DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1-20, the bullet points should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085) in view of Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546) and Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489).
Regarding claim 1, Nakajima discloses a modular computer system comprising: a chassis (Figures 25-29, main body 2) comprising: a controller (circuit board 95); an input deck (top wall 7, including touch pad placing portion 132, wrist rest portions 142, and keyboard placing portions 14) defining an array of connector locations (areas corresponding to engaging parts 31); and an array of couplers (31), each coupler (31) in the array of couplers (31): arranged at a connector location (areas corresponding to 31), in the set of connector locations, on the input deck (7); a display (display unit 3) coupled to the chassis (2); and a module kit (see Figure 25): comprising: a keyboard module (keyboard 17) comprising: an array of keys (keys 22) arranged on a first side of the keyboard module (top side of 17); and a first connector (FFC 23; see Figure 24): arranged on a second side (bottom side of 17), opposite the first side (top side of 17), of the keyboard module (17); and a trackpad module (comprised of touch pad 33 and touch pad cover 136) comprising: a touch sensor (touch pad 134) arranged on a first side of the trackpad module (top side of 33, 136); and a second connector (FFC 94): arranged on a second side (bottom side of 33, 136), opposite the first side (top side of 33, 136), of the trackpad module (33, 136); and operable in a first configuration comprising: the keyboard module (17) spanning an upper region (14) of the input deck (7); and the trackpad module (33, 136) spanning a lower region (comprised of 132 and 142), adjacent the upper region (14), of the input deck (7).
Nakajima does not disclose the array of couplers on the chassis comprising a magnetic element and an electronic communication port; the first connector: configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers to transiently retain the keyboard module across the input deck; and configured to electronically couple to the array of couplers to transmit electrical signals from the array of keys to the controller; the second connector: configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers to transiently retain the trackpad module across the input deck; and configured to electronically couple the array of couplers to transmit electrical signals from the touch sensor to the controller; and the first connector arranged over a first connector location in the set of connector locations; the second connector arranged over a second connector location, different from the first connector location, in the set of connector locations.
However, Ganthier teaches a modular computer system comprising: a chassis (shell 102) including a controller (keyboard controller 99) and an array of couplers (connectors 105, 111, 121), the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) on the chassis (102) comprising an electronic communication port (slots 107, 113, 123); a keyboard (keyboard module 130) comprising a first connector (connector 136), the first connector (136) configured to electronically couple to the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transmit electrical signals from the array of keys (keys of 130) to the controller (99); a trackpad module (trackball module 140) comprising a second connector (connector 146), the second connector (146) configured to electronically couple the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transmit electrical signals from the touch sensor (track ball of 146) to the controller (99); and the first connector (136) arranged over a first connector location (area of 130 corresponding to 136) in the set of connector locations (locations on modules 130, 140, 150 corresponding to connectors 136, 146, 156); the second connector (140) arranged over a second connector location (area of 140 corresponding to 146), different from the first connector location (area of 130 corresponding to 136), in the set of connector locations (locations on modules 130, 140, 150 corresponding to connectors 136, 146, 156).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the connectors of Nakajima for the coupler/connectors of Ganthier according to known methods to yield the predictable results of connecting an input module to control circuitry of a computer system. Doing so would have also increased the modularity of the system by replacing a wired connection for a quick connector (see col. 4 in Ganthier).
It would have also been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the keyboard controller of Ganthier to the PCB of Nakajima. Doing so would have allowed the system to identify the different input modules connected to the system to provide the appropriate controlling operation (col. 6, ln. 1-23 in Ganthier).
Nakajima as modified by Ganthier does not teach the array of couplers comprising a magnetic element, such that a first connector is configured to magnetically couple the coupler to transiently retain the keyboard module across the input deck, and the second connector is configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers to transiently retain the trackpad module across the input deck.
However, Clapper teaches a coupler (Figure 1A, base device connection interface 109) comprising a magnetic element (electromagnetic pole members 111A-111B), and a connector (mobile device connection interface 107) configured to magnetically couple the coupler (109) to transiently retain a module (mobile device 101 being magnetically coupled to base device 103 via connection between connectors 107, 109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the magnetic elements of Clapper to the array of connectors of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier to transiently retain the keyboard module and trackpad module across the input deck. Doing so would have helped ensure the connectors were properly aligned during the connection process and remained connected during operation (see Paragraphs [0020], [0023] in Clapper).
Regarding claim 3, Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper teaches the system of Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the controller (95 in Nakajima, 99 in Ganthier) is configured to: read a set of electrical values from the array of couplers (105, 113 in Ganthier, as modified by Clapper) on the input deck (7 in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper); detect coupling of the keyboard module (17 in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper) across the input deck of the chassis (7 of 2 in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper) based on the set of electrical values (see col 5, ln. 65-67; col. 6, ln. 1-23 in Ganthier); detect coupling of the trackpad module (33, 136 in in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper) across the input deck of the chassis (7 of 2 in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper) based on the set of electrical values (see col 5, ln. 65-67; col. 6, ln. 1-23 in Ganthier); and in response to detecting coupling of the keyboard module (17 in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper) and the trackpad module (33, 136 in in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper): initiate the keyboard module (17 in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper) and the trackpad module (33, 136 in in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper) into an operating mode to transmit electrical signals from the array of keys (22 in Nakajima) and the touch sensor (134 in Nakajima) to the controller (95 in Nakajima, 99 in Ganthier; see col 5, ln. 65-67; col. 6, ln. 1-23 in Ganthier).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085), Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), and in further view of Kohlman (US Publication No. 2007/0236459).
