DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on January 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 9, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 26, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 11, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 12, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 4, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (US Pub 2020/0343227) in view of Kim et al (US Pub 2017/0013722).
In re claim 1, Jang et al discloses a display module comprising: a substrate (i.e. 1001) partitioned into a plurality of pixel regions (i.e. see at least Figures 2 and 3 and paragraph 0073 disclosing each light emitting device 100 may form one pixel) and including a plurality of electrode pads (i.e. 1003) disposed in the plurality of pixel regions; a bonding member (i.e. 1005) including an adhesive layer (i.e. 1005 – see at least paragraph 0099 disclosing the use of a conductive paste that includes solder particles; it is well known in the art that a conductive paste that includes solder particles can act as an adhesive) stacked on one surface of the substrate and a plurality of conductive balls (i.e. 1005a, 1005b) disposed in the adhesive layer; and a plurality of light emitting diodes (i.e. 100) including electrodes (i.e. 101) connected to the plurality of electrode pads (i.e. 1003) by the plurality of conductive balls (i.e. 1005b).
Jang et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of conductive balls are patterned as conductive regions corresponding to the plurality of electrode pads.
However, Kim et al discloses conductive particles (i.e. 360) are arranged in openings (i.e. 341) of a support unit (i.e. 351); an adhesive layer (i.e. 320) is arranged on the support unit (i.e. 351) and the conductive particles (i.e. 360); and the conductive particles (i.e. 360) are arranged only on a conductive pad (i.e. 271) (i.e. see at least Figures 17E, 17F, and 22).
The advantage is to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate (i.e. paragraph 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the display module as taught by Jang et al with wherein the plurality of conductive balls are patterned as conductive regions corresponding to the plurality of electrode pads as taught by Kim et al in order to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate.
In re claim 2, Jang et al, as discussed above, does not disclose or suggest wherein a pattern of the plurality of conductive balls is a stripe pattern, the conductive regions are disposed in the plurality of pixel regions adjacent to each other, and the conductive regions are configured to connect, in a straight line, the plurality of electrode pads.
However, Kim et al discloses wherein the openings (i.e. 341) in which the conductive particles (i.e. 360) are arranged are in a stripe pattern (i.e. see at least Figure 4).
The advantage is to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate (i.e. paragraph 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the display module as taught by Jang et al with wherein a pattern of the plurality of conductive balls is a stripe pattern, the conductive regions are disposed in the plurality of pixel regions adjacent to each other, and the conductive regions are configured to connect, in a straight line, the plurality of electrode pads as taught by Kim et al in order to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate.
In re claim 3, Jang et al, as discussed above, does not disclose or suggest wherein a pattern of the plurality of conductive balls are disposed in an island pattern in which the conductive regions are independently disposed in the plurality of pixel regions, respectively.
However, Kim et al discloses wherein openings (i.e. 342) in which the conductive particles (i.e. 360) are arranged are disposed in an island pattern (i.e. see at least Figure 5).
The advantage is to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate (i.e. paragraph 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the display module as taught by Jang et al with wherein a pattern of the plurality of conductive balls are disposed in an island pattern in which the conductive regions are independently disposed in the plurality of pixel regions, respectively as taught by Kim et al in order to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate.
In re claim 5, Jang et al, as discussed above, does not disclose or suggest wherein the plurality of conductive balls are arranged in at least two layers in a thickness direction of the adhesive layer.
However, Kim et al discloses wherein the conductive particles (i.e. 360) can be arranged into two layers (i.e. see at least Figure 2).
The advantage is to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate (i.e. paragraph 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the display module as taught by Jang et al with wherein the plurality of conductive balls are arranged in at least two layers in a thickness direction of the adhesive layer as taught by Kim et al in order to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate.
In re claim 6, Jang et al discloses a bonding member connecting between electrodes (i.e. 101) of a light emitting diode (i.e. 100) and electrode pads (i.e. 1003) of a display substrate (i.e. 1001), the bonding member comprising: an adhesive layer (i.e. 1005); and a plurality of conductive balls (i.e. 1005a, 1005b) disposed in the adhesive layer (i.e. see at least Figures 2 and 3).
Jang et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of conductive balls are patterned as conductive regions in a part of an entire region of the bonding member.
However, Kim et al discloses conductive particles (i.e. 360) are arranged in openings (i.e. 341) of a support unit (i.e. 351); an adhesive layer (i.e. 320) is arranged on the support unit (i.e. 351) and the conductive particles (i.e. 360); and the conductive particles (i.e. 360) are arranged only on a conductive pad (i.e. 271) (i.e. see at least Figures 17E, 17F, and 22).
The advantage is to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate (i.e. paragraph 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the display module as taught by Jang et al with wherein the plurality of conductive balls are patterned as conductive regions corresponding to the plurality of electrode pads as taught by Kim et al in order to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate.
In re claim 7, Jang et al, as discussed above, does not disclose or suggest wherein a pattern of the plurality of conductive balls are disposed in a stripe pattern in which the conductive regions form a plurality of straight lines.
However, Kim et al discloses wherein the openings (i.e. 341) in which the conductive particles (i.e. 360) are arranged are in a stripe pattern (i.e. see at least Figure 4).
The advantage is to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate (i.e. paragraph 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the display module as taught by Jang et al with wherein a pattern of the plurality of conductive balls is a stripe pattern, the conductive regions are disposed in the plurality of pixel regions adjacent to each other, and the conductive regions are configured to connect, in a straight line, the plurality of electrode pads as taught by Kim et al in order to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate.
In re claim 8, Jang et al, as discussed above, does not disclose or suggest wherein a pattern of the plurality of conductive balls is an island pattern in which the conductive regions are spaced apart from each other.
However, Kim et al discloses wherein openings (i.e. 342) in which the conductive particles (i.e. 360) are arranged are disposed in an island pattern (i.e. see at least Figure 5).
The advantage is to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate (i.e. paragraph 0007).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the display module as taught by Jang et al with wherein a pattern of the plurality of conductive balls are disposed in an island pattern in which the conductive regions are independently disposed in the plurality of pixel regions, respectively as taught by Kim et al in order to obtain a display device with high definition with less difficulty of aligning the circuit member on a substrate.
In re claim 10, Jang et al discloses wherein the adhesive layer has a black-based color (i.e. see at least paragraph 0096).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817