DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2023, 05/21/2024, 02/17/2025 and 09/04/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 09/27/2023, claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrizio (US 20210231373 A1) in view of Zahalka (US 4624002 A)
Regarding claim 1, Patrizio discloses
An electric arc furnace system (10, see fig.1) comprising:
an electric arc furnace (11, see fig.1) including one or more electrodes (one electrode 13, see fig.1), the electric arc furnace (11, see fig.1) configured to produce heat by passage of current through the one or more electrodes (13) that causes an electric arc between the one or more electrodes (13) and a metal (M, see fig.1) in the electric arc furnace (11, see fig.1 and para.0055); and
a power supply (24, see fig.1) coupled to the electric arc furnace (11, see fig.1), and coupleable to a utility (16, see fig.1) configured to provide three-phase alternating current (AC) power (See para.0062: “the mains electric network 16 can be three-phase”),
Patrizio discloses the power supply (24) including power circuitry (15, 19, 23) with a converter 20 (see fig.1) for each electrode 13 of the one or more electrodes 13.
Patrizio does not expressly disclose the power supply including power circuitry with a cycloconverter (CCV) for each electrode of the one or more electrodes, the CCV configured to receive three-phase power voltage and produce a single-phase voltage with reduced frequency that is delivered to the electrode to cause the electrode to create the electric arc that produces the heat to melt the metal.
Zahalka discloses an electric furnace system (see fig.2) comprising:
the power supply (combo 1 and 5, see fig.2) including power circuitry (1) with a cycloconverter (5, see fig.2) for each electrode (8) of the one or more electrodes (8, see fig.2), the CCV (5, see fig.3) configured to receive three-phase power voltage (three-phase power voltage supplied from the three-phase network 2, see fig.2) and produce a single-phase voltage (7, see fig.2) with reduced frequency (“ … a frequency lower than 60 or 50 Hz”, see col.2 lines 35-38 and lines 57-62) that is delivered to the electrode (8) to cause the electrode to create the electric arc that produces the heat to melt the metal (intended use of CVV. In addition, by having the CVV in the modification of Patrizio in view of Zahalka, the CVV would be able to cause the electrode of Patrizio to create the electric arc that produces the heat to melt the metal of Patrizio).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the power supply of Zahalka for the one of Patrizio so as “the power supply including power circuitry with a cycloconverter (CCV) for each electrode of the one or more electrodes, the CCV configured to receive three-phase power voltage and produce a single-phase voltage with reduced frequency that is delivered to the electrode to cause the electrode to create the electric arc that produces the heat to melt the metal” as claimed, since the substitution one element for another one would yield a predictable result of supplying voltage and current to the electrode(s).
Regarding claim 2, the modification of Patrizio in view of Zahalka further discloses
the power circuitry (1 of Zahalka, see fig.2. See rejection of claim 1, it is included in the modification ) further includes a multi-winding three-phase transformer (1, see fig.1 and abstract) for each electrode (8), the multi-winding three- phase transformer (1, see fig.1) coupled to an input of the CCV (5) for the electrode (8, see fig.2), the multi-winding three- phase transformer (1, see fig.1) including primary windings (inherent feature of the transformer. See evidences at the website What is a Transformer (And How Does it Work)? | Electrical4U | Electrical4U) configured to receive respective phases of a three- phase power voltage (three- phase power voltage from network 2), and secondary windings (inherent feature of the transformer. See evidences at the website What is a Transformer (And How Does it Work)? | Electrical4U | Electrical4U) to deliver the three-phase power voltage to the CCV (5 of Zahalka).
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Patrizio in view of Zahalka further discloses the power supply further includes control circuitry (12, see fig.3 of Zahalka) operably coupled to the CCV (5 of Zahalka) for each electrode (8, see fig.3 of Zahalka), and configured to control a frequency of the single-phase voltage delivered by the CCV to the electrode (“The thyristors 6 allow passage of alternating electric current of a frequency selected by reference signal selector 12 to the electrodes 8”, See col. 4, lines 56-59 of Zahalka).
