DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
It is noted that the priority document dated 4/1/2021 is NOT believed to support the present claims and, accordingly, the effective filing date of the claims is considered to be 4/1/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 9/11/2026 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
CN 110058819, cited as a foreign patent document on the present IDS, was NOT considered since no copy was provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirari et al. (US 2018/0153058 – previously cited on an IDS) in view of Kong (CN 110430725 – previously cited on an IDS) and further in view of Noren (US 4,600,050).
With respect to claims 1 and 3, Hirari teaches (In Fig 3) an autonomous immersive cooling container configured to cool at least one electronic device (15), the autonomous immersive cooling container comprising: a container (11), having sidewalls (See Fig 3), that contains a dielectric immersion cooling liquid (13, ¶ 0027, “As the coolant 13, for example, a fluorine compound such as, for example, 3M™ Fluorinert™”, where Fluorinert™ is a known dielectric cooling liquid), the at least one electronic device being, at least in part, immersed in the dielectric immersion cooling liquid (See Fig 3); and a plurality of cooling structures (16 + 18) disposed at non-perpendicular angles on a sidewall (See Fig 3), the plurality of cooling structures configured to transfer heat from an interior of the container to exterior air such that no additional cooling subsystem is used to cool the dielectric immersion cooling liquid (¶ 0060, “Therefore, because facilities such as a pump for circulating the coolant 13 and a chiller for cooling the coolant 13 are unnecessary, electric power required for the cooling of the electronic device 15 may be remarkably reduced.”).
Hirari fails to specifically teach or suggest that the plurality of cooling structure are disposed on multiple sidewalls, and a door that may be opened and closed to facilitate insertion and removal of the at least one electronic device, the door forming part of a thermal envelope of the autonomous immersive cooling container, the door comprising one or more cooling structures integrally connected to the door, the one or more cooling structures being configured to transfer heat from an interior of the autonomous immersive cooling container to exterior air through the door (Cl. 1), wherein the door is configured to seal the autonomous immersive cooling container when closed (Cl. 3).
Kong, however, teaches (In Fig 1) a plurality of cooling structures (4) disposed on multiple sidewalls (3) of a container.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kong with that of Hirari, such that the plurality of cooling structures in Hirari are provided on multiple sidewalls, as taught by Kong, since doing so would increase heat transfer from the cooling liquid to the atmosphere.
With respect to the limitations that a door that may be opened and closed to facilitate insertion and removal of the at least one electronic device, the door forming part of a thermal envelope of the autonomous immersive cooling container, the door comprising one or more cooling structures integrally connected to the door, the one or more cooling structures being configured to transfer heat from an interior of the autonomous immersive cooling container to exterior air through the door, wherein the door is configured to seal the autonomous immersive cooling container when closed (Cl. 3), Noren teaches (In Figs 1-2) a door (C flanges 60, 62 which removably covers the opening (92) in the container (90) shown in Fig 2) that may be opened and closed to facilitate insertion and removal of at least one electronic device, the door forming part of a thermal envelope of a cooling container (90), the door comprising one or more cooling structures (12) integrally connected to the door (See Figs 1-2, 12 and 60, 62 are connected together to form one integral piece), the one or more cooling structures (12) being configured to transfer heat from an interior of the cooling container to exterior air through the door (See Fig 1, see also Col. 5, ll. 30-52), wherein the door is configured to seal the cooling container when closed (Noren, claim 11, “seal means for preventing the transfer of heat between said associated cabinet and its environment except through said finned heat pipe core”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Noren with that of Hirari such that Hirari includes a door that may be opened and closed to facilitate insertion and removal of the at least one electronic device, the door forming part of a thermal envelope of the autonomous immersive cooling container, the door comprising one or more cooling structures integrally connected to the door, the one or more cooling structures being configured to transfer heat from an interior of the autonomous immersive cooling container to exterior air through the door, wherein the door is configured to seal the autonomous immersive cooling container when closed, as taught by Noren, since doing so would provide additional heat transfer from the cooling liquid in the container of Hirari. Providing additional cooling to the cooling liquid will allow for additional electronic devices to be provided within the container and/or reduce the chances of thermal breakdown of the devices within the container. See Fig A below for how Hirari is modified by Noren.
With respect to claim 5, Hirari as modified by Kong and Noren teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and Kong further teaches that the plurality of cooling structures (4) comprise fins (See Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the further teachings of Kong with that of Hirari such that the sidewalls of the container of Hirari includes fins disposed at non-perpendicular angles on the sidewalls, as taught by Kong, since doing so would increase heat transfer from the dielectric immersion cooling liquid in the container.
With respect to claim 6, Hirari as modified by Kong and Noren teaches the limitations of claim 5 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the fins are formed as a unitary part of the sidewalls and/or the door.
However, it has been held that making a multi-piece structure into a single integral piece is obvious1.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the sidewall and fins as an integral structure to reduce manufacturing time and expense (Making the sidewall and fins as one piece reduces manufacturing steps, for example).
With respect to claims 7-8, Hirari as modified by Kong and Noren teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and Kong further teaches that the cooling structures (4) are made of copper (“the radiating plate 3 and the fins 4 are made of copper material”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kong with that of Hirari as modified by Kong and Noren such that the fins comprise copper, as taught by Kong, since doing so would allow for the fins to be made of a material which is relatively cheap, easy to manufacture and has a good thermal conductivity.
With respect to claim 9, Hirari further teaches that the cooling structures (16) comprise heat pipes (¶ 0030, “a plurality of heat pipes 16”), the heat pipes comprising: a first end disposed within the autonomous immersive cooling container, the first end configured to collect thermal energy from the dielectric immersive cooling liquid or vaporized dielectric immersive cooling liquid (See Fig 3); a second end disposed external to the autonomous immersive cooling container, the second end configured to transfer thermal energy to air outside of the autonomous immersive cooling container (See Fig 3); and a working liquid (17) disposed in an internal sealed chamber defined by the heat pipe, the working liquid configured to vaporize at the first end due to the thermal energy from the dielectric immersive cooling liquid or vaporized dielectric cooling liquid, and to condense at the second end as thermal energy is transferred to the air outside of the autonomous immersive cooling container (¶ 0055-0058).
With respect to claim 10, Hirari further teaches that the heat pipes (16) have a cylindrical form (¶ 0032, “the heat pipe 16 is a hollow cylindrical member”).
With respect to claim 11, Hirari further teaches that the heat pipes (16) are shaped as fins (¶ 0032, “the heat pipe 16 is a hollow cylindrical member”, where fins are well known to be shaped as cylinders).
With respect to claim 12, Hirari further teaches that the heat pipes (16) include a plurality of fins (18) disposed on an external surface of the heat pipes (See Fig 3).
With respect to claims 13-14, Hirari further teaches that the heat pipes comprise a metallic material, a thermally conductive plastic material, and/or a thermally conductive ceramic material (¶ 0032, “the heat pipe 16 is a hollow cylindrical member, opposite ends of which are dosed, and the exterior side thereof is formed by a material having a high thermal conductivity such as, for example, copper or aluminum”).
With respect to claim 15, Hirari as modified by Kong and Noren teaches the limitations of claim 9 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the heat pipes are formed as integral parts of the sidewalls and/or door.
However, it has been held that making a multi-piece structure into a single integral piece is obvious1.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the sidewall and heat pipes as an integral structure to reduce manufacturing time and expense (Making the sidewall and heat pipes as one piece reduces manufacturing steps, for example).
With respect to claim 16, Hirari further teaches that the plurality of cooling structures (16) comprise vapor chambers, thermosyphons, loop heat pipes, capillary pumped loops (¶ 0033-0036, where, the noted passages of Hirari describe a capillary pumped loop heat pipe), and/or a geothermal heat exchanger.
With respect to claim 17, Hirari further teaches that each cooling structure of the plurality of cooling structures (16 + 18) comprises a fin and a heat pipe (See Fig 3, each 16 + 18 comprises a fin (19) and a heat pipe (16)).
With respect to claim 19, Hirari further teaches that wherein the first ends (Left ends) of the heat pipes (16) are in contact with the dielectric immersive cooling liquid (13) or vaporized dielectric immersive cooling liquid (See Fig 3).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirari in view of Kong in view of Noren and further in view of Chiu et al. (US 2020/0323100 – hereinafter, “Chiu”).
With respect to claim 18, Hirari as modified by Kong and Noren teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the autonomous immersive cooling container is adapted for use in a telecommunications cabinet or in a data center.
Chiu, however, teaches an immersive cooling container (102) that is adapted for use in a data center (¶ 0083, “As another example, data center cooling systems that utilize a container-in-container concept as described herein”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chiu with that of Hirari, such that the immersive cooling container of Hirari is adapted for use in a data center, as taught by Chiu, since doing so would allow for the immersive cooling container of Hirari to be used in a data center thus expanding the potential use for the container.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 regarding Berlin (Present remarks page 7) the Examiner notes that Berlin has been withdrawn as a reference and thus this argument is moot.
With respect to the Applicant’s additional remarks to claim 1 that, “More importantly, Hirai teaches a fundamentally different thermal architecture from that of the currently claimed arrangement. Hirai expressly teaches that "the immersion tank 11 and the housing 12 are formed to have ... a high heat insulating property" (par. 28) and that heat removal occurs through dedicated heat-transfer members disposed along a defined coolant flow path. Specifically, Hirai discloses a plurality of heat pipes are arranged through a side wall of the immersion tank in contact with coolant flow path 14b, and that heat of the coolant is transported from the flow path to the exterior of the immersion tank through those heat pipes. Hirai further explains that natural convection moves heated coolant toward the flow path adjacent the heat pipes, where thermal energy is extracted and dissipated externally. Thus, heat extraction in Hirai is intentionally localized at dedicated heat-transfer structures, such as heat pipes, thermosyphons, or heat sinks, rather than through the surrounding walls or access structures of the container. Hirai therefore directs thermal energy toward dedicated heat-transfer members, not toward the door or other portions of the container that would form part of the thermal envelope.
The currently claimed arrangement, by contrast, teaches that the walls and door themselves participate in heat rejection. Thermal energy from the dielectric immersion cooling liquid is intentionally transferred through the walls and the door of the autonomous immersive cooling container and dissipated to ambient air through cooling structures disposed thereon. This arrangement permits operation without a separate cooling subsystem and constitutes a different heat-rejection strategy than the one expressly taught by Hirai.
In summary, Hirai expressly teaches an insulated container architecture in which heat extraction is localized at dedicated heat-transfer members, whereas the currently claimed arrangement uses the container wall and door themselves as part of the thermal path by which heat from the dielectric immersion cooling liquid is rejected to ambient air.” (Present remarks pages 7-8) the Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would indeed be motivated to modify Hirari to have a door which includes one or more cooling structures as claimed since doing so would allow for additional cooling structures that are able to provide additional cooling to the cooling liquid within the container (Fig A above shows how Hirari might be modified in view of Noren). Adding additional heat removal capacity will allow for additional electronic devices to be provided within the container and/or reduce the chances of thermal breakdown of the devices within the container. It would also be possible for the container to house higher heat generating components.
Accordingly, claim 1 is believed to be prima facie obvious in view of Hirari, Kong, and Noren.
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 regarding Chen (Present remarks page 8) the Examiner notes that Chen has been withdrawn as a reference and thus this argument is moot.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841