Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low” in claim 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what temperature is considered “low” when determining the frequency pulse current to heat the power battery, or what frequency pulse current is considered “low”. For the purpose of this examination, examiner interprets these to read as “first temperature” and “first frequency”.
The term “high” in claim 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what temperature is considered “high” when determining the frequency pulse current to heat the power battery, or what frequency pulse current is considered “high”. For the purpose of this examination, examiner interprets this to read as “second temperature”, “second frequency”, “the second temperature being higher than the first temperature”, and “the second frequency pulse current being higher than the first frequency pulse current”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 15-17, 19, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (USPGPN 2016/0152151), in view of Du et al. (USPGPN 2020/0381788), with supporting evidence from NPL-Wikipedia “Lookup table” (published Mar. 10, 2022, hereinafter Wiki).
Regarding Claims 1 & 15, Yang (Figs.1 & 22) teaches a method for heating a battery (10), wherein the method is performed by a charging device (80; ¶0058: control module 80 comprises a processor), the method comprising:
receiving, before the charging device charges a power battery, first instruction information from a control device of the power battery (¶0040: battery manager 108 detects the temperature of the power battery 10), the first instruction information being used to instruct the charging device to heat the power battery (S10003 -> S10004: power system entering the pulse charge-discharge mode, heating mode, indicates the control module 80 received an instruction from the battery manager that the temperature is lower than the predetermined temperature); and
heating the power battery according to the first instruction information (S10004).
Yang fails to explicitly teach wherein the first instruction information comprises information about the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current from a lookup table used to heat the power battery.
However, Du (Figs.1 & 3) teaches a battery charging system where a control device (13) provides instruction (104) information for heating (100-3) a battery (3) which includes an amplitude of a pulse current (102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Yang with Du to include the first instruction information comprises information about the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current used to heat the power battery. Doing so helps overcome adverse effects brought by battery polarization at a low temperature, as evidenced by Du.
Yang, in view of Du, discloses the claimed invention except for the information about the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current is not disclosed as being “from a lookup table”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art effective filing date of the invention to use a lookup table for the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current since it was known in the art that using lookup tables can be faster than calculating values and therefore save processing time (as supported by Wiki-Para.1, lines 5-7).
Regarding Claims 3 & 16, Yang (Figs.1 & 22), as modified, further teaches wherein the charging device comprises a bidirectional DC/DC converter (30), and the heating the power battery according to the first instruction information comprises: controlling the bidirectional DC/DC converter to form a circuit for discharging from the power battery to the charging device (¶0100: control module 80 controls DC-DC module 30 to discharge the power battery 10) and a circuit for charging the power battery by the charging device (¶0098: control module 80 controls DC-DC module 30 to charge the power battery 10), so as to heat the power battery during the discharging and charging processes (S10004 is used to raise the temperature of the power battery 10).
Regarding Claims 4 & 17, Yang (Fig.1), as modified, further teaches wherein the charging device further comprises an AC/DC converter (50), and the AC/DC converter and the bidirectional DC/DC converter (30) are connected between an alternating current power supply (¶0006: AC grid) and the power battery (10).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang (Fig.22), as modified, further teaches wherein the method further comprises:
receiving second instruction information from the control device, the second instruction information being used to instruct the charging device to stop heating the power battery (S10005); and
stopping heating the power battery according to the second instruction information (S10006).
Regarding Claim 7, Yang, as modified, further teaches wherein the method further comprises:
receiving third instruction information from the control device, wherein the third instruction information is used to instruct the charging device to charge the power battery (¶0098: maximum charging current allowed by the battery manager 108 is used by control module 80), and
the third instruction information comprises information about a charging voltage and/or a charging current; and charging the power battery according to the third instruction information (¶0098: control module 80 uses the maximum charging received to determine a charging current of the power battery 10).
Regarding Claims 9, Yang (Figs.1 & 22), as modified, teaches a method for heating a battery, wherein the method is performed by a control device (108) of a power battery (10), the method comprising:
obtaining the temperature of the power battery before a charging device charges the power battery (¶0040: battery manager 108 detects the temperature of the power battery 10; S10006: normal charge-discharge mode occurs after the temperature control); and
sending first instruction information to the charging device if the temperature of the power battery is less than a temperature threshold, the first instruction information being used to instruct the charging device to heat the power battery (S10003 -> S10004: power system entering the pulse charge-discharge mode, heating mode, indicates the control module 80 received an instruction from the battery manager that the temperature is lower than the predetermined temperature).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang, as modified, further teaches sending second instruction information to the charging device when the temperature of the power battery is greater than or equal to the temperature threshold (S10005), the second instruction information being used to instruct the charging device to stop heating the power battery (S10006).
