer in Moldenhauer et al. because it is known in semiconductor to form a desired PCM layer with flexibility or elasticity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893