Regarding claim 4, Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper teaches the system of Claim 1, and further teaches (in Nakajima) wherein the module kit (see Figure 25 in Nakajima) further comprises: a first spacer module (frame member 41a): defining a first rectangular geometry (see Figure 25); and a second spacer module (frame member 41b): defining a second rectangular geometry congruent the first rectangular geometry (see Figure 25); and wherein the module kit (see Figure 25) is operable in a second configuration comprising: the first spacer module (41a): spanning a first area (left 14b) in the upper region (14) of the input deck (7) and arranged proximal a first lateral side of the input deck (left side of 7); the second spacer module (frame member 41b): spanning a second area (right 14b) in the upper region (14) of the input deck (7) and arranged proximal a second lateral side (right side of 7), opposite the first lateral side (left side of 7), of the input deck (7); the keyboard module (17 in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper) as spanning a third area (14a), interposed between the first area (left 14b) and the second area (right 14b), in the upper region (14) of the input deck (7) to locate the first connector (136 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper) over the first connector location (location of 136 combined to 17 in Nakajima) in the set of connector locations (location of 136, 146 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper combined to 17 and 33 in Nakajima); and the trackpad module (33, 136 in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper) spanning the lower region (132, 142), adjacent the upper region (14), of the input deck (7) to locate the second connector (146 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper) over the second connector location (location of 146 combined to 17 in Nakajima) in the set of connector locations (location of 136, 146 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper combined to 17 and 33 in Nakajima).
Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper does not teach the first spacer module comprising a third connector configured to magnetically couple an array of couplers to transiently retain the spacer module across the input deck; the second spacer module comprising a fourth connector configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers to transiently retain the spacer module across the input deck; the first spacer module: spanning a first area to locate the third connector over a third connector location in the set of connector locations; the second spacer module spanning a second area to locate the fourth connector over a fourth connector location in the set of connector locations.
However, Kohlman teaches a first spacer module (Figure 5, control device 555; see also Figures 4A-4D) comprising a third connector (Paragraphs [0024], wired connection of control device); a second spacer module (control device 565) comprising a fourth connector (Paragraphs [0024], wired connection of control device); the first spacer module (555): spanning a first area (area of computer system 550 covered by 555) to locate the third connector (wired connection of 555) over a third connector location (connection location of wired connection of 555) in the set of connector locations (connection locations of 555, 565); the second spacer module (565) spanning a second area (area of 550 covered by 565) to locate the fourth connector (wired connection of 565) over a fourth connector location (connection location of wired connection location of 565) in the set of connector locations (connection locations of 555, 565).
Because the spacer modules of Nakajima and Kohlman are identically configured on the chassis (see Figure 25 in Nakajima; see Figure 5 in Kohlman), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the spacer modules of Nakajima for the functional spacer modules of Kohlman. Doing so would have provided the computing system with a spacer module having various functionalities (see Paragraphs [0023]-[0024] in Kohlman).
Ganthier teaches a spacer (keypad module 150, corresponding to 555, 565 in Kohlman) comprising a connector (connector 156) configured to electrically couple an array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transiently retain the spacer module (150) across an input deck (102).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the spacer connector of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, and Kohlman for the connector taught in Ganthier according to known methods to yield the predictable results of connecting an input module to control circuitry of a computer system. Doing so would have also increased the modularity of the system by replacing a wired connection for a quick connector (see Paragraphs [0024] in Kohlman; see col. 4 in Ganthier).
Clapper also teaches a connector (mobile device connection interface 107) configured to magnetically couple the coupler (109) to transiently retain a module (mobile device 101 being magnetically coupled to base device 103 via connection between connectors 107, 109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the magnetic elements of Clapper to the array of connectors of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, and Kohlman to transiently retain the spacer modules across the input deck. Doing so would have helped ensure the connectors were properly aligned during the connection process and remained connected during operation (see Paragraphs [0020], [0023] in Clapper).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085), Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), and in further view of Kohlman (US Publication No. 2007/0236459) and Wang (US Publication No. 2019/0196552).
Regarding claim 8, Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper teaches the system of Claim 1, and further teaches (in Ganthier) wherein the module kit (see Figure 1) further comprises a number-pad module (keypad 150) comprising: a second set of keys (keys on top side of 150) arranged on a first side of the number-pad module (top side of 150); and a third connector (connector 156): arranged on a second side (bottom side of 150), opposite the first side (top side of 150), of the number-pad module (150); configured to 105, 111, 121) to transiently retain the number-pad module (150) across the input deck (102); and configured to electronically couple the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transmit electrical signals from the second set of keys (keys of 150) to the controller (99); and wherein the module kit is operable in a second configuration comprising: the keyboard module (130): spanning a first area in the upper region of the input deck (102) to locate the first connector (136 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper) over the first connector location (location of 136 combined to 17 in Nakajima) in the set of connector locations (locations of 136, 146, 156); and arranged proximal a first lateral side of the input deck (side of 102); the number-pad module (150): spanning a second area (opening 120, corresponding to 14b in Nakajima), adjacent the first area (opening 104, corresponding to 14a in Nakajima), in the upper region of the input deck (102, corresponding to 14 in Nakajima) to locate the third connector (156) over a third connector location (location of 156) in the set of connector locations (locations of 136, 146, 156); and arranged proximal a second lateral side (second side of 102), opposite the first lateral side (first side of 102), of the input deck (102, corresponding to 7 in Nakajima); and further teaches (in Nakajima) the trackpad module (33, 136) spanning the lower region (132, 142), adjacent the upper region (14), of the input deck (7) to locate the second connector (146 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper) over the second connector location (location of 146 combined to 17 in Nakajima) in the set of connector locations (location of 136, 146 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper combined to 17 and 33 in Nakajima).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the number pad of Ganthier to the controller and upper region of the input deck in Nakajima as previously modified by Ganthier and Clapper. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the device by allowing a user to communicate different key inputs (see Figure 1 in Ganthier).
Clapper also teaches a connector (mobile device connection interface 107) configured to magnetically couple the coupler (109) to transiently retain a module (mobile device 101 being magnetically coupled to base device 103 via connection between connectors 107, 109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the magnetic elements of Clapper to the array of connectors of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier and Clapper to transiently retain the number-pad module across the input deck. Doing so would have helped ensure the connectors were properly aligned during the connection process and remained connected during operation (see Paragraphs [0020], [0023] in Clapper).
Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper does not explicitly teach wherein the keyboard module comprises the set of keys corresponding to an array of alpha-numerical symbols arranged in a QWERTY keyboard layout.
