DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the newly amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7,9,16-17, and 19 are no longer objected to in view of recent amendments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is allowed.
Claims 7-9,17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose the following:
Regarding claims 7-8, the method according to claim 1, wherein the thermal management system determines a total target heat dissipation by looking up a lookup table of minimum fuel consumption of the engine according to a current rotation speed of the engine, a current torque of the engine, and a current ambient temperature.
Regarding claim 9, the method according to claim 1, wherein the thermal management system further comprises controlling the water pump according to a current temperature of the engine, a total engine power, and a current vehicle speed, comprises: in response to that the current temperature of the engine is greater than or equal to the temperature threshold, and an opening of the thermostat is less than an opening threshold, controlling a rotation speed of the water pump to be a safe rotation speed of the water pump, and controlling a rotation speed of the air-cooled radiator to zero; determining a target temperature of the engine by looking up a lookup table of minimum fuel consumption of the engine according to a current rotation speed of the engine, a current torque of the engine
Regarding claim 10, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program causes the water pump to be controlled to switch to the start state, wherein the start time positively correlates with the current vehicle speed and the stop time inversely correlates with the current vehicle speed.
Regarding claims 17-18, the device according to claim 11, wherein the thermal management system further comprising determining a total target heat dissipation by looking up a lookup table of minimum fuel consumption of the engine according to a current rotation speed of the engine, a current torque of the engine, and a current ambient temperature; determining a target rotation speed of the water pump and a target rotation speed of the air-cooled radiator by looking up a lookup table of minimum power consumption of the thermal management system according to the total target heat dissipation, an air intake flow rate of the air-cooled radiator, and the current ambient temperature and controlling a rotation speed of the water pump.
Regarding claim 19, the device according to claim 11, wherein the thermal management system further comprises determining a target temperature of the engine by looking up a lookup table of minimum fuel consumption of the engine according to a current rotation speed of the engine, a current torque of the engine, and a current ambient temperature; determining, according to the current temperature of the engine and the target temperature of the engine, a target opening of the thermostat; and controlling the opening of the thermostat to be the target opening of the thermostat.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6,11-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi et al. (US 2017/0037771) in view of Shintani et al. (US 2015/0083916).
Regarding claim 1, Takagi (T) discloses a method for controlling thermal management of a vehicle, the vehicle comprising an engine (10, Figure 1) and a thermal management system ([0031,0033] i.e., cooling liquid circulation device), the thermal management system comprising a water pump (17), and the engine (10) and the water pump being connected to form a first cooling circulation ([0033], Figure 1), the method comprising: controlling the water pump (17) to periodically switch between a start state and a stop state, wherein, after the water pump has been in the start state for a start time, controlling the water pump to switch to the stop state, and after the water pump has been in the stop state for a stop time, controlling the water pump to switch to the start state ([0059, 0078]).
Takagi (T) does not disclose that the controlling method of the water pump is in response to the conditions of that the current temperature of the engine is less than or equal to a temperature threshold, the total engine power is greater than or equal to a power threshold, and the current vehicle speed is less than or equal to a vehicle speed threshold.
However, Shintani (S) discloses a cooling apparatus for a vehicle that utilizes an electric water pump (Abstract, Figure 1) wherein the controlling method of the water pump is in response to the conditions of the current temperature of the engine the total engine power, and the current vehicle speed ([0092, 0113]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize these three parameters in controlling a water pump in order to prevent the system from either becoming too cold to operate or too hot; the Office realizes that Shintani does not state the thresholds as stated, but they are obviously factored into controlling the coolant temperatures to keep the vehicle in the proper temperature zone.
Regarding claim 2, Takagi (T), as modified, discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the controlling the water pump to periodically switch between a start state and a stop state comprises: in response to that the water pump is in the start state, controlling a rotation speed of the water pump is to be a safe rotation speed of the water pump (T- [0059], preventing excessive rise in temperature).
Regarding claim 3, Takagi (T), as modified, discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the start time and the stop time are fixed values (T-[0059,0078], fixed by calculated cooling needs), or wherein the start time positively correlates with the current vehicle speed and the stop time inversely correlates with the current vehicle speed.
Regarding claim 4, Takagi (T), as modified, discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the controlling the water pump according to a current temperature of the engine, a total engine power, and a current vehicle speed, comprises: in response to that the current temperature of the engine is less than or equal to the temperature threshold, and that the total engine power is less than the power threshold, controlling the water pump to stop (T- [0059, 0078]).
Regarding claim 5, Takagi (T), as modified, discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the controlling the water pump according to a current temperature of the engine, a total engine power, and a current vehicle speed, comprises: in response to that the current temperature of the engine is less than or equal to the temperature threshold, that the total engine power is greater than or equal to the power threshold, and that the current vehicle speed is greater than the vehicle speed threshold, controlling a rotation speed of the water pump to be a safe rotation speed of the water pump ([0092, 0113]); or in response to that the current temperature of the engine is less than or equal to the temperature threshold, the total engine power is greater than or equal to the power threshold, and the current vehicle speed is greater than the vehicle speed threshold, controlling a rotation speed of the water pump to be greater than a safe rotation speed of the water pump and positively correlate with the current vehicle speed.
Regarding claim 6, Takagi (T), as modified, discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the thermal management system further comprises an air-cooled radiator (20, via 27) and a thermostat (22), and the air-cooled radiator is connected, via the thermostat, to the engine and the water pump ([0081]), to form a second cooling circulation; and the controlling the water pump according to a current temperature of the engine, a total engine power, and a current vehicle speed, comprises: in response to that the current temperature of the engine is less than or equal to the temperature threshold, controlling a rotation speed of the air-cooled radiator to zero, and controlling an opening of the thermostat to zero ([0091-0092]). As a clarification, the thermostat will open or close based on the coolant temperature.
Regarding claim 11, Takagi (T) discloses a device for controlling thermal management of a vehicle, comprising a processor and a storage, the processor and the storage being connected to each other, the storage being configured to store a computer program, the computer program comprising program instructions, and the processor being configured to execute the program instructions to perform operations ([0042]) comprising: controlling a water pump (17) to periodically switch between a start state and a stop state, wherein, after the water pump has been in the start state for a start time, the water pump is controlled to switch to the stop state, and after the water pump has been in the stop state for a stop time, the water pump is controlled to switch to the start state ([0059, 0078]), and the vehicle comprising an engine (10, Figure 1) and a thermal management system ([0031,0033] i.e., cooling liquid circulation device), the thermal management system comprising a water pump (17), and the engine (10) and the water pump being connected to form a first cooling circulation ([0033], Figure 1).
Takagi (T) does not disclose that the controlling of the water pump is in response to the conditions according to a current temperature of an engine, a total engine power, and a current vehicle speed, wherein in response to that the current temperature of the engine is less than or equal to a temperature threshold, the total engine power is greater than or equal to a power threshold, and the current vehicle speed is less than or equal to a vehicle speed threshold,
However, Shintani (S) discloses a cooling apparatus for a vehicle that utilizes an electric water pump (Abstract, Figure 1) wherein the controlling of the water pump is in response to the conditions according to a current temperature of an engine, a total engine power, and a current vehicle speed, wherein in response to that the current temperature of the engine is less than or equal to a temperature threshold, the total engine power is greater than or equal to a power threshold, and the current vehicle speed is less than or equal to a vehicle speed threshold ([0092, 0113]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to utilize these three parameters in controlling a water pump in order to prevent the system from either becoming too cold to operate or too hot; the Office realizes that Shintani does not state the thresholds as stated, but they are obviously factored into controlling the coolant temperatures to keep the vehicle in the proper temperature zone.
Regarding claim 12, Takagi (T), as modified, discloses the device according to claim 11, wherein the controlling the water pump to periodically switch between a start state and a stop state comprises: in response to that the water pump is in the start state, controlling a rotation speed of the water pump is to be a safe rotation speed of the water pump (T- [0059], preventing excessive rise in temperature).
Regarding claim 13, Takagi (T), as modified, discloses the device according to claim 11, wherein the controlling the water pump to periodically switch between a start state and a stop state comprises: after the water pump is in the start state for a start time, controlling the water pump to switch to the stop state; and after the water pump is in the stop state for a stop time, controlling the water pump to switch to the start state, wherein the start time and the stop time are fixed values (T-[0059,0078], fixed by calculated cooling needs), or wherein the start time positively correlates with the current vehicle speed and the stop time inversely correlates with the current vehicle speed.
Regarding claim 14, Takagi (T), as modified, discloses the device according to claim 11, wherein the controlling the water pump according to a current temperature of the engine, a total engine power, and a current vehicle speed, comprises: in response to that the current temperature of the engine is less than or equal to the temperature threshold, and that the total engine power is less than the power threshold, controlling the water pump to stop (T- [0059, 0078]).
Regarding claim 15, Takagi (T), as modified, discloses the device according to claim 11, wherein the controlling the water pump according to a current temperature of the engine, a total engine power, and a current vehicle speed, comprises: in response to that the current temperature of the engine is less than or equal to the temperature threshold, that the total engine power is greater than or equal to the power threshold, and that the current vehicle speed is greater than the vehicle speed threshold, controlling a rotation speed of the water pump to be a safe rotation speed of the water pump ([0092, 0113]); or in response to that the current temperature of the engine is less than or equal to the temperature threshold, the total engine power is greater than or equal to the power threshold, and the current vehicle speed is greater than the vehicle speed threshold, controlling a rotation speed of the water pump to be greater than a safe rotation speed of the water pump and positively correlate with the current vehicle speed.
Regarding claim 16, Takagi (T), as modified, discloses the device according to claim 11, wherein the thermal management system further comprises an air-cooled radiator (20, via 27) and a thermostat (22), and the air-cooled radiator is connected, via the thermostat, to the engine and the water pump ([0081]), to form a second cooling circulation; and the controlling the water pump according to a current temperature of the engine, a total engine power, and a current vehicle speed, comprises: in response to that the current temperature of the engine is less than or equal to the temperature threshold, controlling a rotation speed of the air-cooled radiator to zero, and controlling an opening of the thermostat to zero ([0091-0092]). As a clarification the thermostat will open or close based on the coolant temperature.
Regarding claim 20, Takagi (T), as modified, discloses a vehicle, comprising an engine (10) and a thermal management system ([0031,0033] i.e., cooling liquid circulation device), the thermal management system comprising a water pump (17), an air-cooled radiator (20, via 27), a thermostat (22), and the device for controlling thermal management of the vehicle according to claim 11, the engine and the water pump being connected to form a first cooling circulation, and the air-cooled radiator being connected, via the thermostat, to the engine and the water pump, to form a second cooling circulation ([0081]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762