Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/03/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tobjork et al. (US Patent Pub 20200088674 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Pub 20210234015 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tobjork teaches a two-dimensional (2D) semiconductor transistor comprising:
a gate electrode (Tobjork, Fig. 2, gate electrode 103);
a gate insulating film provided on the gate electrode (Fig. 2, gate insulating film 105);
and a source electrode and a drain electrode provided on a semiconductor layer provided on the gate insulating film and disposed to be spaced apart from each other (Fig. 2, source (107) and drain (109) electrodes provided on semiconductor layer 111 and are spaced apart from each other).
Tobjork fails to teach the semiconductor layer is a 2D semiconductor layer provided on the gate insulating film and provided in a hetero- junction structure having a staggered band gap, wherein the 2D semiconductor layer includes a first semiconductor layer and a second semiconductor layer having mutually different electrical characteristics and at least partially overlapped with each other, and wherein one of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer is doped with dopants at a concentration effective to adjust a position of a negative differential transconductance (NDT) peak of the 2D semiconductor transistor.
However, Lee teaches a two-dimensional semiconductor transistor comprising:
a 2D semiconductor layer provided on the gate insulating film and provided in a hetero- junction structure having a staggered band gap (Lee, Fig. 7, 2D semiconductor layer (comprising layers 111 and 112). Paragraph 0072 teaches layers 111 and 112 are a part of a hetero – junction structure. Paragraph 0019 teaches the structure has a staggard band gap),
wherein the 2D semiconductor layer includes a first semiconductor layer and a second semiconductor layer having mutually different electrical characteristics and at least partially overlapped with each other (Lee, Fig. 7, first semiconductor layer 111 and second semiconductor layer 112. Fig. 7 demonstrates they partially overlap. Paragraph 0014 teaches they are 2D. Paragraph 0068 teaches 111 and 112 can be formed of different materials, thus having different electrical characteristics),
and wherein one of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer is doped with dopants at a concentration effective to adjust a position of a negative differential transconductance (NDT) peak of the 2D semiconductor transistor (Lee, paragraph 0067 teaches 111 and 112 may include a dopant. Applicant’s own specification (figs. 2-5, 7) and arguments (page 7) teaches that the NDT peak directly depends on the dopant concentration, and therefore any amount of dopant introduced would provide a dopant concentration effective to adjust a position of a NDT peak of the 2D semiconductor transistor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the method of Tobjork by forming the semiconductor layer out of a 2D semiconductor layer provided on the gate insulating film and provided in a hetero- junction structure having a staggered band gap, wherein the 2D semiconductor layer includes a first semiconductor layer and a second semiconductor layer having mutually different electrical characteristics and at least partially overlapped with each other, and wherein one of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer is doped with dopants. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Tobjork in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving contact characteristics between the first and second semiconductor layers and the source/drain electrodes (Lee, paragraph 0092).
Regarding Claim 2, Tobjork in view of Lee teaches the 2D semiconductor transistor of claim 1, wherein the one of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer is a 2D semiconductor layer in an n type, and wherein another of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer is a 2D semiconductor provided layer in a p type (Lee, paragraph 0014 teaches at least one of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer may include a semiconductor material having a two-dimensional crystal structure. Paragraph 0067 teaches 111 may be doped with a p-type dopant and the second semiconductor layer may be doped with a n-type dopant).
Regarding Claim 3, Tobjork in view of Lee teaches the 2D semiconductor transistor of claim 2, wherein a dopant doped into the 2D semiconductor layer provided in the p type, of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer is a p-type dopant (Lee, paragraph 0067).
Regarding Claim 4, Tobjork in view of Lee teaches the 2D semiconductor transistor of claim 2, wherein a dopant doped into the 2D semiconductor layer provided in the n-type, of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer is an n-type dopant (Lee, paragraph 0067).
Regarding Claim 5, Tobjork in view of Lee teaches the 2D semiconductor transistor of claim 2, wherein the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer include dichalcogen which is transition metal (Lee, paragraphs 0014-0015 teach the first and second semiconductor material may include a transition metal dichalcogenide).
Regarding Claim 6, Tobjork in view of Lee teaches the 2D semiconductor transistor of claim 5, wherein the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer includes: at least one 2D semiconductor material of MoS2, WS2, ReS2, ReSe2, PtSe2, HfS2, MoSe2, HfSe2, HfTe5 HfTe2, ZrS2, ZrSe2, ZrTe2, ZrS3, ZrS5, ZrTe3 WSe2, MoSe2, black phosphorus (BP), 2D tellurium, GeSe, GaSe, GeAs, black AsP, or a-MnS (Lee, paragraph 0016).
