DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II (claims 1, 3, 5-8,10, 12-15, 17, and 19-20) in the reply filed on July 20, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species I, II, III are not mutually exclusive, but instead recite different aspects of the same disclosed curved surface. This is persuasive and hence the Restriction requirement filed on May 20, 2026 is withdrawn.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0092], line 7, recites the limitation “the curved surface 212BS-2”. However, the curved surface should be labeled 212BS-3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a support unit” in claim 15.
“a shower head unit” in claim 15.
“an antenna member” in claim 15
Paragraph [0039] indicates that a support unit 120 may include a chuck body 121 and an electrostatic chuck 122.
Paragraph [0069] indicates that a shower head unit 140 include a plurality of gas feeding holes 141.
Paragraph [0056] indicates that an antenna member 193 is an inductive coil.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Issavi (U.S. 2023/0120662).
Referring to Figures 1-3, 9-10 and paragraphs [0037]-[0048],[0060]-[0062], Issavi discloses a cooling plate 110, 210 configured to cool a window 108, 208 configured to seal a plasma processing space at an upper portion of the plasma processing space, the cooling plate 110, 210 comprising: a body having a circular plate shape covering a part of a center region of the window 108, 208 (par.[0040]); an inlet through which a gas is introduced into the body (Fig. 1, pars.[0040]-[0041]); and an outlet 232 through which the gas is discharged from the body to the window (Fig. 2, par.[0041]), wherein a bottom surface of the body 210 includes a first flat bottom surface at a first level, and a second flat bottom surface at a second level lower than the first level (Fig. 9).
Issavi is silent on a curved surface and wherein the first flat bottom surface is disposed between the curved surface and the second flat bottom surface, wherein the inlet is connected to a first portion of the curved surface, and wherein the outlet is connected to a second portion of the curved surface.
However, referring to Figures 3 and 10 and paragraphs [0005]-[0006], [0048], Issavi teaches that it is conventionally known in the art for the cooling plate 210 to have various shapes in order to provide improved and more effective cooling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the cooling plate of Issavi with a curved surface and wherein the first flat bottom surface is disposed between the curved surface and the second flat bottom surface in order to provide improved and more effective cooling. Furthermore, the shape of the claimed cooling plate was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed cooling plate was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IVB).
The resulting modified cooling plate of Issavi would yield a curved surface and wherein the first flat bottom surface is disposed between the curved surface and the second flat bottom surface, wherein the inlet is connected to a first portion of the curved surface, and wherein the outlet is connected to a second portion of the curved surface.
With respect to claim 2, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further includes wherein the curved surface is formed such that the gas is induced to an upper surface of the window disposed below the bottom surface of the body by the Coanda effect while flowing along the curved surface from the inlet (As stated above, the shape of the cooling plate having the claimed curved surface is an obvious design choice that would yield improved and more effective cooling).
With respect to claim 3, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further includes wherein the curved surface is formed to reduce a sectional area of a flow of the gas flowing between the bottom surface of the body and the window disposed below the bottom surface of the body (As stated above, the shape of the cooling plate having the claimed curved surface is an obvious design choice that would yield improved and more effective cooling).
With respect to claim 4, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further includes wherein the curved surface is a convex surface protruding toward the window (As stated above, the shape of the cooling plate having the claimed curved surface is an obvious design choice that would yield improved and more effective cooling).
With respect to claim 5, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further includes wherein the inlet is located at an upper surface of the body (Fig. 1, pars.[0040]-[0041]).
With respect to claim 6, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further includes wherein the outlet 232 is located at an outer space of the body (Fig. 2, pars.[0040]-[0041]).
With respect to claim 7, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further comprising: a plurality of support parts disposed at an outer portion of the body, wherein the outlet is provided in plural, wherein the plurality of outlets 232 are spaced apart from each other, and wherein each of the plurality of outlets 232 is disposed between corresponding two adjacent support parts of the plurality of support parts (Fig. 2, pars.[0040]-[0041]).
With respect to claim 8, referring to Figures 1-3, 9-10 and paragraphs [0037]-[0048],[0060]-[0062], Issavi a cooling plate 110, 210 configured to cool a window 108, 208 configured to seal a plasma processing space at an upper portion of the plasma processing space, the cooling plate 110, 210 comprising: a body having a ring shape covering a part of an edge of the window 108, 208 (par.[0040]); an inlet through which a gas is introduced into the body (Fig. 1, pars.[0040]-[0041]); and an outlet 232 through which the gas is discharged from the body to the window (Fig. 2, par.[0041]), wherein a bottom surface of the body includes a vertical wall surface, a flat bottom surface (Fig. 9).
Issavi is silent on a curved surface and wherein the flat bottom surface is disposed between the vertical wall surface and the curved surface, wherein the inlet is connected to a portion of the flat bottom surface, and wherein the outlet is connected to an end portion of the curved surface.
