DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed June 28, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are pending. Claims 1-6, 9, 11-13, and 15-19 have been amended. Claim 7 has been canceled.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to still be a typographical error as the temperature of 32.5 C recited includes a comma (such as “32,5”), and instead the comma should be replaced with a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites that the water content is 75-40 wt %. This limitation is indefinite as it does not further limit claims 1 and 2 to which is depends as claim 1 already recites a water content of 75-40 wt %.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carder et al. (US 2014/0193563 A1; July 10, 2014) in view of Triantafyllou Oste et al. (US 2004/0043123 A1; March 4, 2004).
Regarding claim 1, Carder discloses an oat flour suspension that can be used as in ingredient in pancakes (e.g. an ingredient in a batter for a pancake product as pancakes are made using a batter), wherein the oat flour suspension is obtained by mixing oat flour and water to obtain a mixture, wherein the amount of oat flour is 2-10% by weight of the mixture (See Figure 2, [0046]-[0050]), thus overlapping the claimed range of 8-12% by weight of the mixture. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I)
Carder further teaches heating the mixture to a temperature of 90 C for at least 25 minutes to allow gelatinization ([0047]), thus falling within the claimed range of 70-92.5 C for 15-70 minutes, followed by cooling to allow for blending with other ingredients ([0047]).
With respect to the temperature for cooling, Carder fails to specifically teach a temperature in the range of 20 to 50 C, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum temperature for cooling depending on the desired texture and use of the oat suspension when it is blended with other ingredients. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Carder teaches that the oat flour suspension has a viscosity of around 16000 cp when the suspension comprises 8% oat flour at 24 C (Fig 2, [0050]), wherein the weight percent of oat flour in the suspension affects the viscosity as shown in Fig 2. The claim requires a viscosity of 56 s to 155 s at a temperature of 20-25 C, which according to the instant specification corresponds to between 3.0 x 103 and 4.9 x 107 mPa.s, or 3.0 x 103 and 4.9 x 107 cp. Therefore, Carder teaches an oat flour suspension having a viscosity within the claimed range when the oat flour is present in an amount of 8% by weight. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of oat flour and water in the suspension to achieve a desired viscosity.
While Carder teaches a pancake product comprising the oat suspension, Carder fails to further teach providing conventional batter ingredients and mixing the oat suspension with the batter ingredients to obtain a batter for a pancake product.
Triantafyllou discloses a pancake batter prepared from an oat base, wherein the oat base is combined with conventional batter ingredients (Example 1-2, [0048]-[0057], [0074]-[0075]).
As Carder teaches a pancake product comprising an oat suspension and Triantafyllou teaches that it is well known in the art to mix an oat base with conventional batter ingredients to provide a pancake batter, it would have been obvious to provide conventional batter ingredients in the method of Carder in order to make a conventional pancake product.
Carder teaches that the pancake product comprises the oat suspension, which comprises 2-10% oat flour and therefore 90-98% water ([0046]-[0050], but fails to specifically disclose the water content of the prepared batter.
Triantafyllou teaches a pancake batter comprising a high-water activity ([0016]), but fails to specifically disclose the water content of the prepared batter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the water content of the prepared batter depending on the desired thickness and texture of the pancake as a higher water content will result in a thinner pancake. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 2, as stated above, Carder teaches that the oat flour suspension is obtained by mixing oat flour and water to obtain a mixture, wherein the amount of oat flour is 2-10% by weight of the mixture (See Figure 2, [0046]-[0050]), thus overlapping the claimed range of 9-11% by weight of the mixture. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I)
Regarding claim 3, as stated above, Carder teaches that the oat flour suspension has a viscosity of around 16000 cp when the suspension comprises 8% oat flour at 24 C (Fig 2, [0050]), wherein the weight percent of oat flour in the suspension affects the viscosity as shown in Fig 2. The claim requires a viscosity of 61 s to 118 s at a temperature of 20-25 C, or 66 s to 98 s at 20-25 C, or 70 s to 86 s at 20-25 C, which according to the instant specification corresponds to between 4.9 x 103 and 1.3 x 106 mPa.s, or 4.9 x 103 and 1.3 x 106 cp. Therefore, Carder teaches an oat flour suspension having a viscosity within the claimed ranges when the oat flour is present in an amount of 8% by weight. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of oat flour and water in the suspension to achieve a desired viscosity.
Regarding claim 4, as stated above, Carder teaches heating the mixture to a temperature of 90 C to allow gelatinization ([0047]), thus falling within the claimed range of 72.5-90 C.
Regarding claim 5, as stated above, Carder fails to specifically teach cooling to a temperature in the range of 22.5 to 45 C, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum temperature for cooling depending on the desired texture and use of the oat suspension when it is blended with other ingredients. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 6, as state above, Triantafyllou discloses a pancake batter prepared from an oat base, wherein the oat base is combined with convention batter ingredients (Example 1-2, [0048]-[0057], [0074]-[0075]).
Triantafyllou teaches that the conventional batter ingredients include oil, salt, egg, flour, and sugar additives ([0002], [0012], [0038], [0041], [0043], See Examples 1-2).
