DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 15-19 are withdrawn. Claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 12/2/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-11, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valeri (U.S. Pat. No. 9557449).
I. Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10, 11 and 13, Valeri teaches a photocurable composition (abstract) comprising: only non-hydrolyzed epoxy alkoxysilane (abstract) in an amount of 42.77% (Example 1, Table 1), which is γ-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane (Example 1, Table 1); vinyltrimethoxysilane in an amount of 10.69% (Example 1, Table 1); a photoinitiator (a triarylsulfonium hexafluoroantimonate salt) in an amount of 1.87% (Example 1, Table 1); a surfactant (fluorocarbon modified siloxane) in an amount of 0.21% (Example 1, Table 1); and at least one acrylate binder in an amount of 35.64% and not including other acrylate binders (Example 1, Table 1). Valeri fails to explicitly teach this example not including a polyfunctional epoxy compound and including a dispersion of colloidal silica nanoparticles in an amount as claimed.
However, Valeri does teach that polyfunctional epoxy compounds can be excluded (see abstract and Examples 4 and 5, Table 1) and that colloidal silica (note that colloidal silica comprises nanoparticles) can be included in the dispersion (column 4, lines 33-37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Valeri to exclude polyfunctional epoxy compounds from the composition and to include colloidal silica. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide enhanced abrasion resistance (see Valeri at column 4, lines 36-37) and to optimize for improved scratch resistance and better adhesion to thermoplastic substrates through the use of only acrylate compounds in the absence of the polyfunctional epoxy compounds (see Valeri at column 3, lines 10-12).
Further, Valeri fails to explicitly teach the amount of the combination of acrylate binder and silica nanoparticles. However, amount of the combination of acrylate and silica nanoparticles is result-effective as adjusting this value will alter the scratch resistance and abrasion resistance (see Valeri at Table 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
II. Regarding claim 3, Valeri teaches all the limitations of claim 2 (see above), including the silane in an amount of 10.69% but fails to teach the exemplary example including 5-10 parts of the silane binder. However, 10% is so close to 10.69% that this substitution would not change the properties of the composition. Furthermore, the courts have held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Bonner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
III. Regarding claim 8, Valeri teaches all the limitations of claim 7 (see above), including the epoxy(alkoxy)silane present in an amount of 42.77% but fails to teach an exemplary embodiment where the epoxy(alkoxy)silane is present in 45-50 parts. However, Valeri generally teaches that the epoxy(alkoxy)silane can be present in an amount of 30-55% (column 2, lines 39-51) which overlaps the claimed range. Furthermore, overlapping ranges have been held as prima facie evidence of obviousness.
IV. Regarding claim 9, Valeri teaches all the limitations of claim 1 (see above), and teaches an exemplary embodiment using glycidoxypropyl trimethoxysilane (see above), but fails to teach an embodiment using glycidoxypropyl triethoxysilane. However, Valeri does teach that the epoxy(alkoxy)silane may be selected from a group including glycidoxypropyl triethoxysilane (column 2, lines 39-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute glycidoxypropyl triethoxysilane for glycidoxypropyl trimethoxysilane. One could have made this modification with a reasonable expectation of success (Valeri actually teaches that these epoxy(alkoxy)silanes can be used interchangeably as noted above), and the predictable result of providing a photocurable composition.
V. Regarding claim 14, Valeri teaches all the limitations of claim 1 (see above), but fails to teach the inclusion of solvent in the exemplary embodiment cited. However, Valeri does teach that solvent may additionally be included (column 4, lines 50-55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include solvent. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Valeri specifically teaches that solvent can be included in compositions including colloidal silica to control viscosity and improving cosmetic flow (column 4, lines 50-53).
2. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valeri in view of Higuchi et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0223414).
Regarding claim 12, Valeri teaches all the limitations of claim 1, including the composition including a dispersion of colloidal silica, but fails to teach the dispersion of acrylate and silica nanoparticles including 50% silica dispersed in ethoxylated pentaerythritol tetraacrylate. However, Higuchi teaches including 50% silica dispersed in ethoxylated pentaerythritol tetraacrylate (0145) in a photocurable coating composition (0145). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a 50% silica dispersion in ethoxylated pentaerythritol tetraacrylate for the silica of Valeri. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Higuchi teaches the silica in this dispersion provides improved scratch resistance (Table 2 and 0087).
Conclusion
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claims 15-19 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-14 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
January 3, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717