DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding prior art
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For example, applicant argues that “Anquez teachs generating the synchronized sequence of elasticity images through interpolating processing first, and then applying the displacement adjustment to the generated elasticity image sequence. In Anquez motion compensation is a post generation correction, and there is no suggestion that displacement should be considered during elasticity image generation. In Sharp contrast, in claim 1 of the present application, the displacement of the target area is first determined, and then the at least one frame of additional elasticity image is generated based on factors comprising the displacement. Therefore, in claim 1 of the present application, before the inter-frame processing for generating the additional elasticity image, the displacement is already determined and then is taken into account when performing the inter-frame processing” and “The resulting combination would still teach: generating an additional elasticity image sequence through inter-frame processing, and subsequently applying the spatial transformation to these elasticity images as applied to the corresponding B-mode ultrasound images to compensate for motion, as taught by Anquez” (REMARKS pg. 13). Examiner respectfully disagrees in that there is no specific ordering of the claims that precludes interpolating first and applying a spatial transformation to the interpolated images to ”generate an additional elasticity image” as required by the claim. In other words, while Anquez teaches first interpolating elasticity images and subsequently applying a spatial transformation, such application of spatial transformation to the elasticity images is considered to be a part of the generating additional elasticity images. More specifically [0033] of Anquez explicitly discloses the elasticity image sub-sequence is then generated by applying to each elasticity image the spatial transformation of the B-mode image corresponding to said elasticity image. Thus it is noted that the combination of the interpolation and spatial transformation which constitutes the generation of the additional elasticity images. Where the spatial transformation applied is based on the displacement between the B-mode images as required by the claims.
For at least these reasons, applicant’s arguments against the teachings of Anquez are not found persuasive.
To help promote expedited prosecution of this case, the Applicant is invited to contact the Examiner to set-up an Interview to discuss the distinguishing features of the invention over the prior art and clarification of the amended claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, 14-15, 17-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (US 20190282209 A1), hereinafter Xie in view of Yao et al. (US 20150087980 A1), hereinafter Yao, Donaldson et al. (US 20070016029 A1), hereinafter Donaldson, and Anquez et al. (US 20130144162 A1), hereinafter Anquez. Examiner notes that Donaldson is cited in applicant’s IDS filed 09/25/2023.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 17,
Xie teaches an ultrasound imaging device (at least fig. 1 (100) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0019]), comprising:
An ultrasound probe (at least fig. 1 (110) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0019]), configured to: Transmit, based on a plurality of first ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequences, a plurality of first ultrasound waves to a target area of an object to be examined (at least fig. 3 (304b) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0029]) to track a shear wave propagating in the area ([0029]-[0031] disclosing transmission of tracking pulses and receiving reflected responses therefrom in response to generating of a shear wave),; and transmit based on a plurality of second ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequences, a plurality of second ultrasound waves to the target area of the object to be examined (at least fig. 3 (302) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0029]);
a controller (at least fig. 1 (114) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0021]) , configured to:
receive ultrasound echoes (at least fig. 3 (304c) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0030]) of the plurality of first ultrasound waves returned from the target area to obtain first echo data ([0032] which discloses the tracking echo responses (e.g. the receive tracking pulses 304c) form SWE data frames 320, wherein one of the plurality of first ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequences is used for generating one frame of an elasticity image (at least fig. 3 (320) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0032]) and receive ultrasound echoes of the plurality of second ultrasound waves returned from the target area to obtain second echo data ([0029] which discloses the transducer array may receive echo responses (not shown) of the B-mode imaging pulses 302 reflected from the target tissue), wherein one of the plurality of second ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequences is used for generating one frame of an ultrasound image (at least fig. 3 (310) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0031]); and wherein
