DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4, 7-13, 17, and 20-29 are pending.
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 11-13, 17, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 25-29 are new.
This action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 12-13, 17, and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mino et al. (hereinafter as Mino) PGPUB 2015/0180232.
As per claim 1, Mino teaches a power delivery apparatus [0051 and FIG. 1: (power distribution unit within server rack 40 on bottom)] comprising:
a first input configured to be electrically coupled with a first power source [FIG. 1: (power source to the left of distributor 2 (first power source) is coupled to AC200V line (first input) that is input to the server rack 40 on the bottom)];
an output configured to be electrically coupled with at least a first computing device [FIG. 1: (DC12V (output) of bottom server rack 40 is electrically coupled to server 4 (first computing device)];
a primary power path electrically coupling the first input and the output [FIG. 1: (a path from AC 200V to element 22 to element 23 to DC 12V in the bottom server rack 40)];
a first energy storage path electrically coupling the first input and the output [FIG. 1: (a path from AC200V to element 34 to element 32 to element 35 to DC 12V)], wherein the first energy storage path is independent of the primary power path [FIG. 1: (the path from AC200V to element 22 to element 23 to DC12V is separate and independent from the path from AC200V to element 34 to element 35 to DC12V)];
an energy storage device electrically coupled with the first energy storage path and configured to store energy [FIG. 1: (battery 32 is electrically coupled with the storage path from AC200V to element 34 to element 35 to DC12V)];
a first power supply unit (PSU) electrically coupled with the primary power path and configured to draw power from the first input through the first PSU to the first computing device [FIG. 1 and 0053: (DC/DC converter (first PSU) converts output voltage of the AC/DC converter into direct current voltage 12V DC to be supplied to server 4)]; and
a second PSU electrically coupled with the first energy storage path between the energy storage device and the output and configured to draw power from the energy storage device through the second PSU to the first computing device [FIG. 1, and 0056-0057: (DC/DC converter (second PSU) may be used to generate 12V DC voltage to be supplied to the server 4)].
As per claim 4, Mino teaches the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1 wherein the first PSU and the second PSU are configured to selectively route power via one or more proportional control operations [0057: (battery 30 is provided in parallel with element 20 and is provided so as to be able to operate simultaneously with unit 20); 0089: (management unit 50 controls operation of each element 20 and 30 by controlling their operations; thus management unit 50 provides proportional control that allows some power to be provided from element 20 and some power to be provided from element 30; it would also provide management control when there is a power failure to use the appropriate elements 20 or 30)].
As per claim 12, Mino teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, further comprising a housing defining the first input and the output and supporting the primary power path, the first energy storage path, the energy storage device, the first PSU, and the second PSU [FIG. 1 server rack 40 housing].
As per claim 13, Mino teach a method for power delivery and management, the method comprising: receiving, via the first input of the power delivery apparatus according to Claim1, a power input from a first power source [FIG. 1: (power from power source is provided to input)]; and selectively routing the power input to: the primary power path for powering the first computing device [0053, 0089, and FIG. 1: power is selectively routed to the server load 4]; or the first energy storage path for storage by the energy storage device [0057 and FIG. 1: (battery 32 may be provided power from the power source)].
As per claim 17, Mino teach the method according to Claim 13, wherein the first PSU and the second PSU are configured to selectively route power via one or more proportional control operations [0057: (battery 30 is provided in parallel with element 20 and is provided so as to be able to operate simultaneously with unit 20); 0089: (management unit 50 controls operation of each element 20 and 30 by controlling their operations; thus management unit 50 provides proportional control that allows some power to be provided from element 20 and some power to be provided from element 30; it would also provide management control when there is a power failure to use the appropriate elements 20 or 30)].
Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above and is thus rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 21, Mino teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first energy storage path is isolated from the primary power path [FIG. 1: (the power path through elements 22 and 23 is parallel (and thus isolated) from the energy storage path through elements 34, 32, and 35)].
As per claim 22, Mino teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first energy storage path is separated from the primary power path [FIG. 1: (the power path through elements 22 and 23 is parallel (and thus separated) from the energy storage path through elements 34, 32, and 35)].