Regarding Claim 7, Tobjork in view of Lee teaches the semiconductor transistor of claim 2, wherein the source electrode is connected to the one of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer, and wherein the drain electrode is connected to another of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer (Lee, Fig. 7 teaches the source electrode 115 is directly connected to the first semiconductor layer 111, and the drain electrode 116 is directly connected to the second semiconductor layer 112).
Regarding Claim 8, Tobjork in view of Lee teaches the 2D semiconductor transistor of claim 1, wherein the gate insulating film includes: at least one of SiN, SiO2, GeO2, TiO2, ZnO, ITO, AZO, MgO, Al2O3, ZrO2, ZrSiO4, HfSiO4, Si3N4, SrO, Ta2O5, Y2O3, HfO2, La2O3, BaO, LaLuO2, or LaAIO3 (Lee, Paragraph 0098 teaches the gate insulating film 123 includes SiO2).
Claim(s) 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Double Negative Differential Transconductance Characteristic: From Device to Circuit Application toward Quaternary Inverter” (Published 25 September 2019) by Lim et al. (See attached Non-Patent Literature document, hereinafter referred to as Lim) in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Pub 20210234015 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Lim teaches a 2D semiconductor comprising:
a first AAT device and a second AAT device having mutually different electrical characteristics and connected to each other in parallel (Lim, Fig. 1a teaches a bottom gate AAT device. Fig. 4a, first AAT device (represented by top yellow box and labeled Type-1 NDT Device) and second AAT device (represented by bottom yellow box and labeled Type-2 NDT Device), which are connected in parallel. Page 5, column 2 lines 9-15 teach the first AAT device and the second AAT device are connected in parallel and have mutually different electrical characteristics),
wherein the first AAT device and the second AAT device are 2D semiconductor transistors, respectively, each 2D semiconductor transistor having a 2D semiconductor layer provided in a hetero-junction structure having a staggered band gap (Lim, page 2, Column 2 lines 3-11 teach the AAT devices are 2D semiconductor transistors provided in a hetero-junction structure. Lim, Page 2, Column 1 Lines 5-21 describe these materials as having a staggered band gap).
Lim fails to specifically teach the AAT devices include a 2D semiconductor layer having a first semiconductor layer and a second semiconductor layer which have mutually different electrical characteristics and are at least partially overlapped with each other, wherein one of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer in one of the first AAT device and the second AAT device is doped with dopants at a concentration effective to adjust a position of a negative differential transconductance (NDT) peak of the 2D semiconductor transistor, and wherein another of the first AAT device and the second AAT device includes a first semiconductor layer and a second semiconductor layer which are not doped with dopants.
However, Lee teaches an AAT device having:
a first semiconductor layer and a second semiconductor layer which have mutually different electrical characteristics and are at least partially overlapped with each other (Lee, Fig. 7, teaches a first semiconductor layer 111 and a second semiconductor layer 112. Lee, Fig. 7 demonstrates they partially overlap. Lee, Paragraph 0014 teaches they are 2D. Lee, Paragraph 0068 teaches 111 and 112 can be formed of different materials, thus having different electrical characteristics),
wherein one of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer in one of the first AAT device and the second AAT device is doped with dopants at a concentration effective to adjust a position of a negative differential transconductance (NDT) peak of the 2D semiconductor transistor (Lee, paragraph 0067 teaches 111 and 112 may include a dopant. Applicant’s own specification (figs. 2-5, 7) and arguments (page 7) teaches that the NDT peak directly depends on the dopant concentration, and therefore any amount of dopant introduced would provide a dopant concentration effective to adjust a position of a NDT peak of the 2D semiconductor transistor),
and wherein another of the first AAT device and the second AAT device includes a first semiconductor layer and a second semiconductor layer which are not doped with dopants (Lee, paragraph 0068 teaches both 111 and 112 may not be doped).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the method of Lim by forming the 2D semiconductor layer of the first and second AAT devices having a first semiconductor layer and a second semiconductor layer which have mutually different electrical characteristics and are at least partially overlapped with each other, wherein one of the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer in one of the first AAT device and the second AAT device is doped with a dopant, and wherein another of the first AAT device and the second AAT device includes a first semiconductor layer and a second semiconductor layer which are not doped with dopants. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Park in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of improving contact characteristics between the first and second semiconductor layers and the source/drain electrodes (Lee, paragraph 0092).
