DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0334379 A1 with effective filing date of PCT/CN2022/122948 filed on 9/29/2022) in view of Peng et al. (US 2024/0345201 A1 with effective filing date of PCT/CN2022/081690 filed on Mar 18, 2022).
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Wang discloses
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a processor of an apparatus, a positioning reference signal (PRS) from a first network node of a wireless network (step 1302 in figure 13, Receiving, by a wireless device from a network node, a position reference signal, para. 0098, as shown in figure 1, UE receives a signal from the gNB, para. 0026);
measuring, by the processor, a carrier phase associated with a delay path and a transmission frequency point of the PRS (step 1304 in figure 13, Measuring one or more parameters of the position reference signal, para. 0098; the UE can determine the number of subcarriers for each group autonomously, and discard the reported phases with large difference from the expected phase on the UE side. In yet other embodiments, UE can report the average carrier phase for each group, instead of each resource. Reporting the average carrier phase for each group reduces the bandwidth and energy requirements of the reporting messages, para. 0041-0042, 0036); and
reporting, by the processor, the carrier phase to a second network node of the wireless network (step 1306 in figure 13, Transmitting a report comprising the one or more parameters, para. 0098; This computation motivates the target device to report the carrier phase with its corresponding uncertainty for each of the different carrier frequencies to the LMF, which is configured to evaluate the likelihood of the positioning result, para. 0081, 0057).
Wang fails to disclose measuring the carrier phase associated with a delay path in time domain.
However, in the same field of endeavor of carrier phase-based positioning, Peng discloses a carrier phase can be achieved from CIR (in frequency domain), and alternatively, with inverse Fourier transformation, a version of a CIR in time domain can be achieved. In time domain, a carrier phase can be achieved from a CIR (in time domain, e.g., [Symbol font/0x46]=2πf * [Symbol font/0x44]t, where f is the carrier center frequency, [Symbol font/0x44]t is the time lag of CIR in time domain, para. 0245).
It is desirable to measure the carrier phase associated with a delay path in time domain because it improves positioning accuracy for the 5G system (para. 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teaching of Peng in the method of Wang for the benefit of improving the position accuracy of the system.
(2) Regarding claim 9:
Wang discloses an apparatus (device as shown in figure 15 of a hardware platform 1500 that may be a part of a network device (e.g., base station) or a communication device (e.g., a user equipment (UE)), para. 0167) comprising:
a transceiver (transmitter 1515 and receiver 1520 as shown in figure 15) which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with a first network node and a second network node of a wireless network (base station (gNB) that transmit PRS to the UE as shown in figure 1 and location management function (LMF) that receives report from the UE, para. 0081); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver (processor 1510 as shown in figure 15) such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, a positioning reference signal (PRS) from the first network node (step 1302 in figure 13, Receiving, by a wireless device from a network node, a position reference signal, para. 0098, as shown in figure 1, UE receives a signal from the gNB, para. 0026);
measuring a carrier phase associated with a delay path and a transmission frequency point of the PRS (step 1304 in figure 13, Measuring one or more parameters of the position reference signal, para. 0098; the UE can determine the number of subcarriers for each group autonomously, and discard the reported phases with large difference from the expected phase on the UE side. In yet other embodiments, UE can report the average carrier phase for each group, instead of each resource. Reporting the average carrier phase for each group reduces the bandwidth and energy requirements of the reporting messages, para. 0041-0042, 0036); and
reporting, via the transceiver, the carrier phase to the second network node (step 1306 in figure 13, Transmitting a report comprising the one or more parameters, para. 0098; This computation motivates the target device to report the carrier phase with its corresponding uncertainty for each of the different carrier frequencies to the LMF, which is configured to evaluate the likelihood of the positioning result, para. 0081, 0057).
Wang fails to disclose measuring the carrier phase associated with a delay path in time domain.
However, in the same field of endeavor of carrier phase-based positioning, Peng discloses a carrier phase can be achieved from CIR (in frequency domain), and alternatively, with inverse Fourier transformation, a version of a CIR in time domain can be achieved. In time domain, a carrier phase can be achieved from a CIR (in time domain, e.g., [Symbol font/0x46]=2πf * [Symbol font/0x44]t, where f is the carrier center frequency, [Symbol font/0x44]t is the time lag of CIR in time domain, para. 0245).