As per claim 23, Mino teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the first energy storage path is distinct from the primary power path [FIG. 1: (the power path through elements 22 and 23 is parallel (and thus distinct) from the energy storage path through elements 34, 32, and 35)].
As per claim 24, Mino teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 7, wherein the second energy storage path is separate from the primary power path [FIG. 1: (the power path through elements 22 and 23 is parallel (and thus separated) from the energy storage path through elements 34, 32, and 35)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 11, and 25-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mino et al. (hereinafter as Mino) PGPUB 2015/0180232, and further in view of Anderson PGPUB 2012/0068541.
As per claim 7, Mino teaches the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 1.
Mino does not explicitly teach further comprising: a second input configured to be electrically coupled with a second power source; a secondary power path electrically coupling the second input and the output; and a second energy storage path electrically coupling the second input and the output, wherein the second PSU is one or more PSUs are further electrically coupled with the second energy storage path. Mino does not describe a second power source or the connections to a second power source.
Anderson teaches a power distribution system to a load using either a bypass path, a path through several converters, or a path through a battery. Anderson is thus similar to Mino. Anderson further teaches a second input configured to be electrically coupled with a second power source [FIG. 5 generator 30 coupled to an input of element 510]; a secondary power path electrically coupling the second input and the output [FIG. 5: (a power path from generator 30 to converter 512 to converter 514 to an output to a common load 20)]; and a second energy storage path electrically coupling the second input and the output [FIG. 5: (an energy storage path from generator 30 to converter 512 to battery interface 516 to battery 40)], wherein the second PSU is one or more PSUs are further electrically coupled with the second energy storage path [0036: (the battery 40 in the module 510 may be a separate battery, or may be a shared battery with the module 520; thus Anderson teaches sharing a battery with a different power source, and thus the battery may be charged by either power source)].
The combination of Mino and Anderson leads to another power source being provided in Mino which has one path to the server 4 that is similar to the path from AC200V to element 22 to element 23 to DC12V to server 4, and another path to server 4 using the existing path from element 34 to element 32 to element 35 to DC12V to server 4. The second power source may share a portion of energy storage path because Anderson teaches the battery may be shared.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Anderson’s teachings of providing a second power source to power a load while sharing a battery with another power source in Mino. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Anderson’s teachings of providing a second power source in Mino because having additional power sources improves reliability and power availability, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to share a battery because it reduces the number of circuitry components needed and save physical space.
As per claim 8, Mino and Anderson teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 7,further comprising a third PSU electrically coupled with the secondary power path [Anderson FIG. 5 converter 514 (third PSU)].
As per claim 9, Mino and Anderson teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 7, wherein: the second PSU is configured to: draw power from the first input so as to selectively route power to the energy storage device via the first energy storage path [Mino 0056 and FIG. 1: (elements 34 and 35 (second PSU) draw power from the first input to charge the battery 32)]; and draw power from the second input so as to selectively route power to the energy storage device via the second energy storage path [Anderson 0035-0036 and FIG. 5: (power may be drawn from second power source to charge the battery; battery may be shared with the other power source) and Mino 0056 and FIG. 1: (elements 34 and 35 (second PSU) draw power from an input to charge the battery 32; the combination of Mino and Anderson leads to drawing power from a second power source through elements 34, element 32, and element 35 to charge the battery)].
As per claim 11, Mino and Anderson teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 8, wherein the third PSU is configured to draw power from the second input so as to draw power from the second input through the third PSU to the first computing device [Anderson FIG. 5: (power may be drawn from a second power source 30 through converters 512 and 514 (third PSU) and provided to computing load 20)].
As per claim 25, Mino and Anderson teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 7, wherein the secondary power path is independent of the primary power path [Anderson FIG. 5 and Mino FIG. 1: (Andersons’ primary power path from a first power source from element 10 to 512 to 514 in module 520 to load 20 is equivalent to Mino’s primary power path from AC200V to element 22 to element 23 to server 4; Anderson’s secondary power path from element 30 to 512 to 514 in module 510 to load 20 is separate from the primary path in module 520 and thus independent from the primary power path)].
