DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo et al., (Lo) US 2020/0203555.
Regarding claim 1, Lo shows in FIG. 3, and discloses a method of forming an indium gallium nitride quantum well structure [0048], comprising: forming a gallium nitride microdisk (2)[0052] on a substrate (1)[0052], wherein the gallium nitride microdisk (2) is in a form of an inverted pyramid and has an end surface; and forming multiple quantum well layers (41,42,43)[0053] on the end surface, wherein each quantum well layer includes an indium gallium nitride quantum well (41,42,43)[0053] and a barrier layer (61,62)[0054], wherein the indium gallium nitride quantum well is grown at a growth temperature in a range of 480°C to 810°C [0055], and wherein the growth temperature is adjusted using a trend equation (indium gallium nitride layer 4 is changed by adjusting the flux ratio of indium to gallium to nitrogen of the epitaxial reaction in the indium gallium nitride layer)(the ratio could be a trend equation)[0056].
The limitation “using a trend equation” is broad, and Lo discloses adjusting adjusting the flux ratio of indium to gallium to nitrogen of the epitaxial reaction in the indium gallium nitride layer. The adjustment of the ratio is likely to be calculated via an equation that could be a trend equation. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Lo and calculate the ration using a trend equation.
As for the range of the growth temperature, Applicant did not show criticality of the particular range of 480°C to 810°C. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range or optimum value, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 6, Lo shows in FIG. 3, and discloses a method of forming the indium gallium nitride quantum well structure further comprising forming a cover layer (63)[0057] on the multiple quantum well layers.
Regarding claim 7, Lo shows in FIG. 3, and discloses a method forming the indium gallium nitride quantum well structure, wherein forming multiple quantum well layers includes forming two to five quantum well layers (41,42,43) [0053].
Regarding claim 8, Lo shows in FIG. 3, and discloses a method of forming the indium gallium nitride quantum well structure, wherein an In/Ga flow ratio is 7.5 [0055] while forming the indium gallium nitride quantum well.
As for the specific ratio of 7.5, Applicant did not show criticality of the particular ratio. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range or optimum value, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 9, Lo shows in FIG. 3, and discloses a method of forming the indium gallium nitride quantum well structure wherein the growth temperature is in a range of 600°C to 800°C [0055].
As for the range of the growth temperature, Applicant did not show criticality of the particular range of 600°C to 800°C. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range or optimum value, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo as applied to claims 1, 6-9 and further in view of Nan et al., (Nan) US 2015/0318448.
Regarding claim 2, Lo discloses adjusting the flux ratio of indium to gallium to nitrogen of the epitaxial reaction in the indium gallium nitride layer for the growth temperature [0055,0056]
Lo differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device trend equation is
Nan discloses [0029] a trend equation to adjust growth temperature.
Nan is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Lo. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Nan in the device of Lo because it will solve defects of existing LED epitaxial growth technology [0005]. Although the formula’s variables are different, both formula have the same purpose of adjusting the growth temperature using a trend equation to improve the growth technology.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lo as applied to claims 1, 6-9 and further in view of Khan US 2010/0320440.
Regarding claims 3,4 Lo discloses a method of forming the indium gallium nitride quantum well structure (41,42,43) [0053].
Lo differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a method further comprising forming multiple indium gallium nitride buffer layers between the end surface and the quantum well layer, wherein an indium content of the indium gallium nitride buffer layer increases as the indium gallium nitride buffer layer is farther from the end surface.
Khan discloses a method further comprising forming multiple indium gallium nitride buffer layers (321,421) [0027] between the end surface and the quantum well layer, wherein an indium content of the indium gallium nitride buffer layer increases as the indium gallium nitride buffer layer is farther from the end surface; wherein forming multiple indium gallium nitride buffer layers (321,421) [0027] includes forming two indium gallium nitride buffer layers.
Khan is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Lo. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Khan in the device of Lo because it will reduce defect density [0012].
Regarding claim 5, Lo in view of Khan discloses a method of forming the indium gallium nitride quantum well structure, wherein In/Ga flow ratios are 0.5 and 1.67 [0055], respectively, while forming the two indium gallium nitride buffer layers.
As for the specific ratio of 0.5 and 1.67, Applicant did not show criticality of the particular ratio. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range or optimum value, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813