DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is a final rejection in response to the amendments and arguments filed 02/25/2026. Claims 1-4, 6, 9-14 and 16-20 are currently pending with claims 19-20 withdrawn from consideration, claims 1 and 18 amended and claims 5, 7-8 and 15 canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026, with respect to the art rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to arguments on page 7-8 of the response, examiner contends that the prior art Roach does teach the metal layer being recessed as outlined in the last rejection and the rejection to follow. Furthermore, upon further consideration, the prior art Roach also teaches the limitations as amended in claim 1. See rejection to follow. For instance, Roach teaches where the system “forms the flowpath boundary in combination with an unplated polymer shell” (as argued) in having plating recessed in the polymer portion and thus has a unplated portion. Also, the prior art Roach teaches overlapping thickness of the polymer portion and the metal portion (see ¶ [0092] and [0094] for instance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2016/0160869 to Roach et al. (Roach).
In Reference to Claim 1,
Roach discloses an assembly for a turbine engine (see Fig. 102 for instance), comprising:
a compressor rotor (rotor of 116 or 126 for instance, see also [0314] of blades connected to a rotor) rotatable about an axis (A, for instance), the compressor rotor including a plurality of compressor blades arranged circumferentially around the axis (blades of 116 and 126 for instance, not labeled, see also [0314] of blades connected to a rotor); and
a flowpath wall (wall or casing surrounding 116 and 126 for instance, see also [0018], [0028]) forming an outer peripheral boundary of a flowpath in which the plurality of compressor blades are disposed ([0088], the containment of compress fluid for instance), the flowpath wall including a first wall section (¶ [0212], an portion of a polymer substrate not recessed for instance) and a second wall section (a recessed portion of the substrate and having metal plating for instance) axially adjacent the first wall section (the plating system as applied to an axial component such as a compressor casing for instance, see also ¶ [0213]), the first wall section (non-recessed portion for instance, ¶ [0212]) consisting of a first portion of a polymer shell (polymeric substrate for instance and applied to a component of a compressor/flowpath wall such as nacelle or compressor wall 146, 148, 150, see ¶ [0213], claim 14 and figure 102), the second wall section including a second portion of the polymer shell and at least a portion of a metal liner (¶ [0212], the polymer substrate with recess and metal plating for instance) bonded to the second portion of the polymer shell (the compressor case formed from polymeric substrate and having a metal plating for instance), the polymer shell being solid, the second portion of the polymer shell axially overlapping and circumscribing the metal liner in the second wall section (the recessed portion having metal plating for instance), and the metal liner in the second wall section (metal plating for instance) axially overlapping and circumscribing the plurality of compressor blades (claim 14, the metallic plating as covering an exposed surface of the polymeric compressor case);
wherein the metal liner is disposed in a recess of the polymer shell such that an inner surface of the metal liner is flush with or recessed from an inner surface of the first portion of the polymer shell (see ¶ [0210], [0212] and [0213], metal liner being recessed in polymer components such as polymer compressor casing components of claim 14, the first portion being the portion of the polymer not recessed for instance);
wherein the inner surface of the first portion of the polymer shell and the inner surface of the metal liner (¶ [0012]-[0013], the polymeric substrate and recess with metal plating for instance) form the outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath (as forming compressor portions and surround airfoils for instance, see ¶ [0202] and [0028]); and
wherein a first radial thickness of the metal liner in the second wall section (¶ [0092], between 0.01-0.5 inches for instance) is greater than or equal (at least equal for instance) to a second radial thickness of the second portion of the polymer shell (¶ [0094], between 0.05-2 inches for instance, and as overlapping or equal at least between 0.05-0.5 inches or greater than in some instances).
In Reference to Claim 2,
Roach discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of compressor blades (of 116 and 126, figure 102) comprise a first compressor blade (a blade of 116 or 126 for instance); and the metal liner is radially adjacent a tip of the first compressor blade (the metal liner as applied to the compressor case on an exposed surface for instance and functioning and erosion coating, claim 14, ¶ [0357]).
In Reference to Claim 4,
Roach discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the metal liner (the metal plating as part of the polymeric substrate forming the compressor case and in a recess portion, ¶ [0212]) extends partially axially along the flowpath wall ([0212], as being disposed in the recessed portion only).
