CTNF 18/372,230 CTNF 85970 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kakeya et al (US 2014/0322577) . Regarding claim 1, Kakeya et al teaches an electrode assembly, comprising: a first electrode sheet (negative electrode plate 3) and a second electrode sheet (positive electrode plate 2) having opposite polarities (paragraph [0038], negative, positive); and a separator (figs 1-3, paragraph [0038], separator 4) to separate the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet (figs 1-2), the separator comprising at least two layers (figs 1-3, note that the multiple layers is met by the body 401 and reinforcement 402, but also by met by the fold creating multiple layers, see central portion of figs 1-2), wherein the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator are wound to form the electrode assembly (figs 1-2 show the electrode sheets and separator are wound). Regarding claim 2, Kakeya et al teaches wherein the separator comprises a first separator and a second separator, and the second separator is a folding part formed at an end of the first separator (figs 1-2, note that the fold at the center can be construed as forming a second separator stacked on a first separator). Regarding claim 3, Kakeya et al teaches wherein the electrode assembly comprises a starting segment along a winding direction, and the end of the first separator is located in the starting segment (fig 2, note the central space 5S can be construed as the starting segment, the fold (where the first separator ends and the second separator begins) is in the central space). Regarding claim 4, Kakeya et al teaches wherein the electrode assembly comprises a bending region formed by winding and bending the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator (fig 2, entire region is the bending region formed by winding and bending, note paragraph [0050], can also be a flat spiral electrode group), the bending region comprises a first bending position close to the starting segment along the winding direction (fig 2, first bending position can be the position near central space 5S where the fold occurs), the first bending position is provided with the first separator and the second separator (fig 2, see position where the fold occurs), and the first separator and the second separator extend from the starting segment to exceed the first bending position (fig 2, the double layers extend past the position where the fold occurs). Regarding claim 5, Kakeya et al teaches wherein the electrode assembly comprises a bending region formed by winding and bending the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator (fig 2, entire region is the bending region formed by winding and bending, note paragraph [0050], can also be a flat spiral electrode group), the bending region comprises a plurality of bending positions along a winding direction (fig 2, bending positions along the winding can be construed as a first position where the fold occurs in the central space 5S, a second position where the reinforcement begins, position 2X, position where reinforcement ends), the separator comprises a first separator and a second separator (fig 2-3, note that first and second separator can be construed as either the first layer and the folded layer, or as body 401 and reinforcement 402), and the first separator and the second separator are stacked at at least one of the plurality of bending positions (fig 2, layers are stacked at fold position, reinforcement layer position, 2X, etc). Regarding claim 7, Kakeya et al teaches wherein the electrode assembly comprises a starting segment along the winding direction (fig 2, see area around central space 5S), the plurality of bending positions comprise a first bending position and a second bending position (fig 2, first bend position can be fold position, second bending position can be at 2X), the first bending position is closer to the starting segment than the second bending position (fig 2), the first separator and the second separator are disposed at the first bending position and the second bending position (note that first separator can be construed as the reinforcement and second separator can be construed as the body, see fold position having a reinforcement and two body layers while at 2X there is a reinforcement and one body layer), and a thickness of a part of the second separator located at the first bending position is greater than a thickness of a part of the second separator located at the second bending position (fig 2, note interpretation above, second separator construed as body layer, there are two body layers of thickness at the fold position whereas only one body layer of thickness at 2X). Regarding claim 8, Kakeya et al teaches wherein the second separator is bonded to a surface of the first separator (paragraph [0037], body 401 is thermally welded to reinforcement 402). Regarding claim 10, Kakeya et al teaches wherein the first separator and the second separator have different thicknesses (fig 2, note interpretation where first separator may be one layer of the fold, and second separator may be a second layer of the fold, at the folded position, the first layer (having body and reinforcement) is a different thickness than the folded on layer just having the body). Regarding claim 11, Kakeya et al teaches a manufacturing method for an electrode assembly (electrode group 5), comprising: providing a first electrode sheet (negative electrode plate 3) and a second electrode sheet (positive electrode plate 2) having different polarities (paragraph [0038], negative, positive), as well as a separator (figs 1-3, paragraph [0038], separator 4) configured to separate the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet (figs 1-2), wherein the separator comprises at least two layers (figs 1-3, note that the multiple layers is met by the body 401 and reinforcement 402, but also by met by the fold creating multiple layers, see central portion of figs 1-2); and winding the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator to form the electrode assembly (figs 1-2 show the electrode sheets and separator are wound). Regarding claim 12, Kakeya et al teaches wherein the separator comprises a first separator and a second separator, and the providing the separator comprises: folding from an end of the first separator to form the second separator, to form the separator comprising at least two layers (figs 1-2, note that the fold at the center can be construed as forming a second separator stacked on a first separator). Regarding claim 13, Kakeya et al teaches wherein the separator comprises a first separator (figs 1-3, see separator body 401) and a second separator (fig 1, see fig 3, note the reinforcing parts 402 construed as second separator), and the providing the separator comprises: bonding the second separator to a preset position on a surface of the first separator (paragraph [0037], the reinforcement separators 402 are thermally welded to the separator body 401), to form the separator comprising at least two layers (fig 3 shows two layers, base layer and reinforcement). Regarding claim 14, Kakeya et al teaches a battery cell (abstract, note that the components together of the energy storage device form a battery cell), comprising the electrode assembly according to claim 1. Regarding claim 15, Kakeya et al teaches a battery (abstract, energy storage device), comprising the battery cell according to claim 14 . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-6, 9-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al (CN 1805205 A, cited in IDS filed 9/25/23) . Regarding claim 1, Lu et al teaches an electrode assembly (figs 1-4, paragraph [0018], electrode core), comprising: a first electrode sheet (negative electrode 1) and a second electrode sheet (positive electrode 3) having opposite polarities (paragraph [0018], positive, negative); and a separator (figs 1-4, separator 2) to separate the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet (figs 1-4, paragraph [0018], separator located between the negative electrode and positive electrode), the separator comprising at least two layers (figs 1-4, see separator 2 in figures where portions are folded so there are several layers, paragraph [0021], number of layers of the diaphragm), wherein the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator are wound to form the electrode assembly (figs 1-4, paragraph [0018], wound). Regarding claim 2, Lu et al teaches wherein the separator comprises a first separator (figs 1-4, note separator 2 in figure 1 by the start of the winding of electrode 1 in the center) and a second separator (figs 1-4, note separator 2 in figure 1 by the start of the winding of electrode 1, where it folds over, the second layer is construed as a second separator), and the second separator is a folding part formed at an end of the first separator (figs 1-4, see figure 1, folded part at the start of the winding, the second layer, construed as the second separator, is formed by folding). Regarding claim 3, Lu et al teaches wherein the electrode assembly comprises a starting segment along a winding direction (figs 1-4, paragraph [0022], winding start, see central portion in figure where electrode 1 starts), and the end of the first separator is located in the starting segment (figs 1-4, note that the fold of the separator 2 is in the starting segment, the fold signifies and end of the first separator and the start of the second separator). Regarding claim 4, Lu et al teaches wherein the electrode assembly comprises a bending region (figs 1-4, bending regions shown as regions where the electrode sheets are folded) formed by winding and bending the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator (figs 1-4, electrode sheets are wound and bent), the bending region comprises a first bending position close to the starting segment along the winding direction (figs 1-4, note the first bending position can be construed as the first bend close to the end of electrode sheet 1), the first bending position is provided with the first separator and the second separator (figs 1-4, the separator in said region has multiple layers as shown, paragraph [0022]), and the first separator and the second separator extend from the starting segment to exceed the first bending position (figs 1-4, the double/triple layers of the separators extend past the bent portion to the flat portion). Regarding claim 5, Lu et al teaches wherein the electrode assembly comprises a bending region formed by winding and bending the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator (figs 1-4, bending regions shown as regions where the electrode sheets are folded), the bending region comprises a plurality of bending positions along a winding direction (figs 1-4, note bent portions, e.g., bent portion near central end of electrode 1 is the first bending position, the second bending position can be the bent portion of electrode sheet 1 on the right along the winding direction), the separator comprises a first separator and a second separator (figs 1-4, note that each layer of the separator is construed as first and second separator), and the first separator and the second separator are stacked at at least one of the plurality of bending positions (figs 1-4, note the stacked separators at the first bending position and the third bending position along the winding of electrode sheet 1). Regarding claim 6, Lu et al teaches wherein second separators are arranged at intervals along the winding direction (figs 2-4, note that the portion where the separator layers are stacked (thus portions having the first and the second separator) are spaced apart). Regarding claim 9, Lu et al teaches wherein the first separator comprises two surfaces along a thickness direction, and second separators are located on a same surface of the first separator (figs 3-4, note the spaced apart stacked separators, thus portions having the second separators, are stacked in the same direction of the surface). Regarding claim 10, Lu et al teaches wherein the first separator and the second separator have different thicknesses (figs 1-4, note that at the bending position, there are shown 3 layers, the first layer can be construed as the first separator and the second and third layers can be construed as the second separator, thus having different thicknesses). Regarding claim 11, Lu et al teaches a manufacturing method for an electrode assembly (paragraph [0018], electrode core), comprising: providing a first electrode sheet and a second electrode sheet having different polarities (figs 1-4, paragraph [0018], negative electrode 1, positive electrode 2), as well as a separator configured to separate the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet (figs 1-4, paragraph [0018], separator 2), wherein the separator comprises at least two layers (figs 1-4, paragraph [0022], 2-6 layers); and winding the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator to form the electrode assembly (figs 1-4 show the electrode stack was winded). Regarding claim 12, Lu et al teaches wherein the separator comprises a first separator (figs 1-4, note separator 2 in figure 1 by the start of the winding of electrode 1 in the center) and a second separator (figs 1-4, note separator 2 in figure 1 by the start of the winding of electrode 1, where it folds over, the second