DETAILED ACTION
Amendment, received 6/12/2026, has been entered.
Claims 1-7 and 16-28 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0375722 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim, in view of Choi et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0415782 A1), hereafter referred to as Choi.
As to claim 23, Kim disclose a semiconductor device (fig, 7), comprising:
a substrate (101) comprising a logic cell region (100C);
a lower power structure (250) buried below a top surface of the substrate (101);
a logic transistor on the logic cell region (transistor shown in fig 7);
a first metal layer on the logic cell transistor (fig 7 transistor), the first metal layer comprising a first interconnection line (M1);
a power delivery network layer (M2) below the substrate (101);
an active contact (V1) provided in the logic cell region (region of fig 7) and electrically connected to the first interconnection line (M1); and
a lower contact (120) electrically connecting the lower power structure (250) and the first interconnection line (M1),
wherein the lower power structure (250) comprises a connecting portion (upper portion) connected to the lower contact (120), and
wherein the lower contact (120) comprises a protruding portion buried in the connecting portion (upper portion of 250).
Kim does not disclose a dummy cell region, a dummy cell transistor on the dummy cell region.
Nonetheless, Nonetheless, Choi discloses a dummy cell region and a dummy cell transistor on the dummy cell region (figs 1-3 and [0027]-[0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the dummy logic cell and logic cell of Choi using the semiconductor structure as taught by Kim since this will allow for fast operation speed as well as operational accuracy.
As to claim 24, Kim in view of Choi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 23 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses an insulating layer (131) on the top surface of the substrate (101); and
a device isolation layer (162) on the insulating layer (131),
wherein the insulating layer (131) is between the connecting portion (upper portion of 250) and the device isolation layer (162).
As to claim 25, Kim in view of Choi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 24 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses wherein the insulating layer (131) extends on the top surface of the substrate in parallel with the top surface of the substrate (see annotated figure 9 above).
As to claim 26, Kim in view of Choi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 23 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses wherein the lower contact (120) vertically extends from the lower power structure (250) toward the first interconnection line (M1).
As to claim 27, Kim in view of Choi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 23 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses wherein the power delivery network layer is configured to apply a power voltage to the lower power structure ([0053]).
As to claim 28, Kim in view of Choi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 23 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses wherein the connecting portion (upper portion of 250) encloses a bottom surface and opposite side surfaces of the protruding portion (lower portion of 120).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 16-22 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-10 of the response received 6/12/2026 are persuasive.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 and 16-22 are persuasive.
Applicant argued that that the Kim reference fail to teach or suggest dummy logic cells as claimed and the Choi reference fails to teach or suggest the lower contact and the lower power structure as claimed, and the Examiner has failed to explain how the combination of Kim and hoi would result in the claimed lower contact and the lower power structure being provided in the claimed dummy cell.
Examiner disagrees because, even though the Examiner agrees that neither Kim nor Choi teach all of the limitations of the claim, the combination does render obvious the claim limitations. Specifically, the combination of Kim with Choi results in the lower contact and the lower power structure being provided similarly in both the logic cell region as well as the dummy logic cell region as is well known in the art.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0271045A1 and US 2022/0208673A1.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 8/28/2026