DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed 02/24/2026 has been fully considered.
Applicant’s statement regarding the common ownership of Kim et al. (US 2024/0172537) invokes the 102(b)(2)(C) exception and thereby overcomes the rejections under 35 USC 103 of claims 7-10.
Applicant’s amendments and the accompanying arguments with respect to the material of the plurality of touch sensor metals not overlapping a material of the at least one lens in a plan view in claims 1 and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hao et al. (US 2024/0276848).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 17-19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0373520) in view of Hao et al. (US 2024/0276848) and Huang (US 2022/0020966).
In reference to claim 1, Kim et al. (US 2020/0373520), hereafter “Kim,” discloses a display panel comprising:
a substrate comprising a plurality of subpixels comprising at least one light emitting area and a non-light emitting area;
an insulating layer, 530 in Figure 5B, disposed over the substrate and comprising at least one concave portion located in at least one of the plurality of subpixels and at least one inclined portion 532 surrounding the at least one concave portion, Figure 5A and paragraph 117;
at least one partition wall 140 located in the at least one concave portion and dividing the at least one concave portion, paragraphs 66, 67 and 114;
a first electrode 551 located on the insulating layer and the at least one partition wall, paragraph 118; and
a bank 570 disposed on a portion of an upper surface of the first electrode and overlapping a portion of the at least one concave portion, paragraph 119.
Kim does not disclose an encapsulation layer located on the first electrode and the bank;
a plurality of touch sensor metals disposed on the encapsulation layer;
at least one lens located on the encapsulation layer and located such that the at least one lens corresponds to sub-concave portions of the at least one concave portion divided by the at least one partition wall; and
a color conversion layer disposed on or underneath the at least one lens,
wherein a material of the plurality of touch sensor metals do not overlap a material of the at least one lens in a plan view.
Hao et al. (US 2024/0276848), hereafter “Hao,” discloses a display device, with reference to Figure 13, including teaching a plurality of touch sensor metals 111 disposed on the encapsulation layer 40, paragraph 194;
at least one lens 73 located on the encapsulation layer
a color conversion layer 60 disposed on or underneath the at least one lens, paragraphs 129,
wherein a material of the plurality of touch sensor metals do not overlap a material of the at least one lens in a plan view, paragraphs 134 and 135.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the display device to comprise a plurality of touch sensor metals disposed on the encapsulation layer;
at least one lens located on the encapsulation layer;
a color conversion layer disposed on or underneath the at least one lens,
wherein a material of the plurality of touch sensor metals do not overlap a material the at least one lens in a plan view.
One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the light emitting efficiency of a touch sensitive display, paragraphs 135.
Huang (US 2022/0020966), hereafter “Huang,” discloses a display device including teaching an encapsulation layer, 23 in Figure 9, located on the first electrode 221 and the bank (unlabeled); at least one lens, 24 in Figure 9, located on an encapsulation layer 23 and located such that the at least one lens corresponds to sub-concave portions 210 of the at least one concave portion divided by the at least on partition wall, paragraph 61.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for an encapsulation layer to be located on the first electrode and the bank and at least one lens to be located on an encapsulation layer and located such that the at least one lens corresponds to sub-concave portions of the at least one concave portion divided by the at least on partition wall.
One would have been motivated to do so in order to direct the emitted light and improve display brightness, paragraph 9.
In reference to claim 4, Kim discloses the at least one concave portion comprises a first sub-concave portion and a second sub-concave portion divided by the at least one partition wall, Figure 5A.
In reference to claim 5, Huang discloses he at least one lens comprises a first sub-lens 24 corresponding to the first sub-concave portion 210 and a second sub-lens 24 corresponding to the second sub-concave portion 210, Figures 8 and 9 and paragraph 61.
In reference to claim 17, Kim discloses an emission layer, 152 in figure 5B, located on the first electrode 551; and a second electrode 153 located on the light emission layer, wherein the bank 570 does not overlap at least one partition wall 140, and the second electrode comprises a structure 153, 163 in which the second electrode is disconnected along the at least one partition wall, paragraph 120.
In reference to claim 18, Kim discloses the at least one of the plurality of subpixels comprises the at least one light emitting area, and wherein the at least one light emitting area comprises a first sub-light emitting area SP in Figure 5B, corresponding to the at least one concave portion and a second sub-light emitting area (between the incline and area SP in Figure 5B, indicated by light L2) surrounding the first sub-light emitting area and corresponding to the at least one inclined portion, Figure 5A, paragraph 125.
