DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DEVINE (US 20100033190 A1).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, DEVINE teaches an electrical test device including at least one transducer to detect a status of a circuit under test, and at least one indicator located remotely from the at least one transducer to display the status of the circuit under test and the BRI of:
A permanently mounted absence of voltage tester configured to be hardwired to a monitored circuit (FIG. 1, items 3, 3a, 3b, 3c; p [0013-0014, 0044]; “self test circuit… to determine… whether the transducer is mechanically attached to the circuit under test”; the coiled transducer being “mechanically attached” to the circuit is considered to read onto the transducer being “directly connected” to the circuit; when the electrical test device is connected to the circuit, and not removed afterwards, the test device is “permanently mounted”),
the monitored circuit powered by a primary power source (FIG. 1, power source 1; p [0027]; the monitored circuit may be a three phase power supply),
the absence of voltage tester comprising:
circuitry
configured to perform:
a first function of
using a secondary power source, independent of the primary power source and the monitored circuit, to verify that the absence of voltage tester can detect voltage above a predetermined safe threshold level (p [0006, 0040, 0041]; self-test circuit 14 uses a generator (second power source) to verify that device 10 is reporting accurate results and within prescribed limits);
a second function of
testing connectivity to the monitored circuit to ensure the absence of voltage tester is properly connected to the primary power source (p [0040]);
a third function of
detecting a voltage potential, a phase-to-phase voltage, and a phase-to-ground voltage, and determining all are below a predetermined safe threshold level (p [0029, 0031, 0034]);
allow a user to initiate at least one of the first, second, and third functions from a location that is physically removed and electrically isolated from the power source (p [0044]); and
a controller
configured to direct the circuitry to perform the following sequence of steps:
check for the presence of voltage in the monitored circuit (p [0039]; “the absence of a voltage on all conductors of the circuit under test is required to illuminate the green LED”);
upon determining a lack of presence of voltage in the monitored circuit or upon initiation by a user, verify that the absence of voltage tester can detect voltage above the predetermined safe threshold level using the secondary power source, thereby confirming correct operation of absence of voltage tester; upon confirming correct operation of the absence of voltage tester, verify connectivity of the absence of voltage tester to the monitored circuit to ensure the absence of voltage tester is properly connected to the primary power source (p [0006, 0040, 0041, 0043]; a user may initiate the self-test routine, which verifies that the device is reporting accurate results within prescribed limits, and that the device is mechanically attached to the circuit under test; implicit that the connectivity check can happen either before or after the self-test);
upon confirming proper connection of the absence of voltage tester to the monitored circuit, confirming the absence of voltage in the monitored circuit (p [0043]; after the self-test routine, the circuit under test is verified as de-energized);
upon confirming the absence of voltage in the monitored circuit, re- verifying connectivity of the absence of voltage tester to the monitored circuit; upon re-verifying connectivity of the absence of voltage tester to the monitored circuit, re-verifying correct operation of the absence of voltage tester (p [0044]; “The advantages of the electrical test device described above include… (6) It allows operators to repeat the test subsequent to the initial operator test to verify the de-energized state of the circuit and the correct operation of the test device”; implicit that an operator may perform the self-test routine multiple times); and
upon re-verifying correct operation of the absence of voltage tester, confirming the absence of voltage in the monitored circuit (p [0043-0044]; circuit under test is verified as de-energized after the self-test routine, which may be performed multiple times).
