DETAILED ACTION
RCE, received 6/1/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0367770 A1), hereafter referred to as Aoki, in view of Hill (US Pub. No. 2024/0105808 A1).
As to claim 1, Aoki discloses a transistor (fig 1, [0051]) comprising:
a first drain region (fig 1, upper middle region D);
a first source region (left side source region S) disposed on a first side of the first drain region (left side of D), a first active region (channel region below gate finger 5) defined between the first drain region (D) and the first source region (S);
a second source region (S on the right side) disposed on a second side of the first drain region (right side of D) opposite the first side (left side of D) and displaced in a widthwise direction from the first source region (see annotated figure 1, below, with dotted lines for first source region and second source region), a second active region (region below gate finger on right side) defined between the first drain region (middle drain region D) and the second source region (source region on the left);
a first gate electrode finger disposed over the first active region (gate finger 5 between S/D on left); and
a second gate electrode finger disposed over the second active region (gate finger 5 between S/D on right).
Aoki does not disclose wherein the first and second source regions include one or more first through wafer vias.
However, Aoki does disclose wherein the first and second source regions include one or more first contacts (fig 1, 2a, 2b, 2c on top surface side).
Nonetheless, Hill discloses a transistor with source contact at either the top surface or at the backside surface by utilizing a through wafer via (fig 1, source contact 120 shown on front surface and [0038] teaches backside surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to form the source contacts of the front surface of Aoki on the back surface of Aoki as taught by Hill since this will allow for an electrical connection to a ground plane on the backside.
As to claim 2, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
Aoki further discloses a second drain region (fig 1, drain region to the right of the right side source S) on a side of the second source region opposite the first drain region (drain region to the right of S on the right side), the second drain region aligned widthwise with the first drain region (top of the first and top of the second drain regions are aligned widthwise), a third active region formed between the second drain region and the second source region (region of gate finger 5 between the S/D).
As to claim 3, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 2 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses a third source region on a side of the second drain region opposite the second source region (refer to figure 30 and correspond each elements of claims 1-2 in the same manner with figure 30; additionally, figure 30 shows a third source region to the right of a right side drain region D), the third source region aligned widthwise with the first source region (bottom side of the third source S and the first source region S are aligned widthwise) and displaced widthwise from the second source region (upper and lower widthwise of second source region S), a fourth active region formed between the third source region and second drain region (gate finger 5 between S/D).
As to claim 4, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 3 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses wherein each of the first source region, the second source region, and the third source region have same widths (fig 30, Examiner defines the regions of each of the source regions S are considered to be the first through third sources with the same width).
As to claim 5, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 4 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses wherein the first active region, the second active region, the third active region, and the fourth active region have same widths (fig 30, each defined active regions, first through fourth, have the same width).
As to claim 6, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 5 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses wherein the first active region is displaced widthwise from the second active region (fig 30, first and third are displaced widthwise from each other).
As to claim 7, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 6 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses wherein the third active region is aligned widthwise with the first active region (fig 30, part of third active region, defined by gate finger 5, is aligned with adjacent active region defined as the first active region).
As to claim 8, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 3 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses wherein the first drain region has a same width as the second drain region (region of drain D considered to be the first and second drain regions D have the same width).
As to claim 9, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 8 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses wherein the first drain region includes a first widthwise extension on a second side of the first drain region opposite the first side of the first drain region (fig 30, see regions of drain D), the first widthwise extension having a smaller length than the length of a remainder of the first drain region (regions defined by first region and first widthwise extension of D).
As to claim 10, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 9 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses wherein the second drain region includes a second widthwise extension on a same side of the second drain region as the second source region, the second widthwise extension having a smaller length than the length of a remainder of the second drain region (drain region D with second region widthwise extension).
As to claim 11, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 10 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses wherein the first drain region and the second drain region are symmetric about the second source region (first and second drain regions D).
As to claim 12, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 3 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses a first drain bond pad (3b) disposed at a position displaced in a widthwise direction from the first source region (S) and at least partially aligned in a lengthwise direction with the first source region (source region of S).
As to claim 13, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 12 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses a second drain bond pad (3d) disposed at a position displaced in a widthwise direction from the third source region (region S) and at least partially aligned in a lengthwise direction with the third source region (lengthwise direction of S).
As to claim 14, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 13 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses a drain tie (fig 2, mounting interconnect 202a-b and interconnect 205) electrically connecting the first drain bond pad to the second drain bond pad (drain pads 3), the drain tie (202a-b and interconnect 205) at least partially aligned in a lengthwise direction with the second source region (S).
As to claim 15, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 13 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses wherein a portion of the second source region is disposed between the first drain bond pad and the second drain bond pad (source S between drain bond pads 3b and 3d).
As to claim 16, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 15 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses wherein portions of the second active region and third active region are disposed between portions of the first drain bond pad and second drain bond pad (active regions defined by the gate finger 5 between S/D are between 3b and 3d).
As to claim 17, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 3 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses a first gate bond pad (4) at least partially aligned in a widthwise direction with the second source region (S).
As to claim 18, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 17 (paragraphs above).
Aoki further discloses wherein the first gate bond pad (4) is disposed at least partially between portions of the first source region and the third source region (first and second regions S).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki in view of Hill and further in view of Kobayashi (US Pub. No. 2008/0265314 A1).
As to claim 19, Aoki in view of Hill disclose the transistor of claim 17 (paragraphs above).
Aoki does not disclose a second gate bond pad on an opposite side of the first source region from the first gate bond pad, the first gate bond pad and second gate bond pad being electrically connected to one another.
Nonetheless, Kobayashi discloses a transistor including a first gate bond pad and a second gate bond pad on an opposite side of a first source region from the first gate bond pad (fig 10, left side and right side gate pads 4 with source region S), the first gate bond pad (G on left) and second gate bond pad (G on the right) being electrically connected to one another (through 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a second gate bond pad in the transistor of Aoki in view of Hill as taught by Kobayashi since this will improve the uniformity of the voltage potential at regions of the active area.
As to claim 20, Aoki in view of Hill and Kobayashi disclose the transistor of claim 19 (paragraphs above).
Kobayashi further discloses wherein portions of the first active region are disposed between portions of the first gate bond pad and the second gate bond pad (fig 10, portions of active regions between s/d between first and second gate bond pads 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2017/0053938 A1; and US Pub. No. 2018/0374939A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 7/31/2026