DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the remarks filed 01/06/2025, with respect to the amended claim(s) 1, 9, and 15 have been fully considered and moot in view of new grounds of rejection by relying on the teachings of Novotny et al. (US 20050216815 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novotny et al. (US 20050216815 A1).
Note: the specification of the patent application publication (US 20250097471 A1) discloses “a reference checksum”, “a checksum value”, and “a reference checksum value”; and “The reconstructed frame output by the deblock filter 226 can be received by the checksum block 230, which computes a reference checksum based on the reconstructed frame. “… “To compute the checksum, the checksum block 230 can use a checksum calculation algorithm (e.g., CRC, Adler-32, a hash function (e.g., MD5, SHA-1, etc.), and the like) to process pixel values or data within the frame to generate the reference checksum value” in paragraph [0046]. There is no disclosure of “a single reference checksum”… to generate “the single reference checksum value” in the specification. So “a single reference checksum” is treated as “a reference checksum” and “the single reference checksum value” is treated as “the reference checksum value”.
Regarding claim 1, Novotny teaches a method comprising:
encoding, by a graphics processing unit (GPU) (100 and 122 of fig. 1, [0017] an encoder system or circuit), a frame of a video (106 ORIG of fig. 1, 140 of fig. 3; [0026] a unit of information is a picture, frame, field, sub-picture, block, macroblock or other spatial and/or temporal areas, [0038] and [0041] the process, 140 of fig. 2, may be repeated for each groups of pictures, picture, frame or field in the signal ORIG);
determining, by the GPU (128 of fig. 1, for determining the reference checksum), a single reference checksum the encoded frame (122 and COMPT of fig.1, for the encoded frame; [0026] the checksum calculation circuit 128 calculates checksum values for units of information within the signal RECON, each checksum value may be presented in the signal CS1T, one value for each unit of information present within the signal RECON simultaneously, and a unit of information may be a picture, frame, field, sub-picture, block, macroblock or other spatial and/or temporal areas; [0049] Each checksum value may be presented in the signal CS2, 206 of fig. 3 of the decoder; [0061-0065] generation of the checksum values may be accomplished by a variety of methods)
by processing pixel values of a reconstructed frame (128 of fig.1 for the processing pixel values of the reconstructed frame from the reconstructed video 126 of fig.1; [0061]-[0065] implementation of the example checksum generation method may be provided in both the checksum calculation circuit 128 operating on the reconstructed signal RECON and the checksum calculation circuit 206 operating on the decompressed signal DECOMP, the example checksum generation method using a unit of information (e.g., predetermined number of consecutive data samples) being processed; wherein the data samples of the unit information would obviously be treated as pixel values of the reconstructed or decompressed frame, RECON of fig. 1)
to generate the single reference checksum value (CS1T of fig.1, the single reference checksum value, [0026] the checksum calculation circuit 128 calculates checksum values for units of information within the signal RECON, each checksum value may be presented in the signal CS1T, one value for each unit of information present within the signal RECON simultaneously, and a unit of information may be a picture, frame, field, sub-picture, block, macroblock or other spatial and/or temporal areas; [0061-0065] implementation of the example checksum generation method may be provided in both the checksum calculation circuit 128 operating on the reconstructed signal RECON and the checksum calculation circuit 206 operating on the decompressed signal DECOMP)
encompassing a plurality of color space components of the frame ([0026] each calculated checksum value is for each picture, frame, sub-picture, block, or macroblock; wherein the picture, frame, sub-picture, block, or macroblock of a digital video has a plurality of color space components as disclosed in paragraph [0018]); and
adding, by the GPU, the reference checksum to supplemental metadata associated with the encoded frame (124 of fig. 1, [0024] to generate the signal OUT to include the compressed information in the signal COMPT, error detection information in the signal CS1T and quality information in the signal QUAL1T, [0026] Each checksum value may be presented in the signal CS1T); and
transmitting, to a decoding device (fig. 3, a decoder system), the encoded frame and the supplemental metadata (OUT of fig. 1, IN of fig. 3; [0041] The user data insertion circuit 124 may generate the signal OUT from the signals COMPT, CS1T and QUAL1T (e.g., step 160). The signal OUT may be transmitted/written to the transmission/storage medium 102 (e.g., step 162).)
