DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (20210384181) in view of Chen et al. (20220246670).
Regarding Claim 1, in Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0227-0261, Xu et al. discloses vertically stacked light-emitting diode structure, comprising: a substrate 104, including a first pad, a second pad, a third pad (there are three color device in this Fig. 2, Red, Green and Blue and each has a pad associated with it, and a common pad disposed thereon separately, including a first bump, a second bump, a third bump) (see paragraphs 0185 and 0218, where pads are eventually connected to bumps on the other/back/rear side of the substrate), and a common bump disposed therebelow substrate separately, said first pad connected electrically to said first bump, said second pad connected electrically to said second bump, said third pad connected electrically to said third bump, and said common pad connected electrically to said common bump again see paragraphs 0185, 0186, 0218 and 0245); a first light-emitting device 112/130/136 disposed on said substrate, connected electrically to said common pad via a common electrode at the bottom, and connected electrically to said first pad via a first electrode thereon (see paragraphs 0194, 0202, 0211); a first reflection layer 202/204/206, disposed on said first light-emitting device; a second light-emitting device, disposed on said first reflection layer, connected electrically to said common electrode from the bottom; a second reflection layer 202/204/206, disposed on said second light-emitting device; and a third light-emitting device 112/130/136, disposed on said second reflection layer 202/204/206, connected electrically to said common electrode from the bottom, wherein a first area of said first light-emitting device is greater than a second area of said second light-emitting device (claim language does not define what the area is, and hence examiner takes the view that even side portion of the individual light emitting elements could read on the “area” limitation. However, from paragraphs 0273 and 0369, areas of the individual tri-color LED devices can be designed same, smaller or greater than each other. From Fig. 2, it appears that the top surface area of individual devices are smaller than the bottom surface area of individual devices because of the tapered device configurations); and said second area of said second light-emitting device is greater than a third area of said third light-emitting device. Xu et al. fails to disclose the limitations, (second light emitting device) connected electrically to said second pad via a second electrode thereon and (third light emitting device) connected electrically to said third pad via a third electrode thereon (i.e. examiner interprets these limitations to mean second and third light emitting devices are independently/individually interconnected); However, Chen et al. discloses a vertically stacked micro-led device structure where in Figs. 1, 5, 8a and 8b and paragraphs 0035, 0039, 0060, 0076 and 0077, the required limitation with second light emitting device) connected electrically to said second pad via a second electrode thereon and (third light emitting device) connected electrically to said third pad via a third electrode thereon is disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in Xu et al to have the required connection structure as taught by Chen et al. in order to individually interconnect and hence individually control the tri-color micro-led devices.
Regarding Claim 2 in Fig. 2 of Xu et al first pad, said second pad, said third pad 104/142/144/146/148, and said common pad 116/118/120 /126/128 are disposed on said substrate, respectively, and located on the edges (left or right edges) of said substrate.
Regarding Claim 3, in Fig. 2 of Xu et al. first light-emitting device, said second light-emitting device and said third light-emitting device 112/130/136 emits red, green, or blue light (i.e. tri-color)
Regarding Claim 4, in Fig, 2 of Xu et al, second area is 75% (see paragraphs 00273 and 0369) (see also the fact that the limitation “area” is not defined in the claim language and hence one can even take side surface area as the “area”)
Regarding Claim 5, in paragraphs 0193, 0199, 0201, 0210, 0284 and 0294 of Xu et all, a first transparent glue layer and a second transparent glue layer. said first transparent glue layer disposed between said first reflection layer and said second light-emitting device; said second transparent glue layer disposed between said second reflection layer and said third light-emitting. (please also see paragraphs 0043, 0044, 0050 and 0066 of Chen et al.)
Regarding Claim 6, in Fig. 2 and 0227-0261, Xu et al. discloses a vertically stacked light-emitting diode structure, comprising: a substrate 104, including a first pad, a second pad, a third pad, and a common pad disposed thereon separately, including a first bump, a second bump, a third bump, and a common bump disposed therebelow substrate separately, said first pad connected electrically to said first bump, said second pad connected electrically to said second bump, said third pad connected electrically to said third bump, and said common pad connected electrically to said common bump (there are three color device in this Fig. 2, Red, Green and Blue and each has a pad associated with it, and a common pad disposed thereon separately, including a first bump, a second bump, a third bump (see paragraphs 0185 and 0218, where pads are eventually connected to bumps on the other/back/rear side of the substrate) a first light-emitting device 112/130/136, disposed on said substrate, connected electrically to said common pad via a common electrode at the bottom, and connected electrically to said first pad via a first electrode thereon; a first reflection layer 202/204/206, disposed on said first light-emitting device; a second light-emitting device, disposed on said first reflection layer, connected electrically to said common electrode from the bottom, and connected electrically to said second pad via a second electrode thereon; a second reflection layer 202/204/206, disposed on said second light-emitting device 112/130/136; and a third light-emitting device 112/130/136, disposed on said second reflection layer 202/204/206, connected electrically to said common electrode from the bottom, wherein a first area of said first light-emitting device is smaller than a second area of said second light-emitting device; and said second area of said second light-emitting device is smaller than a third area of said third light-emitting device (claim language does not define what the area is, and hence examiner takes the view that even side portion of the individual light emitting elements could read on the “area” limitation. However, from paragraphs 0273 and 0369, areas of the individual tri-color LED devices can be designed same, smaller or greater than each other. From Fig. 2, it appears that the top surface area of individual devices is smaller than the bottom surface area of individual devices because of the tapered device configurations). Xu et al. fails to disclose the limitation where “connected electrically to said third pad via a third electrode thereon” (i.e. examiner interprets these limitations to mean second and third light emitting devices are independently/individually interconnected) However, Chen et al. discloses a vertically stacked micro-led device structure where in Figs. 1, 5, 8a and 8b and paragraphs 0035, 0039, 0060, 0076 and 0077, the required limitation where “connected electrically to said third pad via a third electrode thereon” is disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in Xu et al to have the required connection structure as taught by Chen et al. in order to individually interconnect and hence individually control the tri-color micro-led devices.
Regarding Claim 7, in Fig. 2 of Xu et al first pad, said second pad, said third pad 104/142/144/146/148, and said common pad 116/118/120 /126/128 are disposed on said substrate, respectively, and located on the edges (left or right edges) of said substrate.
Regarding Claim 8, in Fig. 2 of Xu et al, first light-emitting device, said second light-emitting device and said third light-emitting device 112/130/136 emits red, green, or blue light (i.e. tri-color)
Regarding Claim 9, in Fig, 2 of Xu et al, second area is 125% (see paragraphs 00273 and 0369) (see also the fact that the limitation “area” is not defined in the claim language and hence one can even take side surface area as the “area”)
Regarding Claim 10, in paragraphs 0193, 0199, 0201, 0210, 0284 and 0294 of Xu et all, a first transparent glue layer and a second transparent glue layer. said first transparent glue layer disposed between said first reflection layer and said second light-emitting device; said second transparent glue layer disposed between said second reflection layer and said third light-emitting. (please also see paragraphs 0043, 0044, 0050 and 0066 of Chen et al.)
Cited Relevant Prior Art
Examiner is including Chae 20200066691 as pertinent prior art that is not relied upon on this rejection but that discloses vertically stacked micro-led devices with reflection layers where the area of the individual devices can be designed accordingly (see Figs. 10B and 16B). Furthermore, Xu et al. (20210384182), Li et al. (2023/0077969) and Li et al. (20240421178) also disclose vertically stacked micro-led structures.
Conclusion
/FAZLI ERDEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 11/29/2025