However, Kohlman teaches wherein a keyboard module (Figure 5, interchangeable keyboard 560) comprises the set of keys corresponding to an array of alpha-numerical symbols arranged in a QWERTY keyboard layout (see Figure 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the keys of the keyboard module in Nakajima as modified by Ganthier and Clapper to be in a QWERTY keyboard layout as taught in Kohlman, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Nakajima in view of Ganthier, Clapper, and Kohlman does not explicitly teach wherein the number-pad module includes a set of keys corresponding to an array of numerical and mathematical symbols.
However, Wang teaches wherein a number-pad module (first function assembly 32a) includes a set of keys corresponding to an array of numerical and mathematical symbols (see Paragraph [0038]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the number keys of Wang to the number pad of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, and Kohlman. Doing so would have allowed a user to quickly input numerical symbols when typing (see Paragraph [0038] in Wang).
Regarding claim 9, Nakajima in view of Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Wang teaches the system of Claim 8, and further teaches (in Nakajima) wherein the keyboard module (17) comprises a first rectangular geometry (see Figure 25) spanning the first area (14a) of the upper region (14) of the input deck (7); wherein the number-pad module (150 in Ganthier) comprises a second rectangular geometry (see Figure 1 in Ganthier), less than the first rectangular geometry (see Figure 1 in Ganthier), spanning the second area (150 in Ganthier combined to 14b of 14 in Nakajima) of the upper region (14) of the input deck (7); and wherein the trackpad module (33, 136, 141) comprises a third rectangular geometry (see Figure 25), greater than the first rectangular geometry (shape of 17), spanning the lower region (132, 142) of the input deck (7), the trackpad module (33, 136, 141) cooperating with the keyboard module (17) and the number-pad module (150 in Ganthier) to entirely enclose the input deck (7) on the chassis (2).
Ganthier and Wang also teach a configuration wherein the keyboard module, trackpad module, and number pad module entirely enclose an input deck (see Figure 1 in Ganthier; see Figures 4-5 in Wang). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the keyboard module, trackpad module, and number pad module of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Wang to completely enclosure the input deck. The stated limitation is held to be merely a selection of optimal working parameters established through routine experimentation, and thus obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed range because doing so would optimized the space available for and used by the modular components.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085), Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), and in further view of Jun (TW Publication No. 201305789) and Kohlman (US Publication No. 2007/0236459).
Regarding claim 10, Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper teaches the system of Claim 1, and further teaches (in Ganthier) wherein the module kit (see Figure 1) further comprises a second keyboard module (keyboard 130) comprising: a second set of keys (keys of 130): arranged on a first side of the second keyboard module (top side of 130); a third connector (connector 136): arranged on a second side (bottom side of 130), opposite of the first side (top side of 130), of the second keyboard module (130); configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers (105, 111, 121, as modified by Clapper above) to transiently retain the second keyboard module (130) across the input deck (102); and configured to electronically couple the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transmit electrical signals from the second array of keys (keys of 130) to the controller (99); and wherein the module kit is operable in a second configuration comprising: the second keyboard module (130) spanning the upper region (14 in Nakajima) of the input deck (102, corresponding to 7 in Nakajima) and the third connector (136) arranged over a third connector location (location of 136) in the set of connector locations (136, 146, 156); and the trackpad module (33, 136 in Nakajima) spanning the lower region (132, 142 in Nakajima), adjacent the upper region (14 in Nakajima), of the input deck (7) and the second connector (146 in Ganthier combined to 33 in Nakajima) arranged over the second connector location (location of 146 in Ganthier combined to 33 in Nakajima) in the set of connector locations (136, 146, 156).
Jun further teaches a second keyboard (input unit 120) comprising a second set of keys (keys of 120) corresponding to an array of Hangul-glyph symbols arranged in a dubeolsik layout (see middle of page 11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the first keyboard of Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper for the second keyboard of Ganthier with the dubeolsik key layout taught in Jun to establish an alternative module layout on the input deck. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the module kit by allowing a user to type with Hangul characters (see middle of page 11 in Jun).
Nakajima in view of Ganthier, Clapper, and Jun does not explicitly teach wherein the keyboard module comprises the set of keys corresponding to an array of alpha-numerical symbols arranged in a QWERTY keyboard layout.
However, Kohlman teaches wherein a keyboard module (Figure 5, interchangeable keyboard 560) comprises the set of keys corresponding to an array of alpha-numerical symbols arranged in a QWERTY keyboard layout (see Figure 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the keys of the first keyboard module in Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, and Jun to be in a QWERTY keyboard layout as taught in Kohlman, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085), Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), and in further view of Zhang (US Publication No. 2019/0361543).
Regarding claim 11, Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper teaches the system of Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the module kit (see Figure 25 in Nakajima) is operable in a second configuration: the keyboard module (17 in Nakajima, as modified by Ganthier and Clapper): spanning a first area (14a in Nakajima) in the upper region (14 in Nakajima) of the input deck (7 in Nakajima) to locate the first connector (136 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper, combined to 17 in Nakajima) over the first connector location (location of 136) in the set of connector locations (locations of 136, 146, 156 in Ganthier); and arranged proximal a first lateral side of the input deck (side of 7 in Nakajima); the trackpad module (33, 136 in Nakajima) spanning the lower region (132, 142 in Nakajima), adjacent the upper region (14 in Nakajima), of the input deck (7 in Nakajima) to locate the second connector (146 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper, combined to 33, 136 in Nakajima) over the second connector location (location of 146 in Ganthier) in the set of connector locations (locations of 136, 146, 156 in Ganthier).
Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper does not teach wherein the module kit further comprises a display module comprising: a second display arranged on a first side of the display module and comprising an array of light elements; and a third connector: arranged on a second side, opposite the first side, of the display module; configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers to transiently retain the display module across the input deck; and configured to electronically couple the array of couplers to transmit electrical signals from the array of light elements to the controller; and wherein the module kit is operable in a second configuration: the display module: spanning a second area, adjacent the first area, in the upper region of the input deck to locate the third connector over a third connector location in the set of connector locations; and arranged proximal a second lateral side, opposite the first lateral side, of the input deck.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the module kit (see Figures 1-3) further comprises a display module (displays 204-2, 204-3) comprising: a second display (204-2, 204-3) arranged on a first side of the display module (top side of 204-2, 204-3) and comprising an array of light elements (pixels of 204-2, 204-3); and wherein the module kit (see Figure 25 in Nakajima; see Figures 1-3 in Zhang) is operable in a second configuration: the display module (displays 204-2, 204-3): spanning a second area (opposite sides of keyboard, corresponding to left and right 14b in Nakajima), adjacent the first area (area occupied by keyboard, corresponding to 14a in Nakajima), in the upper region of the input deck (upper region of 110); and arranged proximal a second lateral side (side of 110), opposite the first lateral side (side of 110), of the input deck (110).