Regarding Claim 10, Lim in view of Lee teaches the 2D semiconductor of claim 9, wherein a negative-differential- transconductance (NDT) peak of the first AAT device and an NDT peak of the second AAT device are different from each other (Paragraph 0006 of applicant’s own instant specification teaches the NDT peak of an AAT device can be adjusted by lightly doping dopants into only one of a first or second semiconductor layer. Paragraph 0067 of Lee teaches 111 and 112 may include a dopant or may be individually doped. Page 5, column 2 lines 9-15 of Lim teach the first AAT device and the second AAT device have mutually different electrical characteristics. Therefore, the first and second AAT devices may be doped differently such that the NDT of the first AAT device and the NDT peak of the second AAT device are different from each other). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited NDT peak characteristics through routine experimentation and optimization in order to tune the device’s NDT characteristics for applications in multivalued logic computing technology (Lim, introduction). Applicant has not disclosed that the dimensions are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding Claim 11, Lim in view of Lee. teaches the 2D semiconductor of claim 10, wherein the first semiconductor layer of the first AAT device and the second AAT device is a 2D semiconductor in an n type, and wherein the second semiconductor layer of the first AAT device and the second AAT device is a 2D semiconductor provided in a p type (Lee, paragraph 0014 teaches the first semiconductor layer 111 and the second semiconductor layer 112 are formed of 2D materials. Paragraph 0067 teaches the first semiconductor layer of an AAT device can be n type, and the second semiconductor layer of an AAT device can be provided in a p type. Therefore, the first and second AAT device layers can be arranged such that the first semiconductor layer of the first AAT device and the second AAT device is a 2D semiconductor in an n type, and wherein the second semiconductor layer of the first AAT device and the second AAT device is a 2D semiconductor provided in a p type).
Regarding Claim 12, Lim in view of Lee teaches the 2D semiconductor of claim 11, wherein the second semiconductor layer of the first AAT device is doped with dopants at a concentration effective to adjust a position of a negative differential transconductance (NDT) peak of the 2D semiconductor transistor, wherein the dopants doped into the second semiconductor layer are in the p-type, and wherein an NDT peak of the first AAT device is shifted right from an NDT peak of the second AAT device in a I-V graph (Lim, Fig. 4a teaches the first and second AAT device connected in parallel. Lee, paragraphs 0067 and 0068 teach that an AAT device may be configured such that an AAT device has the second semiconductor layer doped with a p-type dopant. As best understood by the examiner, the NDT peak shifting to the right is a byproduct of the doping of the second semiconductor layer with a p-type dopant. Therefore, the AAT devices can be arranged such that the second semiconductor layer of the first AAT device is doped with a p-type dopant, resulting in the NDT peak shifting to the right. Further, as evidenced by Applicant’s own specification (figs. 2-5, 7) and arguments (page 7), the NDT peak directly depends on the dopant concentration, and therefore any amount of dopant introduced would provide a dopant concentration effective to adjust a position of a NDT peak of the 2D semiconductor transistor).
Regarding Claim 13, Lim in view of Lee teaches the 2D semiconductor of claim 11, wherein the first semiconductor layer of the first AAT device is doped with dopants at a concentration effective to adjust a position of a negative differential transconductance (NDT) peak of the 2D semiconductor transistor, wherein the dopants doped into the first semiconductor layer are in the n type, and wherein an NDT peak of the first AAT device is shifted left from an NDT peak of the second AAT device in a I-V graph (Lim, Fig. 4a teaches the first and second AAT device connected in parallel. Lee, paragraphs 0067 and 0068 teach that an AAT device may be configured such that an AAT device has the first semiconductor layer doped with a n-type dopant. As best understood by the examiner, the NDT peak shifting to the left is a byproduct of the doping of the first semiconductor layer with a n-type dopant. Therefore, the AAT devices can be arranged such that the first semiconductor layer of the first AAT device is doped with a n-type dopant, resulting in the NDT peak shifting to the left. Further, as evidenced by Applicant’s own specification (figs. 2-5, 7) and arguments (page 7), the NDT peak directly depends on the dopant concentration, and therefore any amount of dopant introduced would provide a dopant concentration effective to adjust a position of a NDT peak of the 2D semiconductor transistor).
Regarding Claim 14, Lim in view of Lee teaches a quaternary inverter logic circuit comprising (Lim, Fig. 4c teaches a quaternary inverter logic circuit):
a field effect transistor connected to a power supply terminal (Lim, Fig. 4c, field effect transistor (represented in figure as p-channel transistor) connected to a power supply terminal (represented in figure 4c as VDD),
and the 2D semiconductor according to claim 9, which is in-series connected to the field effect transistor (Lim, page 2, Column 2 lines 3-11 teach the AAT devices are 2D semiconductor transistors provided in a hetero-junction structure. Lim, Page 2, Column 1 Lines 5-21 describe these materials as having a staggered band gap. Lee, Fig. 7, teaches a first semiconductor layer 111 and a second semiconductor layer 112. Fig. 7 also demonstrates they partially overlap. Lee, paragraph 0014 teaches they are 2D. Lee, paragraph 0068 teaches 111 and 112 can be formed of different materials, thus having different electrical characteristics. Lee, paragraph 0067 teaches 111 and 112 may include a dopant. Lee, paragraph 0068 teaches both 111 and 112 may not be doped).
Regarding Claim 15, Lim in view of Lee teaches the quaternary inverter logic circuit of claim 14, wherein the field effect transistor is one of a p-type field effect transistor or an n-type field effect transistor (Lim, Fig. 4c. and Page 5, column 2, lines 20-26 teach the field effect transistor (represented in figure as p-channel transistor) is p type).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Tobjork in view of Lee fails to teach the utilization of doping at a concentration effective to adjust or shift an NDT peak. However, this is not persuasive as Lee teaches an AAT device that can be doped (Lee, paragraph 0067 teaches 111 and 112 may include a dopant). As best understood by the examiner and evidenced by Applicant’s own specification (figs. 2-5, 7) and arguments (page 7), the NDT peak directly depends on the dopant concentration and therefore any amount of dopant introduced would provide a dopant concentration effective to adjust the position of the NDT peak.
Applicant also argues the combination of Tobjork in view of Lee constitutes impermissible hindsight. As stated above, the primary reference would be improved for the reasons stated above such as improving the contact characteristics between the first and second semiconductor layers and the source/drain electrodes. It is not necessary the doping be utilized for NDT peak manipulation as claimed. It must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant also argues that the combination of Lim in view of Lee fails to teach achieving different NDT peaks via selective doping of only one layer in only one of the parallel ATT devices, leaving the other layers undoped. This is not persuasive as Lim teaches the structure of the parallel AAT devices, and paragraphs 0067 and 0068 of Lee to teaches the individual layers may or may not be doped. Further, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Lee into the method of Lim as applied in claim 9 above for at least the purpose of improving contact characteristics between the first and second semiconductor layers and the source/drain electrodes (Lee, paragraph 0092).
Applicant also argues the combination of Lim in view of Lee constitutes impermissible hindsight. As stated above, the primary reference would be improved for the reasons stated above such as improving the contact characteristics between the first and second semiconductor layers and the source/drain electrodes. It is not necessary the doping be utilized for NDT peak manipulation as claimed. It must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant also argues that the combination of Lim in view of Lee fails to teach ort suggest the specific directional shifts of claims 12 and 13. This is not persuasive because as best understood by the examiner, the NDT peak shifting to the right is a byproduct of the doping of the second semiconductor layer with a p-type dopant, and the NDT peak shifting to the left is a byproduct of the doping of the first semiconductor layer with a n-type dopant. Lee, paragraphs 0067 and 0068 teach that an AAT device may be configured such that an AAT device has the second semiconductor layer doped with a p-type dopant. Lee, paragraphs 0067 and 0068 also teach that an AAT device may be configured such that an AAT device has the first semiconductor layer doped with a n-type dopant. Therefore, the AAT devices can be arranged such that the second semiconductor layer of the first AAT device is doped with a p-type dopant, resulting in the NDT peak shifting to the right. Further, the AAT devices can also be arranged such that the first semiconductor layer of the first AAT device is doped with a n-type dopant, resulting in the NDT peak shifting to the left. Additionally, as evidenced by Applicant’s own specification (figs. 2-5, 7) and arguments (page 7), the NDT peak directly depends on the dopant concentration, and therefore any amount of dopant introduced would provide a dopant concentration effective to adjust a position of a NDT peak of the 2D semiconductor transistor.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (POT-892) attached herewith.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/JOHN M PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899