DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-6, 9-13 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged. Furthermore, claim 16 is withdrawn as it is dependent on non-elected claim 14, and claims 21-24 were previously canceled by applicant.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). While KR10-2023-0004291 has support for the instant application; however, KR10-2022-0128055 does not have support for the instant application. As such, the instant application is entitled only to the foreign priority date of KR10-2023-0004291 that is January 11, 2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claim limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 4:
wherein the cell region further comprises a plurality of third patterns extending in the backside wiring layer in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction, and wherein the plurality of third patterns are connected to the plurality of second patterns.
Claim 19:
wherein the cell region further comprises a plurality of third patterns extending in the backside wiring layer in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction, and wherein the plurality of third patterns are connected to the plurality of second patterns.
Claim 20:
wherein the cell region further comprises a plurality of fourth patterns extending in the backside wiring layer in the first horizontal direction, the plurality of fourth patterns being configured to receive a second supply voltage provided to the plurality of cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the cell region further comprises a plurality of third patterns extending in the backside wiring layer in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction, and wherein the plurality of third patterns are connected to the plurality of second patterns”. It is unclear what structural features refer to a plurality of third patterns… and how they are structurally positioned to claim 1 limitations. To help remove the ambiguity, the Examiner suggests that applicants map said claim feature to Fig. 1 to which claim 1 is mappable.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “wherein the cell region further comprises a plurality of third patterns extending in the backside wiring layer in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction, and wherein the plurality of third patterns are connected to the plurality of second patterns”. It is unclear what structural features refer to a plurality of third patterns… and how they are structurally positioned to claim 1 limitations. To help remove the ambiguity, the Examiner suggests that applicants map said claim feature to Fig. 1 to which claim 1 is mappable.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein the cell region further comprises a plurality of fourth patterns extending in the backside wiring layer in the first horizontal direction, the plurality of fourth patterns being configured to receive a second supply voltage provided to the plurality of cells”. It is unclear what structural features refer to a plurality of fourth patterns… and how they are structurally positioned to claim 1 limitations. To help remove the ambiguity, the Examiner suggests that applicants map said claim feature to Fig. 1 to which claim 1 is mappable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-13 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM et al (10-2020-0139181) (US Pub. 2022/0130737 is provided for translation purposes).
Regarding claim 1, AKAMINE teaches an integrated circuit comprising:
a cell region in which a plurality of cells 140 are arranged (Fig. 1-4 and note annotations in Fig. 4 below, KIM teaches the presence of cells in area 140, Para [0030]); and
a peripheral region 122 in which a circuit configured to control the plurality of cells is arranged (Fig. 1-4, it is understood that peripheral regions comprises circuits), wherein the cell region comprises:
a plurality of first gate lines over a substrate 130 (see annotation in Fig. 4 below);
a plurality of first patterns 331 in a first wiring layer above the plurality of first gate lines (see Fig. 4 below);
a plurality of second patterns 235 extending in a first horizontal direction in a backside wiring layer under the substrate (see Fig. 3 below); and
a plurality of first vias 141, each of the plurality of first vias passing through the substrate 130 in a vertical direction (see Fig. 4 below),
wherein each of the plurality of first vias 141 comprises a top surface connected to a respective one of the plurality of first patterns 331 and a bottom surface connected to a respective one of the plurality of second patterns 235 (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, it is understood that the semiconductor comprises a plurality of first patterns, a plurality of second patterns, a plurality of gate lines and a plurality of first vias).
Regarding claim 2, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the plurality of second patterns 235 comprise at least one second pattern configured to receive a first supply voltage provided to the plurality of cells (Fig. 1-4, the plurality of second patterns is/are capable of receiving a first supply voltage for the plurality of cells).
Regarding claim 3, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein the at least one second pattern 235 extends to the peripheral region in the first horizontal direction (Fig. 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein the cell region further comprises a plurality of third patterns (e.g. 234 and/or 233) extending in the backside wiring layer in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction, and wherein the plurality of third patterns are connected to the plurality of second patterns 235 (Fig. 1-4) .
Regarding claim 5, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein the plurality of second patterns 235 further comprise at least one second pattern 235 configured to receive a second supply voltage provided to the plurality of cells, the at least one second pattern extending to the peripheral region (Fig. 1-4, the plurality of second patterns is/are capable of said functionality).
Regarding claim 6, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 5, wherein the peripheral region further comprises a peripheral circuit (it is understood that the peripheral circuits in the peripheral region) configured to generate the second supply voltage from an external supply voltage provided from outside the peripheral region (Fig. 1-4, the peripheral circuit is capable of said functionality).
