DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12-13, 17, 20-24, and 26-30 are pending.
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 17, 20, 24, 26, and 28-30 have been amended.
Claim 30 is new.
This action is Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12-13, 17, 20-24, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “…such that a power input received from the first input that is directed via the redundancy path avoids the primary power path and the first energy storage path” but it is unclear what this limitation means. Applicant’s specification does not appear to mention an avoidance of particular power paths. At best, Applicant’s specification in PGPUB 2025/0093928 describes the redundancy power path allowing the first power source to provide power to the second power path and second energy storage path, and the redundancy power path allowing the second power source to provide power to the first power path and the first energy storage path [0045]. However, there is no particular mention of avoiding particular power or energy storage paths. For Examination purposes, Examiner will interpret the limitation as a redundancy path that allows the first input to provide power to the second energy storage path and the second power path.
Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 30 contains a similar limitation and is unclear for the same reasons as the limitation in claim 1. Examiner will interpret the limitation as the redundancy path allows the second input to provide power to the first energy storage path and the first power path.
Claims 4, 9, 12-13, 17, 21-24, 26-30 are rejected based on dependency to rejected claim 1 or claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 11, and 25-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mino et al. (hereinafter as Mino) PGPUB 2015/0180232, and further in view of Anderson PGPUB 2012/0068541 and Toy USPAT 6,191,500.
As per claim 1, Mino teaches a power delivery apparatus [0051 and FIG. 1: (power distribution unit within server rack 40 on bottom)] comprising:
a first input configured to be electrically coupled with a first power source [FIG. 1: (power source to the left of distributor 2 (first power source) is coupled to AC200V line (first input) that is input to the server rack 40 on the bottom)];
an output configured to be electrically coupled with at least a first computing device [FIG. 1: (DC12V (output) of bottom server rack 40 is electrically coupled to server 4 (first computing device)];
a primary power path electrically coupling the first input and the output [FIG. 1: (a path from AC 200V to element 22 to element 23 to DC 12V in the bottom server rack 40)];
a first energy storage path electrically coupling the first input and the output [FIG. 1: (a path from AC200V to element 34 to element 32 to element 35 to DC 12V)], wherein the first energy storage path is independent of the primary power path [FIG. 1: (the path from AC200V to element 22 to element 23 to DC12V is separate and independent from the path from AC200V to element 34 to element 35 to DC12V)];
an energy storage device electrically coupled with the first energy storage path and configured to store energy [FIG. 1: (battery 32 is electrically coupled with the storage path from AC200V to element 34 to element 35 to DC12V)];
a first power supply unit (PSU) electrically coupled with the primary power path and configured to draw power from the first input through the first PSU to the first computing device [FIG. 1 and 0053: (DC/DC converter (first PSU) converts output voltage of the AC/DC converter into direct current voltage 12V DC to be supplied to server 4)];
a second PSU electrically coupled with the first energy storage path between the energy storage device and the output and configured to draw power from the energy storage device through the second PSU to the first computing device [FIG. 1, and 0056-0057: (DC/DC converter (second PSU) may be used to generate 12V DC voltage to be supplied to the server 4)].
Mino does not explicitly teach a second input configured to be electrically coupled with a second power source; a secondary power path electrically coupling the second input and the output; the first energy storage path is independent of the primary power path and the secondary power path; a second energy storage path electrically coupling the second input and the output, wherein the second energy storage path is independent of the primary power path and the secondary power path, a third PSU electrically coupled with the secondary power path and configured to draw power from the second input through the third PSU to the first computing device; and a redundancy power path electrically coupling the first energy storage path and the second energy storage path between the first input and the second input, such that a power input received from the first input that is directed via the redundancy path avoids the primary power path and the first energy storage path.
Anderson teaches a power distribution system to a load using either a bypass path, a path through several converters, or a path through a battery. Anderson is thus similar to Mino. Anderson further teaches a second input configured to be electrically coupled with a second power source [FIG. 5 generator 30 coupled to an input of element 510]; a secondary power path electrically coupling the second input and the output [FIG. 5: (a power path from generator 30 to converter 512 to converter 514 to an output to a common load 20)]; the first energy storage path is independent of the primary power path and the secondary power path [FIG. 5: (the energy storage path of element 10 to element 512 to battery 40 is independent of the primary path of element 10 to element 530 to element 20 and the secondary path from element 30 to element 512 to element 514 to element 20)]; a second energy storage path electrically coupling the second input and the output [FIG. 5: (an energy storage path from generator 30 to converter 512 to battery interface 516 to battery 40 to element 20; and 0036: (the battery 40 in the module 510 may be a separate battery, or may be a shared battery with the module 520; thus Anderson teaches sharing a battery with a different power source, and thus the battery may be charged by either power source)]; a third PSU electrically coupled with the secondary power path and configured to draw power from the second input through the third PSU to the first computing device [FIG. 5 converter 514 (third PSU)].
