Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 04/23/2026 has been entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species (Group) I, (Claims 1-7) in the reply filed 09/09/2025 is acknowledged, Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from further prosecution, and Claims 1-7 are prosecuted given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 05/08/2026 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Response to Amendment
The Applicant originally submitted Claims 1-15 with Claims 8-15 withdrawn from further consideration due to election/restriction requirement in the application. In the previous response, the Applicant amended Claim 1, added new Claims 16-17. In present response, the Applicant amended Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 17, and cancelled Claim 16. Accordingly, Claims 1-7 and 17 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filled 04/23/2026, with respect to rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered, however not persuasive.
Applicant argues that cited US 2025/0191984 to Lee does not discloses newly added term limitation of Claim 1 drawn to “a single stepped bonding portion protruding from one surface of the heatsink toward the substrate”
In support of this argument, the Applicant reasons that bonding layer 20 of Lee’s disclosure of Fig 1 does not teach or suggest a stepped portion, and other cited art of record do not remedy this deficiency of Lee’s disclosure.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant analysis of pending Claim 1 limitation drawn to “a single stepped bonding portion protruding from one surface of the heatsink toward the substrate”, and teachings of Lee’s invention of Fig 2.
A single stepped bonding portion of present application is referenced to element 24 as illustrated in Fig 1 and specified in [0034] of the specification, this element 24 is portion of heatsink 20 and not portion pf bonding member 30 as being alleged by the Applicant referencing element 20 Lee’s Fig 2 invention. Embodiment of Fig 1 of present application is very similar to Lee’s embodiment of Fig 2, as both embodiments disclose single stepped heatsinks and a bonding member between the single stepped heatsink and the substrate as clearly illustrated in Fig 1 of present application and Lee’s Fig 2 illustration.
Accordingly Examiner submits following MPEP 2111 guide lines, in a broadest reasonable interoperation in light of specification, embodiment of Lee’s Fig 2 meet the requirement of the newly added limitation to Claim 1 drawn to “a single stepped bonding portion protruding from one surface of the heatsink toward the substrate”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (US 2016/0197028) in view of Lee (US 2025/0191984).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamada (In Fig 4) discloses a power module (40) comprising:
a substrate (30), (¶ 16, II. 5-12);
a sealing member (51) disposed to cover the substrate (30), (Fig 4);
a heatsink (10a) bonded to one surface of the substrate (30), (Fig 4);
however Yamada does not disclose wherein a single stepped bonding portion protruding from one surface of the heatsink toward the substrate, wherein a bonding member disposed between and sinter-bonded to the stepped bonding portion and the substrate, wherein a portion of a surface of the substrate facing the bonding member is exposed.
Instead, Lee (In Figs 2-3) teaches wherein a single stepped bonding portion (single stepped portion of 300 sintered to 100 by 20), (Fig 3) protruding from one surface of the heatsink (300) toward the substrate (100), wherein a bonding member (20) disposed between and sinter-bonded to the single stepped bonding portion (single stepped portion of 300 sintered to 100 by 20) and the substrate (100), (¶ 57, II. 1-6), (Fig 2), wherein a portion (110) of a surface of the substrate (100) facing the bonding member (20) is exposed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with Lee with a single stepped bonding portion protruding from one surface of the heatsink toward the substrate, a bonding member being disposed between and sinter-bonded to the single stepped bonding portion and the substrate and a portion of a surface of the substrate facing the bonding member being exposed to benefit from increasing bonding strength due to high thermal conductivity and facilitating heat transfer between the substrate and the heat sink, thereby increasing heat dissipation efficiency (Lee ¶ 57, II. 12-16).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamada in view of Lee discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Yamada as modified does not discloses wherein a bonding surface area of the single stepped bonding portion is smaller than a bonding surface area of the substrate.
Instead, Lee (In Figs 2-3) teaches wherein a bonding surface area of the single stepped bonding portion (single stepped portion of 300 sintered to 100 by 20) is smaller than a bonding surface area of the substrate (100), (Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with Lee with a bonding surface area of the single stepped bonding portion being smaller than a bonding surface area of the substrate to benefit from increasing bonding strength due to high thermal conductivity and facilitating heat transfer between the substrate and the heat sink, thereby increasing heat dissipation efficiency (Lee ¶ 57, II. 12-16).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamada in view of Lee discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Yamada as modified does not disclose wherein a side surface of an edge of the single stepped bonding portion has a tolerance (d) with respect to an edge of a bonding surface of the substrate.
