DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species A in the reply filed on 11/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 and 16-20 are elected for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the 7th to last line of claim 16, “a lower contact and extended into the substrate” should be changed to “a lower contact extended into the substrate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the lower power line" in second to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 17-20 are indefinite because of their dependence from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0375722 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim.
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a semiconductor device (fig 7, 100C; [0087]), comprising:
a substrate (101) comprising an active pattern (105);
a source/drain pattern (110) on the active pattern (105);
a device isolation layer (162) at a lateral side of the active pattern (105);
a lower power structure (250) below a top surface of the substrate (101);
an insulating layer (131) on the top surface of the substrate (101);
a lower contact (120) penetrating the device isolation layer (162) and connecting the source/drain pattern (110) to the lower power structure (250); and
a power delivery network layer (ML2) below the top surface of the substrate (101),
wherein the lower power structure (250) comprises a connecting portion (250) connected to the lower contact (120),
wherein the lower contact (120) comprises a protruding portion buried in the connecting portion (portion of 120 protruding into and buried in connecting portion 250), and
wherein the insulating layer (131) is disposed between the connecting portion (250) and the device isolation layer (162).
As to claim 2, Kim discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a top surface of the connecting portion (top of 250) is in direct contact with the insulating layer (131).
As to claim 3, Kim discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the connecting portion (250) encloses a bottom surface and opposite side surfaces of the protruding portion (bottom and sides of 120).
As to claim 4, Kim discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
a metal layer (185; [0059]) comprising an interconnection metal line (upper line region of 185), above the source/drain pattern (110),
wherein the lower contact (120) is connected to the source/drain pattern (110) through the interconnection metal line (185).
As to claim 5, Kim discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein at least a portion of a side surface of the lower contact (120) is in contact with the insulating layer (131).
As to claim 6, Kim discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein as a distance to a bottom surface of the power delivery network layer decreases, a width of the lower contact decreases (width of 120 decreases towards ML2).
As to claim 7, Kim discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above),
wherein the power delivery network layer is configured to apply a power voltage to the lower power structure ([0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0022545 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
As to claim 16, Kim discloses a semiconductor device (fig 7, 100C; [0087]), comprising:
a substrate (101) comprising an active pattern (105);
a device isolation layer (162) at a lateral side of the active pattern (105);
an insulating layer (131) between the substrate (101) and the device isolation layer (162);
a channel pattern (fig 2, cross-section II-II’; channel region of active fin 105) and a source/drain pattern (110) on the active pattern (105);
a gate electrode (fig 2, cross-section II-II’; 145) on the channel pattern (channel region of 105);
a gate insulating layer (142) between the gate electrode (145) and the channel pattern (channel region of 105);
a gate spacer (141) on a side surface of the gate electrode (145);
a gate capping pattern (147) on a top surface of the gate electrode (145);
an interlayer insulating layer (165) isolating the source/drain pattern (110) and the gate capping pattern (147);
an active contact (180) provided to penetrate the interlayer insulating layer (165), and electrically connected to the source/drain pattern (110);
a metal-semiconductor compound layer ([0059]) between the active contact and the source/drain pattern ([0059]);
a first metal layer (V1) on the interlayer insulating layer (165), the first metal layer comprising an interconnection line (V1) electrically connected to the active contact (180);
a second metal layer (M1) on the first metal layer (V1), the second metal layer comprising a second interconnection line electrically connected to the first metal layer (M1 to V1);
a lower power structure (250) in the substrate (101);
a lower contact (120) and extended into the substrate (101) at a lateral side of the source/drain pattern (110), the lower contact (120) connecting the active contact (180) to the lower power structure (250); and
a power delivery network layer (ML2) below a top surface of the substrate (101),
wherein the lower contact (120) comprises a lower portion inserted in the lower power structure (250), and
wherein a top surface of the lower power line (250) is in a direct contact with the insulating layer (131).
Kim does not disclose a gate contact provided to penetrate the interlayer insulating layer and the gate capping pattern, and electrically connected to the gate electrode.
Nonetheless, Lee discloses a gate contact (fig 14D, GC) provided to penetrate an interlayer insulating layer (120) and a gate capping pattern (GP), and electrically connected to a gate electrode (GE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to provide a gate contact in the semiconductor device of Kim as taught by Lee since this will allow for voltage control of the gate electrode of the transistor device.
As to claim 17, Kim in view of Lee disclose the semiconductor device of claim 16 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses wherein the insulating layer (131) is disposed between the lower contact (120) and the device isolation layer (162).
As to claim 18, Kim in view of Lee disclose the semiconductor device of claim 16 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses a metal layer (180) comprising an interconnection metal line (180A), above the source/drain pattern (110),
wherein the lower contact (120) is connected to the source/drain (110) pattern through the interconnection metal line (180A).
As to claim 19, Kim in view of Lee disclose the semiconductor device of claim 16 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses wherein at least a portion of a side surface of the lower contact (120) is in contact with the insulating layer (131).
As to claim 20, Kim in view of Lee disclose the semiconductor device of claim 16 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses wherein as a distance to a bottom surface of the substrate decreases, a width of the lower contact decreases (width of 120 decreases towards ML2).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0271045A1 and US 2022/0208673A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 1/2/2026