DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on July 17th, 2026 is acknowledged. Five pages of amended claims were received on 7/17/2026. Claims 1, 5, 8, 11, 15, and 18 have been amended. Claims 3 and 13 have been cancelled. The claims have been amended to overcome previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 in the non-final rejection mailed 4/17/2026, however Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-12, and 15-18 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as noted below and Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as noted below
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 11, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1 Line 12, “in a longitudinal direction” should be revised to “in the longitudinal direction” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 5 Lines 2-3, “in a longitudinal direction thereof” should be revised to “in the longitudinal direction” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 11 Line 17, “in a longitudinal direction of the head part” should be revised to “in the longitudinal direction” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 15 Lines 2-3, “in a longitudinal direction thereof” should be revised to “in the longitudinal direction” to ensure clarity in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PGPUB 2017/0021810 A1 to Trebouet et al. (“Trebouet”).
As to Claim 1, Trebouet discloses a nozzle system (See the entire system in Figs. 4-5) comprising:
a head part (#2 and #4) including a spray part (See Annotated Fig. 3) including a guide part (#4) configured to guide fluid flowing into the head part (See Figs. 1-3 and Paragraph 0034) and a discharge port (See Annotated Fig. 3) configured to spray the fluid toward a sensor part (#102, See Figs. 4-5 and Paragraph 0052), wherein the guide part is configured such that fluid (See F2 in Figs. 1-3) flowing into the head part in a longitudinal direction of the head part is redirected to flow along a width direction of the head part (See Annotated Fig. 3, fluid F2 that goes through #27 flows up the longitudinal direction LD and is redirected by the guide part to flow along the width direction WD where fluid F2 is then discharged at an angle with a horizontal component along WD once it is sprayed out of #43), the spray part being formed at a location corresponding to the sensor part (See Figs. 4-5);
a body part (#10 and #104) having a portion of the head part inserted thereinto and located therein (See Figs. 1-5, part of #2 is inserted within #10 and #104 of the body part), the body part having an inlet part (#10) configured to allow fluid to flow into the body part therethrough (See Figs. 2-3, fluid F2 from #27 flows into #10 and through the body part to #2);
a delay part (See Annotated Fig. 3, the delay part is a wide portion of #53) formed as a protruding post located in the body part and configured to be inserted into at least the portion of the head part (See Fig. 1-2 and Annotated Fig. 3), such that the head part moves along the post in a longitudinal direction (See Figs. 1-2 and See LD in Annotated Fig. 3); and
a sealing part (#7) arranged to surround one end of the head part (See Figs. 1-3), the sealing part recessed portion configured to allow fluid flowing through the inlet part to provide pressure to a rear surface of the sealing part (See Annotated Fig. 3 and Paragraph 0046),
wherein the delay part protrudes in a movement direction of the head part (See Annotated Fig. 3, the delay part protrudes in direction LD),
wherein, when the fluid flows into the body part, the head part is configured to move along the delay part (See Figs. 1-3),
wherein the head part comprises a guide groove (#24) formed at a location facing the delay part (See Fig. 1 showing surfaces of the guide groove #24 facing towards surfaces of the delay part) and an inflow part formed as a channel at one end of the guide groove (See Annotated Fig. 3 showing the inflow part that is a channel at #26 that is an inlet to #24), the inflow part having a cross-section wider than a cross-section of the guide groove (See Annotated Fig. 3, a maximum cross section at #26 is wider than a maximum cross section at cross section at #24),
wherein, while the delay part is inserted into the guide groove, fluid located in the body part is restricted from flowing into the head part (See Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph 0045-0046. When the delay part is in #24, fluid F2 does not flow through the head part),
wherein the inflow part is configured to allow the fluid located in the body part to flow into the head part (See Annotated Fig. 3 and Paragraph 0048), and
wherein, when the head part is moved to a location at which the inflow part is clear of an end of the delay part such that the inflow part is no longer closed by the delay part (See Annotated Fig. 3), the fluid located in the body part flows into the head part through the inflow part and is sprayed out of the spray part (See Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs 0045-0048).
As to Claim 2, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 1 above, Trebouet discloses the nozzle system further comprising an elastic member (#8, See Paragraph 0050) located between the body part and the head part (See Figs. 1-3).
As to Claim 5, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 1 above, Trebouet further discloses wherein the head part is configured to move by hydraulic pressure of the fluid flowing into the body part in a longitudinal direction thereof along an inside of the body part (See Annotated Figs. 1-2 and Annotated Fig. 3 and Paragraphs 0045-0048).
As to Claim 6, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 1 above, Trebouet further discloses wherein the body part further comprises a cover part formed at one end thereof (See #104 in Figs. 4-5), and wherein the head part is operated on a side of the one end of the body part (See Figs. 1-3).
As to Claim 7, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 1 above, Trebouet further discloses wherein the spray part is located at an end of the head part (See Figs. 1-3) and is configured to have a predetermined angle so as to allow the fluid flowing into the spray part to be sprayed to the sensor part (See Figs. 3-5 showing fluid F2 being sprayed at an angle to the sensor part based on an orientation of the spray part and See Paragraph 0048).
As to Claim 8, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 1 above, Trebouet further discloses:
wherein the guide part is configured to allow the fluid flowing into the head part to flow thereinto (See Fig. 3), and
wherein the discharge port is configured to discharge the fluid flowing into the guide part (See Annotated Fig. 3 and Figs. 4-5).
As to Claim 11, Trebouet discloses a nozzle system (See the entire system in Figs. 4-5) comprising:
a head part (#2 and #4) disposed at a location corresponding to a sensor part (#102, See Figs. 4-5 and Paragraph 0052);
a body part (#10 and #104) having a portion of the head part inserted thereinto and located therein (See Figs. 1-5, part of #2 is inserted within #10 and #104 of the body part), the body part including an inlet part (#10) configured to allow fluid to flow into the body part therethrough (See Figs. 2-3, fluid F2 from #27 flows into #10 and through the body part to #2);
a delay part (See Annotated Fig. 3, the delay part is a wide portion of #53) formed as a protruding post located in the body part and configured to be inserted into at least the portion of the head part (See Fig. 1-2 and Annotated Fig. 3), such that the head part moves along the post in a longitudinal direction (See Figs. 1-2 and See LD in Annotated Fig. 3); and
a sealing part (#7) arranged to surround one end of the head part (See Figs. 1-3), the sealing part recessed portion configured to allow fluid flowing through the inlet part to provide pressure to a rear surface of the sealing part (See Annotated Fig. 3 and Paragraph 0046),
wherein the delay part protrudes in a movement direction of the head part (See Annotated Fig. 3, the delay part protrudes in direction LD),
wherein, when the fluid flows into the body part, the head part is configured to move along the delay part (See Figs. 1-3),
wherein fluid flowing into the head part in a longitudinal direction of the head part is redirected to flow along a width direction of the head part before being sprayed out of the head part (See Annotated Fig. 3, fluid F2 flows into the head part in direction LD and flows along direction WD before being sprayed out of #43),
wherein the head part comprises a guide groove (#24) formed at a location facing the delay part (See Fig. 1 showing surfaces of the guide groove #24 facing towards surfaces of the delay part) and an inflow part formed as a channel at one end of the guide groove (See Annotated Fig. 3 showing the inflow part that is a channel at #26 that is an inlet to #24), the inflow part having a cross-section wider than a cross-section of the guide groove (See Annotated Fig. 3, a maximum cross section at #26 is wider than a maximum cross section at cross section at #24),
wherein, while the delay part is inserted into the guide groove, fluid located in the body part is restricted from flowing into the head part (See Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph 0045-0046. When the delay part is in #24, fluid F2 does not flow through the head part),
wherein, when the head part is moved to a location at which the inflow part is clear of an end of the delay part such that the inflow part is no longer closed by the delay part (See Annotated Fig. 3), the fluid located in the body part flows into the head part through the inflow part and is sprayed out of the spray part (See Figs. 1-3 and Paragraphs 0045-0048).
As to Claim 12, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 11 above, Trebouet discloses the nozzle system further comprising an elastic member (#8, See Paragraph 0050) located between the body part and the head part (See Figs. 1-3).
As to Claim 15, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 11 above, Trebouet further discloses wherein the head part is configured to move by hydraulic pressure of the fluid flowing into the body part in a longitudinal direction thereof along an inside of the body part (See Annotated Figs. 1-2 and Annotated Fig. 3 and Paragraphs 0045-0048).
As to Claim 16, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 11 above, Trebouet further discloses wherein the body part further comprises a cover part formed at one end thereof (See #104 in Figs. 4-5), and
wherein the head part is operated on a side of the one end of the body part (See Figs. 1-3).
As to Claim 17, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 11 above, Trebouet further discloses wherein the head part comprises a spray part (See Annotated Fig. 3) including a guide part (#4) configured to guide fluid flowing into the head part and a discharge port (See Annotated Fig. 3) configured to spray the fluid toward the sensor part (See Figs. 3-5), the spray part being formed at a location facing the sensor part (See Figs. 3-5 and Paragraph 0048).
As to Claim 18, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 17 above, Trebouet further discloses wherein the guide part is configured to allow the fluid flowing into the head part to flow thereinto (See Fig. 3), and
wherein the discharge port is configured to discharge the fluid flowing into the guide part (See Annotated Fig. 3 and Figs. 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Trebouet in view of US PGPUB 2003/0234303 A1 to Berning et al. (“Berning”).
As to Claim 9, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 8 above, Trebouet further discloses wherein the discharge port comprises:
a first discharge port (#43) formed at a first location in a height direction of the spray part (See Annotated Fig. 3 and Paragraph 0048, at least one discharge port is disclosed).
Regarding Claim 9, Trebouet does not specifically disclose the discharge port also comprising a second discharge port formed at a second location below the first location of the first discharge port (See Paragraph 0052, more than one discharge port is not specifically disclosed).
However, Berning discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fluid spraying (See Paragraph 0003), a nozzle system (See Fig. 5a) comprising a spray part (#10) having a discharge port (#18) that comprises a first discharge port formed at a first location in a height direction of the spray part (See an upper outlet on #18 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 that emits an upper spray shown in Fig. 5b); and a second discharge port formed at a second location below the first location of the first discharge port (See a lower outlet on #18 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 that emits a lower spray shown in Fig. 5b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied above such that the discharge port comprises the first discharge port of Berning formed at a first location in the height direction of the spray part of Trebouet and the second discharge port of Berning formed at a second location below the first location of the first discharge port, since doing so would yield the predictable result of providing adequate uniform fluid distribution over a desired surface to be cleaned (See Berning Paragraphs 0050-0052).
As to Claim 10, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet in view of Berning as applied to Claim 9 above, Berning further discloses wherein an angle formed by the first discharge port and a width direction of the head part is smaller than an angle formed by the second discharge port and the width direction of the head part (See Berning Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 5a, and Paragraph 0052).
As to Claim 19, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied to Claim 18 above, Trebouet further discloses wherein the discharge port comprises:
a first discharge port (#43) formed at a first location in a height direction of the spray part (See Annotated Fig. 3 and Paragraph 0048, at least one discharge port is disclosed).
Regarding Claim 19, Trebouet does not specifically disclose the discharge port also comprising a second discharge port formed at a second location below the first location of the first discharge port (See Paragraph 0052, more than one discharge port is not specifically disclosed).
However, Berning discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fluid spraying (See Paragraph 0003), a nozzle system (See Fig. 5a) comprising a spray part (#10) having a discharge port (#18) that comprises a first discharge port formed at a first location in a height direction of the spray part (See an upper outlet on #18 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 that emits an upper spray shown in Fig. 5b); and a second discharge port formed at a second location below the first location of the first discharge port (See a lower outlet on #18 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 that emits a lower spray shown in Fig. 5b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle system of Trebouet as applied above such that the discharge port comprises the first discharge port of Berning formed at a first location in the height direction of the spray part of Trebouet and the second discharge port of Berning formed at a second location below the first location of the first discharge port, since doing so would yield the predictable result of providing adequate uniform fluid distribution over a desired surface to be cleaned (See Berning Paragraphs 0050-0052).
As to Claim 20, in reference to the nozzle system of Trebouet in view of Berning as applied to Claim 19 above, Trebouet further discloses wherein an angle formed by the first discharge port and a width direction of the head part is smaller than an angle formed by the second discharge port and the width direction of the head part (See Berning Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Fig. 5a, and Paragraph 0052).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/17/2026 with respect to independent Claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 August 5, 2026