Regarding Claim 13, Yang, as modified, further teaches sending third instruction information to the charging device, wherein the third instruction information is used to instruct the charging device to charge the power battery, and the third instruction information includes information about a charging voltage and/or a charging current (¶0098: maximum charging current allowed by the battery manager 108 is used by control module 80).
Regarding Claim 19, Yang teaches a battery management system configured to perform the obtaining step and a sender performing the sending step, as disclosed in the rejection above of claim 9.
Yang fails to explicitly teach the battery management system comprised a processor; and
wherein the first instruction information comprises information about the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current from a lookup table used to heat the power battery.
However, Du (Figs.1 & 3) teaches a battery charging system where a control device (13) provides instruction (104) information for heating (100-3) a battery (3) which includes an amplitude of a pulse current (102) and that it is common in the art for a battery management system to comprise a processor for performing instructions (¶0007: control includes at least on processor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Yang with Du to ensure the battery management system includes a processor configured to obtain information and include the first instruction information comprises information about the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current used to heat the power battery. Doing so allows the system to operate reliably in repeated operations without human interaction and helps overcome adverse effects brought by battery polarization at a low temperature, as evidenced by Du.
Yang, in view of Du, discloses the claimed invention except for the information about the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current is not disclosed as being “from a lookup table”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art effective filing date of the invention to use a lookup table for the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current since it was known in the art that using lookup tables can be faster than calculating values and therefore reduce the processing time (as supported by Wiki-Para.1, lines 5-7).
Regarding Claim 20, Yang, as modified, teaches a non-transitory computer storage medium (¶0157: steps described are achieved in a computer readable medium which may be RAM or ROM or EPROM), comprising instructions for performing the battery heating method according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 8 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, in view of Du, as applied in the rejection of claims 7 & 13 above, and further in view of Nagakura (USPGPN 2013/0069584).
Regarding Claim 8, Yang, as modified, fails to explicitly teach receiving fourth instruction information from the control device, the fourth instruction information being used to instruct the charging device to stop charging the power battery; and
stopping charging the power battery according to the fourth instruction information.
However, Nagakura (Fig.2) teaches a control device (11) sending instruction information to a charging device (100) to stop charging a power battery (1) according to the instruction information (charge stop request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Yang, in view of Du, with Nagakura to include receiving fourth instruction information from the control device, the fourth instruction information being used to instruct the charging device to stop charging the power battery; and stopping charging the power battery according to the fourth instruction information. Doing so helps extend the lifespan of the battery by preventing overcharging or constant charging when a battery is fully charged.
Regarding Claim 14, Yang, as modified, fails to explicitly teach sending fourth instruction information to the charging device, the fourth instruction information being used to instruct the charging device to stop charging the power battery.
However, Nagakura (Fig.2) teaches a control device (11) sending instruction information to a charging device (100) to stop charging a power battery (1) according to the instruction information (charge stop request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Yang, in view of Du, with Nagakura to include sending fourth instruction information to the charging device, the fourth instruction information being used to instruct the charging device to stop charging the power battery. Doing so helps extend the lifespan of the battery by preventing overcharging or constant charging when a battery is fully charged.
Claim(s) 11, 21, & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, in view of Du, as applied to claims 1 & 9 above, and further in view of Masuda (USPGPN 2010/0085019).
Regarding Claim 11, Yang, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein before the sending first instruction information to the charging device, the method further comprises:
determining, according to a preset corresponding relationship between a plurality of temperatures and a plurality of amplitudes, that a maximum amplitude of the pulse current is the amplitude corresponding to the temperature of the power battery; and/or
determining, according to the preset corresponding relationship between the plurality of temperatures and a plurality of frequencies, that the frequency of the pulse current is the frequency corresponding to the temperature of the power battery.
However, Masuda (Fig.13) teaches a charging system which determines (2103) a maximum amplitude (Ibamp) of a pulse current corresponding (¶0130: charging/discharging current amplitude Ibamp is determined based on the corresponding temperature Tp) to a temperature of a power battery (Tp), according to a preset corresponding relationship between a plurality of temperatures and a plurality of amplitudes (Map11; ¶0131: Map11 is set beforehand based on predetermined data). Masuda further teaches the frequency of the pulse current corresponding to a temperature of the power battery is determined according to a preset corresponding relationship between a plurality of temperatures and a plurality of frequencies (Map12; ¶0131 Map12 is set beforehand; 2103: Psw is determined based on Map12 which includes Tp; ¶0130: Psw is a period of charging/discharging current).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Yang, in view of Du, with Masuda to determine either the maximum amplitude of the pulse current or the frequency of the pulse current corresponding to the temperature of the power battery, according to a preset corresponding relationship between either a plurality of amplitudes or a plurality of frequencies and a plurality of temperatures. Doing so allows for a maximum temperature rise performance to be realized, as evidenced by Masuda (¶0008).
