DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
► With respect to claim 14, “wherein….. and the spacer layer includes at least one of GaCo, AlRh, AlIr, of GaRh and GaIr.” Renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear that the spacer actually includes which claimed material.
► With respect to claim 15,
“the tunnel barrier” lacking antecedent basis renders the claim indefinite. For purpose of examination, claim 15 should depend on claim 2 – not claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al [US 2023/0111057]
► With respect to claims 1, 6, 17 and 19 Lee et al (fig 1, text [0001]-[0090]) discloses the claimed A MRAM storage device comprising a magnetic tunnel junction device, the claimed magnetic tunnel junction device comprising:
a seed layer (110);
a free layer structure (130) on the seed layer, the free layer structure comprising a first free layer (131), a spacer layer(132) formed on the first free layer, and a second free layer (133) formed on the spacer layer, wherein the first and second free layers each include an ordered magnetic alloy (text [0030]-[0032]: HCP lattice structure magnetic alloy); wherein the ordered magnetic alloy is a Heusler alloy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al [US 2023/0111057] in view of Jeong et al [us 2021/0175416]
► With respect to claim 2, Lee et al substantially discloses the claimed MTJ device but does not expressly teach a tunnel barrier layer on the free layer structure; and a reference layer structure on the tunnel barrier layer.
However, Jeong et al (fig 8, text [0001]-[0048]) teaches a tunnel barrier layer (840) on the free layer structure (810); and a reference layer structure (850) on the tunnel barrier layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for those skilled in the art to modify the MTJ device of Lee et al by using the tunnel barrier layer and the reference structure as being claimed, per taught by Jeong et al, to provide designed MTJ structure with thermal stability of magnetic junction while maintaining a small thickness and size (see Jeong et al, text [0045] for details).
► With respect to claim 15, MgO is a conventional material for the tunnel barrier layer in MTJ device. Selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a
prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301. See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a
known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was
held to be obvious).
► With respect to claim 9, the parameters of claimed thickness of the first free layer and the second free layer would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan practicing the invention because, absent evidence of disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, it appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 3-5, 7, 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al [US 2023/0111057] in views of Jeong et al [US 2022/0223783]
► With respect to claims 3-4, Lee et al substantially discloses the claimed MTJ device but does not expressly teach base seed layer, the seed layer is formed on the base seed layer; wherein the base seed layer comprises <001> texture MgO.
However, Jeong et al (fig 2B, text [0001]-[0077]) teaches the seed layer (210B, CoAl, text [0055])) on the base seed (220, <001> texture MgO, text [0055], [0052], [0037], [0030]).
Therefore, it would have obvious for those skilled in the art to modify the MTJ device of Lee et al using the base seed layer as being claimed, to provide the improved free layer for improving the performance of magnetic junction.
► With respect to claims 5 and 18, the same reason given above, Jeong et al teaches the crystalline, non-magnetic chemical templating layer comprising CoAl for the seed layer.
► With respect to claims 7 and 20, Mn3Ge, Mn3Ga, Co2MnSn, Mn3Sn and Mn3Sb are known materials for free layers in MTJ device. Selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301. See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious).
Claims 10, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Lee et al [US 2023/0111057] in views of Lim et al [US 2012/0018825]
► With respect to claims 10, 13 and 16, the claimed parameters of lattice constants would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan practicing the invention because, absent evidence of disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, it appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THANHHA S PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812