However, referring to Figures 3 and 10 and paragraphs [0005]-[0006], [0048], Issavi teaches that it is conventionally known in the art for the cooling plate 210 to have various shapes in order to provide improved and more effective cooling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the cooling plate of Issavi with a curved surface and wherein the flat bottom surface is disposed between the vertical wall surface and the curved surface, wherein the inlet is connected to a portion of the flat bottom surface in order to provide improved and more effective cooling. Furthermore, the shape of the claimed cooling plate was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed cooling plate was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IVB).
The resulting modified cooling plate of Issavi would yield a curved surface and wherein the flat bottom surface is disposed between the vertical wall surface and the curved surface, wherein the inlet is connected to a portion of the flat bottom surface, and wherein the outlet is connected to an end portion of the curved surface.
With respect to claim 9, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further includes wherein the curved surface is formed such that the gas is induced to an upper surface of the window disposed below the bottom surface of the body by the Coanda effect while flowing along the curved surface from the inlet (As stated above, the shape of the cooling plate having the claimed curved surface is an obvious design choice that would yield improved and more effective cooling).
With respect to claim 10, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further includes wherein the curved surface is formed to reduce a sectional area of a flow of the gas flowing between the bottom surface of the body and the window disposed below the bottom surface of the body (As stated above, the shape of the cooling plate having the claimed curved surface is an obvious design choice that would yield improved and more effective cooling).
With respect to claim 11, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further includes wherein the curved surface is a convex surface protruding toward the window 108, 208 (As stated above, the shape of the cooling plate having the claimed curved surface is an obvious design choice that would yield improved and more effective cooling).
With respect to claim 12, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further includes wherein the inlet is located at an upper surface of the body (Fig. 1, pars.[0040]-[0041]).
With respect to claim 13, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further includes wherein the outlet 232 is located at an inner space of the body (Fig. 2, pars.[0040]-[0041]).
With respect to claim 14, the cooling plate 110, 210 of Issavi further comprising: a plurality of support parts disposed at an inner portion of the body, wherein the outlet is provided in plural, wherein the plurality of outlets 232 are spaced apart from each other, and wherein each of the plurality of outlets 232 is disposed between corresponding two adjacent support parts of the plurality of support parts (Fig. 2, pars.[0040]-[0041]).
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong et al. (U.S. 2022/0139683) in view of Issavi (U.S. 2023/0120662).
Referring to Figure 1 and paragraphs [0050]-[0073], Seong et al. disclose a plasma processing chamber comprising: a housing 110 of which an upper portion is open, the housing providing a plasma processing space (pars.[0051]-[0053]); an upper module 190 provided to cover the upper portion of the housing (Fig. 1, par.[0099]); a support unit 120 provided in the housing, and configured to support a substrate (par.[0057]-[0060]); and a shower head unit 140 provided in the housing, and configured to supply a process gas for processing the substrate into the housing (par.[0087]), and wherein the upper module comprises: a window 191 configured to seal the plasma processing space and the upper portion (par.[0100]).
Issavi fails to teach a cooling plate configured to cool the window; and an antenna member located at an upper portion of the cooling plate and configured to generate plasma in the plasma processing space, wherein the cooling plate comprises an inner cooling plate and an outer cooling plate; wherein the inner cooling plate comprises: an inner body having a circular plate shape covering a part of a center region of the window; a first inlet through which a gas is introduced into the inner body; and a first outlet through which the gas is discharged from the inner body, wherein a first bottom surface of the inner body includes a first flat bottom surface at a first level, a second flat bottom surface at a second level lower than the first level and wherein the outer cooling plate comprises: an outer body having a ring shape covering a part of an edge of the window; a second inlet through which a gas is introduced into the outer body; and a second outlet through which the gas is discharged from the outer body to the window, wherein a bottom surface of the outer body includes a vertical wall surface, a flat bottom surface.
Referring to Figures 1-3, 9-10 and paragraphs [0037]-[0048],[0060]-[0062], Issavi discloses a cooling plate 110, 210 configured to cool the window 108, 208 (par.[0040]); and an antenna member 112 located at an upper portion of the cooling plate and configured to generate plasma in the plasma processing space (par.[0039]), wherein the cooling plate 110, 210 comprises an inner cooling plate and an outer cooling plate; wherein the inner cooling plate comprises: an inner body having a circular plate shape covering a part of a center region of the window; a first inlet through which a gas is introduced into the inner body (par.[0041]); and a first outlet 232 through which the gas is discharged from the inner body (par.[0041]), wherein a first bottom surface of the inner body includes a first flat bottom surface at a first level, a second flat bottom surface at a second level lower than the first level (Fig. 9); and wherein the outer cooling plate comprises: an outer body having a ring shape covering a part of an edge of the window; a second inlet through which a gas is introduced into the outer body (par.[0041]); and a second outlet 232 through which the gas is discharged from the outer body to the window (par.[0041]), wherein a bottom surface of the outer body includes a vertical wall surface, a flat bottom surface (Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Seong et al. with a cooling plate configured to cool the window; and an antenna member located at an upper portion of the cooling plate and configured to generate plasma in the plasma processing space, wherein the cooling plate comprises an inner cooling plate and an outer cooling plate; wherein the inner cooling plate comprises: an inner body having a circular plate shape covering a part of a center region of the window; a first inlet through which a gas is introduced into the inner body; and a first outlet through which the gas is discharged from the inner body, wherein a first bottom surface of the inner body includes a first flat bottom surface at a first level, a second flat bottom surface at a second level lower than the first level and wherein the outer cooling plate comprises: an outer body having a ring shape covering a part of an edge of the window; a second inlet through which a gas is introduced into the outer body; and a second outlet through which the gas is discharged from the outer body to the window, wherein a bottom surface of the outer body includes a vertical wall surface, a flat bottom surface as taught by Issavi in order to cool the window.