Regarding Claim 21, Yang, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the control device determines a maximum amplitude of the pulse current matching the power battery using the lookup table, and
the amplitude of the pulse current in the heating of the power battery is determined based on the information about the maximum amplitude carried in the first instruction information.
However, Masuda (Fig.13) teaches a charging system which determines (2103) a maximum amplitude (Ibamp) of a pulse current corresponding (¶0130: charging/discharging current amplitude Ibamp is determined based on the corresponding temperature Tp) to a temperature of a power battery (Tp), according to a preset corresponding relationship between a plurality of temperatures and a plurality of amplitudes (Map11; ¶0131: Map11 is set beforehand based on predetermined data), a determines the amplitude of the pulse current based on the information about the maximum amplitude (2105->2106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Yang, in view of Du, with Masuda to determine a maximum amplitude of the pulse current matching the power battery using the lookup table, and the amplitude of the pulse current in the heating of the power battery is determined based on the information about the maximum amplitude. Doing so allows for a maximum temperature rise performance to be realized, as evidenced by Masuda (¶0008).
Regarding Claim 22, Yang, as modified (Masuda-Fig.13), further teaches in the lookup table, in response to the temperature of the power battery is a first temperature (Tp), only a second frequency pulse current (Psw) is used to heat the power battery,
in response to the temperature of power battery is a second temperature (Tp), a first frequency or the second frequency pulse current (Psw) is used to heat the power battery,
the second temperature being higher than the first temperature (Tb could be any value below Tth and so therefore a second higher temperature and a first lower temperature are both taught in the prior art; ¶0139: repeatedly carried out), and
the second frequency pulse current being higher than the first frequency pulse current.
Examiner’s note: As claimed, under a BRI of the claim language, the same frequency pulse current can be used in response to the temperature of the power battery being either a first temperature or a second temperature, therefore the first frequency pulse current is not required and the second frequency pulse current being higher than the first frequency pulse current is moot.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 15, 16, & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (USPGPN 2022/0263144 – effectively filed 2019), in view of Du.
Regarding Claims 1 & 15, Xie (Fig.2) teaches a method for heating a battery, wherein the method is performed by a charging device (130), the method comprising:
receiving, before the charging device charges (¶0111: battery temperature of the to-be-heated battery 30 is obtained before a charging current is supplied in the alternating charge and discharge stage) a power battery (30), first instruction information from a control device (110 & 120) of the power battery, the first instruction information being used to instruct the charging device to heat the power battery; and
heating the power battery according to the first instruction information (¶0111: if temperature of the battery is lower than a normal working requirement, voltage conversion unit 130 is controlled to work; ¶0117: power supply 20 and to-be-heated battery 30 alternatively charge and discharge to heat the to-be-heated battery).
Xie fails to explicitly teach wherein the first instruction information comprises information about the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current from a lookup table used to heat the power battery.
However, Du (Figs.1 & 3) teaches a battery charging system where a control device (13) provides instruction (104) information for heating (100-3) a battery (3) which includes an amplitude of a pulse current (102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Xie with Du to include the first instruction information comprises information about the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current used to heat the power battery. Doing so helps overcome adverse effects brought by battery polarization at a low temperature, as evidenced by Du.
Xie, in view of Du, discloses the claimed invention except for the information about the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current is not disclosed as being “from a lookup table”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art effective filing date of the invention to use a lookup table for the amplitude and/or frequency of a pulse current since it was known in the art that using lookup tables can be faster than calculating values and therefore save processing time(as supported by Wiki-Para.1, lines 5-7).
Regarding Claims 3 & 16, Xie, as modified, further teaches wherein the charging device comprises a bidirectional DC/DC converter (Fig.3: 130), and the heating the power battery according to the first instruction information comprises: controlling the bidirectional DC/DC converter to form a circuit for discharging from the power battery to the charging device and a circuit for charging the power battery by the charging device, so as to heat the power battery during the discharging and charging processes (¶0117: power supply 20 and to-be-heated battery 30 alternatively charge and discharge to heat the to-be-heated battery through voltage conversion unit 130).
Regarding Claims 5 & 18, Xie, as modified, further teaches wherein the charging device further comprises an energy storage battery (¶0098: power supply 20 may be a battery), and the bidirectional DC/DC converter is connected between the energy storage battery and the power battery (Figs.2 & 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (USPGPN 2012/0025773) teaches a system for pulse charging/discharging a battery to raise the battery temperature.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859