DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 8 , 10 and 1 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN Publication 113330610) . Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode slurry coated on a current collector and dried, wherein the negative electrode slurry comprises 96 wt % of a carbon active material, 2.5 wt % of a polymer binder, and 0.5 wt % of a reinforcement fiber (Paragraphs 0089, 0096 and Table 1-1). As to claims 3 -5 , Li teaches that the polymer binder can be a copolymer of polyacrylic acid and alginate with a molecular weight of 500 kDa (500000 Da), which are known to have carboxyl and hydroxyl functional groups (Example 1.9 in Table 1-1 and 1-2). Regarding claims 7 and 8, Li states that the reinforcement fibers can be polyvinyl alcohol fibers with a diameter of 0.05 µm and an aspect ratio of 1000 (Paragraph 0031, Example 1.9 in Table 1-2). As to claim 10, Li discloses that the negative electrode is used in a lithium ion battery with a positive electrode, a separator in between the positive and negative electrodes, and an electrolyte (Paragraph 0093). Regarding claim 13, Li teaches that the lithium ion batteries are used in electronic devices (Paragraph 0002). Li teaches every limitation of claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8 , 10 and 1 3 of the present invention and thus anticipates the claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN Publication 113330610) . The teachings of Li have been discussed in paragraph 3 above. Li fails to teach an example where the binder is a copolymer of at least one of polyacrylic acid-acrylonitrile, acrylic acid-acrylamide, acrylic acid-acrylates, and derivatives thereof. Regarding claim 6, Li teaches that the polymer binder can comprise a copolymer of at least one of acrylic acid, alginate, acrylonitrile, acrylamide, and vinyl alcohol (Paragraph 0026). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the binder of Li could be a polyacrylic acid-acrylonitrile copolymer , an acrylic acid-acrylamide copolymer , or an acrylic acid-acrylate copolymer because Li states that the binder can be a copolymer of any combination of acrylic acid, acrylonitrile and acrylamide. Claim (s) 2, 9 , 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN Publication 113330610) in view of Sato (EP Publication 3944364) . The teachings of Li have been discussed in paragraph 3 above. Li fails to disclose that the polymer binder has a three-dimensional cross-linked network structure, that the plastic fibers can be polyimide fibers, polyphenylene sulfide fibers etc., and that the secondary battery is used in a battery module or battery pack. Sato discloses an electrode comprising: a slurry comprising greater than 90 wt % of an active material, 0.01-2 wt % polymer binder, and 0.01- 5 wt% of fibrous material spread and dried on a current collector (Paragraphs 0080, 0081, 0085, 0097). Regarding claim 2, Sato teaches that the fibrous material is dispersed in the binder, and the fibrous material and binder are entangled to form a three-dimensional network (Paragraph 0089). As to claim 9, Sato states that the fibrous material can be aramid fibers, polyphenylene sulfide fibers, polyimide fibers, or carbon fibers (Paragraph 0046). Regarding claims 11 and 12, Sato discloses that the electrode is used to form a secondary cell (Paragraph 0106), which can be used in a vehicle (Paragraph 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention that the binder of Li could have a three-dimensional cross-linked network structure because Sato teaches that the combination of the binders with the fiber creates this network which prevents the coated layer on the current collector from collapsing. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the fibers of Li could be aramid fibers, polyphenylene sulfide fibers, or polyimide fibers because Sato teaches that these are commonly used as alternatives to carbon fibers as a reinforcement material in an electrode mixture. Finally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the battery of Li could be used in a battery module or battery pack because Sato teaches that secondary batteries are commonly used to run electric vehicles. Additionally, it would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art that multiple batteries need to be combined to form battery modules, which are combined for battery packs that are used in vehicles, since vehicles require more power. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT BRITTANY L RAYMOND whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6545 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 9 am-6 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Niki Bakhtiari can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3433 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT BRITTANY L. RAYMOND Primary Examiner Art Unit 1722 /BRITTANY L RAYMOND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722