Instead, Lee (In Figs 2-3) teaches wherein a side surface of an edge of the single stepped bonding portion (single stepped portion of 300 sintered to 100 by 20) has a tolerance (d) with respect to an edge of a bonding surface of the substrate (100), (Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with Lee with a side surface of an edge of the single stepped bonding portion having a tolerance (d) with respect to an edge of a bonding surface of the substrate to benefit from increasing bonding strength due to high thermal conductivity and facilitating heat transfer between the substrate and the heat sink, thereby increasing heat dissipation efficiency (Lee ¶ 57, II. 12-16).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamada in view of Lee discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Yamada (In Fig 4) further discloses wherein the bonding member (5) includes a paste bonding member (Ag paste, ¶ 27, II. 13-14), or a preform bonding member.
Regarding Claim 17, Yamada in view of Lee discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Yamada does not disclose wherein a side surface of an edge of the single stepped bonding portion has a tolerance (d) inward with respect to an edge of a bonding surface of the substrate, and wherein the side surface is exposed.
Instead, Lee (In Figs 2-3) further teaches wherein a side surface of an edge of the single stepped bonding portion (single stepped portion of 300 sintered to 100 by 20) has a tolerance (d) inward with respect to an edge of a bonding surface of the substrate (100), (Fig 3), and wherein the side surface (side surface of 20) is exposed (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with Lee with a side surface of an edge of the single stepped bonding portion having a tolerance (d) inward with respect to an edge of a bonding surface of the substrate and the side surface being exposed to benefit from increasing bonding strength due to high thermal conductivity and facilitating heat transfer between the substrate and the heat sink, thereby increasing heat dissipation efficiency (Lee ¶ 57, II. 12-16).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Lee further in view of Viswanathan et al (US 2018/0153030) and further in view of Lui (US 2020/0350276).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamada in view of Lee discloses the limitations 4, however Yamada as modified does not disclose wherein, when the bonding member includes the paste bonding member: the bonding member is printed on the single stepped bonding portion; and then a fixing solvent is applied on the bonding member.
Instead, Viswanathan (In Fig 6) teaches wherein, when the bonding member (124b) includes the paste bonding member (paste layer, ¶ 19, II. 10-15), (¶ 42, II. 9-13): the bonding member (124b) is printed (¶ 30, II.6-8), (¶ 42, II. 9-13) on the single stepped bonding portion (stepped bonding portion of 122 sinter bonded to 134), (Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with Lee and further with Viswanathan with the bonding member including the paste bonding member being printed on the single stepped bonding portion to benefit from enhanced heat dissipation capabilities and which are amenable to fabrication utilizing efficient, cost effective, warpage-resistance manufacturing processes (Viswanathan ¶ 2, II. 28-32), however Yamada as modified does not disclose wherein a fixing solvent is applied on the bonding member.
Instead, Lui (In Fig 1) teaches wherein a fixing solvent (adhesive, ¶ 11, II. 1-9, ¶ 17, II. 1-2) is applied on the bonding member (7) (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with Lee further with Viswanathan and further with Lui with a fixing solvent being applied on the bonding member to benefit from correct positioning contacts arranged on the semiconductor module with respect to carrier plate and avoiding leakage during incasing of the semiconductor module (Lui ¶ 3, II. 12-15).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Lee and further in view of Shirakata et al (US 2020/0234905).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamada in view of Lee discloses the limitations 4, however Yamada as modified does not disclose wherein, when the bonding member includes the preform bonding member: the bonding member is mounted on the single stepped bonding portion.
Instead, Shirakata (In Fig 2) teaches wherein, when the bonding member (18) includes the preform bonding member (sheet, ¶ 37, II. 16-20): the bonding member (18) is mounted on the single stepped bonding portion (12a), (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with Lee and further with Shirakata with the bonding member including the preform bonding member being mounted on the single stepped bonding portion to benefit from making possible that speed of temperature rise in the second step portion be raised and hence the time before melting is shortened, while reducing heat transfer to electronic power device (Shirakata ¶ 13, II. 11-19).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Lee and further in view of Choi (US 2021/0057313).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamada in view of Lee discloses the limitations 1, however Yamada as modified does not disclose wherein the sealing member includes an epoxy molding compound (EMC).
Instead, Choi (In Fig 2A) teaches wherein the sealing member (140) includes an epoxy molding compound (EMC), (¶ 41, II. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamada with Lee and further with Choi with the sealing member including an epoxy molding compound to benefit from protecting electronic components from environmental factors like moisture, dust and chemicals, while also providing crucial mechanical support and electrical insulation, preventing semiconductor package from being deformed and thereby, reliability and electrical characteristics may be stably secured (Choi ¶ 2, II. 1-10).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841