at least one second ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequence of the plurality of second ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequences is inserted between two adjacent first ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequences of the plurality of first ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequences (See at least fig. 3 depicting at least one second ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequence (i.e. transmissions/receptions 302 for image 310) is inserted between two adjacent first ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequences (i.e. transmissions/receptions 304a-304c for each elasticity image 320)),
the plurality of the first ultrasound waves corresponding to the plurality of first ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequences and the plurality of second ultrasound waves corresponding to the plurality of second ultrasound transmitting and receiving sequences are transmitted alternately (see at least fig. 3 depicting alternately transmitting the first ultrasound waves 302 and second ultrasound waves 304b for image frames 310 and 320 over time), and a first transmitting frame rate of the plurality of first ultrasound waves is less than a second transmitting frame rate of the plurality of second ultrasound waves ([0004] which discloses an ultrasound imaging component can emit high-frame rate B-mode imaging pulses and low-frame rate shear wave pulses towards a target tissue in an interleaving manner),
a processor(at least fig. 1 (116 and/or 130) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0022]-[0026]) configured to:
obtain a first elasticity image frame sequence of the target area according to the first echo data, wherein the first elasticity image frame sequence comprises at least two frames of elasticity image frames sequences ([0022] which discloses the processing component 116 generates image data from the image signals and [0027] which discloses the shear wave stiffness map 220 is generated at a frame rate of about 0.5 Hz and [0033] which discloses while the scheme 300 illustrates N frames (e.g., shown as 310.sub.F(1) to 310.sub.F(N) of image data frames 310 interleaved with three SWE data frames 320);
Obtain an ultrasound image frame sequence of the target area according to the second echo data ([0022] which discloses the processing component 116 generates image data from the image signals and [0027] which discloses the B-mode image 210 is generated at a frame rate of about 65 Hertz (Hz) and [0033] While the scheme 300 illustrates N frames (e.g., shown as 310.sub.F(1) to 310.sub.F(N) of image data frames 310 interleaved with three SWE data frames 320) and
A display (at least fig. 1 (117 and/or 132) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0022] and [0024]) configured to display image frame sequences.
Xie fails to explicitly teach fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is configured to: perform inter-frame processing comprising determining a first elasticity image and a second elasticity image from the at least two frames of elasticity image; wherein the first elasticity image and the second elasticity image correspond to a first ultrasound image and a second ultrasound image frame sequence, respectively, and at least one additional ultrasound image of the ultrasound image frame sequence is inserted between the first elasticity image and the second elasticity image; Determining a first time interval between the first elasticity image and the second elasticity image; determining a number of frames of the at least one additional ultrasound image inserted between the first elasticity image and the second elasticity image; determining a displacement of the target area according to the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image; generating, according to the determined first time interval, the determined number of frames of the at least one additional ultrasound image, the first elasticity image, the second elasticity image and the displacement of the target area, at least one frame of additional elasticity image corresponding to the at least one additional ultrasound image inserted between the first elasticity image and the second elasticity image; and inserting the generated at least one frame of additional elasticity image into at least a portion of the first elasticity image frame sequence to obtain a second elasticity image frame sequence comprising the generated at least one frame of additional image and at least the portion of the first elasticity image frame sequence, and displaying the second elasticity image frame sequence, wherein a number of frames of the second elasticity image frame sequence is greater than a number of frames of the first elasticity image frame sequence.
