DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 12-13, 15-16, and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PGPUB US 20230245591 A1 by Ozaki et al (“Ozaki”).
In regard to Claim 1, Ozaki teaches a catheter simulator comprising:
a container capable of accommodating a liquid in an accommodation part surrounded by side walls and a bottom part;
(see, e.g., F1, 18);
a cerebral blood vessel model held in the container in a state of accommodating a liquid;
(see, e.g., F1, 38);
a pump connected to the container and circulating the liquid inside the cerebral blood vessel model held therein; and
(see, e.g., F1, 20);
a holder provided on the side walls of the container and the cerebral blood vessel model and holding the cerebral blood vessel model in a state of having the container filled with the liquid,
wherein the holder includes a first holding part holding an end of an ascending aorta of the cerebral blood vessel model, and a second holding part holding an end of a descending aorta of the cerebral blood vessel model,
(see, e.g., F2, 30b and F2, 30e);
the first holding part includes a liquid introduction port for introducing a liquid into the cerebral blood vessel model in the state of being held,
(see, e.g., F2 30b);
the second holding part includes a catheter introduction port for introducing a catheter into the cerebral blood vessel model in the state of being held, and
(see, e.g., F7, 98);
an opening part for controlling the balance of the liquid circulating inside the cerebral blood vessel model by discharging the liquid to be introduced by the pump, is formed on an outer shell constituting the cerebral blood vessel model
(see, e.g., F7, 72C and p51).
In regard to Claims 3-4, Ozaki teaches these limitations. See, e.g., F7, 72C and p51.
In regard to Claims 5-6, Ozaki teaches these limitations. See, e.g., F1.
In regard to Claim 12, Ozaki teaches these limitations. See, e.g., F2, 88a and 88b.
In regard to Claim 13, Ozaki teaches these limitations. See, e.g., F7, 30a.
In regard to Claim 15, Ozaki teaches these limitations. See, e.g., F2, 42b.
In regard to Claim 16, Ozaki teaches these limitations. See, e.g., F2, 42b.
In regard to Claim 20, Ozaki teaches these limitations. See, e.g., F1, 30b.
In regard to Claim 21, Ozaki teaches these limitations. See, e.g., F7.
In regard to Claims 22-24, Ozaki teaches these limitations. See, e.g., F7, 72c.
In regard to Claim 25, Ozaki teaches these limitations. See, e.g., F2, 42c, 54, 42e, 72a, and/or 72b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki, in view of PGPUB US 20190244544 A1 by Okayama et al (“Okayama”).
In regard to Claims 7-9, Okayama teaches employing a holder connected to a subclavian artery portion of an organ model that includes a catheter introduction port (see, e.g., F1, 52 and p29);
Furthermore, the combination of the cited prior art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because the cited prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the cited prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference; one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to have added subclavian arteries with catheter introduction ports as taught by Okayama to the apparatus otherwise taught by Ozaki, in order to increase the realism of the simulation.
Claims 14 and 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki, in view of Okayama.
In regard to Claim 14, Okayama teaches employing attachable and detachable blood vessels as part of a blood vessel model (see, e.g., p44);
Furthermore, the combination of the cited prior art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because the cited prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the cited prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference; one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to have added attachable and detachable blood vessels as taught by Okayama to the apparatus otherwise taught by Ozaki, in order to increase the realism of the simulation.
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozaki, in view of PATENT US 6062866 A to Prom (“Prom”).
In regard to Claim 14, Okayama teaches a model with additional blood vessels that are joined together with a circular/curved structure that includes an outlet port (see, e.g., F1, 95 where two artery groups are joined together with a central structure that includes an outlet port);
Furthermore, the combination of the cited prior art would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because the cited prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the cited prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference; one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to have added additional blood vessels joined by a central structure as taught by Prom to the apparatus otherwise taught by Ozaki, in order to increase the realism of the simulation.
Furthermore, to the extent to which the cited prior art may fail to specifically teach the joining pieces having a “thin plate shape” such a shape is merely design choice as what is taught by the prior art likewise fulfills the same goal. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 10-11, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is listed in the attached PTO-Form 892 and is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's Supervisory Primary Examiner, Peter Vasat can be reached at 571-270-7625. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MICHAEL C GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715