As per claim 26, Mino and Anderson teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 25, wherein the secondary power path is independent of the first energy storage path [Mino FIG. 1 and 0056-0057: (Mino shows that power paths and energy storage paths may be in parallel when using the first power source; it is obvious that such teachings may be extended to the second power source as well, and that the second power path may be parallel or independent to the first energy storage path)].
As per claim 27, Mino and Anderson teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 26, wherein the secondary power path is independent of the second energy storage path [Mino FIG. 1 and 0056-0057: (Mino shows that power paths and energy storage paths may be in parallel when using the first power source; it is obvious that such teachings may be extended to the second power source as well, and that the second power path may be parallel or independent to the second energy storage path)].
As per claim 28, Mino and Anderson teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 7, wherein the secondary power path is independent of the first energy storage path [Mino FIG. 1 and 0056-0057: (Mino shows that power paths and energy storage paths may be in parallel when using the first power source; it is obvious that such teachings may be extended to the second power source as well, and that the second power path may be parallel or independent to the first energy storage path)].
As per claim 29, Mino and Anderson teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 7, wherein the secondary power path is independent of the second energy storage path [Mino FIG. 1 and 0056-0057: (Mino shows that power paths and energy storage paths may be in parallel when using the first power source; it is obvious that such teachings may be extended to the second power source as well, and that the second power path may be parallel or independent to the second energy storage path)].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mino et al. (hereinafter as Mino) PGPUB 2015/0180232 in view of Anderson PGPUB 2012/0068541, and further in view of Towner et al. (hereinafter as Towner) PGPUB 2015/0061384.
As per claim 10, Mino and Anderson teach the power delivery apparatus according to Claim 8.
Mino and Anderson do not explicitly teach further comprising a redundancy power path electrically coupling the first energy storage path and the second energy storage path.
Towner shows several power sources providing power to loads using a UPS and shared energy storage between the different power sources. Towner is thus similar to Mino and Anderson because they teach multiple sources providing power to loads and the use of a shared energy storage. Towner further teaches a redundancy power path electrically coupling the first energy storage path and the second energy storage path [FIG. 4: (several energy paths from different AC mains are connected together using power switches 404 to a horizontal bus path to shared storage 406 (redundancy power path)].
The combination of Mino and Anderson with Towner yields a switchable redundant connection between the energy storage path of the first power source and an energy storage path of the second power source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Towner’s teachings of a connection between energy storage paths of different power sources in Mino and Anderson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a redundant connection between the different energy storage paths in Mino and Anderson because it provides an additional connection between the different power sources to ensure the battery will receive power from the power sources in case there is a fault in one of the energy storage paths.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner also notes that previously cited prior art Gao (PGPUB 2022/0197358) teaches the amended limitations as well with the first PSU being element 129 and the second PSU being element 131.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is reminded that in amending in response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR §1.111(c).
Chen et al. (PGPUB 2023/0068452) teaches a first and second power grid providing power to a first and second converter respectively, where the first converter provides power to a battery and the second converter provides power to a load as well as to the battery.
Ferencz et al. (PGPUB 2017/0170733) teaches multiple external power sources connected to respective power supply units and a common energy storage component to power a load.
Liao et al. (PGPUB 2016/0126788) teaches a line-interactive UPS with a first and second power source.
Greet et al. (PGPUB 2014/0021789) teaches power supplied to a load through a bypass path and through a path connectable to a battery.
Liao (PGPUB 2009/0072623) teaches first and second UPS connected in parallel to provide power to a load.
Hjort et al. (PGPUB 2006/0044846) teaches multiple power sources provided to a UPS having a energy storage device, to power a load.
Stickel et al. (USPAT 9,575,527) teaches a power supply connected to a load through two parallel paths, one for energy storage and one through a power path [FIG. 2].
NPL “Types of UPS Systems” by Tripp Lite by Eaton teaches that a line-interactive UPS has a path for supplying power to a connected load, and a parallel path for supplying power to a battery using the same power source and same output to a load.
/DANNY CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175