Yao, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches performing an inter-frame processing, wherein the inter-frame processing comprises:
Determining a first image and a second image from at least two frames of a set of images ([0129] which discloses the interpolation process is performed on two frames. Additionally [0130] discloses the control unit selects (i.e. determines) the two pieces of image data to be displayed before and after the display time) displayed before and after the display time in which the interpolated image data is to be displayed), wherein the first image and the second image correspond to a first ultrasound image and a second ultrasound image of an ultrasound image frame sequence, respectively ;
Determining a first time interval between the first image and the second image (Yao [0096] which discloses the internal storage unit stores image data kept in correspondence with times of generation corresponding to the frame rate set for each image such that time periods t160-t161, t163-t162, corresponds to 1/C because of the frame rate C for the image data. Thus such time periods (i.e. time interval) is determined to correspond with 1/C accordingly. Additionally [0129] which discloses if no ultrasound image data is present that corresponds to the time of generation relevant to the display time according to the predetermined display frequency, the controlling unit exercises control so that the interpolated image data is generated. Examiner notes that a time interval between the first and second image would alternatively/additionally include a time interval from the first image to the time at which an ultrasound image is expected to be displayed according to [0129] which would be found between the first and second image)
Determining a frame rate of B-mode images of the target area corresponding to the first elasticity image and the second elasticity image ([0130] which discloses the controlling unit selects the two pieces of image data to be displayed before and after the display time according to the frame rate of the B-mode image data)
Generating, according to the determined first time interval, the frame rate of the B-mode images, the first elasticity image, the second elasticity image, and the ultrasound image frame sequence, at least one frame of additional elasticity image ([0129] which discloses the interpolating process is performed on the two frames displayed before and after the display time. Examiner notes that generating the at least one frame of additional image are according to the first time interval in its BRI in that 1) the images are kept in correspondence with 1/C to have the respective time periods t160-t161, t163-t162, thus any interpolation of images having said time period (i.e. time interval) is according to said time period and/or 2) in that the interpolating process occurs at the expected display time, thus is according to the time interval from the first image to the expected display time), inserting the generated at least one frame of additional image into at least a portion of the first image frame sequence ([0130]) to obtain a second image frame sequence comprising the generated at least one frame of additional image and the second elasticity image ([0130]), and
Displaying the second image frame sequence ([0130] which discloses the controlling unit causes the interpolated image data generated by the image generating unit to be displayed between the two time at which the two pieces of calcification enhanced image data are displayed), wherein a number of frames of the second image frame sequence is greater than a number of frames of the image frame sequence of the same type (examiner notes the second image frame data sequence would comprise all of the first image frame sequence data as well as the additional interpolated image data, thus has a greater number of frames than the first image frame sequence).
While Yao teaches performing inter-frame processing with respect to the calcification enhanced image data as an example, the disclosure of Yao is not limited to performing the inter-frame processing only on the calcification enhanced image data. For example, [0129]-[0130] discloses the interpolation process may be performed on any two pieces of ultrasound data of mutually the same type and [0151] further teaches the embodiments have been presented by way of example only and various substitutions or changes in the form of the embodiments may be made without departing from the spirit of the invention.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Xie to include performing interframe processing on any two images of the same type (in this case, the first elasticity image frame sequence of Xie) as taught by Yao in order to reduce any visualization difficulties (e.g. “strange feelings” in [0134]) a viewer may experience when viewing the ultrasound image frame sequence and elasticity image frame sequence as depicted in fig. 2 of Xie since the frame rate of shear wave elasticity images is significantly lower than the frame rate of the B-mode image as disclosed by Xie. Such motivation aligns with the reasoning for performing the interpolation on the calcification enhanced image data of Yao as disclosed in [0128].
Examiner notes in the modified system the inter-frame processing would comprise generating at least one frame of additional elasticity image according to a first time interval between the at least two frames of elasticity images so as to obtain a second elasticity image frame sequence and displaying the second elasticity image frame sequence, wherein a number of frames of the second elasticity image frame sequence is greater than a number of frames of the first elasticity image frame sequence in the same manner as that of the enhanced calcification image data in the same manner as disclosed with respect to the calcified enhanced image data described in [0129]-[0130] as noted above.
Xie, as currently modified, fail to explicitly at least one additional ultrasound image of the ultrasound image is inserted between the first elasticity image and the second elasticity image, determining a number of frames of the at least one additional ultrasound image inserted between the first elasticity image, and wherein generating the at least one frame of additional elasticity image is further according to the determined number of frames of the at least one additional ultrasound image.