to cause a verification of the integrity of the frame by processing the received data using the decoding device ([0036] a number of different methods are generally available for calculating the signal CS1T as part of a reconstruction process verification; [0044] the signal INFOR may transfer or present one or more reconstruction verification comparison results to the receiving user 184; [0065] The decoder system 180 may perform the same checksum generation operation as the encoder system 100 to verify the reliability of the data received in the signal IN from the medium 102; [0068] both the video quality and the checksum (e.g., video reconstruction verification) data may be stored in the same payload message; and [0075] The checksum data for the reconstructed video data that is embedded in the encoded bitstream generally allows the decoder system 180 to verify a correctness of the video reconstruction and report any errors to the receiving user 184, and the checksum data may allow an automated verification of the entire encoding 140-medium 102-decoding 240 processes.);
wherein:
no read from memory operation or write to memory operation is performed for the encoded frame data (COMPT of fig. 1) and reference checksum (CS1T of fig. 1) using the GPU (100 of fig.1) throughout the encoding (122 of fig.1, 144 and 146 of fig. 2 for the encoding), checksum determination (128 of fig. 1, 154-158 of fig. 2 for the checksum determination), and metadata addition operations (124 of fig.1, and 160 of fig. 3 for the metadata addition operations); and
verification of the integrity of the frame is performed without a read from memory operation or a write to memory operation ([0044] the signal INFOR may transfer or present one or more reconstruction verification comparison results to the receiving user 184; [0057] verification of the comparison result; verification of the integrity of the frame without a read from or a write to memory operation in paragraphs: [0036] A number of different methods are generally available for calculating the signal CS1T as part of a reconstruction process verification, as noted above; [0065] The checksum values generated in the encoder system 100 may be attached to the transmitted data in the signal OUT to the medium 102. The decoder system 180 may perform the same checksum generation operation as the encoder system 100 to verify the reliability of the data received in the signal IN from the medium 102; [0075] The checksum data for the reconstructed video data that is embedded in the encoded bitstream generally allows the decoder system 180 to verify a correctness of the video reconstruction and report any errors to the receiving user 184, and the checksum data may allow an automated verification of the entire encoding 140, transmission medium 102, and decoding 240 processes).
Regarding claim 2, Novotny teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the reference checksum of the frame comprises: decoding the encoded frame to obtain a decoded frame (RECON of fig. 1, [0026] the decoded/decompressed data may also be used to generate the signal RECON); and computing the reference checksum of the decoded frame (202, 206, and 208 of fig. 3, [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Novotny further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the reference checksum of the frame is determined using a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) algorithm ([0055] a CRC method or a parity method may be implemented in the checksum calculation circuits 128 and 206).
Regarding claim 5, Novotny further teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, at the recipient, the encoded frame and the supplemental metadata comprising the reference checksum (IN 183 of fig. 3); decoding the encoded frame (202 of fig. 3); computing a checksum of the decoded frame (206 of fig. 3); comparing the computed checksum with the reference checksum included in the supplemental metadata (208 of fig. 3); and verifying an integrity of the decoded frame based on a result of the comparing ([0057], [0065], and [0075]).
Regarding claim 6, Novotny further teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising: determining that the computed checksum is not equivalent to the reference checksum; and responsive to determining the computed checksum is not equivalent to the reference checksum, ceasing to decode subsequent encoded frames of the video (206 of fig. 3, 248, NO, 250, 254 of fig. 3, [0049] and [0060]).
Regarding claim 7, Novotny further teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising: determining that the computed checksum is equivalent to the reference checksum; and responsive to determining the computed checksum is equivalent to the reference checksum, continuing to decode subsequent encoded frames of the video (240, 250, and YES of fig. 4, [0060]).