Because the spacer modules of Nakajima and the displays of Zhang are identically configured on the chassis (see Figure 25 in Nakajima; see Figures 1-3 in Zhang), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the spacer modules of Nakajima for the display modules of Zhang. Doing so would have provided the computing system with additional display modules having various functionalities (see Paragraph [0028] in Zhang).
Ganthier also teaches a functional module (keypad module 150) comprising a connector (connector 156) configured to electrically couple an array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transiently retain the functional module (150) across an input deck (102).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the connector taught in Ganthier to the display modules of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, and Zheng according to known methods to yield the predictable results of connecting a functional module to control circuitry of a computer system. Doing so would have also increased the modularity of the system by allowing the display to be easily replaced or installed via a quick connector (see col. 4 in Ganthier).
Clapper also teaches a connector (mobile device connection interface 107) configured to magnetically couple the coupler (109) to transiently retain a module (mobile device 101 being magnetically coupled to base device 103 via connection between connectors 107, 109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the magnetic elements of Clapper to the array of connectors of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, and Zhang to transiently retain the display modules across the input deck. Doing so would have helped ensure the connectors were properly aligned during the connection process and remained connected during operation (see Paragraphs [0020], [0023] in Clapper).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085), Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), and in further view of Lee (US Publication No. 2021/0111510).
Regarding claim 13, Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper teaches the system of Claim 1, but does not teach wherein the keyboard module further comprises: a first connector tab: arranged proximal a first lateral side of the keyboard module; and comprising a first plate: formed of a ferrous material configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers; and comprising a printed circuit board comprising the first connector configured to electronically couple the array of couplers; and a second connector tab: arranged proximal a second lateral side, opposite the first lateral side, of the keyboard module; and comprising a second plate formed of a ferrous material configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers and cooperate with the first plate to transiently retain the keyboard module to the input deck.
However, Lee teaches a keyboard module (keyboard enclosure 1) comprising: a first connector tab (comprised of middle and left tab portions of frame 21): arranged proximal a first lateral side of the keyboard module (right side of 1); and comprising a first plate (right, first magnet 51): formed of a ferrous material configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers (connector of 200); and comprising a printed circuit board (circuit board 3) comprising the first connector (pins 22) configured to electronically couple the array of couplers (connector of 200); and a second connector tab (left tab of 21): arranged proximal a second lateral side (left side of 1), opposite the first lateral side (right side of 1), of the keyboard module (1); and comprising a second plate (left first magnet 51) formed of a ferrous material configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers (connector of 200) and cooperate with the first plate (comprised of middle and left tab portions of frame 21) to transiently retain the keyboard module (1) to the input deck (200, corresponding to 7 in Nakajima).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the connectors of Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper for the connectors and tabs of Lee according to known methods to yield the predictable results of connecting a modular computing component with a base computing component (see Figures 1-7 in Lee; see Figure 1 in Ganthier).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085), Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), and in further view of Duchon (US Patent No. 5008528).
Regarding claim 14, Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper teaches the system of Claim 1, and further teaches (in Ganthier) wherein the module kit (see Figure 1) further comprises a trackball module (trackball module 140) comprising: a spherical element (ball on top side of 140) protruding from a first side of the trackball module (top side of 140); and a third connector (connector 146): arranged on a second side (bottom side of 140), opposite the first side (top side of 140), of the trackball module (140); configured to 105, 113, 121) to transiently retain the trackball module (140) across the input deck (102); and configured to electronically couple the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transmit electrical signals from the trackball module (140) to the controller (99); and wherein the module kit (see Figure 1 in Ganthier; see Figure 25 in Nakajima) is operable in a second configuration comprising: the keyboard module (17 in Nakajima as previously modified by Ganthier and Clapper) spanning the upper region (14) of the input deck (7) and the first connector (136 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper combined to 17 in Nakajima) arranged over the first connector location (location of 136 Ganthier connected to 17 in Nakajima) in the set of connector locations (locations of 136, 146, 156); and the trackball module (140) spanning the lower region (142, 132; trackball module 140 substituted for trackpad module 33, 136 in Nakajima), adjacent the upper region (14), of the input deck (7) and the third connector (146) arranged over a third connector location (location of 146) in the set of connector locations (locations of 136, 146, 156).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the trackpad of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier and Clapper for the track ball module of Ganthier according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using a tracking device to control the cursor of a computer system (see col. 3 in Ganthier; see Paragraph [0137] in Nakajima).
Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper does not explicitly teach a trackball module comprising an encoder coupled to the spherical element configured to output electrical signals responsive to rotation of the spherical element.
However, Duchon teaches a trackball module (see Figure 1) including: a spherical element (ball 40); and an encoder (skeleton 20 including optomechanical encoders; see Figure 2) coupled to the spherical element (40) configured to output electrical signals responsive to rotation of the spherical element (40; see col. 3, ln. 63-67; col. 4, ln. 1-4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the encoder of Duchon to the spherical element of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier and Clapper. Doing so would have allowed the physical movement of the spherical element to translate into electrical signals to control the cursor (see col. 3, ln. 63-67; col. 4, ln. 1-4 in Duchon).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085), Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), and in further view of Kohlman (US Publication No. 2007/0236459) and Aisenberg (US Publication No. 2004/0233624).
Regarding claim 15, Nakajima in view of Ganthier and Clapper teaches the system of Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the module kit further comprises a set of spacer modules (41a, 41b, 51), each spacer module (41a, 41b, 51) in the set of spacer modules: defining a rectangular geometry (see Figure 25); cooperating with the keyboard module (17) and the trackpad module (33, 136) to enclose regions (14b, 142) of the input deck (7) outside of the keyboard module (17) and the trackpad module (33, 136) and to retain lateral positions of the keyboard module (17) and the trackpad module (33, 136) in the first configuration (see Figure 25).