In reference to claim 19, Kim discloses a display panel comprising:
a substrate comprising at least one light emitting area and a non-light emitting area;
an insulating layer, 530 in Figure 5B, disposed over the substrate and comprising at least one concave portion and at least one inclined portion 532 surrounding the at least one concave portion, Figure 5A and paragraph 117;
at least one partition wall 140 located in the at least one concave portion and dividing the at least one concave portion, paragraphs 66, 67 and 114;
a first electrode 551 located on the insulating layer and the at least one partition wall, paragraph 118; and
a bank 570 disposed on a portion of an upper surface of the first electrode and overlapping a portion of the at least one concave portion, paragraph 119.
Kim does not disclose an encapsulation layer located on the first electrode and the bank;
a plurality of touch sensor metals disposed on the encapsulation layer;
at least one lens located on the encapsulation layer and located such that the at least one lens corresponds to sub-concave portions of the at least one concave portion divided by the at least one partition wall; and
a color conversion layer disposed on or underneath the at least one lens,
wherein a material of the plurality of touch sensor metals do not overlap a material of the at least one lens in a plan view.
Hao discloses a display device, with reference to Figure 13, including teaching a plurality of touch sensor metals 111 disposed on the encapsulation layer 40, paragraph 194;
at least one lens 73 located on the encapsulation layer
a color conversion layer 60 disposed on or underneath the at least one lens, paragraphs 129,
wherein a material of the plurality of touch sensor metals do not overlap a material of the at least one lens in a plan view, paragraphs 134 and 135.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the display device to comprise a plurality of touch sensor metals disposed on the encapsulation layer;
at least one lens located on the encapsulation layer;
a color conversion layer disposed on or underneath the at least one lens,
wherein a material of the plurality of touch sensor metals do not overlap a material the at least one lens in a plan view.
One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase the light emitting efficiency of a touch sensitive display, paragraphs 135.
Huang discloses a display device including teaching an encapsulation layer, 23 in Figure 9, located on the first electrode 221 and the bank (unlabeled); at least one lens, 24 in Figure 9, located on an encapsulation layer 23 and located such that the at least one lens corresponds to sub-concave portions 210 of the at least one concave portion divided by the at least on partition wall, paragraph 61.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for an encapsulation layer to be located on the first electrode and the bank and at least one lens to be located on an encapsulation layer and located such that the at least one lens corresponds to sub-concave portions of the at least one concave portion divided by the at least on partition wall.
One would have been motivated to do so in order to direct the emitted light and improve display brightness, paragraph 9.
In reference to claims 21 and 22, Hao discloses the color conversion layer 60 has an upper surface and a lower surface that are parallel to each, Figure 13.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0373520) in view of Hao et al. (US 2024/0276848) and Huang (US 2022/0020966) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0119113).
In reference to claim 2, Kim in view of Hao does not discloses a bridge metal disposed between the encapsulation layer and the plurality of touch sensor metals, and a black matrix disposed on the plurality of touch sensor metals, wherein the plurality of touch sensor metals and the bridge metal overlap the bank and the black matrix.
Lee et al. (US 2020/0119113), hereafter “Lee,” discloses a display device including teaching a bridge metal, BE in Figure 9, disposed between the encapsulation layer 450 and the plurality of touch sensor metals, IE1, IE2; and a black matrix BM disposed on the plurality of touch sensor metals, wherein the plurality of touch sensor metals and the bridge metal overlap the bank, PDL, and the black matrix BM, paragraphs 109 and 110. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a bridge metal to be disposed between the encapsulation layer and the plurality of touch sensor metals, and a black matrix to be disposed on the plurality of touch sensor metals, wherein the plurality of touch sensor metals and the bridge metal overlap the bank and the black matrix. One would have been motivated to do so in order to in order to electrically connect mesh portions of the touch sensor metals, paragraph 109.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0373520) in view of Hao et al. (US 2024/0276848), Huang (US 2022/0020966), and Lee et al. (US 2020/0119113) as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Joo et al. (US 2021/0328172).