layer is construed as a second separator), and the providing the separator comprises: folding from an end of the first separator to form the second separator, to form the separator comprising at least two layers (figs 1-4, see figure 1, folded part at the start of the winding, the second layer, construed as the second separator, is formed by folding). Regarding claim 14, Lu et al teaches a battery cell (paragraph [0004-0006], note the components of the batteries, including an electrode core and non-aqueous electrolyte sealed inside a battery casing), comprising the electrode assembly according to claim 1. Regarding claim 15, Lu et al teaches a battery (paragraph [0004-0005], square battery or cylindrical battery), comprising the battery cell according to claim 14. Regarding claim 16, Lu et al teaches a power consumption apparatus (paragraph [0004], communication electronic products), comprising the battery according to claim 15 (paragraph [0005], square batteries for mobile phones, cylindrical batteries for laptops), the battery being configured to provide electric energy . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-5, 11-12, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kano (JP 2014-029895 A, cited in IDS filed 9/25/23) . Regarding claim 1, Kano teaches an electrode assembly (figs 2-3B, 6-7), comprising: a first electrode sheet (paragraph [0028], positive electrode sheet 13) and a second electrode sheet (paragraph [0028], negative electrode sheet 14) having opposite polarities; and a separator (paragraph [0028], fig 3A, separator 15) to separate the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet, the separator comprising at least two layers (fig 3A, paragraph [0047], see region B where the separator 15 has two layers), wherein the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator are wound to form the electrode assembly (fig 2,3B shows the electrode sheets and separator are wound). Regarding claim 2, Kano teaches wherein the separator comprises a first separator and a second separator (fig 3A, note that first layer is construed as a first separator and the second layer is construed as the second separator), and the second separator is a folding part formed at an end of the first separator (fig 3A-3B shows the second layer is formed from folding at an end of the first layer). Regarding claim 3, Kano teaches wherein the electrode assembly comprises a starting segment along a winding direction, and the end of the first separator is located in the starting segment (fig 3A-3B, note the portion around the core 18 is the starting segment, where the fold is located). Regarding claim 4, Kano teaches wherein the electrode assembly comprises a bending region formed by winding and bending the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator (fig 3B, note entire structure is wound and bent, being the bending region), the bending region comprises a first bending position close to the starting segment along the winding direction, the first bending position is provided with the first separator and the second separator, and the first separator and the second separator extend from the starting segment to exceed the first bending position (fig 3B, note that the double layered portion of the separator is closer to the center core/starting segment, any position close to the core can be construed as a bending position, the double layer separator extends until a portion where the separator is a single layer, thus extending to a portion beyond the first bending position). Regarding claim 5, Kano teaches wherein the electrode assembly comprises a bending region formed by winding and bending the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator (fig 3B, entire region is a bending region as it is wound), the bending region comprises a plurality of bending positions along a winding direction (fig 3B, positions along the winding can be construed as the starting position by the core 18, a middle position where the double layer ends, an outer end position shown in the drawing, etc), the separator comprises a first separator and a second separator (fig 3A, each layer of separator 15), and the first separator and the second separator are stacked at at least one of the plurality of bending positions (fig 3B shows the double layer structure at least at the starting position by the core 18). Regarding claim 11, Kano teaches a manufacturing method for an electrode assembly, comprising: providing a first electrode sheet (13) and a second electrode sheet (14) having different polarities (paragraph [0028]), as well as a separator (15) configured to separate the first electrode sheet and the second electrode sheet (fig 3a-3B), wherein the separator comprises at least two layers (fig 3A-3B, see separator 15 having two layers); and winding the first electrode sheet, the second electrode sheet and the separator to form the electrode assembly (fig 2 and 3B show the electrode sheets and separator wound). Regarding claim 12, Kano teaches wherein the separator comprises a first separator and a second separator (fig 3A-3B, see each layer of separator 15), and the providing the separator comprises: folding from an end of the first separator to form the second separator, to form the separator comprising at least two layers (fig 3A-3B, see fold around core 18). Regarding claim 14, Kano teaches a battery cell (fig 1-2, paragraph [0086], lithium ion-secondary battery comprising the lithium-ion capacitor 10), comprising the electrode assembly according to claim 1. Regarding claim 15, Kano teaches a battery (fig 1-2, paragraph [0086], lithium-ion secondary battery), comprising the battery cell (fig 1-2, paragraph [0086], lithium-ion capacitor 10) according to claim 14. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JACKY YUEN whose telephone number is (571)270-5749. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30 - 6:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Keith Walker can be reached at 571-272-3458. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JACKY YUEN/ Examiner Art Unit 1735 /KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735 Application/Control Number: 18/372,230 Page 2 Art Unit: 1735 Application/Control Number: 18/372,230 Page 3 Art Unit: 1735 Application/Control Number: 18/372,230 Page 4 Art Unit: 1735 Application/Control Number: 18/372,230 Page 5 Art Unit: 1735 Application/Control Number: 18/372,230 Page 6 Art Unit: 1735 Application/Control Number: 18/372,230 Page 7 Art Unit: 1735 Application/Control Number: 18/372,230 Page 8 Art Unit: 1735 Application/Control Number: 18/372,230 Page 9 Art Unit: 1735 Application/Control Number: 18/372,230 Page 10 Art Unit: 1735