In Reference to Claim 16,
Roach discloses the assembly of claim 1, further comprising: a compressor section comprising the compressor rotor (Fig. 102, 116, 126 for instance); a combustor section (130 for instance); and a turbine section (128, 118 for instance); the flowpath extending sequentially through the compressor section, the combustion section and the turbine section from an inlet into the flowpath to an exhaust from the flowpath ([0088]).
In Reference to Claim 17,
Roach discloses the assembly of claim 16, wherein the flowpath wall forms the inlet into the flowpath ([0088], inlet to the compressor section for instance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0160869 to Roach et al. (Roach) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2019/0001372 to Crawford et al. (Crawford).
In Reference to Claim 3,
Roach discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of compressor blades comprise a first compressor blade (a blade of 116 or 126 for instance, figure 102); the metal liner disposed adjacent a tip of the first compressor blade (the metal liner as applied to the compressor case on an exposed surface for instance and functioning and erosion coating, claim 14, [0357]); but does not teach explicitly, “... a clearance gap is formed by and extends between the metal liner and a tip of the first compressor blade ....”
Crawford is related to an assembly for a turbine engine having a compressor with blades and a compressor flowpath wall ([0003]), as the claimed invention, and teaches a clearance gap is formed by and extends between the compressor case and a tip of the first compressor blade ([0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Roach wherein a clearance gap is formed by (a compressor case as taught by Crawford) and extends between the metal liner (of the compressor case of Roach as formed by the polymeric substrate and metal liner) and a tip of the first compressor blade (of Roach, a clearance as taught by Crawford), so as to prevent the leakage of working fluid between the compressor blades and compressor casing of Roach and to increase compressor efficiency (Crawford, [0004]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0160869 to Roach et al. (Roach).
In Reference to Claim 6,
Roach discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the first wall section is upstream of the second wall section along the flowpath (¶ [0212], as part of a the non-recessed portion for instance). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide into the system of Roach wherein the first wall section is upstream of the second wall section along the flowpath (the metal plating applied in a recess which means there if portion non-recessed capable of being upstream or downstream), so as to use an art known technique (of partially applying a metal liner to a polymer substrate) to the flowpath wall (compressor case for instance) and predictably form the compressor case and delimiting the flow of working fluid through the compressor.
Claim(s) 9-10, 12-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0160869 to Roach et al. (Roach) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2005/0022501 to Eleftheriou et al. (Eleftheriou).
In Reference to Claim 9,
Roach discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the flowpath wall (claim 14, compressor casing for instance) includes a tubular sidewall (of the engine casing as surrounding the blades of 116 or 126 for instance); the polymer shell (the polymer compressor case for instance) and the metal liner (metallic layers for instance) collectively form the tubular sidewall (the compressor case as formed by the polymer substate and metal layer for instance).
Roach does not teach “... an annular flange ... at least the metal liner forms the annular flange ....”
Eleftheriou is related to a gas turbine assembly (Fig. 3, 10 for instance) having a series of casing elements including a compressor case (46 for instance) defining a flowpath wall (see [0030]), as the claimed invention, and teaches the flowpath wall (of the compressor casing 46 for instance) includes a tubular sidewall ([0031]) and an annular flange (60 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Roach to include an annular flange (as taught by Eleftheriou), and at least the metal liner forms the annular flange (the metal liner of Roach as taught to cover the polymeric substrate that forms the compressor case and also covering the flange), so as to form the turbine assembly of various casing portions that are attached together by flanges and provide at least a convenience in the assembly of the turbine assembly (Eleftheriou, [0034]).
In Reference to Claim 10,
Roach, as modified by Eleftheriou, discloses the assembly of claim 9, wherein the polymer shell and the metal liner collectively form the annular flange (the compressor casing of Roach, including the annular flange as taught by Eleftheriou, formed entirely from a polymer substrate and metallic layers, see claim 14 of Roach).
In Reference to Claim 12,
Roach discloses the assembly of claim 1, comprises a series of sections (Fig. 102, 116, 126, 130, 128, 118 for instance), except explicitly “... wherein the flowpath wall is a first flowpath wall and the outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath is a first outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath, and further comprising: a second flowpath wall forming a second outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath; the second flowpath wall mechanically fastened to the first flowpath wall at a bolted flange joint ....”
Eleftheriou is related to a gas turbine assembly (Fig. 3, 10 for instance) having a series of casing elements including a compressor case (46 for instance) defining a flowpath wall (see [0030]), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the flowpath wall (46 for instance) is a first flowpath wall and the outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath is a first outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath ([0030], the casing forming the flowpath for instance), and further comprising: a second flowpath wall forming a second outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath (56 for instance); the second flowpath wall mechanically fastened to the first flowpath wall at a bolted flange joint (at 60, 62 for instance, see also [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Roach wherein the flowpath wall is a first flowpath wall and the outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath is a first outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath, and further comprising: a second flowpath wall forming a second outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath (such as a combustion section of Roach, 130 for instance); the second flowpath wall mechanically fastened to the first flowpath wall at a bolted flange joint, as taught by Eleftheriou, so as to use an art know technique (of the assembly of a turbine casing for instance) to the system of Roach and predictably form the turbine assembly of Roach.
In Reference to Claim 13,
Roach, as modified by Eleftheriou, discloses the assembly of claim 12, wherein the second flowpath wall is formed from metal (Roach, Fig. 102 and [0090], such as a combustion casing that is made of metal, conventionally, and to withstand high temperatures); and the metal liner axially engages the second flowpath wall (of the compressor casing of Roach as formed from a polymeric substrate and metallic layers and as attached to further components as taught by Eleftheriou).
In Reference to Claim 14,
Roach discloses the assembly of claim 1, wherein the outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath formed by the flowpath wall (compressor casing of 116 for instance, see figure 102) has a convex sectional geometry (the inward curving of casing as seen in figure 101 for instance), except, “... extending axially along the axis between a first end of the flowpath wall and a second end of the flowpath wall ....”
Eleftheriou is related to a gas turbine assembly (Fig. 3, 10 for instance) having a series of casing elements including a compressor case (46 for instance) defining a flowpath wall (see [0030]), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein an outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath formed
by the flowpath wall (32 for instance) has a convex sectional geometry (see inward bowing of 32 for instance) extending axially along the axis (12) between a first end of the flowpath wall (at 34 for instance) and a second end of the flowpath wall (at 60 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Roach wherein the outer peripheral boundary of the flowpath formed by the flowpath wall has a convex sectional geometry (of Roach) extending axially along the axis between a first end of the flowpath wall and a second end of the flowpath wall (as taught by Eleftheriou), so as to form the turbine assembly of various casing portions that are attached together and provide at least a convenience in the assembly of the turbine assembly (Eleftheriou, [0034]).
In Reference to Claim 18,
Roach discloses an apparatus for a turbine engine (see Fig. 102 for instance), comprising:
a flowpath wall including a sidewall (wall or casing surrounding 116 and 126 for instance, see also [0018], [0028]), a first wall section (¶ [0212], an portion of a polymer substrate not recessed for instance) and a second wall section (a recessed portion of the substrate and having metal plating for instance), the first wall section forming a first portion of the sidewall (non-recessed portion for instance), the second wall section forming a second portion of the sidewall (recessed portion for instance), the first wall section configured from only a first portion of a polymer shell (polymeric substrate for instance and applied to a component of a compressor/flowpath wall such as nacelle or compressor wall 146, 148, 150, see ¶ [0213], claim 14 and figure 102), and the second wall section including a second portion of the polymer shell a metal liner (claim 14, the compressor case formed from polymeric substrate and having a metal plating for instance);
the sidewall (compressor case for instance) extending circumferentially around an axis (A, for instance), and the sidewall formed by the polymer shell and the metal liner (¶ [0212], the polymer substrate with recess and metal plating for instance);
the polymer shell extending axially along and circumscribing the metal liner (claim 14, the metallic plating as covering an exposed surface of the polymeric compressor case); and
the metal liner bonded to the polymer shell (claim 14, the compressor case formed from polymeric substrate and having a metal plating for instance), and the first portion of the polymer shell and
the metal liner ((¶ [0012]-[0013], the polymeric substrate and recess with metal plating for instance) forming an outer peripheral boundary of a flowpath (as forming compressor portions and surround airfoils for instance, see ¶ [0202] and [0028]) axially along and radially within the flowpath wall ([0088], the containment of compress fluid for instance);
wherein a first axial thickness of a portion of the metal liner (¶ [0092], between 0.01-0.5 inches for instance) is greater than a second axial thickness of a portion of the polymer shell (¶ [0094], at least 0.05-0.4 inches for instance when metal liner is 0.5 inches).