With respect to Claim(s) 12, DEVINE teaches an electrical test device including at least one transducer to detect a status of a circuit under test, and at least one indicator located remotely from the at least one transducer to display the status of the circuit under test and the BRI of:
a primary power source configured to power a monitored circuit (FIG. 1, power source 1; p [0027]);
and
a permanently mounted absence of voltage tester configured to be hardwired to the monitored circuit and hereby electrically connected to the power source (FIG .1, items 3, 3a, 3b, 3c; p [0013-0014, 0044]),
the absence of voltage tester having circuitry and a controller,
wherein
the controller is configured to direct the circuitry to perform the following sequence of steps:
first,
test a voltage of the primary power source to determine if it is below a predetermined de- energized voltage level (p [0039]; when green LED is illuminated, there is an absence of voltage on all conductors of the circuit under test (absence of voltage corresponds to voltage less than e.g., 1mV)),
second,
use a voltage from a separate secondary power source with a voltage greater than or equal to the predetermined de-energized voltage level to test the circuitry to determine if it can detect a voltage above the predetermined de- energized voltage level (p [0040, 0043-0044]; self-test using secondary power source (voltage generator), implicitly with voltage above e.g., 1mV; self-test involves checking connectivity to primary power source (mechanical attachment to circuit being monitored)),
third,
check connectivity to the primary power source (p [0040]; implicit that the self-test including checking connectivity may occur after checking voltage on circuit powered by primary power source),
fourth,
re-check connectivity to the primary power source if voltage of the primary power source is below a predetermined de-energized voltage level (p [0043-0044]; do self-test routine at step 63 after circuit is verified as de-energized at step 62; self-test may be performed multiple times),
fifth
re-use voltage from the separate secondary power source to test the circuitry to determine if it can still detect a voltage above the predetermined de-energized voltage level (p [0040, 0044]; self-test can be performed multiple times, and involves checking whether the test device is working properly and within prescribed limits; the prescribed limits implicitly include a lower and upper bound, and therefore, checking whether the test device is working within prescribed limits involves checking whether the test device can detect a voltage above a predetermined voltage level, implicitly above the predetermined de-energized voltage level (e.g., 1mV)), and
sixth,
if the circuitry can still detect a voltage above the predetermined de-energized voltage level, confirm that the voltage of the primary power source is below a predetermined de-energized voltage level (p [0043-0044]; circuit under test is verified as de-energized after the self-test routine, which may be performed multiple times).
With respect to Claim(s) 2, 17, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the secondary power source
is at least one of
a battery, a capacitor, an energy harvesting method, network power, generator supplied power, or independent control power (See, e.g., ¶ 0027; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1).
With respect to Claim(s) 3, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the circuitry is configured to
run a sequence of the first function, second function, and third function multiple times (p [0043-0044]; circuit under test is verified as de-energized after the self-test routine, which may be performed multiple times).
With respect to Claim(s) 4, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the voltage tester
provides a safe indication signal (See, e.g., ¶ 0038)
and
further wherein
the circuitry is configured to
repeat the sequence as long as the safe indication signal is provided (p [0043-0044]; circuit under test is verified as de-energized after the self-test routine, which may be performed multiple times).
With respect to Claim(s) 5, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
further comprising
an unsafe indication signal (See, e.g., ¶ 0038).
With respect to Claim(s) 6, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
one of the safe indication signal or the unsafe indication signal
includes
a visual response (See, e.g., ¶ 0038).
With respect to Claim(s) 8, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
at least one of the safe indication signal or the unsafe indication signal is connected to a control system (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT).
With respect to Claim(s) 9, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the control system is configured to
control access to an enclosure (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT).
With respect to Claim(s) 10, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the absence of voltage tester
comprises
two housings, a first housing having circuitry connected to the primary power source and the second housing having circuitry electrically isolated from the primary power source (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-5).
With respect to Claim(s) 11, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
further comprising
circuitry powered by the primary power source (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-5)
and
configured to
give a positive visual indication of the presence of voltage (See, e.g., ¶ 0038).
With respect to Claim(s) 13, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the circuitry is also configured to
test the voltage of the power source to determine if it is below a predetermined safe state (See, e.g., ¶ 0038).
With respect to Claim(s) 14, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the circuitry is also configured to
run self-diagnostics to ensure it is operating properly (See, e.g., ¶ 0036).
With respect to Claim(s) 15, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the absence of voltage tester
is configured to be
initiated by at least one of
a user accessing the absence of voltage tester directly, a user initiating the test remotely, or automatically upon a detection of an absence of voltage (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT).
With respect to Claim(s) 16, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the absence of voltage tester
is configured to
provide a visual indication of the test results (See, e.g., ¶ 0038).
With respect to Claim(s) 18, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the absence of voltage tester
is further configured to
provide visual indication that the tests are in process (See, e.g., ¶ 0038).
With respect to Claim(s) 19, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the absence of voltage tester
is connected to
a control system (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-5).
With respect to Claim(s) 20, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the control system
controls access to an enclosure (See, e.g., ¶ 0011; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the cited references of the parent claim(s) in view of BATKO ET AL. (US 20140347768 A1) (hereinafter “BATKO”).
With respect to Claim(s) 7, DEVINE teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
DEVINE further teaches the BRI of:
one of the safe indication signal or the unsafe indication signal.
However, DEVINE is lacking the explicit language of:
an audible response.
BATKO teaches a self-testing fault detector and the BRI of:
an audible response (See, e.g., ¶ 0015, 0129, 132, 0133)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify DEVINE to include an audible response.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify DEVINE because it would be beneficial to notify user. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit