DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 01/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
Figure 1A should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The specification expressly recites “conventional field effect transistor layout as illustrated in Fig. 1A” (see page 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 7, 11-12 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a number of drain contact fingers”. Said limitation is ambiguous as it is unclear if it refers to “outer drain contact fingers” recited in claim 1 or a different feature. Correction is required.
Claim 3 recites the limitations “a source contact finger”. It is unclear if it refers to “a number of source contact fingers” in claim 2 or different feature. Correction is required.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a drain contact finger”. It is unclear if it refers to “a number of drain contact fingers” in claim 2, “outer drain contact fingers” in claim 1, or different feature/s. Correction is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the contact fingers of the contact configuration”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for said limitation in the claim/s.
Claims 11-12 & 16 are rejected for similar reasons as claims 2-3 & 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-14 & 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MIZAN et al. (US Pub. 2021/0367035).
Regarding claim 1, MIZAN teaches a field effect transistor integrated within an associated transistor area 202 (Fig. 3), the field effect transistor comprising transistor contacts having a contact configuration of interleaved contact fingers including outer drain contact fingers 206 located at opposite edges of the transistor area (see Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 2, MIZAN teaches the field effect transistor of claim 1 wherein the transistor contacts comprise a source contact 224 connected by through wafer vias 234 to a number of source contact fingers, a drain contact including a number of drain contact fingers 206 and a gate contact 219 including a number of gate contact fingers 208 (see Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 3, MIZAN teaches the field effect transistor of claim 2 wherein each gate contact finger is provided between a source contact finger and a drain contact finger (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, MIZAN teaches the field effect transistor of claim 2 wherein the through wafer vias 234 of each source contact finger are adapted to carry equal electric current (Fig. 3, the through wafer vias 234 is capable of said functionality).
Regarding claim 5, MIZAN teaches the field effect transistor of claim 1 wherein the field effect transistor comprises a GaN transistor (Fig. 3 and Para [0058]).
Regarding claim 7, MIZAN teaches the field effect transistor of claim 1 wherein the contact fingers of the contact configuration comprise a rectangular shape and a width of the rectangular shaped drain contact fingers is less than a width of the rectangular shaped source contact fingers (see Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 8, MIZAN teaches the field effect transistor of claim 1 wherein the field effect transistor comprises a high-electron-mobility transistor including an epitaxial layer structure grown on a substrate beneath the contact configuration (Para [0059] & Fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 9, MIZAN teaches the field effect transistor of claim 1 wherein the field effect transistor comprises a metal-oxide-semiconductor field effect transistor (Fig. 3, it is understood that the device 200 is a GaN based metal-oxide FET).
Regarding claim 10, MIZAN teaches a power amplifier comprising at least one field effect transistor integrated within an associated transistor area 202 (see Fig. 3), the field effect transistor comprising transistor contacts having a contact configuration of interleaved contact fingers including outer drain contact fingers 206 located at opposite edges of the transistor area (see Fig. 3 above and note the annotations).
Regarding claim 11, MIZAN teaches the power amplifier of claim 10 wherein the transistor contacts of the field effect transistor comprise a source contact 224 connected by through wafer vias 234 to a number of source contact fingers 204, a drain contact including a number of drain contact fingers 206 and a gate contact including a number of gate contact fingers 206.
Regarding claim 12, MIZAN teaches the power amplifier of claim 11 wherein each gate contact finger 208 is provided between a source contact finger 204 and a drain contact finger 206 (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, MIZAN teaches the power amplifier of claim 11 wherein the through wafer vias of each source contact finger are adapted to carry equal electric current (Fig. 3, the through wafer vias 234 is capable of said functionality).
Regarding claim 14, MIZAN teaches the power amplifier of claim 10 wherein the field effect transistor comprises a Gallium Nitride or Silicon Carbide transistor (Fig. 3 & Para [0058]).
Regarding claim 16, MIZAN teaches the power amplifier of claim 11 wherein the drain contact fingers 206 and source contact fingers 204 are each rectangular shaped, and a width of the rectangular shaped drain contact fingers is less than a width of the rectangular shaped source contact fingers (see Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 17, MIZAN teaches the power amplifier of claim 10 wherein the field effect transistor comprises a high- electron-mobility transistor including an epitaxial layer structure grown on a substrate beneath the contact configuration (Para [0059] & Fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 18, MIZAN teaches the power amplifier of claim 10 wherein the field effect transistor comprises a metal- oxide-semiconductor field effect transistor (Fig. 3, it is understood that the device 200 is a GaN based metal-oxide FET)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIZAN as applied to claims 1 & 10 above, and in further view of Vorhaus (US Pub. 2012/0086497).
Regarding claim 6, MIZAN is silent on the field effect transistor of claim 1 wherein the field effect transistor comprises a Gallium Arsenide or other compound semiconductor transistor. However, Vorhaus teaches in [Para 0005 & claim 9], wherein the field effect transistor comprises a Gallium Arsenide or other compound semiconductor transistor. This has the advantage of providing high-frequency performance, high electron mobility, low noise and lower cost. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of MIZAN with the FET comprising GaAs, as taught by Vorhaus, so as to obtain an improved semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 15, MIZAN is silent on the field effect transistor of claim 10 wherein the field effect transistor comprises a Gallium Arsenide or other compound semiconductor transistor. However, Vorhaus teaches in [Para 0005 & claim 9], wherein the field effect transistor comprises a Gallium Arsenide or other compound semiconductor transistor. This has the advantage of providing high-frequency performance, high electron mobility, low noise and lower cost. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of MIZAN with the FET comprising GaAs, as taught by Vorhaus, so as to obtain an improved semiconductor device.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BLIN et al. (US Pub. 2019/0206863) in view of MIZAN et al.
Regarding claim 19, BLIN teaches a wireless device 900 comprising:
a transceiver 914 configured to process radio frequency signals (Fig. 26); and
a radio frequency module 810 including at least one field effect transistor integrated within an associated transistor area 302 (see Fig. 1B).
BELIN is silent on the field effect transistor having a contact configuration of interleaved contact fingers including outer drain contact fingers located at opposite edges of the transistor area. However, MIZAN teaches a field effect transistor comprising a contact configuration of interleaved contact fingers including outer drain contact fingers 206 located at opposite edges of a transistor area 202 (Fig. 3).
This has the advantage of providing reduced real estate, faster switching speed and high efficiency that is associated with the GaN based transistors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of BLIN with interleaved contact fingers, as taught by MIZAN, so as to obtain an improved semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of BLIN and MIZAN teaches the wireless device of claim 19 further comprising an antenna 924 connected to the radio frequency module 810 (Fig. 26).
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818