It is desirable to measure the carrier phase associated with a delay path in time domain because it improves positioning accuracy for the 5G system (para. 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teaching of Peng in the apparatus of Wang for the benefit of improving the position accuracy of the system.
(3) Regarding claim 17:
Wang discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a processor of a network node (processor 1510 in figure 15), a report from an apparatus (step 1404 in figure 14, Receiving, from the wireless device, a report comprising one or more parameters of the position reference signal, para. 0099), wherein the report indicates a carrier phase associated with a delay path and a transmission frequency point of a positioning reference signal (PRS), an estimate of an integer cycle number of the carrier phase, and a margin error value of the estimated integer cycle number (the UE can report the carrier phase of all the subcarriers that carry the PRS in ascending (or descending) order of frequency, para. 0036; The method of solution A1, wherein the measurement result of the positioning-related reference signals includes the carrier phase of different subcarriers with tolerable differences from the expected phase, para. 0105, para. 0148 discloses the carrier phase of the position information message comprises an integer part and a fractional part; the examiner interprets the tolerable differences from the expected phase as the claimed margin error value);
determining, by the processor, a search range of the integer cycle number based on the estimated integer cycle number and the margin error value (a more accurate estimate of the distance is obtained by determining the value of ΔN. An efficient approach typically searches for a specific value of ΔN within a specific search range, e.g., [ΔN−M,ΔN+M], para. 0037);
determining, by the processor, the integer cycle number within the search range (In some embodiments, the search window for ΔN, e.g., [ΔN−M,ΔN+M] can be determined using the aforementioned parameters. In an example, ΔN12=N2−N1 can be used to determine the integer range such that the search window for ΔN12 is [ΔN12−ΔN12 * X, ΔN12+ΔN12 * X], where X can be determined by the specific application scenario or positioning accuracy requirements. In these embodiment, the LMF can determine the range of the integer search window based on a percentage of ΔNij (where i, j are two adjacent sub-carrier groups), which is a function of the phase difference of two subcarrier groups. In some embodiment, any two pairs of groups of subcarriers (e.g., adjacent or non-adjacent groups) may be used to determine the search window range, para. 0040); and
performing, by the processor, a carrier phase positioning of the apparatus based on the determined integer cycle number (Since phase determination is usually subject to measurement errors, the accuracy of positioning methods may not be satisfactory for certain applications if the LMF is configured to use the phase of a single subcarrier to calculate the position of the corresponding UE, para. 0029). Wang fails to disclose measuring the carrier phase associated with a delay path in time domain.
However, in the same field of endeavor of carrier phase-based positioning, Peng discloses a carrier phase can be achieved from CIR (in frequency domain), and alternatively, with inverse Fourier transformation, a version of a CIR in time domain can be achieved. In time domain, a carrier phase can be achieved from a CIR (in time domain, e.g., [Symbol font/0x46]=2πf * [Symbol font/0x44]t, where f is the carrier center frequency, [Symbol font/0x44]t is the time lag of CIR in time domain, para. 0245).
It is desirable to measure the carrier phase associated with a delay path in time domain because it improves positioning accuracy for the 5G system (para. 0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teaching of Peng in the method of Wang for the benefit of improving the position accuracy of the system.
(4) Regarding claims 3 and 11:
Wang and Peng together discloses all subject matter of claim 1 and 9, and Wang further discloses the transmission frequency point is the carrier frequency of a carrier at radio frequency (equation 1 in para. 0026 with N is the integer part of carrier phase and [Symbol font/0x66] is the carrier phase, para. 0027, 0039), or the transmission frequency point is configured by the wireless network.
(5) Regarding claims 4 and 12:
Wang and Peng together discloses all subject matter of claim 1 and 9, and Wang further discloses:
determining, by the processor, an estimate of an integer cycle number of the carrier phase and a margin error value of the estimated integer cycle number (the UE can report the carrier phase of all the subcarriers that carry the PRS in ascending (or descending) order of frequency, para. 0036; The method of solution A1, wherein the measurement result of the positioning-related reference signals includes the carrier phase of different subcarriers with tolerable differences from the expected phase, para. 0105, para. 0148 discloses the carrier phase of the position information message comprises an integer part and a fractional part; the examiner interprets the tolerable differences from the expected phase as the claimed margin error value); and
reporting, by the processor, the estimated integer cycle number and the margin error value to the second network node of the wireless network (the UE can report the carrier phase of all the subcarriers that carry the PRS in ascending (or descending) order of frequency. In the latter scenario, the LMF can efficiently to screen out phases with large difference from the expected phase, para. 0036, wherein the measurement result of the positioning-related reference signals includes the carrier phase of different subcarriers with tolerable differences from the expected phase, para. 0105, 0148).
