DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1, 8, 11, 16, 21, 24-30, 40, 41, 76, in the reply filed on 05/22/2026 is acknowledged. Election of species as in claim 1 is acknowledged.
Claims 47, 58, 60 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11, 16, 21, 24-30, 40-41, 76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito et al (US 2008/0113351, May 2008) and in further view of Erbe et al (WO 2019/014530, January 2019, cited from IDS).
Naito teach a number of siRNAs (dsRNAs) comprising sense and antisense strands complementary to each other (see paragraphs [0002-0003, 0057-0059]), including siRNA targeting PRODH2 with a sense strand of SEQ ID NO: 225752 (see paragraph [0061], sequence listing, search result below), which is identical to nucleotides 943-961 of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (SEQ ID NO: 1 is shown first below, SEQ ID NO: 225752 is shown second):
It is inherent that siRNA comprises antisense strand complementary to SEQ ID NO: 225752 and nucleotides 943-961 of instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Such siRNA has a double-stranded region of 19 nucleotides, with each strand 19 nucleotides in length.
Naito further teach that nucleotides of siRNAs can comprise modifications such as methylation of sugar hydroxyl groups (see paragraph [0106]) and overhangs of two nucleotides at 3’ end (see paragraph [0081]). Naito teach cells comprising the siRNAs (see paragraph [0127]), pharmaceutical compositions and kits comprising siRNAs (see paragraphs [0065, 0276]).
Naito do not teach all modified nucleotides of the sense strand, or 3’ end of sense strand conjugated to trivalent GalNAc ligand as in claims 27-29, or at least one phosphorothioate linkage.
Erbe teach siRNAs (dsRNAs) improvements such as modifications, comprising 2’-O-methyl, of all nucleotides in sense strand (see lines 30-38 on page 3, page 4, lines 21-23 on page 43) and conjugation of siRNA through 3’ end of sense strand to trivalent GalNAc ligand, same as in claims 27-29, to enhance siRNA delivery in vivo (see pages 4 and 5, lines 8-10 on page 96). Erbe teach that siRNAs can comprise phosphorothioate linkages (see line 27 on page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include improvements taught by Erbe into siRNA targeting PRODH2 taught by Naito, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to further improve siRNA taught by Naito as taught by Erbe.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637