Regarding claim 10, Patrizio further discloses
A power supply (24, see fig.1) for an electric arc furnace (11, see fig.1) in which heat is generated by passage of current through one or more electrodes (one electrode 13, see fig.1) that causes an electric arc between the one or more electrodes (one electrode 13, see fig.1) and a metal (M, see fig.1) in the electric arc furnace (11, see fig.1 and para.0055),
the power supply (24, see fig.1) coupleable to and between the electric arc furnace (11, see fig.1) and a utility (16, see fig.1) configured to provide three-phase alternating current (AC) power (See para.0062: “the mains electric network 16 can be three-phase”).
Patrizio does not expressly disclose the power supply comprising: power circuitry including a cycloconverter (CCV) for each electrode of the one or more electrodes, the CCV configured to receive three-phase power voltage and produce a single-phase voltage with reduced frequency that is delivered to the electrode to cause the electrode to create the electric arc that produces the heat to melt the metal; and control circuitry operably coupled to the CCV for each electrode, and configured to control a frequency of the single-phase voltage delivered by the CCV to the electrode.
Zahalka discloses an electric furnace system (see fig.2) comprising:
the power supply (combo 1 and 5, see fig.2) including power circuitry (1) with a cycloconverter (5, see fig.2) for each electrode (8) of the one or more electrodes (8, see fig.2), the CCV (5, see fig.3) configured to receive three-phase power voltage (three-phase power voltage supplied from the three-phase network 2, see fig.2) and produce a single-phase voltage (7, see fig.2) with reduced frequency (“ … a frequency lower than 60 or 50 Hz”, see col.2 lines 35-38 and lines 57-62) that is delivered to the electrode (8) to cause the electrode to create the electric arc that produces the heat to melt the metal (intended use of CVV. In addition, by having the CVV in the modification of Patrizio in view of Zahalka, the CVV would be able to cause the electrode of Patrizio to create the electric arc that produces the heat to melt the metal of Patrizio).
control circuitry (combo 12-14, see fig.3) operably coupled to the CCV (5, see fig.3) for each electrode (8), and configured to control a frequency of the single-phase voltage delivered by the CCV (5) to the electrode (See col. 4 lines 46-58).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the power supply of Zahalka for the one of Patrizio so as “the power supply including power circuitry with a cycloconverter (CCV) for each electrode of the one or more electrodes, the CCV configured to receive three-phase power voltage and produce a single-phase voltage with reduced frequency that is delivered to the electrode to cause the electrode to create the electric arc that produces the heat to melt the metal” as claimed, since the substitution one element for another one would yield a predictable result of supplying voltage and current to the electrode(s). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Patrizio to incorporate the “control circuitry operably coupled to the CCV for each electrode, and configured to control a frequency of the single-phase voltage delivered by the CCV to the electrode” of Zahalka. Doing so allows to “stabilize the favorable anticorrosion effect of the low optimal frequency” (See abstract of Zahalka) .
Regarding claim 13, the modification of Patrizio in view of Zahalka further discloses
the power circuitry (1 of Zahalka, see fig.2. See rejection of claim 10, it is included in the modification ) further includes a multi-winding three-phase transformer (1, see fig.1 and abstract) for each electrode (8), the multi-winding three- phase transformer (1, see fig.1) coupled to an input of the CCV (5) for the electrode (8, see fig.2), the multi-winding three- phase transformer (1, see fig.1) including primary windings (inherent feature of the transformer. See evidences at the website What is a Transformer (And How Does it Work)? | Electrical4U | Electrical4U) configured to receive respective phases of a three- phase power voltage (three- phase power voltage from network 2), and secondary windings (inherent feature of the transformer. See evidences at the website What is a Transformer (And How Does it Work)? | Electrical4U | Electrical4U) to deliver the three-phase power voltage to the CCV (5 of Zahalka).
Claims 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrizio in view of Zahalka as applied to claims 1 or 10, respectively, and further in view of Pelly (US 4013937 A)
Regarding claim 3, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the CCV includes: a positive group converter configured to rectify a first of the three-phase power voltage to produce a first single-phase voltage; a negative group converter configured to rectify a second of the three-phase power voltage to produce a second single-phase voltage; and an intergroup reactor (IGR) connected between the positive group converter and the negative group converter, the IGR configured to produce the single-phase voltage from the first single-phase voltage and the second single-phase voltage.
Pelly discloses a naturally commutated cycloconverter, comprising:
a positive group converter (111, see fig.22) configured to rectify a first of the three-phase power voltage to produce a first single-phase voltage (See claim 1);
a negative group converter (112, see fig.22) configured to rectify a second of the three-phase power voltage to produce a second single-phase voltage (See claim 1); and
an intergroup reactor (IGR) (IR, see fog.22) connected between the positive group converter (111, see fig.22) and the negative group converter (112, see fig.22), the IGR (IR, see fog.22) configured to produce the single-phase voltage from the first single-phase voltage and the second single-phase voltage (see col.25, lines 35-56).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the CCV of Patrizio in view of Zahalka to have “a positive group converter configured to rectify a first of the three-phase power voltage to produce a first single-phase voltage; a negative group converter configured to rectify a second of the three-phase power voltage to produce a second single-phase voltage; and an intergroup reactor (IGR) connected between the positive group converter and the negative group converter, the IGR configured to produce the single-phase voltage from the first single-phase voltage and the second single-phase voltage” as taught by Pelly. Doing so allows to “compensate for the variations of the lagging quadrature component of the input current of the cycloconverter caused by output current variations, thereby permitting optimization of the high frequency link” (See abstract of Pelly).
Regarding claim 14, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the CCV includes: a positive group converter configured to rectify a first of the three-phase power voltage to produce a first single-phase voltage; a negative group converter configured to rectify a second of the three-phase power voltage to produce a second single-phase voltage; and an intergroup reactor (IGR) connected between the positive group converter and the negative group converter, the IGR configured to produce the single-phase voltage from the first single-phase voltage and the second single-phase voltage.
Pelly discloses a naturally commutated cycloconverter, comprising:
a positive group converter (111, see fig.22) configured to rectify a first of the three-phase power voltage to produce a first single-phase voltage (See claim 1);
a negative group converter (112, see fig.22) configured to rectify a second of the three-phase power voltage to produce a second single-phase voltage (See claim 1); and
an intergroup reactor (IGR) (IR, see fog.22) connected between the positive group converter (111, see fig.22) and the negative group converter (112, see fig.22), the IGR (IR, see fog.22) configured to produce the single-phase voltage from the first single-phase voltage and the second single-phase voltage (see col.25, lines 35-56).
Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the CCV of Patrizio in view of Zahalka to have “a positive group converter configured to rectify a first of the three-phase power voltage to produce a first single-phase voltage; a negative group converter configured to rectify a second of the three-phase power voltage to produce a second single-phase voltage; and an intergroup reactor (IGR) connected between the positive group converter and the negative group converter, the IGR configured to produce the single-phase voltage from the first single-phase voltage and the second single-phase voltage” as taught by Pelly. Doing so allows to “compensate for the variations of the lagging quadrature component of the input current of the cycloconverter caused by output current variations, thereby permitting optimization of the high frequency link” (See abstract of Pelly).
Claims 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrizio in view of Zahalka as applied to claim(s) 7 and 10, respectively, and further in view of Bruce (WO2013085522A1) and Hirata (US 4417193 A)
Regarding claim 8, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the control circuitry includes: a transducer configured to measure the single-phase voltage; and processing circuitry coupled to the transducer and the CCV,
the processing circuitry configured to at least: determine a difference between a set point voltage and the single-phase voltage as measured; and control the frequency of the single-phase voltage to reduce the difference.
Bruce discloses an apparatus is configured to supply power to a load, comprising:
the control circuitry includes:
a transducer (410, see fig.4 and para.0020) configured to measure the single-phase voltage (single-phase voltage of Zahalka); and processing circuitry (210, see fig.2,4) coupled to the transducer (410) and the CCV (230, see fig.2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the control circuitry of Patrizio in view of Zahalka to have the “a transducer configured to measure the single-phase voltage; and processing circuitry coupled to the transducer and the CCV” as taught by Bruce. Doing so enables automatic electrode control and power optimization.
Patrizio in view of Zahalka/ Bruce discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, but is silent on the processing circuitry configured to at least: determine a difference between a set point voltage and the single-phase voltage as measured; and control the frequency of the single-phase voltage to reduce the difference.
However, Hirata discloses a method and apparatus for controlling a speed of an AC motor energized by a source of alternating current through a frequency converter, comprising:
the processing circuitry (see fig.4) configured to at least:
determine a difference between a set point voltage and the single-phase voltage as measured (See col1, lines 43-46: “the primary voltage detected by the output voltage detector 20 is compared with the output voltage frequency reference signal e.sub.2 with a comparator 23 in a closed voltage controlling loop”); and control the frequency of the single-phase voltage to reduce the difference (see col.1 lines 56-60: “within a predetermined output current, the primary voltage and the primary frequency of the induction motor 15 are controlled in a predetermined manner according to the output voltage frequency signal e.sub.2”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the processing circuitry of Patrizio in view of Zahalka/ Bruce to be “configured to at least: determine a difference between a set point voltage and the single-phase voltage as measured; and control the frequency of the single-phase voltage to reduce the difference”. Doing so allows the output voltage and frequency are controlled in a predetermined manner.
Regarding claim 19, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the control circuitry includes: a transducer configured to measure the single-phase voltage; and processing circuitry coupled to the transducer and the CCV,
the processing circuitry configured to at least: determine a difference between a set point voltage and the single-phase voltage as measured; and control the frequency of the single-phase voltage to reduce the difference.
Bruce discloses an apparatus is configured to supply power to a load, comprising:
the control circuitry includes:
a transducer (410, see fig.4 and para.0020) configured to measure the single-phase voltage (single-phase voltage of Zahalka); and processing circuitry (210, see fig.2,4) coupled to the transducer (410) and the CCV (230, see fig.2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the control circuitry of Patrizio in view of Zahalka to have the “a transducer configured to measure the single-phase voltage; and processing circuitry coupled to the transducer and the CCV” as taught by Bruce. Doing so enables automatic electrode control and power optimization.
Patrizio in view of Zahalka/ Bruce discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, but is silent on the processing circuitry configured to at least: determine a difference between a set point voltage and the single-phase voltage as measured; and control the frequency of the single-phase voltage to reduce the difference.
However, Hirata discloses a method and apparatus for controlling a speed of an AC motor energized by a source of alternating current through a frequency converter, comprising:
the processing circuitry (see fig.4) configured to at least:
determine a difference between a set point voltage and the single-phase voltage as measured (See col1, lines 43-46: “the primary voltage detected by the output voltage detector 20 is compared with the output voltage frequency reference signal e.sub.2 with a comparator 23 in a closed voltage controlling loop”); and control the frequency of the single-phase voltage to reduce the difference (see col.1 lines 56-60: “within a predetermined output current, the primary voltage and the primary frequency of the induction motor 15 are controlled in a predetermined manner according to the output voltage frequency signal e.sub.2”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the processing circuitry of Patrizio in view of Zahalka/ Bruce to be “configured to at least: determine a difference between a set point voltage and the single-phase voltage as measured; and control the frequency of the single-phase voltage to reduce the difference”. Doing so allows the output voltage and frequency are controlled in a predetermined manner.
Claims 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrizio in view of Zahalka/ Bruce/ Hirata as applied to claims 8 and 19, respectively, and further in view of Schmitt (US 5968398 A)
Regarding claim 9, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the processing circuitry configured to determine the difference between the set point voltage and the single-phase voltage includes the processing circuitry configured to: determine a root mean square (RMS) of the single-phase
Schmitt discloses an apparatus and method for non-contact detection and control of inductive heating of heat retentive food server warming plates, comprising:
the processing circuitry configured to determine the difference between the set point voltage and the single-phase voltage includes the processing circuitry configured to: determine a root mean square (RMS) of the single-phase voltage as measured; and determine the difference between the set point voltage and the RMS (see col.9, lines 15-18: “ comparator 240 is connected to the convertor 220 for comparing the converted RMS voltage from the converter 220 to a set point voltage 230”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the processing circuitry of Patrizio in view of Zahalka/ Bruce/ Hirata to be “configured to determine the difference between the set point voltage and the single-phase voltage includes the processing circuitry configured to: determine a root mean square (RMS) of the single-phase” as taught by Schmitt. Doing so allows to control the output voltage effectively.
Regarding claim 20, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the processing circuitry configured to determine the difference between the set point voltage and the single-phase voltage includes the processing circuitry configured to: determine a root mean square (RMS) of the single-phase
Schmitt discloses an apparatus and method for non-contact detection and control of inductive heating of heat retentive food server warming plates, comprising:
the processing circuitry configured to determine the difference between the set point voltage and the single-phase voltage includes the processing circuitry configured to: determine a root mean square (RMS) of the single-phase voltage as measured; and determine the difference between the set point voltage and the RMS (see col.9, lines 15-18: “ comparator 240 is connected to the convertor 220 for comparing the converted RMS voltage from the converter 220 to a set point voltage 230”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the processing circuitry of Patrizio in view of Zahalka/ Bruce/ Hirata to be “configured to determine the difference between the set point voltage and the single-phase voltage includes the processing circuitry configured to: determine a root mean square (RMS) of the single-phase” as taught by Schmitt. Doing so allows to control the output voltage effectively.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrizio in view of Zahalka as applied to claim 10 and further in view of Pasch (US 20220034586 A1)
Regarding claim 11, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the power supply further comprises a step-down transformer coupleable to the utility, and coupled to the power circuitry, the step- down transformer configured to step down three-phase voltage of the three-phase AC power.
Pasch discloses A method for operating an electric arc furnace having at least one electrode, comprising:
the power supply further comprises a step-down transformer (202, see fig.1) coupleable to the utility (201, see fig.1), and coupled to the power circuitry (combo 405-408, see fig.1), the step- down transformer configured to step down three-phase voltage of the three-phase AC power (see para.003: “. At least one furnace transformer (202) serves to step down the system voltage…and para.004: “ three-phase furnaces”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the power supply of Patrizio in view of Zahalka to comprise the “step-down transformer coupleable to the utility, and coupled to the power circuitry, the step- down transformer configured to step down three-phase voltage of the three-phase AC power” as taught by Pasch. Doing so allows to convert the high supply voltage to the lower voltage required by the arc.
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrizio in view of Zahalka/ Pasch as applied to claim 11 and further in view of Backes (US20150049780A1)
Regarding claim 12, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the power supply further comprises a bus bar coupled to and between the step-down transformer and the power circuitry, the bus bar configured to distribute the three-phase voltage to the power circuitry.
Backes discloses a method for operating an electric arc furnace, comprising:
the power supply further comprises a bus bar (16, see fig.1) coupled to and between the step-down transformer (10, see fig.1) and the power circuitry (24, see fig.1), the bus bar (16) configured to distribute the three-phase voltage to the power circuitry (24, see fig.1 and para.0021).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the power supply of Patrizio in view of Zahalka/ Pasch to comprise the “bus bar coupled to and between the step-down transformer and the power circuitry, the bus bar configured to distribute the three-phase voltage to the power circuitry” as taught by Backes. Doing so increases current carrying capability.
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrizio in view of Zahalka as applied to claim 10 and further in view of Konig (US 20080123714 A1)
Regarding claim 15, the modification discloses the claimed limitations as set forth, except the power circuitry further includes a bypass and safety switch for each electrode, the bypass and safety switch coupled to the CCV for the electrode, and coupleable to the electrode, the bypass and safety switch configured to switchably connect and disconnect the power supply and the electrode.
Konig discloses an electronic circuit and a method for feeding power to at least one electrode of an alternating-current electric-arc furnace, comprising:
the power circuitry further includes a bypass and safety switch (9, see fig.1) for each electrode (11, see fig.1), the bypass and safety switch (9, see fig.1) coupled to the CCV (CCV of Zahalka.By incorporating the switch 9 of Konig into the modification, the switch would be directly/indirectly coupled to the CVV) for the electrode (electrode of Patrizio in view of Zahalka/ Konig), and coupleable to the electrode (11), the bypass and safety switch (9) configured to switchably connect and disconnect the power supply (6) and the electrode (9, see fig.1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the power circuitry of Patrizio in view of Zahalkato include the “bypass and safety switch for each electrode, the bypass and safety switch coupled to the CCV for the electrode, and coupleable to the electrode, the bypass and safety switch configured to switchably connect and disconnect the power supply and the electrode” as taught by Konig. Doing so minimizes furnace downtime and allows continued operation in a backup mode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 16-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US3431483A discloses cycloconverter power circuits using interphase windings to interconnect the outputs of selected numbers of phase controlled silicon controlled rectifiers into groups within positive and negative banks.
/TIFFANY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761