Nakajima as modified by Ganthier and Clapper does not teach the spacer modules comprising a spacer module connector configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers to transiently retain the spacer module across the input deck.
However, Kohlman teaches a spacer module (Figure 5, control device 555; corresponding to 41a in Nakajima) comprising a spacer module connector (Paragraph [0024], wired connection of control device).
Aisenberg teaches a spacer module (Figures 1-2, aux modules 20, corresponding to 141 in Nakajima) comprising a spacer module connector (Paragraph [0033] connector of 20 connected to connector 34).
Because the spacer modules of Nakajima, Kohlman, and Aisenberg are identically configured on the chassis (see Figure 25 in Nakajima; see Figure 5 in Kohlman; see Figures 1-2 in Aisenberg), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the spacer modules of Nakajima for the functional spacer modules of Kohlman and Aisenberg. Doing so would have provided the computing system with spacer modules having various functionalities (see Paragraphs [0023]-[0024] in Kohlman; see Paragraph [0033] in Aisenberg).
Clapper also teaches a connector (mobile device connection interface 107) configured to magnetically couple the coupler (109) to transiently retain a module (mobile device 101 being magnetically coupled to base device 103 via connection between connectors 107, 109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the couplers/connectors in Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg for the magnetic connectors of Clapper to transiently retain the spacer modules across the input deck. Doing so would have helped ensure the connectors were properly aligned during the connection process and remained connected during operation (see Paragraphs [0020], [0023] in Clapper).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085), Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), Kohlman (US Publication No. 2007/0236459), and Aisenberg (US Publication No. 2004/0233624).
Regarding claim 16, Nakajima discloses a modular computer system comprising: a chassis (main body 2) comprising an input deck (top wall 7); a controller (circuit board 95); and a module kit (see Figure 25): comprising: a keyboard module (keyboard 17) comprising: an array of keys (keys 22), and a first connector (FFC 23); a trackpad module (comprised of touchpad unit 33 and touchpad cover 136) comprising: a touch sensor (33) and a second connector (FFC 94); a set of spacer modules (comprised of frame members 41 and palm rest portions 141), each spacer module in the set of spacer modules (41, 141) comprising: a rectangular geometry (see Figure 25); and operable in a first configuration comprising: the keyboard module (17) spanning an upper region (portion 14) of the input deck (7); the trackpad module (33, 136) spanning a lower region (portion 132), adjacent the upper region (14), of the input deck (7); and the set of spacer modules (41, 141) cooperating with the keyboard module (17) and the trackpad module (33, 136) to: enclose regions of the input deck (7) outside of the keyboard module (17) and the trackpad module (33, 136); and retain lateral positions of the of the keyboard module (17) and the trackpad module (33, 136) in the first configuration (see Figure 25).
Nakajima does not disclose the input deck comprising an array of couplers, each coupler in the array of couplers comprising a magnetic element and an electronic communication port; the first connector configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers to transiently retain the keyboard module across the input deck, and configured to electronically couple to the array of couplers to transmit electrical signals from the array of keys to the controller; the first connector arranged over a first connector location in the set of connector locations; the touchpad comprising a second connector: configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers to transiently retain the trackpad module across the input deck; and configured to electronically couple the array of couplers to transmit electrical signals from the touch sensor to the controller; the first connector arranged over a first connector location in the set of connector locations; and the second connector arranged over a second connector location, different from the first connector location, in the set of connector locations.
However, Ganthier teaches a modular computer system comprising: a chassis (shell 102) including a controller (keyboard controller 99) and an array of couplers (connectors 105, 111, 121), the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) on the chassis (102) comprising an electronic communication port (slots 107, 113, 123); a keyboard (keyboard module 130) comprising a first connector (connector 136), the first connector (136) configured to electronically couple to the array of couplers (105) to transmit electrical signals from the array of keys (keys of 130) to the controller (99); a trackpad module (trackball module 140) comprising a second connector (connector 146), the second connector (146) configured to electronically couple the array of couplers (111) to transmit electrical signals from the touch sensor (track ball of 146) to the controller (99); the first connector (136) arranged over a first connector location (area of 130 corresponding to 136) in the set of connector locations (locations on modules 130, 140, 150 corresponding to connectors 136, 146, 156); the second connector (140) arranged over a second connector location (area of 140 corresponding to 146), different from the first connector location (area of 130 corresponding to 136), in the set of connector locations (locations on modules 130, 140, 150 corresponding to connectors 136, 146, 156).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the connectors of Nakajima for the couplers/connectors of Ganthier according to known methods to yield the predictable results of connecting an input module to control circuitry of a computer system. Doing so would have also increased the modularity of the system by replacing a wired connection for a quick connector (see col. 4 in Ganthier).
It would have also been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the keyboard controller of Ganthier to the PCB of Nakajima. Doing so would have allowed the system to identify the different input modules connected to the system to provide the appropriate controlling operation (col. 6, ln. 1-23 in Ganthier).
Nakajima as modified by Ganthier does not teach the array of couplers comprising a magnetic element, such that a first connector configured to magnetically couple the coupler to transiently retain the keyboard module across the input deck, and the second connector is configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers to transiently retain the trackpad module across the input deck.
However, Clapper teaches a coupler (Figure 1A, base device connection interface 109) comprising a magnetic element (electromagnetic pole members 111A-111B), and a connector (mobile device connection interface 107) configured to magnetically couple the coupler (109) to transiently retain a module (mobile device 101 being magnetically coupled to base device 103 via connection between connectors 107, 109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the magnetic elements of Clapper to the array of connectors of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier to transiently retain the keyboard module and trackpad module across the input deck. Doing so would have helped ensure the connectors were properly aligned during the connection process and remained connected during operation (see Paragraphs [0020], [0023] in Clapper).
Nakajima as modified by Ganthier and Clapper does not teach the spacer modules comprising a spacer module connector configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers to transiently retain the spacer module across the input deck.