(6) Regarding claims 6, 14, and 19:
Wang and Peng together disclose all subject matter of claim 4, 12, and 17, and Wang further discloses the PRS comprises a multi- carrier PRS (the target device is configured to determine the carrier frequency and received carrier phase for every N (e.g., N=4) subcarriers or PRBs that carry the PRS, para. 0030), and the determining of the estimate of the integer cycle number is performed based on the multi-carrier PRS (In the context of FIG. 3, f1, f2, . . . denote the average frequency corresponding to the grouped subcarriers and ϕ1, ϕ2, . . . represent the corresponding phase of each group. In an example, the number of subcarriers in each group is identical. In another example, the number of subcarriers in each group can be different, para. 0031-0033).
(7) Regarding claims 8, 16, and 20:
Wang and Peng together disclose all subject matter of claims 1, 9, and 17, and Wang further discloses the first network node comprises a base station (gNB as shown in figure 1), and the second network node comprises a location management function (LMF) (UE can report the phase related information of the expected time slot to the network (e.g., LMF), para. 0057).
(8) Regarding claim 18:
Wang and Peng together disclose all subject matter of claim 17, and Wang further discloses the determining of the integer cycle number is performed only within the search range (the positioning-related configuration includes the scope of the integer search window, e.g., percentage of ΔNij (where i,j are two adjacent sub-carrier groups), i.e., X, phase difference of two sub-carrier groups, para. 0104, 0132; multiple PRS may be transmitted between the same TRP and the target device pair in different transmission timeslots with the same subcarrier in a positioning process, para. 0085).
(9) Regarding claims 5 and 13:
Wang and Peng together disclose all subject matter of claims 4 and 12, and Wang further discloses determining of the estimate of the integer cycle number is performed by using a brute force method (This computation motivates the target device to report the carrier phase with its corresponding uncertainty for each of the different carrier frequencies to the LMF, which is configured to evaluate the likelihood of the positioning result, para. 0081; the examiner interprets the evaluation of the likelihood of the position result as the claimed brute force method).
(9) Regarding claims 2 and 10:
Wang and Peng together disclose all subject matter of claims 1 and 9, and Wang further discloses the measuring of the carrier phase comprises determining a difference of two carrier phase measurements that are based on a signal from different transmission or reception points (TRPs) (FIG. 7 shows gNB A and gNB B being two transmission-reception points (TRPs) that send a downlink (DL) PRS to the target UE, para. 0070), but fails to explicitly disclose corresponding to the same transmission frequency point.
However, as shown in the equation on paragraphs 0075 and 0076, only one value of wavelength ([Symbol font/0x6C]). It is well known in the art that frequency is equal to 1/wavelength ([Symbol font/0x6C]), thus the carrier frequency of the two gNB as shown in figure 7-9 are of the same carrier frequency (same transmission frequency point) for the benefit of enabling the accuracy of the estimated position of the UE.
(10) Regarding claims 7 and 15:
Wang and Peng together disclose all subject matter of claims 4 and 12, and Peng further discloses the determining of the margin error value of the estimated integer cycle number is performed based on at least one of:
a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) measured from the first network node;
a doppler frequency measured from the first network node; and
a measured quality of an estimated timing (a UE reports a carrier phase difference of a PRS between carriers on respective center frequencies with at least one indication of SNR, SINR, RSRP, or RSRQ. With this indication, a low reliable report (e.g., a low SNR report) can be avoided, para. 0176; the examiner interprets the reference signal received quality (RSRQ) as the claimed measured quality of an estimated timing).
It is desirable to determine the margin error value of the estimated integer cycle number is performed based on a measured quality of an estimated timing because it indicates the reliability of the estimated timing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Peng in the method and apparatus of Wang for the benefit of to determine the reliability of the estimated timing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 3/13/2026