Seong et al. in view of Issavi fail to teach a first curved surface and wherein the first flat bottom surface is disposed between the first curved surface and the second flat bottom surface, wherein the first inlet is connected to a first portion of the first curved surface, and wherein the first outlet is connected to a second portion of the first curved surface, and a second curved surface, wherein the flat bottom surface is disposed between the vertical wall surface and the second curved surface, wherein the second inlet is connected to a portion of the flat bottom surface, and wherein the second outlet is connected to an end portion of the second curved surface.
However, referring to Figures 3 and 10 and paragraphs [0005]-[0006], [0048], Issavi teaches that it is conventionally known in the art for the cooling plate 210 to have various shapes in order to provide improved and more effective cooling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the cooling plate of Issavi with a first curved surface and wherein the first flat bottom surface is disposed between the first curved surface and the second flat bottom surface and a second curved surface, wherein the flat bottom surface is disposed between the vertical wall surface and the second curved surface in order to provide improved and more effective cooling. Furthermore, the shape of the claimed cooling plate was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed cooling plate was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IVB).
The resulting modified apparatus of Seong et al. in view of Issavi would yield a cooling plate configured to cool the window; and an antenna member located at an upper portion of the cooling plate and configured to generate plasma in the plasma processing space, wherein the cooling plate comprises an inner cooling plate and an outer cooling plate; wherein the inner cooling plate comprises: an inner body having a circular plate shape covering a part of a center region of the window; a first inlet through which a gas is introduced into the inner body; and a first outlet through which the gas is discharged from the inner body, wherein a first bottom surface of the inner body includes a first flat bottom surface at a first level, a second flat bottom surface at a second level lower than the first level, and a first curved surface, wherein the first flat bottom surface is disposed between the first curved surface and the second flat bottom surface, wherein the first inlet is connected to a first portion of the first curved surface, and wherein the first outlet is connected to a second portion of the first curved surface, and wherein the outer cooling plate comprises: an outer body having a ring shape covering a part of an edge of the window; a second inlet through which a gas is introduced into the outer body; and a second outlet through which the gas is discharged from the outer body to the window, wherein a bottom surface of the outer body includes a vertical wall surface, a flat bottom surface, and a second curved surface, wherein the flat bottom surface is disposed between the vertical wall surface and the second curved surface, wherein the second inlet is connected to a portion of the flat bottom surface, and wherein the second outlet is connected to an end portion of the second curved surface.
With respect to claim 16, the plasma processing chamber of Seong et al. in view of Issavi further includes wherein the first curved surface and the second curved surface are formed such that the gas is induced to an upper surface of the window disposed below the first bottom surface of the inner body and a second bottom surface by the Coanda effect while flowing along the first curved surface of the first inlet and the second curved surface of the second inlet (As stated above, the shape of the cooling plate having the claimed curved surface is an obvious design choice that would yield improved and more effective cooling).
With respect to claim 17, the plasma processing chamber of Seong et al. in view of Issavi further includes wherein the first curved surface and the second curved surface are formed to reduce a sectional area of a flow of the gas flowing between the window and the first and second flat bottom surfaces of the inner body, and wherein the window is disposed below the first and second flat bottom surfaces of the inner body (As stated above, the shape of the cooling plate having the claimed curved surface is an obvious design choice that would yield improved and more effective cooling).
With respect to claim 18, the plasma processing chamber of Seong et al. in view of Issavi further includes wherein each of the first curved surface and the second curved surface has a convex surface protruding toward the window (As stated above, the shape of the cooling plate having the claimed curved surface is an obvious design choice that would yield improved and more effective cooling).
With respect to claim 19, the plasma processing chamber of Seong et al. in view of Issavi further includes wherein the first inlet of the inner body is located at an upper surface of the inner body, and an outlet 232 of the inner body comprises a plurality of first outlets 232 that are formed by spaces between support parts formed at an outer portion of the inner body (Issavi-Figs. 1-2, pars. [0040]-[0041]).
With respect to claim 20, the plasma processing chamber of Seong et al. in view of Issavi further includes wherein the second inlet of the outer body is located at an upper surface of the outer body, and an outlet 232 of the outer body comprises a plurality of second outlets 232 that are formed by spaces between support parts formed an inner portion of the outer body (Issavi-Figs. 1-2, pars. [0040]-[0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kawamata et al.’644, Alberti et al.’854, Uhm et al.’675, Zhang et al.’118, Lim et al.’818, Zhang et al.’377, Kim et al.’604, McChesney et al.’283, and Kamp et al.’808 teach a cooling plate configured to cool an antenna window.
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716