It would have been obvious to use the same conventional batter ingredients as taught by Triantafyllou in the pancake product of Carder in order to provide a conventional pancake product.
Regarding claim 8, as stated above with respect to claim 1, Carder in view of Triantafyllou teach a batter obtained by the method of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, as stated above, Carder teaches the viscosity of the oat suspension (Fig 2), but fails to teach a viscosity of pancake batter.
Triantafyllou teaches a pancake batter comprising a viscosity of 5000 cp to 60,000 cp at 4C ([0019]), which is 5,000 mPa.s to 60,000 mPa.s. Triantafyllou, however, fails to teach the viscosity at the claimed temperature of 20-25 C.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of ingredients in the batter to result in a desired viscosity. It is well known in the art that pancakes can have different thicknesses and texture and therefore one of ordinary skill in the art can vary the amount of ingredients to result in a desired viscosity in order to provide a desired pancake product. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, as stated above with respect to claim 8, Carder in view of Triantafyllou teach a batter obtained by the method of claim 1.
Carder teaches preparing a pancake product ([0044]) and Triantafyllou teaches preparing a pancake product from a batter of conventional ingredients (See Examples 1-2).
Therefore, as stated above, the combined teachings render obvious a method for manufacturing a pancake product comprising provided a batter according to claim 8.
While the prior art fails to specifically teach applying the batter to a heating plate and baking the batter, both Carder and Triantafyllou teach a final pancake product, which is well known in the art to be made by applying the batter to a heated surface and cooking. Triantafyllou further teaches a ready to use batter for pancakes ([0043]).
As it is well known in the art to make pancakes by applying batter to a heating plate and cooking the batter, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the batter of Carder in view of Triantafyllou in the conventional way of making pancakes (e.g. applying batter to a heating plate and cooking the batter).
Regarding claim 11, Triantafyllou further teaches pre-heating the batter to lower microbial count ([0043]). With respect to the temperature, it is not clear what unit of measurement the temperature is. Further, it would have been obvious to vary the temperature for pre-heating depending on the desired properties of the batter before consuming as taught by Triantafyllou.
Regarding claim 12, as stated above, Carder in view of Triantafyllou teach a batter obtained by the method of claim 1.
Carder discloses an oat flour suspension that can be used as in ingredient in pancakes (e.g. an ingredient in a batter for a pancake product as pancakes are made using a batter), wherein the oat flour suspension is obtained by mixing oat flour and water to obtain a mixture, wherein the amount of oat flour is 2-10% by weight of the mixture (See Figure 2, [0046]-[0050]), thus overlapping the claimed range of 8-12% by weight of the mixture. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I)
Carder further teaches heating the mixture to a temperature of 90 C for at least 25 minutes to allow gelatinization ([0047]), thus falling within the claimed range of 70-92.5 C for 15-70 minutes, followed by cooling to allow for blending with other ingredients ([0047]).
With respect to the temperature for cooling, Carder fails to specifically teach a temperature in the range of 20 to 50 C, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum temperature for cooling depending on the desired texture and use of the oat suspension when it is blended with other ingredients. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Carder teaches that the oat flour suspension has a viscosity of around 16000 cp when the suspension comprises 8% oat flour at 24 C (Fig 2, [0050]), wherein the weight percent of oat flour in the suspension affects the viscosity as shown in Fig 2. The claim requires a viscosity of 56 s to 155 s at a temperature of 20-25 C, which according to the instant specification corresponds to between 3.0 x 103 and 4.9 x 107 mPa.s, or 3.0 x 103 and 4.9 x 107 cp. Therefore, Carder teaches an oat flour suspension having a viscosity within the claimed range when the oat flour is present in an amount of 8% by weight. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of oat flour and water in the suspension to achieve a desired viscosity.
While Carder teaches a pancake product comprising the oat suspension, Carder fails to further teach providing conventional batter ingredients and mixing the oat suspension with the batter ingredients to obtain a batter for a pancake product.
Triantafyllou discloses a pancake batter prepared from an oat base, wherein the oat base is combined with convention batter ingredients (Example 1-2, [0048]-[0057], [0074]-[0075]).
As Carder teaches a pancake product comprising an oat suspension and Triantafyllou teaches that it is well known in the art to mix an oat base with conventional batter ingredients to provide a pancake batter, it would have been obvious to provide conventional batter ingredients in the method of Carder in order to make a conventional pancake product.
Regarding claim 13, as stated above, the combined prior art renders obvious a pancake product. Carder further teaches that the product can be a crepe ([0044]).
Regarding claim 14, as stated above with respect to claim 10, Carder in view of Triantafyllou render obvious a pancake product obtained by the method of claim 10. Carder teaches preparing a pancake product ([0044]) and Triantafyllou teaches preparing a pancake product from a batter of conventional ingredients (See Examples 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, as stated above, the combined prior art renders obvious a pancake product. Carder further teaches that the product can be a crepe ([0044]).