Regarding claim 8, Novotny further teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising: decoding the supplemental metadata to obtain decoded supplemental metadata (fig. 5); and extracting the reference checksum from the decoded supplemental metadata (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Novotny teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a graphics processing unit (GPU) (a decoder system of figure 3 and its process of figure 4),
an encoded bitstream comprising a plurality of encoded frames of a video and associated supplemental metadata (IN 186 of fig. 3, [0043]);
decoding, by the GPU, a frame of the encoded bitstream to obtain a decoded frame (202 of fig. 3, [0045] and [0047]);
computing, by the GPU, a checksum of the decoded frame ([0026] the checksum calculation circuit 128 calculates checksum values for units of information within the signal RECON, each checksum value may be presented in the signal CS1T, one value for each unit of information present within the signal RECON simultaneously, and a unit of information may be a picture, frame, field, sub-picture, block, macroblock or other spatial and/or temporal areas and [0049] The circuit 208 may be referred to as a checksum calculation circuit. Implementation of the checksum calculation circuit 208 may be optional. The checksum calculation circuit 208 may be operational to calculate checksum values for units of information within the signal DECOMP. Each checksum value may be presented in the signal CS2. Presentation of checksum data may include multiple checksum values substantially simultaneously, one value for each unit of information present within the signal DECOMP simultaneously. Presentation of the checksum data may also be sequential as new units of information are received via the signal DECOMP. The decoder checksum calculation process implemented by the checksum calculation circuit 206 should match the encoder checksum calculation process implemented by the checksum calculation circuit 128; [0061-0065] generation of the checksum values may be accomplished by a variety of methods; the decoded frame)
encompassing a plurality of color space components of the frame ([0026] each calculated checksum value is for each picture, frame, sub-picture, block, or macroblock; wherein the picture, frame, sub-picture, block, or macroblock of a digital video has a plurality of color space components as shown in paragraph [0018]);
comparing, by the GPU, the computed checksum with a single reference checksum included in the supplemental metadata associated with the decoded frame (208 of fig. 3, comparing a single reference checksum, CS1R of fig. 3, to the computed checksum, CS2 of fig. 3, [0060] The compare circuit 208 may compare the checksum values in the signal CS2 to the checksum values received in the signal CS1R to determine a state (e.g., match or non-match) for the signal RESULTS (e.g., step 254). If multiple results exist for a single picture, the compare circuit 208 may further combine the multiple results into a single result (e.g., step 256))
without performing a read from memory operation or a write to memory operation for the comparing (208 of fig. 3 and 254 of fig. 4, there is no read from or write to memory operation in the compare circuit 208 of figure 3 and the step 254 of figure 4); and
verifying an integrity of the decoded frame based on a result of the comparing (([0036] a number of different methods are generally available for calculating the signal CS1T as part of a reconstruction process verification; [0044] the signal INFOR may transfer or present one or more reconstruction verification comparison results to the receiving user 184; [0065] The decoder system 180 may perform the same checksum generation operation as the encoder system 100 to verify the reliability of the data received in the signal IN from the medium 102; [0068] both the video quality and the checksum (e.g., video reconstruction verification) data may be stored in the same payload message; and [0075] The checksum data for the reconstructed video data that is embedded in the encoded bitstream generally allows the decoder system 180 to verify a correctness of the video reconstruction and report any errors to the receiving user 184, and the checksum data may allow an automated verification of the entire encoding 140-medium 102-decoding 240 processes);
wherein no read from memory operation or write to memory operation is performed for the encoded frame data and reference checksum using the GPU throughout the encoding (encoder system of fig. 1, 144 and 146 of fig. 2), checksum determination (128 of fig. 1, 154-158 of fig. 2, 206 and 208 of fig. 3), and metadata addition operations (124 of fig.1, and 160 of fig. 2).
Regarding claims 10-12, see analysis in claims 6-8.
Regarding claim 13, see analysis in claim 3.
Regarding 15, Novotny teaches a system, comprising:
a graphics processing unit (GPU) (fig. 1) comprising a first logic ([0078]) to:
encode a frame of a video (106, ORIG, and 122 of fig.1, the process 140 of fig. 3; [0026] a unit of information is a picture, frame, field, sub-picture, block, macroblock or other spatial and/or temporal areas, [0038] and [0041] the process, 140 of fig. 2, may be repeated for each groups of pictures, picture, frame or field in the signal ORIG));
determine a single reference checksum of the frame (122 and COMPT of fig. 1, for the frame; 128 of fig. 1, for determining the reference checksum; [0026] the checksum calculation circuit 128 calculates checksum values for units of information within the signal RECON, each checksum value may be presented in the signal CS1T, one value for each unit of information present within the signal RECON simultaneously, and a unit of information may be a picture, frame, field, sub-picture, block, macroblock or other spatial and/or temporal areas; [0049] Each checksum value may be presented in the signal CS2, 206 of fig. 3 of the decoder; [0061-0065] generation of the checksum values may be accomplished by a variety of methods)
by processing pixel values of a reconstructed frame ([0026] the unit information is a picture, frame, field, sub-picture, block, macroblock; 126 of fig. 1, for generating a reconstructed frame as RECON; 128 of fig.1 for the processing pixel values of the reconstructed frame from the reconstructed video 126 of fig.1; [0061]-[0065] implementation of the example checksum generation method may be provided in both the checksum calculation circuit 128 operating on the reconstructed signal RECON and the checksum calculation circuit 206 operating on the decompressed signal DECOMP, the example checksum generation method using a unit of information (e.g., predetermined number of consecutive data samples) being processed; wherein the data samples of the unit information would obviously be treated as pixel values of the reconstructed or decompressed frame)
