DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a first phase driver connected to each word line of the first set of word lines wherein the first phase driver is a single transistor” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 recites “a first phase driver connected to each word line of the first set of word lines wherein the first phase driver is a single transistor.” The specification and the drawings do not support a first phase driver is a single transistor and it connected to each word line of the first set of word lines. Fig. 2, shows what seems to be a plurality of transistors at the intersection of 210 and 212. Fig. 2, supports a single transistor connected to a single word line but not connected to all the word lines of the first set of word lines. In addition, if phase driver 210-1 is a single transistor, the phase transistor 210-1 is not connected to all the word lines in the first set of the word lines. Therefore, there is not support for a first phase driver is a single transistor and it connected to each word line of the first set of word lines. Thus, this limitation will not be treated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2021/0295924 A1) and further in view of Sakui et al. (US 5,818,75635).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches a sub word-line driver circuit, comprising:
a first set of word lines arranged in a vertical stack, each word line of the first set of word lines configured to access memory cells of a first set of memory cells (Fig. 3, wordlines WL1 to WLn in the first block BLK1);
a second set of word lines arranged in the vertical stack, each word line of the second set of word lines configured to access memory cells of a second set of memory cells (Fig. 3, wordlines WL1 to WLn in the second block BLK2);
a first set of digit lines, wherein each word line of the first set of word lines couples a memory cell of the first set of memory cells with a digit line of the first set of digit lines (BL11 to BL1m in the first block BLK1);
a second set of digit lines, wherein each word line of the second set of word lines couples a memory cell of the second set of memory cells with a digit line of the second set of digit lines (BL21 to BL2m in the second block BLK2), wherein the second set of digit lines are above and vertically aligned with the first set of digit lines (Fig. 4, The channel regions CH1 and CH2 are part of the digit lines which are vertically aligned with the each other. In addition, a portion of the first digit lines 16 and a portion of the second digit lines 26 are vertically aligned ), and
wherein the second set of digit lines are electrically disconnected from the first set of digit lines (Fig. 3, BL11 to BL1m and BL21 to BL2m are disconnected from each other).
Lee is silent in teaching a second set of word lines, communicatively coupled to the first set of word lines; and a first phase driver of a plurality of phase drivers associated with the first set of word lines wherein the first phase driver is a single transistor.
Sakui teaches a second set of word lines (Fig. 5,
W
L
0
j
t
o
W
L
31
j
) communicatively coupled to the first set of word lines (Fig. 5,
W
L
0
i
t
o
W
L
0
i
); and a first phase driver of a plurality of phase drivers associated with the first set of word lines wherein the first phase driver is a single transistor (a plurality of phase drivers T1i and T34i, wherein each phase driver is a single transistor).
It would have been obvious to a person with the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Sakui’s invention of using a common driver circuit for two sub arrays or sub blocks in order to reduce the circuitry which would help increase the density of the memory device.
Regarding claim 12, Sakui further teaches the sub word-line driver circuit of claim 11, wherein the first phase driver is disconnected to the second set of word lines (Driver for the signal Ti is disconnected from the second set of word lines Fig. 5,
W
L
0
j
t
o
W
L
31
j
).
Regarding claim 13, Sakui further teaches the sub word-line driver circuit of claim 12, comprising a second phase driver of the plurality of phase drivers associated with the second set of word lines (Fig. 5, driver connected to Tj).
Regarding claim 14, Sakui further teaches the sub word-line driver circuit of claim 13, wherein the second phase driver is disconnected to the first set of word lines (Driver for the signal Tj is disconnected from the first set of word lines).
Regarding claim 15, Sakui further teaches the sub word-line driver circuit of claim 9, further comprising a plurality of word line drivers coupled to the first set of word lines and the second set of word lines (Fig. 5, drivers connected to W0 to W31).
Regarding claim 16, Sakui further teaches the sub word-line driver circuit of claim 15, wherein each word line driver is coupled to a word line in the first set of word lines and a word line in the second set of word lines (W0 is coupled to word line WL0i in the first set and WL0j in the second set of word lines).
Regarding claim 17, Lee and Sakui further teach the sub word-line driver circuit of claim 9, wherein the first set of digit lines is disconnected from the second set of word lines and the second set of digit lines is disconnected from the first set of word lines (Fig. 3, first digit lines BL11 to BL1m in block BLK1 are disconnected from the second set of word lines in block BLK1 and second digit lines BL21 to BL2m in block BLK2 are disconnected from the first set of word lines in block BLK1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s representative is arguing about a limitation that is currently rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a). The current limitation does not have support in the specification and was not treated for prior art rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9 and 12-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Khamdan N. Alrobaie/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824