In reference to claim 3, Lee discloses the black matrix, BM in Figure 6, is disposed in at least a portion of the non-light emitting area (outside/between openings L2_1, L2_2, L2_3), and wherein the bank PDL is disposed in all of the non-light emitting area and a portion of the at least one light emitting area, and does not overlap the black matrix in the at least one light emitting area and a portion of the non-light emitting area.
Kim in view of Hao and Lee does not disclose the bank does not overlap the black matrix in the a portion of the non-light emitting area.
Joo et al. (US 2021/0328172) discloses an analogous display device including teaching a bank, 119 in Figure 5, does not overlap the black matrix BM in a portion of the non-light emitting area NEA, paragraph 119. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the bank to not overlap the black matrix in a portion of the non-light emitting area. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form a spacer in the non-light emitting area, id.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0373520) in view of Hao et al. (US 2024/0276848) and Huang (US 2022/0020966) as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Her (KR 20200085690 A).
In reference to claim 6, Hao discloses the color conversion layer 60 is disposed on the encapsulation layer 40, and the at least one lens 73 is disposed on the color conversion layer, paragraph 129.
Hao does not disclose the first sub-lens and the second sub-lens of the at least one lens are spaced apart from each other.
Her (KR 20200085690 A), a machine translation of which is included herewith and cited herein, discloses a display device including teaching a first sub-lens, 375 in Figure 7, and a second sub-lens 375 of the at least one lens are spaced apart from each other, paragraph 80. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the first sub-lens and the second sub-lens of the at least one lens are spaced apart from each other. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide an efficient light scattering structure, id.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0373520) in view of Hao et al. (US 2024/0276848) and Huang (US 2022/0020966) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0069043).
In reference to claim 16, Kim discloses an emission layer, 152 in Figure 5B, located on the first electrode 551; and a second electrode 153 located on the light emission layer, paragraph 120.
Kim does not disclose the bank overlaps at least one partition wall, and the second electrode is formed integrally in the at least one concave portion.
Kim et al. (US 2022/0069043) discloses an analogous display device including teaching a bank, 225 in Figure 4, overlaps at least one partition wall 204, paragraphs 115 and 116, and the second electrode 240 is formed integrally in the at least one concave portion, paragraph 104. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the bank to overlap at least one partition wall, and the second electrode to be formed integrally in the at least one concave portion. One would have been motivated to do so in order to prevent damage to the light emitting layer, paragraph 116.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 and 24 are allowed.
In reference to claim 23, the prior art of record to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to one skilled in the art, the instant invention regarding the first sub-lens and the second sub-lens overlap all of an area in which the at least one partition wall is located; in combination with the other recited limitations.
In reference to claim 24, the prior art of record to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to one skilled in the art, the instant invention regarding a refraction auxiliary layer disposed on the encapsulation layer; a black matrix disposed on the plurality of touch sensor metals and disposed in a same layer as the refraction auxiliary layer, wherein the refraction auxiliary layer overlaps all of the at least one light emitting area and a portion of the non-light emitting area; in combination with the other recited limitations.
Claims 7-15, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 would be allowable because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the structure wherein the first sub-lens and the second sub-lens overlap all of an area in which the at least one partition wall is located; in combination with the other recited limitations in the base claim.
Claims 8-10 depend on claim 7 and would be allowable in combination with the other recited limitations in the respective base claims.
Claim 11 would be allowable because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the structure wherein a refraction auxiliary layer disposed on the encapsulation layer; and a black matrix disposed on the plurality of touch sensor metals and disposed in a same layer as the refraction auxiliary layer, wherein the refraction auxiliary layer overlaps all of the at least one light emitting area and a portion of the non-light emitting area; in combination with the other recited limitations in the base claim.
Claims 12-15 depend on claim 11 and would be allowable in combination with the other recited limitations in the respective base claims.
Claim 20 would be allowable because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the structure wherein a refraction auxiliary layer disposed on the encapsulation layer; and a black matrix disposed on the plurality of touch sensor metals and disposed in a same layer as the refraction auxiliary layer, wherein the refraction auxiliary layer overlaps all of the at least one light emitting area and a portion of the non-light emitting area; in combination with the other recited limitations in the base claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 2022/0069043), Ito et al. (US 2016/0268358), Ohara et al. (US 2017/0243932), and Lim et al. (US 2018/0090717) disclose displays with similar partition walls.
Itonaga et al. (US 2022/0407037) discloses a display with a similar lens arrangement.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R JUNGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897