to generate the single reference checksum value (CS1T of fig.1, the single reference checksum value, [0026] the checksum calculation circuit 128 calculates checksum values for units of information within the signal RECON, each checksum value may be presented in the signal CS1T, one value for each unit of information present within the signal RECON simultaneously, and a unit of information may be a picture, frame, field, sub-picture, block, macroblock or other spatial and/or temporal areas; [0061-0065] implementation of the example checksum generation method may be provided in both the checksum calculation circuit 128 operating on the reconstructed signal RECON and the checksum calculation circuit 206 operating on the decompressed signal DECOMP)
encompassing a plurality of color space components of the frame ([0026] each calculated checksum value is for each picture, frame, sub-picture, block, or macroblock; wherein the picture, frame, sub-picture, block, or macroblock of a digital video has a plurality of color space components as disclosed in paragraph [0018]);
add the reference checksum to supplemental metadata associated with the encoded frame of the video (124 of fig. 1, [0024] to generate the signal OUT to include the compressed information in the signal COMPT, error detection information in the signal CS1T and quality information in the signal QUAL1T, [0026] Each checksum value may be presented in the signal CS1T); and
transmit the encoded frame and the supplemental metadata to a recipient (a recipient as a decoder system of fig. 3, (OUT of fig. 1, IN of fig. 3; [0041] The user data insertion circuit 124 may generate the signal OUT from the signals COMPT, CS1T and QUAL1T (e.g., step 160). The signal OUT may be transmitted/written to the transmission/storage medium 102 (e.g., step 162).)),
enabling the recipient to verify integrity of the frame by processing the received data within the recipient's processing resources ([0057] The signal RESULT may be referred to as a result signal. Implementation of the result signal may be optional. The result signal RESULT may carry a match indication when the checksum in the signal CS1R matches the checksum in the signal CS2. The result signal RESULT may carry a non-match indication when the checksum in the signal CS1R is different from the checksum in the signal CS2; [0065] the checksum values generated in the encoder system 100 may be attached to the transmitted data in the signal OUT to the medium 102. The decoder system 180 may perform the same checksum generation operation as the encoder system 100 to verify the reliability of the data received in the signal IN from the medium 102; [0068] Both the video quality and the checksum (e.g., video reconstruction verification) data may be stored in the same payload message; and [0075] The checksum data for the reconstructed video data that is embedded in the encoded bitstream generally allows the decoder system 180 to verify a correctness of the video reconstruction and report any errors to the receiving user 184, and the checksum data may allow an automated verification of the entire encoding 140-medium 102-decoding 240 processes),
such that verification of the integrity of the frame is performed without a read from memory operation or a write to memory operation ([0065] The checksum values generated in the encoder system 100 may be attached to the transmitted data in the signal OUT to the medium 102. The decoder system 180 may perform the same checksum generation operation as the encoder system 100 to verify the reliability of the data received in the signal IN from the medium 102; [0068] Both the video quality and the checksum (e.g., video reconstruction verification) data may be stored in the same payload message, and [0075] The checksum data for the reconstructed video data that is embedded in the encoded bitstream generally allows the decoder system 180 to verify a correctness of the video reconstruction and report any errors to the receiving user 184, and the checksum data may allow an automated verification of the entire encoding 140-medium 102-decoding 240 processes);
wherein no read from memory operation or write to memory operation is performed for the encoded frame data and reference checksum using the GPU throughout the encoding (encoder system of fig. 1, 144 and 146 of fig. 3), checksum determination (128 of fig. 1, 154-158 of fig. 2), and metadata addition operations (124 of fig.1, and 160 of fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Novotny teaches the system of claim 15, Srinivasan further teaches wherein the first logic comprises at least one of a hardware encoder or a software encoder (figs. 1and 2, encoder system, [0078]).
Regarding claim 17, see analysis in claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, see analysis in claim 6.
Regarding claim 19 see analysis in claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, Novotny teaches the system of claim 17, Novotny further teaches wherein the second logic comprises at least one of a hardware decoder or a software decoder (figs. 3 and 4, [0078]).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novotny et al. (US 20050216815 A1) as applied to claim 1 and 9, and further in view of Wang (US 20220217411 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Novotny discloses the method of claims 1 and 19. Novotny is silent about wherein the supplemental metadata comprises a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message included within a payload of a Network Abstraction Layer (NAL) unit associated with a video coding standard.
Wang teaches wherein the supplemental metadata comprises a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message included within a payload of a Network Abstraction Layer (NAL) unit associated with a video coding standard (bitstream of fig. 7, [0047] A payload type (payloadType) is a syntax element that indicates the type of data contained in a SEI message and hence indicates the type of SEI message that is contained in a SEI NAL unit, [0115] describes SEI within payload of NAL unit with the video coding standard).
Taking the teachings of Novotny and Wang together as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the SEI within payload of NAL of Wang into the bitstream of Novotny for improvements in signaling parameters to support coding of multi-layer bitstreams ([0002] of Wang).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
TUNG T. VO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/TUNG T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425