Regarding claim 16, as stated above, Carder teaches that the oat flour suspension has a viscosity of around 16000 cp when the suspension comprises 8% oat flour at 24 C (Fig 2, [0050]), wherein the weight percent of oat flour in the suspension affects the viscosity as shown in Fig 2. The claim requires a viscosity of 61 s to 118 s at a temperature of 20-25 C, or 66 s to 98 s at 20-25 C, or 70 s to 86 s at 20-25 C, which according to the instant specification corresponds to between 4.9 x 103 and 1.3 x 106 mPa.s, or 4.9 x 103 and 1.3 x 106 cp. Therefore, Carder teaches an oat flour suspension having a viscosity within the claimed ranges when the oat flour is present in an amount of 8% by weight. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of oat flour and water in the suspension to achieve a desired viscosity.
Regarding claim 17, as stated above, Carder teaches heating the mixture to a temperature of 90 C to allow gelatinization ([0047]), thus falling within the claimed range of 72.5-90 C.
Regarding claim 18, as stated above, Carder fails to specifically teach cooling to a temperature in the range of 22.5 to 45 C, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the optimum temperature for cooling depending on the desired texture and use of the oat suspension when it is blended with other ingredients. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 19, as state above, Triantafyllou discloses a pancake batter prepared from an oat base, wherein the oat base is combined with convention batter ingredients (Example 1-2, [0048]-[0057], [0074]-[0075]).
Triantafyllou teaches that the conventional batter ingredients include oil, salt, egg, flour, and sugar additives ([0002], [0012], [0038], [0041], [0043], See Examples 1-2).
It would have been obvious to use the same conventional batter ingredients as taught by Triantafyllou in the pancake product of Carder in order to provide a conventional pancake product.
Regarding claim 20, Carder teaches that the pancake product comprises the oat suspension, which comprises 2-10% oat flour and therefore 90-98% water ([0046]-[0050], but fails to specifically disclose the water content of the prepared batter.
Triantafyllou teaches a pancake batter comprising a high-water activity ([0016]), but fails to specifically disclose the water content of the prepared batter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the water content of the prepared batter depending on the desired thickness and texture of the pancake as a higher water content will result in a thinner pancake. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment has overcome most of the claim objections from the previous Office Action and therefore they have been withdrawn. However, claim 5 is still objected to as stated above.
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the 112(b) rejections from the previous Office Action and therefore they have been withdrawn. However, a rejection remains over claim 20 as it does not further limit amended claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection have been fully considered but were not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that Triantafyllou fails to teach steps a-c and instead teaches away from the claimed steps for preparing the oat suspension. This is not found persuasive as Triantafyllou is not being relied upon to teach such steps. Carder teaches a method of preparing an oat suspension that can be used for preparing a pancake. Carder, however, fails to teach what conventional batter ingredients include and therefore Carder is combined with Triantafyllou to show that it is well known in the art for oat suspensions to be combined with conventional batter ingredients to produce a pancake.
As stated above, Carder discloses an oat flour suspension that can be used as in ingredient in pancakes (e.g. an ingredient in a batter for a pancake product as pancakes are made using a batter), wherein the oat flour suspension is obtained by mixing oat flour and water to obtain a mixture, wherein the amount of oat flour is 2-10% by weight of the mixture (See Figure 2, [0046]-[0050]). Carder further teaches heating the mixture to a temperature of 90 C for at least 25 minutes to allow gelatinization ([0047]), thus falling within the claimed range of 70-92.5 C for 15-70 minutes, followed by cooling to allow for blending with other ingredients ([0047]). Therefore, Carder clearly renders obvious steps a-c and this argument is not found persuasive as applicant has not provided any substantial arguments against the rejection of steps a-c over Carder and Triantafyllou is not being relied upon for the teaching of such steps.
Applicant further argues on pages 7-8 that the Carder fails to teach the claimed water content and further does not teach the use of the oat suspension for the preparation of pancakes.
This is not found persuasive as Carder clearly teaches that the oat suspension can be used as an ingredient in pancakes ([0044]). While Carder may not specifically teach the preparation of pancakes, as pancakes are prepared from a batter, it would have been obvious for the oat suspension of Carder to be combined with conventional batter ingredients in Triantafyllou in order to make a pancake.
The examiner agrees that Triantafyllou fails to teach a batter having the claimed water content, however, it is well known in the art to adjust the moisture content of the batter to achieve a desired consistency and texture of the batter. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Therefore, absent a showing that the water content produces new or unexpected results, the claimed water content is merely an obvious variant over the prior art.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-9 with respect to the dependent claims are not found persuasive for the same reasons as stated above. The claimed method is clearly obvious over the teachings of Carder and Triantafyllou. Carder renders obvious steps a-c and Triantafyllou renders obvious the use of conventional batter ingredients.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the pancake products made from the claimed batters have excellent organoleptic shelf life and sensory properties, which would not result from the prior art as the prior art uses a different batter, the examiner notes that the prior art uses the same ingredients with similar processing steps as claimed. Carder teaches the steps of preparing an oat suspension and Triantafyllou teaches conventional batter ingredients. Therefore, it is not clear how the batter would be different than what is claim. Applicant has not shown how the specific water content, or cooling temperature, is critical to the invention, or even provided a comparison of the closest prior art, and therefore the claims remain rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791