However, Kohlman teaches spacer modules (Figure 5, control devices 555, 565; see also Figures 4A-4D) comprising a spacer module connector (Paragraphs [0024], wired connection of control device).
Aisenberg teaches a spacer module (Figures 1-2, aux modules 20, corresponding to 141 in Nakajima) comprising a spacer module connector (Paragraph [0033], connector of 20 connected to connector 34).
Because the spacer modules of Nakajima, Kohlman, and Aisenberg are identically configured on the chassis (see Figure 25 in Nakajima; see Figure 5 in Kohlman; see Figures 1-2 in Aisenberg), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the spacer modules of Nakajima for the functional spacer modules of Kohlman and Aisenberg. Doing so would have provided the computing system with a spacer module having various functionalities (see Paragraphs [0023]-[0024] in Kohlman; see Paragraph [0033] in Aisenberg).
Because Clapper teaches a connector (mobile device connection interface 107) configured to magnetically couple the coupler (109) to transiently retain a module (mobile device 101 being magnetically coupled to base device 103 via connection between connectors 107, 109), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the array of couplers/connectors in Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg for the magnetic couplers/connectors of Clapper to transiently retain the spacer modules across the input deck. Doing so would have helped ensure the connectors were properly aligned during the connection process and remained connected during operation (see Paragraphs [0020], [0023] in Clapper).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085), Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), Kohlman (US Publication No. 2007/0236459), Aisenberg (US Publication No. 2004/0233624), and in further view of Jun (TW Publication No. 201305789).
Regarding claim 17, Nakajima in view of Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg teaches the system of Claim 16, and further teaches (in Ganthier) wherein the module kit (see Figure 1) further comprises a second keyboard module (keyboard 130) comprising: a second set of keys (keys of 130): arranged on a first side of the second keyboard module (top side of 130); a third connector (connector 136): arranged on a second side (bottom side of 130), opposite of the first side (top side of 130), of the second keyboard module (130); configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers (105, 111, 121, as modified by Clapper above) to transiently retain the second keyboard module (130) across the input deck (102); and configured to electronically couple the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transmit electrical signals from the second array of keys (keys of 130) to the controller (99); and wherein the module kit is operable in a second configuration comprising: the second keyboard module (130) spanning the upper region (14 in Nakajima) of the input deck (102, corresponding to 7 in Nakajima) and the third connector (136 in Ganthier) arranged over a third connector location (location of 136) in the set of connector locations (136, 146, 156); and the trackpad module (33, 136 in Nakajima) spanning the lower region (132, 142 in Nakajima), adjacent the upper region (14 in Nakajima), of the input deck (7 in Nakajima) and the second connector (146 in Ganthier combined to 33 in Nakajima) arranged over the second connector location (location of 146 in Ganthier combined to 33, 136 in Nakajima) in the set of connector locations (136, 146, 156).
Nakajima in view of Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg does not teach wherein the second set of keys corresponds to an array of Hangul-glyph symbols arranged in a dubeolsik layout.
However, Jun teaches a second keyboard (input unit 120) comprising a second set of keys (keys of 120) corresponding to an array of Hangul-glyph symbols arranged in a dubeolsik layout (see middle of page 11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the first keyboard of Nakajima in view of Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg for the second keyboard of Ganthier with the dubeolsik key layout taught in Jun, in a second module layout configuration. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the module kit by allowing a user to type with Hangul characters (see middle of page 11 in Jun).
Nakajima in view of Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, Aisenberg, and Jun does not explicitly teach wherein the keyboard module comprises a set of keys corresponding to an array of alpha-numerical symbols arranged in a QWERTY keyboard layout.
However, Kohlman teaches wherein a keyboard module (Figure 5, interchangeable keyboard 560) comprises a set of keys corresponding to an array of alpha-numerical symbols arranged in a QWERTY keyboard layout (see Figure 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have arranged the keys of the first keyboard module in Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, Aisenberg, and Jun to be in a QWERTY keyboard layout as taught in Kohlman, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085), Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), Kohlman (US Publication No. 2007/0236459), Aisenberg (US Publication No. 2004/0233624), and in further view of Zhang (US Publication No. 2019/0361543).
Regarding claim 18, Nakajima in view of Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg teaches the system of Claim 16, but does not teach wherein the module kit further comprises a display module comprising: a display arranged on a first side of the display module and comprising an array of light elements; and a third connector: arranged on a second side, opposite the first side, of the display module; configured to magnetically couple the array of couplers to transiently retain the display module across the input deck; and configured to electronically couple the array of couplers to transmit electrical signals from the array of light elements to the controller; and wherein the module kit is operable in a second configuration: the keyboard module: spanning a first area in the upper region of the input deck to locate the first connector over the first connector location in the set of connector locations; and arranged proximal a first lateral side of the input deck; the display module: spanning a second area, adjacent the first area, in the upper region of the input deck to locate the third connector over a third connector location in the set of connector locations; and arranged proximal a second lateral side, opposite the first lateral side, of the input deck; and the trackpad module spanning the lower region, adjacent the upper region, of the input deck to locate the second connector over the second connector location in the set of connector locations.
However, Zhang teaches wherein a module kit (see Figures 1-3) further comprises a display module (displays 204-2, 204-3) comprising: a second display (204-2, 204-3) arranged on a first side of the display module (top side of 204-2, 204-3) and comprising an array of light elements (pixels of 204-2, 204-3); and wherein the module kit (see Figure 25 in Nakajima; see Figures 1-3 in Zhang) is operable in a second configuration: the display module (displays 204-2, 204-3): spanning a second area (opposite sides of keyboard, corresponding to left and right 14b in Nakajima), adjacent the first area (area occupied by keyboard, corresponding to 14a in Nakajima), in the upper region of the input deck (upper region of 110); and arranged proximal a second lateral side (side of 110), opposite the first lateral side (side of 110), of the input deck (110).
Because the spacer modules of Nakajima and the displays of Zhang are identically configured on the chassis (see Figure 25 in Nakajima; see Figures 1-3 in Kohlman), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the spacer modules of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg for the display modules of Zhang in a second module layout configuration. Doing so would have provided the computing system with additional display modules having various functionalities (see Paragraph [0028] in Zheng).