Roach does not explicitly teach “... a flange ... the sidewall extending axially along the axis from an upstream end of the flowpath wall to a downstream end of the flowpath wall ... the flange disposed at the downstream end of the flowpath wall, the flange projecting radially out from the sidewall, the flange extending circumferentially around the axis, and the flange formed by at least the metal liner and the polymer shell ....”
Roach additionally teaches that components formed of polymer may be plated with a metal liner (see ¶ [0210] and [0213], polymer being plated).
Eleftheriou is related to a gas turbine assembly (Fig. 3, 10 for instance) having a series of casing elements including a compressor case (46 for instance) defining a flowpath wall (see [0030]) including a sidewall (of 32 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches a flange (60 for instance), the sidewall (of 32) extending axially along the axis from an upstream end of the flowpath wall (at 34 for instance) to a downstream end of the flowpath wall (at 60 for instance), the flange disposed at the downstream end of the flowpath wall (60 for instance), the flange projecting radially out from the sidewall (as seen in figure 3), the flange extending circumferentially around the axis (12 for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Roach to include a flange (as taught by Eleftheriou and to the polymer component of Roach) such that the second wall section forming a second portion of the sidewall (of Roach) and the flange (as taught by Eleftheriou), the sidewall extending axially along the axis from an upstream end of the flowpath wall to a downstream end of the flowpath wall (as taught by Eleftheriou and to the polymer component of Roach), the flange disposed at the downstream end of the flowpath wall (as taught by Eleftheriou and to the polymer component of Roach), the flange projecting radially out from the sidewall (as taught by Eleftheriou and to the polymer component of Roach), the flange extending circumferentially around the axis (as taught by Eleftheriou and to the polymer component of Roach), and the flange formed by at least the metal liner and the polymer shell (the flange as taught by Eleftheriou incorporated into the system of Roach, which system, a polymer component, is plated with a metal as further taught by Roach), such that wherein a first axial thickness of a portion of the metal liner (of Roach) forming the annular flange (as taught by Eleftheriou) is greater than (of Roach) a second axial thickness of a portion of the polymer shell (of Roach) forming the annular flange (as taught by Eleftheriou), so as to use an art known technique (of forming turbine engine components to have flange portions and extending to form flowpath wall as taught by Eleftheriou, such components being formed of polymer and metal as taught by Roach) into the system of Roach and predictably form the turbine engine apparatus for suitable operation.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0160869 to Roach et al. (Roach) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2005/0022501 to Eleftheriou et al. (Eleftheriou) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2016/0160353 to Miarecki et al. (Miarecki).
In Reference to Claim 11,
Roach, as modified by Eleftheriou, discloses the assembly of claim 10, including selectively plating the polymeric substrate for strength purposes ([0128]), except, “... wherein an axial thickness of a portion of the metal liner forming the annular flange is greater than an axial thickness of a portion of the polymer shell forming the annular flange ....”
Miarecki is related to a polymer substrate with a metal liner (abstract), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a thickness of the metal liner may vary ([0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Roach wherein an axial thickness of a portion of the metal liner forming the annular flange is greater than an axial thickness of a portion of the polymer shell forming the annular flange (such as selectively adjusting the thickness of the metal liner as taught by Roach and by Miarecki), so as to enhance the strength of compressor case of Roach, formed from a polymeric substrate and metal layers, by selectively adjusting the thickness of the metal liner in certain areas (Roach, [0128]; Miarecki, [0047]).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show reinforced plastic composites substrate coated with metal layers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745