The combination of Mino and Anderson leads to another power source being provided in Mino which has one path to the server 4 that is similar to the path from AC200V to element 22 to element 23 to DC12V to server 4 of the bottom rack, and another path to server 4 using the existing path from element 34 to element 32 to element 35 to DC12V to server 4 of the bottom rack. The second power source may share a portion of energy storage path because Anderson teaches the battery may be shared. Furthermore, the combination would teach the second energy storage path is independent of the primary power path and the secondary power path [Mino FIG. 1 and 0056-0057: (Mino shows that power paths and energy storage paths may be in parallel when using the first power source; it is obvious that such teachings may be extended to the second power source as well, and that the second power path may be parallel or independent to the second energy storage path)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Anderson’s teachings of providing a second power source to power a load while sharing a battery with another power source in Mino. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Anderson’s teachings of providing a second power source in Mino because having additional power sources improves reliability and power availability, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to share a battery because it reduces the number of circuitry components needed and save physical space.
A Combination of Mino and Anderson would yield the circuitry shown above.
Mino and Anderson do not explicitly teach a redundancy power path electrically coupling the first energy storage path and the second energy storage path between the first input and the second input, such that a power input received from the first input that is directed via the redundancy path avoids the primary power path and the first energy storage path.
Toy teaches power distribution circuitry from multiple power sources to critical computer loads. Toy is thus similar to Mino and Anderson. Toy further teaches a redundancy power path electrically coupling the first energy storage path and the second energy storage path between the first input and the second input [FIG. 3, FIG. 4, FIG. 6, and FIG.9 : (there are multiple power sources such as 320A and 320C that are connected through a redundant power path (such as the path 450 in the generator paralleling switchgear 330) that connects to a plurality of energy storage paths for batteries such as in the UPS 360A or 360B; ring configuration with breakers are used to provide redundancy)], such that a power input received from the first input that is directed via the redundancy path avoids the primary power path and the first energy storage path [FIG. 3 and FIG. 4: (through the use of breakers and common connections, power may be routed to avoid the use of certain power paths or power sources; for example, opening the breaker 420A disconnects the power source 320A and lets power source 320C provide power to all the loads and batteries)].
The combination of Mino and Anderson with Toy yields a redundant power path near the power sources such that either power source may provide the input power for the first or second power path, or the first or second energy storage path.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Toy’s teachings of providing redundant power distribution circuitry in Mino and Anderson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide such redundant power circuitry in Mino and Anderson because it would improve reliability and allow operations to continue even if there is a fault with one of the power sources.
A Combination of Mino, Anderson, and Toy would yield the circuitry shown above.
As per claim 4, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teaches the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1 wherein the first PSU, the second PSU, and the third PSU are configured to selectively route power via one or more proportional control operations [Mino 0057: (battery 30 is provided in parallel with element 20 and is provided so as to be able to operate simultaneously with unit 20); 0089: (management unit 50 controls operation of each element 20 and 30 by controlling their operations; thus management unit 50 provides proportional control that allows some power to be provided from element 20 and some power to be provided from element 30; it would also provide management control when there is a power failure to use the appropriate elements 20 or 30)].
As per claim 9, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein: the second PSU is configured to: draw power from the first input so as to selectively route power to the energy storage device via the first energy storage path [Mino 0056 and FIG. 1: (elements 34 and 35 (second PSU) draw power from the first input to charge the battery 32)]; and draw power from the second input so as to selectively route power to the energy storage device via the second energy storage path [Anderson 0035-0036 and FIG. 5: (power may be drawn from second power source to charge the battery; battery may be shared with the other power source) and Mino 0056 and FIG. 1: (elements 34 and 35 (second PSU) draw power from an input to charge the battery 32; the combination of Mino and Anderson leads to drawing power from a second power source through elements 34, element 32, and element 35 to charge the battery)].
As per claim 12, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, further comprising a housing defining the first input, the second input, and the output and supporting the primary power path, the first energy storage path, the second energy storage path, the energy storage device, the redundancy power path, the first PSU, the second PSU, and the third PSU [Mino FIG. 1 server rack 40 housing].
As per claim 13, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach a method for power delivery and management, the method comprising: receiving, via the first input of the power delivery apparatus according to Claim1, a power input from a first power source [Mino FIG. 1: (power from power source is provided to input)]; and selectively routing the power input to: the primary power path for powering the first computing device [Mino 0053, 0089, and FIG. 1: power is selectively routed to the server load 4]; or the first energy storage path for storage by the energy storage device [Mino 0057 and FIG. 1: (battery 32 may be provided power from the power source)].
As per claim 17, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach the method according to Claim 13, wherein the first PSU, the second PSU, and the third PSU are configured to selectively route power via one or more proportional control operations [0057: (battery 30 is provided in parallel with element 20 and is provided so as to be able to operate simultaneously with unit 20); 0089: (management unit 50 controls operation of each element 20 and 30 by controlling their operations; thus management unit 50 provides proportional control that allows some power to be provided from element 20 and some power to be provided from element 30; it would also provide management control when there is a power failure to use the appropriate elements 20 or 30)].
Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 21, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first energy storage path is isolated from the primary power path [Mino FIG. 1: (the power path through elements 22 and 23 is parallel (and thus isolated) from the energy storage path through elements 34, 32, and 35)].
As per claim 22, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first energy storage path is separated from the primary power path [Mino FIG. 1: (the power path through elements 22 and 23 is parallel (and thus separated) from the energy storage path through elements 34, 32, and 35)].
As per claim 23, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first energy storage path is distinct from the primary power path [Mino FIG. 1: (the power path through elements 22 and 23 is parallel (and thus distinct) from the energy storage path through elements 34, 32, and 35)].
As per claim 24, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the second energy storage path is separate from the primary power path [Mino FIG. 1: (the power path through elements 22 and 23 is parallel (and thus separated) from the energy storage path through elements 34, 32, and 35)].
As per claim 26, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the secondary power path is independent of the first energy storage path [Mino FIG. 1 and 0056-0057: (Mino shows that power paths and energy storage paths may be in parallel when using the first power source; it is obvious that such teachings may be extended to the second power source as well, and that the second power path may be parallel or independent to the first energy storage path)].
As per claim 27, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 26, wherein the secondary power path is independent of the second energy storage path [Mino FIG. 1 and 0056-0057: (Mino shows that power paths and energy storage paths may be in parallel when using the first power source; it is obvious that such teachings may be extended to the second power source as well, and that the second power path may be parallel or independent to the second energy storage path)].
As per claim 28, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the secondary power path is independent of the first energy storage path [Mino FIG. 1 and 0056-0057: (Mino shows that power paths and energy storage paths may be in parallel when using the first power source; it is obvious that such teachings may be extended to the second power source as well, and that the second power path may be parallel or independent to the first energy storage path)].
As per claim 29, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 28, wherein the secondary power path is independent of the second energy storage path [Mino FIG. 1 and 0056-0057: (Mino shows that power paths and energy storage paths may be in parallel when using the first power source; it is obvious that such teachings may be extended to the second power source as well, and that the second power path may be parallel or independent to the second energy storage path)].
As per claim 30, Mino, Anderson, and Toy teach wherein the redundancy power path is configured such that a power input received from the second input that is directed via the redundancy power path avoids the secondary power path and the second energy storage path [Toy FIG. 3 and FIG. 4: (through the use of breakers and common connections, power may be routed to avoid the use of certain power paths or power sources; for example, opening the breaker 420C disconnects the power source 320C and lets power source 320A provide power to all the loads and batteries)].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Humphrey et al. (USPAT 8,446,044) teaches distinct power paths and battery charging paths and different power sources[FIG. 2].
Takahashi (PGPUB 2012/0117408) teaches several different power sources with independent power paths and independent battery charging paths [FIG. 7].
Lee (PGPUB 2016/0049822) teaches different power sources providing power to loads using different power paths and a different energy storage path [FIG. 33].
Nguyen et al. (USPAT 9,342,414) teaches use of redundant power distribution circuitry.
Broadbent et al. (PGPUB 2018/0116070) teaches multiple power sources providing power through separate paths to a common load, and energy storage component [FIG. 4].
Sharma et al. (USPAT 10,585,468) teaches different power sources providing power to a load through different paths and different power caches [FIG. 3].
Andersen et al. (USPAT 11,146,100) teaches redundant power paths connecting different power systems [FIG. 1 element 5 and 10].
Sularea (PGPUB 2024/0097484) teaches multiple power sources with power being provided to a common load [FIG. 3].
/DANNY CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175