Donaldson, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches determining, from an image frame sequence, a number of frames of images ([0070] which discloses the interpolator module repeats the process of generating interpolated images until a number of ultrasound images equal in number to the number of fluoroscopy images. Examiner thus notes a number of fluoroscopy images is determined in order to perform such repetition) corresponding to a first and second image of second sequence of images ([0070] which discloses ultrasound image 1 and ultrasound image 2 were acquired at time stamps T1 and T3. Examiner notes the number of fluoroscopy images correspond to these images in at least the fact that fluoroscopy images were also obtained at time T1 and T3) and generating at least one frame of additional elasticity image according to the number of frames of the images and a time interval between the first image and the second image ([0070] which discloses a synthetic ultrasound image associated with time stamp T2 (time interval between image 1 and image 2) is generated between the ultrasound images 1 and 2 acquired at time stamps T1 and T3 and further discloses repeating this process until a number of ultrasound images is equal to the number of fluoroscopy images).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system of Xie, as currently modified, to include determining a number of images as taught by Donaldson, in order to ensure the number of images from sequences having different frame rates are equal to one another (Donaldson [0070]). Such a modification would ensure the number of images (and thus the frame rate) of the second elasticity image sequence is equal to the number of images (and thus the frame rate) of the B-mode sequence thus further reducing the visualization difficulties (e.g. strange feelings in [0134] of Yao) as desired by Yao and would therefore enhance the visualization of the B-mode and Shear wave elasticity images of Xie as shown in fig. 2 of Xie.
Xie, as currently modified, fails to explicitly teach determining a displacement of the target area according to the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image, and generating the at least one frame of additional elasticity image is further according to the displacement of the target area,.
Nonetheless, Anquez, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches determining a displacement between of a target area according to at least two frames of B-mode images ([0020] which discloses the movement between images is compensated using a registration algorithm as known in the art calculated on the set of B-mode images. The spatial transformation used for each image is thereby stored. The registration algorithm optimizes the similarity value for each image in relation to another image preferably a reference image and [0019] which discloses determining the positions of specific sections on an image and comparing these with the positions of the same sections on another, preferably a reference image. If the positions are identical or almost identical a similarity value between the images is almost or exactly 1. Thus it is noted that the registration algorithm which optimizes a similarity value between positions from one image to another necessarily determines a displacement (i.e. similarity/dissimilarity) between a target area (i.e. specific sections on the images). In other words, the similarity value represents the displacement (i.e. movement) found between the specific sections (i.e. target areas) in the at least two images), and adjusting each elasticity image of a first elasticity frame sequence according to the displacement ([0022] which discloses the generation of the elasticity sub-sequence is performed by modifying each elasticity image with the same spatial transformation as the one which was determined for the image of the B-mode image subsequence acquired at the same time).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Xie, as currently modified, to include determining a displacement and modifying the first elasticity frame sequence according to the displacement as taught by Anquez in order to compensate for any motion which occurred during the acquisition of the elasticity image data (Anquez [0022]). Such a modification would enhance the first elasticity frame sequence such that any motion of the target area due to movement of the tissue or ultrasound probe head is compensated for (Anquez [0011]). Furthermore, since Yao teaches the interpolating process between two pieces of image data in mutually the same mode may be realized with a motion correction, it is noted that such a modification amounts to merely a simple substation of one known motion correction method for another (i.e. a motion correction according to at least two B-mode images) thereby yielding predictable results with respect to motion compensated elasticity images, thus rendering the claim obvious.
Examiner notes in the modified method, the additional image frame is generated according to the number of frames of the B-mode image (as taught by Donaldson), the first time interval, the first elasticity image, the second elasticity image (as taught by Xie modified by Yao) and the displacement of the target area (i.e. the similarity value used to compensate for motion in the first elasticity frame sequence as taught by Anquez).
Examiner further notes that the modified system would perform the method of claims 1 having corresponding method steps and further teaches the method of claim 10 having corresponding method steps where the first elasticity image frame sequence is displayed by displaying the second elasticity image frame sequence comprising the first elasticity image frame sequence.
