DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for consideration
Claim Objections
Claims 7-10, and 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“The device” should be corrected as “The network traffic management device”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dutt et al. [ US Patent Application No 2014/0337243 ].
4. As per claim 1, Dutt discloses the invention as claimed including a method implemented by a network traffic management system comprising one or more host devices, server devices, network traffic management devices, or client devices the method [ i.e. network communications system ] [ Figure 1; and paragraphs 0036, and 0037 ] comprising:
retrieving, in response to a received request requiring identification of a client, user profile data associated with a user at the client [ i.e. the information obtained from the performance of the one or more kinetic motions correlated with contextual information such as that obtained from non-kinetic sensors and other sources to provide more information to make accurate authentication decisions ] [ paragraphs 0067-0073 ];
calculating a user confidence score based on a determined baseline user profile score for the user at the client based on prior values associated with metrics in one or more categories obtained from the retrieved user profile data [ i.e. observed past performance of these motions ] [ paragraph 0064 ] and a determined current user profile score for the user at the client based on current values associated with metrics in one or more categories obtained from the retrieved user profile data [ i.e. each of the characteristics has a dynamic weighting such, based on circumstance such that the weighting may change in the calculation with respect to pre-defined rules, and characteristics include the velocity of the user device, characteristic of environment, biometric, behaviors ] [ paragraphs 0062-0068, 0160 and 0161 ];
comparing the calculated user confidence score against a stored threshold range comprising minimum and maximum confidence threshold scores [ i.e. compare said stored information with a stored user profile, and the score is below a threshold because the performance of the one or more kinetic motions did not fall within certain bounds ] [ Abstract; and paragraphs 0012, 0065, 0086, and 0088 ]; and
executing an action with respect to the user at the client in response to the received request based on the comparison of the calculated user confidence score against the stored threshold range [ i.e. a request is sent to a user device ] [ paragraphs 0140, 0190, and 0224 ].
5. As per claim 3, Dutt discloses wherein the categories comprise a human non-touch related category, a human touch related category, an environment- related category, and a device-related [ Figure 3B; and paragraphs 0098-0100 ].
6. As per claim 4, Dutt discloses wherein the determined baseline user profile score and the determined current user profile score are each further determined by applying an assigned stored weight to at least one value associated with the metrics in a combination of the categories [ i.e. dynamic weights assigned to each of the user specific characteristics ] [ paragraphs 0044, and 0089 ].
. As per claim 5, Dutt discloses determining if additional data in at least one of the metrics from the retrieved user profile data is needed when the calculated user confidence score is outside the threshold range; wherein when the determining indicates the additional data is needed, then: obtaining the additional data; recalculating the current user profile score based on the current values associated with the metrics in one of the categories obtained from the retrieved user profile data with the additional data [ i.e. if further verification is required, authentication is also made using other characteristics such as speed, acceleration and key login ] [ paragraphs 0089, 0141, and 0223 ]; wherein when the determining indicates the additional data is not needed, then: identifying the user as having an unknown designation; executing the identification action with respect to the user at the client based on the unknown designation [ i.e. identifying a fraudulent user and send verification message ] [ paragraphs 0190, 0199 and 0214 ].
6. As per claims 6, and 8-10, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 1, 3-5.
6. As per claims 11, and 13-15, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 1, 3-5.
6. As per claims 16, and 18-20, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 1, 3-5.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sinchak et al. [ US Patent Application No 2017/0041145 ].
8. As per claim 1, Sinchak discloses the invention as claimed including a method implemented by a network traffic management system comprising one or more host devices, server devices, network traffic management devices, or client devices the method [ Figure 5; and paragraph 0012 ] comprising:
retrieving, in response to a received request requiring identification of a client, user profile data associated with a user at the client [ i.e. gathering present conditions from a plurality of device sensors ] [ 310, Figure 5; and paragraphs 0046-0050 ];
calculating a user confidence score [ i.e. trust score ] based on a determined baseline user profile score [ i.e. pre-recorded hash ] [ paragraph 0012 ] for the user at the client based on prior values associated with metrics in one or more categories obtained from the retrieved user profile data [ i.e. all measured conditions ] [ paragraph 0026 ] and a determined current user profile score for the user at the client based on current values associated with metrics in one or more categories obtained from the retrieved user profile data [ i.e. present hash ] [ paragraphs 0034, and 0035 ];
comparing the calculated user confidence score against a stored threshold range comprising minimum and maximum confidence threshold scores [ i.e. compare against set threshold ] [ 450, 470, Figure 6; and paragraph 0051 ]; and
executing an action with respect to the user at the client in response to the received request based on the comparison of the calculated user confidence score against the stored threshold range [ i.e. user must enter their conventional authentication token ] [ paragraph 0052 ].
9. As per claims 6, 11, and 16, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dutt et al. [ US Patent Application No 2014/0337243 ], in view of Abuelsaad et al. [ US Patent Application No 2014/0317263 ].
As per claim 2, Dutt discloses determining, in response to the received request requiring identification, if the user profile data associated with the user at the client has been generated [ i.e. build user profile ] [ paragraphs 0137, and 0141 ]. Dutt does not specifically disclose generating the user profile data for the metrics in at least one of the categories when the determination indicates an absence of the user profile data associated with the user at the client. Abuelsaad discloses generating the user profile data for the metrics in at least one of the categories when the determination indicates an absence of the user profile data associated with the user at the client [ i.e. profile may be generated for the unknown user or newly identified user ] [ paragraphs 0057, 0058, and 0079 ]. It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Dutt in view of Abuelsaad because the teaching of Abuelsaad would enable to provide management of system security and user identification based on command historical analysis in a networked computing environment [ Abuelsaad, paragraph 0001 ].
As per claims 7, 12, and 17, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 2.
Conclusion
/DUSTIN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446