Regarding claim 9, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of second patterns 235 is configured to receive a control signal provided commonly to cells, among the plurality of cells, in a row extending in the first horizontal direction (Fig. 1-4, the plurality of second pattern is capable of said functionality).
Regarding claim 10, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 9, wherein the plurality of second patterns 235 extend in the peripheral region, and wherein the peripheral region comprises a plurality of third vias (the other vias 141) passing through the substrate 130 in the vertical direction and connected to the plurality of second patterns (see Fig. 1-4).
Regarding claim 11, KIM teaches an integrated circuit comprising:
a cell region in which a plurality of cells 140 are arranged (Fig. 1-4, KIM teaches the presence of cells in area 140, Para [0030]); and
a peripheral region 122 in which a circuit configured to control the plurality of cells is arranged (Fig. 1-4, it is understood that peripheral regions comprises circuits), wherein the cell region comprises:
a plurality of first gate lines over a substrate 130 (see annotation in Fig. 4 above);
a plurality of first patterns 331 in a first wiring layer above the plurality of first gate lines (see Fig. 4 above); and
a plurality of second patterns 235 extending in a first horizontal direction in a backside wiring layer under the substrate (see Fig. 4 above);
wherein each of the plurality of second patterns 235 is configured to receive a control signal provided commonly to cells, among the plurality of cells, in a row extending in the first horizontal direction (the plurality of second cells is capable of receiving a control signal, see annotation in Fig. 4 above).
Regarding claim 12, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 11, wherein the cell region further comprises a plurality of vias 141, each of the plurality of vias passing through the substrate 130 in a vertical direction and connected to a respective one of the plurality of second patterns 235 (see Fig. 4 above).
Regarding claim 13, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of vias 141 pass through the substrate in the vertical direction in a region of the cell region between the plurality of cells (Fig. 1-4).
Regarding claim 17, AKAMINE teaches an integrated circuit comprising:
a cell region in which a plurality of cells 140 are arranged (Fig. 1-4 and note annotations in Fig. 4 above, KIM teaches the presence of cells in area 140, Para [0030]); and
a peripheral region 122 adjacent to the cell region in which a circuit configured to control the plurality of cells is arranged (Fig. 1-4, it is understood that peripheral regions comprises circuits), wherein the cell region comprises:
a plurality of first gate lines over a substrate 130 (see annotation in Fig. 4 above);
a plurality of first patterns 331 extending in a first wiring layer above the plurality of first gate lines (see Fig. 4 above);
a plurality of second patterns 235 extending in a first horizontal direction in a backside wiring layer under the substrate 130 (see Fig. 3 below); the plurality of second patterns 235 being configured to receive a first supply voltage supplied to the plurality of cells (the plurality of second patterns are capable of receiving a first power supply, see Fig. 4 above); and
a plurality of first vias 141, each of the plurality of first vias 141 passing through the substrate 130 in a vertical direction and connected to a respective one of the plurality of first patterns 331 and a respective one of the plurality of second patterns 235 (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4, it is understood that the semiconductor comprises a plurality of first patterns, a plurality of second patterns, a plurality of gate lines and a plurality of first vias).
Regarding claim 18, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 17, wherein the plurality of second patterns extend to the peripheral region in the first horizontal direction (Fig. 1-4).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 17, wherein the cell region further comprises a plurality of third patterns (234 and/or 233) extending in the backside wiring layer in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction, and wherein the plurality of third patterns are connected to the plurality of second patterns 235 (Fig. 1-4).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, KIM teaches the integrated circuit of claim 17, wherein the cell region further comprises a plurality of fourth patterns (e.g. 232 and/or 231) extending in the backside wiring layer in the first horizontal direction, the plurality of fourth patterns being configured to receive a second supply voltage provided to the plurality of cells (Fig. 1-4).
Response to Arguments
With respect to the priority, the Examiner maintains that KR10-2022-0128055 (hereafter ‘055) does not have support for the instant application as the content of ‘055 submitted on 11/09/2023 is completely different from the disclosure of the instant application. Therefore, the instant application is not entitled to the priority date of ‘055.
The Examiner maintains the drawing objection to claims 4 and 19-20 as applicant has merely alluded to Fig. 8A & 7C in the Remarks without showing the claim structural relationship between said drawings and Fig.1 to which independent claim 1 is mappable. In other words, mapping of claims 4 & 19-20 limitations to Fig. 1 will help resolve this ambiguity.
With respect to the prior art rejection, applicants’ arguments have been considered but are moot in light of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818