Ganthier also teaches a functional module (keypad module 150) comprising a connector (connector 156) configured to electrically couple an array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transiently retain the functional module (150) across an input deck (102).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the connector taught in Ganthier to the display modules of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, Aisenberg and Zheng according to known methods to yield the predictable results of connecting a functional module to control circuitry of a computer system. Doing so would have also increased the modularity of the system by allow the display to be easily replaced or installed via a quick connector (see col. 4 in Ganthier).
Clapper also teaches a connector (mobile device connection interface 107) configured to magnetically couple the coupler (109) to transiently retain a module (mobile device 101 being magnetically coupled to base device 103 via connection between connectors 107, 109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the magnetic elements of Clapper to the array of connectors of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, Aisenberg, and Zhang to transiently retain the display modules across the input deck. Doing so would have helped ensure the connectors were properly aligned during the connection process and remained connected during operation (see Paragraphs [0020], [0023] in Clapper).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085), Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), Kohlman (US Publication No. 2007/0236459), Aisenberg (US Publication No. 2004/0233624), and in further view of Wang (US Publication No. 2019/0196552).
Regarding claim 19, Nakajima in view of Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg teaches the system of Claim 16, and further teaches (in Ganthier) wherein the module kit (see Figure 1) further comprises a number-pad module (keypad 150) comprising: a second set of keys (keys on top side of 150) arranged on a first side of the number-pad module (top side of 150); and a third connector (connector 156): arranged on a second side (bottom side of 150), opposite the first side (top side of 150), of the number-pad module (150); configured to 105, 111, 121) to transiently retain the number-pad module (150) across the input deck (102); and configured to electronically couple the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transmit electrical signals from the second set of keys (keys of 150) to the controller (99); and wherein the module kit is operable in a second configuration comprising: the keyboard module (130): spanning a first area in the upper region of the input deck (102) to locate the first connector (136 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper) over the first connector location (location of 136 combined to 17 in Nakajima) in the set of connector locations (locations of 136, 146, 156); and arranged proximal a first lateral side of the input deck (side of 102); the number-pad module (150): spanning a second area (opening 120, corresponding to 14b in Nakajima), adjacent the first area (opening 104, corresponding to 14a in Nakajima), in the upper region of the input deck (102, corresponding to 14 in Nakajima) to locate the third connector (156) over a third connector location (location of 156) in the set of connector locations (locations of 136, 146, 156); and arranged proximal a second lateral side (second side of 102), opposite the first lateral side (first side of 102), of the input deck (102, corresponding to 7 in Nakajima); and further teaches (in Nakajima) the trackpad module (33, 34) spanning the lower region (132, 142), adjacent the upper region (14), of the input deck (7) to locate the second connector (146 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper) over the second connector location (location of 146 combined to 17 in Nakajima) in the set of connector locations (location of 136, 146 in Ganthier as modified by Clapper combined to 17 and 33 in Nakajima).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the number pad of Ganthier to the controller and upper region of the input deck in Nakajima as previously modified by Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg. Doing so would have increased the functionality of the device by allowing a user to communicate different key inputs (see Figure 1 in Ganthier).
Clapper also teaches a connector (mobile device connection interface 107) configured to magnetically couple the coupler (109) to transiently retain a module (mobile device 101 being magnetically coupled to base device 103 via connection between connectors 107, 109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the magnetic elements of Clapper to the array of connectors of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg to transiently retain the number-pad module across the input deck. Doing so would have helped ensure the connectors were properly aligned during the connection process and remained connected during operation (see Paragraphs [0020], [0023] in Clapper).
Nakajima in view of Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg does not explicitly teach wherein the number-pad module includes a set of keys corresponding to an array of numerical and mathematical symbols.
However, Wang teaches wherein a number-pad module (first function assembly 32a) includes a set of keys corresponding to an array of numerical and mathematical symbols (see Paragraph [0038]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the number keys of Wang to the number pad of Nakajima as modified by Ganthier, Clapper, Kohlman, and Aisenberg. Doing so would have allowed a user to quickly input numerical symbols when typing (see Paragraph [0038] in Wang).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganthier (US Publication No. 5865546), Clapper (US Publication No. 2004/0209489), Wang (US Publication No. 2019/0196552), and Nakajima (US Publication No. 2008/0019085),
Regarding claim 20, Ganthier discloses a modular computer system comprising: a chassis (keyboard shell 102) comprising an input deck (top surface of 102) comprising an array of couplers (connectors 105, 111, 121), each coupler in the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) comprising an electronic communication port (slots 107, 113, 123); a controller (controller 99); a keyboard module (keyboard module 130) comprising: an array of keys (see Figure 1) arranged on a first side of the keyboard module (top side of 130); and a first connector (connector 136): arranged on a second side (bottom side of 130), opposite the first side (top side of 130), of the keyboard module (130); and configured to electronically couple to the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transmit electrical signals from the array of keys (keys of 130) to the controller (99); a trackpad module (trackpad module 140) comprising: a touch sensor (touch ball of 140) arranged on a first side of the trackpad module (top side of 140); and a second connector (connector 146): arranged on a second side (bottom side of 140), opposite the first side (top side of 140), of the trackpad module (140); and configured to electronically couple the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transmit electrical signals from the touch sensor (touch ball of 140) to the controller (99); a number-pad module (keypad module 150) comprising: a second set of keys (keys of 150) arranged on a first side of the number-pad module (top side of 150); and a third connector (connector 156): arranged on a second side (bottom side of 150), opposite the first side (top side of 150), of the number-pad module (150); and configured to electronically couple the array of couplers (105, 111, 121) to transmit electrical signals from the second set of keys (keys of 150) to the controller (99).
Ganthier does not disclose wherein each coupler in the array of couplers comprises a magnetic element, and wherein the first connector, second connector, and third connector are configured to magnetically couple to the array of couplers to transiently retain the keyboard module, trackpad module, and number-pad module across the input deck.