Regarding claims 2, 14, and 18,
Xie, as modified, teaches the elements of claims 1, 10, and 17 as previously stated. Xie further teaches wherein the ultrasound image frame sequence comprises a B-mode image frame sequence ([0031] which discloses the high-frame rate B-mode image data frames) and obtaining the ultrasound image frame sequence of the target area according to the second echo data comprises:
Obtaining the B-mode image frame sequence of the target area according to the second echo data ([0029] which discloses the transducer array may receive echo responses (not shown) of the B-mode imaging pulses 302 reflected from the target tissue. The echo responses of the B-mode imaging pulses 302 form image data frames 310.); and
Wherein the method further comprises:
Displaying the B-mode image frame sequence (see at least fig. 2 (210) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0027]).
Regarding claims 7 and 19,
Xie, as modified, teaches the elements of claims 1 and 17 as previously stated.
Xie further teaches after obtaining the first elasticity image frame sequence, further comprising:
Displaying the first elasticity image frame sequence (See at least fig. 2 (220) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0027] and [0032])
Yao, as applied to claim 1 above, further teaches after obtaining the first image frame sequence ([0129] which discloses with respect to pieces of ultrasound image data of mutually the same type to be displayed on the monitor), displaying the first image frame sequence ([0130] which discloses the two pieces of image data are displayed) and wherein performing the inter-frame processing comprises: receiving a first operation and performing the inter-frame processing according to the first operation ([0129] which discloses the controlling unit exercises control so that the interpolated image data is generated by performing the interpolating process. Examiner notes that such control would comprise receiving an operation to perform the interpolating process)
Examiner notes in the modified method the first image frame sequence is understood to correspond with the first elasticity frame sequence of Xie, thus the modified method teaches after obtaining the first elasticity image frame sequence of the target area according to the first echo data, displaying the first elasticity frame sequence in the same manner as that of the enhanced calcification image data in the same manner as disclosed with respect to the calcified enhanced image data described in [0129]-[0130] as noted above.
Regarding claim 9,
Xie, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 1 as previously stated. Xie further teaches further comprising: before transmitting the plurality of first ultrasound wave to the target area of the object to be examined, generating the shear wave propagating in the target area (See at least fig. 3 (304a) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0030] which discloses [0030] The shear wave pulses 304 may include one or more push pulses 304a followed by a series of transmit tracking pulses 304b. The push pulse 304a causes a shear wave generation at the object 105).
Regarding claim 15,
Xie, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 1 as previously stated. Xie, as modified, further teaches wherein generating, according to the determined first time interval, the determined number of frames of the at least one additional ultrasound image, the first elasticity image, the second elasticity image and the displacement of the target area, at least one frame of additional elasticity image corresponding to the at least one additional ultrasound image inserted between the first elasticity image and the second elasticity image comprises: performing interpolation on the first elasticity image and the second elasticity image (See Yao [0130] and Donaldson [0070] which both disclose performing interpolation to generate the at least one frame of additional image)
Examiner notes that the interpolation processing of Xie, as modified, is according to the determined first time interval (taught by Yao and Donaldson), the determined number of frames of the at least one additional ultrasound image (taught by Donaldson)and the displacement of the target area (taught by Anquez), to generate the at least one frame of additional elasticity image in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 21,
Xie further teaches wherein the ultrasound probe is further configured to: generate the shear wave propagating in the target area (See at least fig. 3 (304a) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0030] which discloses [0030] The shear wave pulses 304 may include one or more push pulses 304a followed by a series of transmit tracking pulses 304b. The push pulse 304a causes a shear wave generation at the object 105).
Claims 8, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie, Yao, Donaldson, and Anquez, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kotaki et al. (US 20130090560 A1), hereinafter Kotaki. Examiner notes that Kotaki is cited in applicant’s IDS filed 09/25/2023.
Regarding claims 8, 11 and 20,
Xie, as modified, teaches the elements of claims 7, 10, and 17 as previously stated. Xie , as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a switching instruction and performing a switch according to the first switching instruction; wherein the switch comprises switching displaying the first elasticity image frame sequence to displaying the second elasticity image frame sequence or switching displaying the second elasticity frame sequence to displaying the first elasticity image frame sequence.
Kotaki, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches wherein a processor is configured to after obtaining a first image frame sequence (at least fig. 19 (1901) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0103]) comprising at least two frames of images (at least fig. 19 (1905 and 1906) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0103]) of a target area according to a first echo data ([0103] which discloses captured ultrasound data which would comprise echo data), display the first image frame sequence (1901); and performing an inter-frame processing comprising generating at least one frame of additional image (at least fig. 19 (1907) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0103]) according to the at least two image frames so as to obtain a second image frame sequence (1905, 1906, and 1907) and wherein the processor is further configured to receive a first switch instruction and performing a switch according to the first switching instruction ([0103] which discloses when button 1910 is pressed (interpreted as a switching instruction) the images obtained by increasing the frame rate are displayed in the window 1908) wherein the switch comprises switching from displaying the first image frame sequence (1901) to displaying the second image frame sequence ([0103] which discloses after the button is pressed the second image frame sequence is displayed. Thus the button causes a switch from the first image frames sequence 1901 to the second image frame sequence in which the frame rate is increased and the additional images are included)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system of Xie, as currently modified, to include receiving an operation as taught by Kotaki in order to allow for enhanced visualization of desired data by the user, such that the user may visualize images in real-time while obtaining the first image sequence (Kotaki [0103]) and further decide when to view the second image sequence at a desired frame rate. Such a modification amounts to enhanced control of display of the multiple sequences to be viewed as desired by the operator/technician.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie, Yao, Donaldson, and Anquez, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (US 5301670 A), hereinafter Sato.
Regarding claim 13,
Xie, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 3 as previously stated.
Xie further teaches wherein the ultrasound image frame sequence comprises a B-mode image frame sequence, and obtaining the B-mode image frame sequence according to the second echo data ([0031] which discloses the high-frame rate B-mode image data frames) and obtaining the ultrasound image frame sequence of the target area according to the second echo data comprises:
Obtaining the B-mode image frame sequence of the target area according to the second echo data ([0029] which discloses the transducer array may receive echo responses (not shown) of the B-mode imaging pulses 302 reflected from the target tissue. The echo responses of the B-mode imaging pulses 302 form image data frames 310);
Yao, as applied to claim 3 above, further teaches wherein generating the at least one frame of additional elasticity image according to the first time interval between the first image and the second image comprises:
Obtaining a B-mode image frame sequence ([0043] which discloses when operating in B-mode , the image generating unit generates B-mode image data (i.e. image frame sequence) and [0045] which discloses hen implementing the color Doppler method, the image generating unit 14 generates color Doppler image data in which hues are changed in accordance with the direction of the bloodstream and the level of velocity of the bloodstream)
Determining a second time interval between two frames of the B-mode image frame sequence of the target area ([0096] FIG. 7, the internal storage unit 16 stores therein the image data in the B-mode kept in correspondence with times of generation "t1, t2, t3, . . . t99, and t100", the image data in the color Doppler mode kept in correspondence with times of generation "t101, t102, t103, . . . , and t160", and the image data in the enhanced mode kept in correspondence with times of generation "t161, t162, . . . , and t200". The time period "t200-t1" corresponds to the unit time period described above. Further, the time periods "t2-t1", "t3-t2", and so on each correspond to "a=1/A" because of "fr: A", whereas the time periods "t102-t101", "t103-t102", and so on each correspond to "b=1/B" because of "fr: B". Thus such time periods (i.e. time interval) is determined to correspond with 1/A or 1/B accordingly);
Generating the at least one frame of additional image according to a number of frames of the at least one frame of additional image, the first image and the second image ([0130] which discloses the controlling unit 17 selects the two pieces of calcification enhanced image data to be displayed before and after the display time according to the frame rate of the B-mode image data. After that, for example, under the control of the controlling unit 17, the image generating unit 14 generates, as illustrated in FIG. 13A, interpolated image data by calculating an arithmetic mean of the two pieces of calcification enhanced image data selected by the controlling unit 17. Further, the controlling unit 17 causes the interpolated image data generated by the image generating unit 14 to be displayed between the times at which the two pieces of calcification enhanced image data are displayed. The interpolating process between two pieces of image data in mutually the same mode may be realized with a motion correction, instead of with an arithmetic mean. Where generating the at least one frame of additional image is generated according to the arithmetic mean of the first image and the second image and a number (i.e. one) of frames of the at least one frame of additional image).
Examiner notes that in the modified system, such additional image is an elasticity image generated according to a number of frames of the at least one frame of additional elasticity image, the first elasticity image and the second elasticity image.
Xie, as modified, fails to explicitly teach determining a number of frames of the at least one frame of additional elasticity image according to the first time interval and the second time interval.
Sato, in a similar field of endeavor involving medical image processing, teaches determining a number of frames of at least one frame of additional image of a first image frame sequence according to a first time interval between two frames of the first image frame sequence and a second time interval between two frames of a B-mode image frame sequence (Col. 8 lines 39-42 which discloses the number of interpolated (i.e. additional) CFM imaging frames between two scanned CFM imaging frames is determined by comparing the scanning frame rate (thus according to a second time interval) for B-mode scanning with the CFM scanning rate (thus according to a first time interval))
And generating the at least one frame of additional image elasticity image according to the number of frames of the at least one frame of additional image, the first image and the second image (Col. 8 lines 34-38 which discloses several number of interpolated imaging frames between the two scanned CFM imaging frames are obtained by changing the coefficient. By frame interpolating the CFM image, the display rate thereof can be several times).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Xie, as currently modified, to include determining a number of frames of the at least one additional elasticity image according to the first time interval and the second time interval and generating the at least one frame of additional elasticity image according to the number of frames of the at least one frame of additional elasticity image as taught by Sato (with respect to CFM images) in order to allow for one or more additional elasticity images to be generated when the frame rate for the B-mode imaging and the elasticity imaging is variable and more than one additional frame of elasticity image frames need to be generated for reducing the strain on the eyes of the user. Such a modification thus enhances the method of Xie, as currently modified, by ensuring that the appropriate number of additional elasticity images are generated according to the frame rate of the acquired images.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie, Yao, Donaldson, and Anquez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Misono (US 20160338664 A1), hereinafter Misono.
Regarding claim 16,
Xie, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 1 as previously stated. Xie, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein determining the displacement of the target area according to the first ultrasound image and the second ultrasound image comprises: determining a direction and amplitude of the displacement of the target area according to the first ultrasound image, the at least one additional ultrasound image, and the second ultrasound image.
Misono, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging ,teaches wherein determining displacement of a target area comprises determining a direction and amplitude of the displacement of the target area ([0038] which discloses [0038] Based on the motion vector obtained by the frame memory correlation unit 307, the moving amount detection unit 307b calculates a moving amount for each of the divided regions generated by the frame division unit 307a. The moving amount detection unit 307b calculates an average moving amount for each of the frames based on the calculated moving amount. The moving amount detection unit 307b obtains a dispersion value (dispersion value L) of the moving amount (magnitude) as a decision value for deciding a moving state between the B-mode images based on the calculated moving amount. The moving amount detection unit 307b obtains, for example, dispersion values L.sub.n-1, L.sub.n-2, L.sub.n-3, . . . respectively for the B-mode image data of the n-1th or previous frames, for example [0039] Based on the motion vector obtained by the frame memory correlation unit 307, the moving direction detection unit 307c calculates a moving direction for each of the divided regions generated by the frame division unit 307a) according to a series of ultrasound images.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Xie, as currently modified, to include determining a direction and amplitude of the displacement as taught by Misono in order to obtain a three-dimensional correlation between the images (Misono [0070]), such a modification would enhance the spatial transformation of Anquez by taking into account the direction and amount of displacement between the images accordingly.
Examiner notes that in the modified method the direction and amplitude of the displacement of the target area is according to all B-mode images thus according to the first ultrasound image, the at least one ultrasound image, and the second ultrasound image.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BROOKE LYN KLEIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797