Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “34” has been used to designate both electrical member and a further electrical device (see paragraph 46 and48). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 4, claim 4 recites further comprising a further device disposed on a surface of the bent back lead, which surface is facing away from the first bond wire. Applicant has not established that a surface that the first bond wire is attached. The lead could be cylindrical and have only one outer side surface. The bond wire could be attached to edge near the pad.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,4-6, 8, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Shibuya (20230275007).
a. As to claims 1, 4, 5, 13 and 14, As to the limitation “bent back” appears to be a product by process and does not define an angle to which the bending is done. Bent back lead will be interpreted as any lead that has bend in it. Shibuya teaches a lead frame comprising (figure 1D item 106 and 104) a die pad (region on which 250 is placed) and a plurality of leads (items 104 figure 2D); a semiconductor die disposed on the die pad (item 250), the semiconductor die comprising a contact pad on a first main face thereof (what 252 are connect to on 250); and one or more bond wires connected with the contact pad (item 252); wherein a lead of the plurality of leads is bent back and connected with at least one first bond wire of the one or more bond wires (item 106 figure 2E).
Shibuya teaches , further comprising a further device disposed on a surface of the bent back lead, which surface is facing away from the first bond wire (item 204 is on the opposite side from the wire bond side which is an inductor a passive device).
b. As to claim 2 Shibuya teaches wherein the one or more bond wires are connected between the contact pad and a subgroup of the plurality of leads, wherein the bent back lead is one of the subgroups of the plurality of leads (item 52 see 252 connected to the 106 leads).
c. As to claim 6, Shibuya teaches further comprising a bond wire connected between the contact pad and an upper surface of the bent back lead ( the wire is connected to the lower one of the two upper surfaces with up face the direction of the die).
d. AS to claim 8 Shibuya teaches wherein the lead frame further comprises a crossbar (figure 2D cross bare between 104a and 106a) wherein the subgroup of leads is connected with the crossbar (item 104a and 106a), and the one or more bond wires are also connected with the crossbar (item 252 is electrically connected to the crossbar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a 1 as being anticipated by Shi cited on Ids (201702707189).
a. As to claims 9 and 12 Shi teaches A semiconductor device, comprising :a lead frame comprising a die pad (items 3s and 1 with 1 being the die pad see e.g. figure 5), a plurality of leads (item 3), and a crossbar connected with a subgroup of the plurality of leads As to the phrase cross bar Shi teaches item 3 has a crossbar that is t-shaped. The t shape will be interpreted as a crossbar since it is the same structure pointed to in applicant disclosure of just 31B.1 and 31C which has a t shape and is recited as a cross bar 31C figure 3A, applicant 31c does not connect to another pin but merely provides a t shape ; a semiconductor die disposed on the die pad (item 2), the semiconductor die comprising a contact pad on a first main face thereof ( see what items 4 and 5 are connected to on item 2); one or more bond wires connected between the contact pad and the crossbar (items 5); and an electrical member connected to the crossbar in a manner that a portion of the electric member is connected to end portions of the bond wires (item 8 connect to a 5). Shi further teaches further comprising a further bond wire connected between the contact pad and the electrical member (the other part of 8 connect to the other 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibuya.
a. As to claim 3 the phrase wherein the semiconductor die is a semiconductor transistor die and the contact pad is one of a source pad or a drain pad ( will not be interpreted as the device only having transistor instead any die that has transistors will be considered a transistor die.
Shibuya does not explicitly teach a “transistor die.” However, dies with transistors including gates source and drain were known for imagers displays and memory. Further gates source and drains need to be powered to complete circuit and to all the device to function.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to for the die 250 with transistor including gates sources and drains and providing pads and leads for each to allow a functional integrated circuit with transistors.
b. As to claim 7, Shibuya does not teach wherein the semiconductor die comprises a power semiconductor transistor.
However, it was known to provide semiconductor dies with “power semiconductor transistor” for high voltage applications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time of filing. To provide the die with a with a “power semiconductor transistor” for high voltage application such as power conversion or batter management with other functions.
c. As claim 15 transistors will be considered a transistor die.
Shibuya does not explicitly teach wherein the bent back lead is connected by bond wires with one or both of a gate pad or a source sense pad of the semiconductor die. However, dies with transistors including gates source and drain were known for imagers displays and memory. Further gates source and drains need to be powered to complete circuit and to all the device to function.
Further paragraph 45 of Shibuya states:
FIG. 2A is a perspective view of a semiconductor package 200 having leads coupled to a passive component on a topmost surface, in accordance with various examples. The structure of package 200 is identical to that of package 100, except that package 200 has coupled thereto on the topmost surface 103 an inductor 204 having terminals 201 and 202. The inductor 204 is illustrative, and other components (e.g., passive components) may be coupled to the topmost surface 103 in addition to or instead of the inductor 204. The terminal 201 is coupled to a pair of conductive members 106, and the terminal 202 is coupled to another pair of conductive members 106. In examples, the pair of conductive members 106 coupled to the terminal 201 are coupled to each other inside the package 200, and they may further be coupled to other structures that form a network of connections within the package 200 to implement a particular function (e.g., DC-DC converter). Similarly, in examples, the pair of conductive members 106 coupled to the terminal 202 are coupled to each other inside the package 200, and they may further be coupled to other structures that form a network of connections within the package 200 to implement a particular function (e.g., DC-DC converter).
Thus, what the bent pads are connected is based on circuit design a desired result.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to for the die 250 with transistor including gates sources and drains and providing pads and leads for each to allow a functional integrated circuit with transistors with either the gate or “source” pad being connected by wire bonds to one of the items 106 (the bent lead).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
While the prior art teaches providing devices on the lead wire bond paddles Kinzer (6593622) they done reasonable teach further comprising a further device disposed on an upper surface of the electrical member in conjunction with the other elements of claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koduri 20200411420 teaches bent/bent back leads (item 120) and using these bent back portions as mountings for passive (figure 21 and figure 14) or pcb with multiple components (figure 15).
/MATTHEW L. REAMES/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/MATTHEW L REAMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896