However, Clapper teaches a coupler (Figure 1A, base device connection interface 109) comprising a magnetic element (electromagnetic pole members 111A-111B), and a connector (mobile device connection interface 107) configured to magnetically couple the coupler (109) to transiently retain a functional module (mobile device 101 being magnetically coupled to base device 103 via connection between connectors 107, 109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the magnetic elements of Clapper to the array of couplers/connectors of Ganthier to transiently retain the keyboard module, trackpad module, and number-pad module across the input deck. Doing so would have helped ensure the connectors were properly aligned during the connection process and remained connected during operation (see Paragraphs [0020], [0023] in Clapper).
Ganthier in view of Clapper does not explicitly teach wherein the second set of keys on the number-pad module correspond to an array of numerical and mathematical symbols.
However, Wang teaches wherein a number-pad module (first function assembly 32a) includes a set of keys corresponding to an array of numerical and mathematical symbols (see Paragraph [0038]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the number keys of Wang to the number pad of Ganthier as modified by Clapper. Doing so would have allowed a user to quickly input numerical symbols when typing (see Paragraph [0038] in Wang).
In the event Applicant disagrees with Examiner’s interpretation of “a track pad module” in Ganthier, Nakajima teaches a trackpad module (comprised of touchpad unit 33 and touchpad cover 136) comprising: a touch sensor (33).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the trackball sensor of Ganthier for the touchpad sensor of Nakajima according to known methods to yield the predictable results of allowing a user to control the cursor of a computer system (see col. 3 in Ganthier; see Paragraph [0137] in Nakajima).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-7, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 claims the system of Claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to: read a set of electrical values from the array of couplers on the input deck; detect coupling of the keyboard module across the input deck of the chassis based on the set of electrical values; detect de-coupling of the trackpad module from the input deck of the chassis based on the set of electrical values; and in response to detecting de-coupling of the trackpad module: terminate an operating mode for the keyboard module to block electrical signals received from the keyboard module; generate a notification prompting a user to review connection of the keyboard module and the trackpad module across the input deck prior to resuming operating mode for the keyboard module and the trackpad module; and display the notification at the display for a user operating the modular computer system.
Claim 5 claims the system of Claim 4, wherein the module kit is operable in a third configuration comprising: the first spacer module: spanning a first area in the upper region of the input deck to locate the third connector over a third connector location in the set of connector locations; and arranged proximal a first lateral side of the input deck; the second spacer module: spanning a second area in the lower region, adjacent the first area in the upper region, of the input deck to locate the fourth connector over a fourth connector location in the set of connector locations; and arranged proximal the first lateral side of the input deck; the keyboard module: spanning a third area in the upper region of the input deck to locate the first connector over the first connector location in the set of connector locations; and arranged proximal a second lateral side, opposite the first lateral side, of the input deck; and the trackpad module: spanning a fourth area in the lower region, adjacent the third area in the upper region, of the input deck to locate the second connector over the second connector location in the set of connector locations; and arranged proximal the second lateral side, opposite the first lateral side, of the input deck.
Claim 6 claims the system of Claim 4: wherein the first spacer module further comprises a first speaker element arranged on a first side of the first spacer module; wherein the second spacer module further comprises a second speaker element arranged on a first side of the second spacer module; and wherein the controller is configured to: read a set of electrical values from the array of couplers on the input deck; detect de-coupling of the trackpad module from the input deck of the chassis based on the set of electrical values; and in response to detecting de-coupling of the trackpad module: access an audible alert at a first frequency corresponding to de-coupling of the trackpad module from the input deck; and broadcast the audible alert at the first frequency at the first speaker element at the first spacer module and the second speaker element at the second spacer module.
Claim 7 claims the system of Claim 4: wherein the first spacer module further comprises a first vibration component arranged within the first spacer module; and wherein the controller is configured to: read a set of electrical values from the array of couplers on the input deck; detect de-coupling of the trackpad module from the input deck of the chassis based on the set of electrical values; and in response to detecting de-coupling of the trackpad module, drive a first electrical signal to the first vibration component in the first spacer module to oscillate the first spacer module relative the chassis.
Claim 12 claims the system of Claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to: at a first time, read a first set of electrical values from the array of couplers on the input deck; detect coupling of the keyboard module across the input deck of the chassis based on the first set of electrical values; detect coupling of the trackpad module across the input deck of the chassis based on the first set of electrical values; in response to detecting coupling of the keyboard module and the trackpad module, trigger illumination of the array of light elements in a first pattern; at a second time following the first time, read a second set of electrical values from the array of couplers on the input deck; detect de-coupling of the trackpad module from the input deck of the chassis based on the second set of electrical values; and in response to detecting de-coupling of the trackpad module, trigger illumination of the array of light elements in a second pattern, different from the first pattern.
None of the prior art cited in the rejections above or in the section below teach each and every claim limitation of claims 2, 5-7, or 12. These claims would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee (US Patent No. 6292358) Bowers (US Patent No. 6392634), Liao (US Patent No. 6462937), Fraga (US Patent No. 6493218), Wu (US Patent 6965076), Minaguchi (US Patent No. 7684177), Zhang (US Patent No. 8537541), Hayashida (US Patent No. 8811003), Matsuoka (US Patent No. 9229486), Kushner (US Patent No. 9829927), Chang (US Patent No. 10606323), Homer (US Publication No. 2002/0172001), Chang (US Publication No. 2004/0233626), Minaguchi (US Publication No. 2004/0246669), Hou (US Publication No. 2006/0034038), Hua (US Publication No. 2006/0214915), Ma (US Publication No. 2007/0133160), Wong (US Publication No. 2008/0013268), Homer (US Publication No. 2008/0055827), Lai (US Publication No. 2008/0144262), Brogan (US Publication No. 2013/0174401), Amano (US Publication No. 2020/0274239), and Sun (US Publication No. 2024/0168526) teach other elements of the claimed device. Sakuma (US Publication No. 2012/0050973), Kusamoto (US Patent No. 7149079) teach spacers similar to the claimed device. Lee (US Publication No. 2021/0111510), Wang (US Publication No. 2015/0236445) and Qian (US Publication No. 2014/0342578) teach magnetic connectors similar to the claimed device.
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc