DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 07/29/2025, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1 – 12 have been amended. No claim has been cancelled. No claim has been added. Claims 1-12 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/29/2025 regarding claims rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are directed to the amended claims and addressed in the claim rejections below.
Applicant submits “While Cole at paragraph [0041] and Fig. 8 discloses displaying a scene area "after a zooming and masking operation has been applied," where the masking operation "simulate[s] viewing of the portion of the scene 600 through binoculars," the masking operation is not applied "in accordance with a determination that a user gaze corresponds to a first position in the representation of the media item." At best, Cole teaches applying the masking operation whenever the user zooms into a scene area. Thus, Cole does not satisfy the logic of amended claim 1, and therefore, Cole does not teach or suggest all the limitations of amended claim 1. The cited portions of Cederlund do not cure this deficiency.” (Remarks, Page 11)
The examiner disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusion. Cole teaches in ¶0051, “In step 928 a change is detected in user head orientation, e.g., head position, e.g., due to the user moving his head due to change in the direction of gaze for example. Operation proceeds from step 928 to step 930. In step 930, in response to detecting a change in the user head position, the center portion of a displayed scene, e.g., comprising of the left and right images used to generate the stereoscopic scene, is changed by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during said zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments changing the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor in step 930 includes moving the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation which is implemented in sub-step step 932.” ¶0080, “In some embodiment while viewing the displayed scene the user changes his/her head position, e.g., rotating, tilting and/or or otherwise changing the direction of gaze. The head position monitoring module 1218 monitoring the user's head position detects a change in user head position and provides the detected change information to the display controller 1230 in some embodiments. The display controller 1230 is configured to change the center portion of a displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during the zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments the display controller 1230 is configured to move the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation, as part of being configured to change the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor.” This section teaches the zoom function is “in accordance with a determination that a user gaze corresponds to a first position in the representation of the media item”. The masking operation is applied according to the zooming (¶0041). Therefore, the masking operation is “displaying the representation of the media item with a visual effect applied to a first edge of the representation of the media item to indicate that there is additional content of the media item that is not displayed”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole et al. (US Pub 2016/0219262 A1) in view of Cederlund et al. (US Pub 2015/0130740 A1).
As to claim 1, Cole discloses a computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the computer system comprising (Fig. 12):
one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (Fig. 12):
displaying, via the display generation component, a representation of a media item at a first zoom level (Fig. 4-6, ¶0003, “such devices will be used to display images corresponding to sporting events, fashion shows, concerts and/or other scenes” ¶0039, “The stereoscopic scene 600 normally is the result of combining images captured from multiple cameras, e.g., at least a stereoscopic camera pair including a left eye camera and a right eye camera, and is displayed during a normal mode of display (non-zoom mode of operation).” Non-zoom mode is the first zoom level. The device displays images thus has a representation of a media item.);
while displaying the user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a first zoom-in user command (¶0034, “the user may control the pointer to interact, e.g., select, move, delete etc., with icons and/or objects displayed on the screen. For example in some embodiments via the interface 206 the user may drag a pointer to a displayed portion of scene and select an area of the scene portion, e.g., by tapping on the touchpad of interface 106 and/or using a area select area, for zooming-in to the selected area. As a result of such a zoom-in operation, an enlarged version of the selected area is displayed” ¶0040, “selecting a zoom-in operation via the interface 206, e.g., by double tapping on the input interface 206 to activate zoom-in function.” “when the user does not specifically select a scene area portion to be zoomed but simply provides an input to zoom-in (e.g., by double tapping or pinch-spread action on the interface 206) then the scene area portion where action occurs, e.g., center of stage, field and/or other performance area, in a displayed scene area is zoomed.”); and
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the zoom-in user command: in accordance with a determination that a user gaze corresponds to a first position in the representation of the media item, displaying, via the display generation component, the representation of the media item at a second zoom level that is greater than the first zoom level, wherein displaying the representation of the media item at the second zoom level includes zooming the representation of the media item using a first zoom center that is selected based on the first position (Fig. 7-8, Fig. 9B, ¶0051, “In step 928 a change is detected in user head orientation, e.g., head position, e.g., due to the user moving his head due to change in the direction of gaze for example. Operation proceeds from step 928 to step 930. In step 930, in response to detecting a change in the user head position, the center portion of a displayed scene, e.g., comprising of the left and right images used to generate the stereoscopic scene, is changed by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during said zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments changing the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor in step 930 includes moving the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation which is implemented in sub-step step 932.” ¶0080, “In some embodiment while viewing the displayed scene the user changes his/her head position, e.g., rotating, tilting and/or or otherwise changing the direction of gaze. The head position monitoring module 1218 monitoring the user's head position detects a change in user head position and provides the detected change information to the display controller 1230 in some embodiments. The display controller 1230 is configured to change the center portion of a displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during the zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments the display controller 1230 is configured to move the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation, as part of being configured to change the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor.”) and
and displaying the representation of the media item with a visual effect applied to a first edge of the representation of the media item to indicate that there is additional content of the media item that is not displayed (Fig. 8, ¶0041, “FIG. 8 illustrates a stereoscopic scene area 800 displayed during the zoom mode of display which is displayed to the viewer after a zooming and masking operation has been applied, with a displayed portion of the scene area 800 presenting a simulated viewing of the portion of the scene 600 through binoculars.” “The scene portion 804 corresponds to the scene portion of interest that is zoomed, e.g., in response to user selection. The zoomed scene portion 804 displayed to the user corresponds to the scene area portion included in the rectangle 702 of FIG. 7. As can be appreciated from FIG. 8 the displayed scene portion 804 presents a simulated viewing of the user selected scene area through binoculars, e.g., with the displayed left and right circles indicating simulated binocular view and the inside visible scene area being the zoomed version of user selected area. The masked portion 802 of the scene area 800 is shown using diagonal line pattern, e.g., to represent the mask. In the zoom mode of display the mask is visible to the user covering the area outside the enlarged area of interest 804. While the mask pattern is displayed to the user the actual portion of the scene 600 under the mask which is outside the zoomed/enlarged scene portion 804 is not visible to the user because of being blocked by the mask thereby simulating a viewing constraint corresponding to viewing through binoculars. Thus when the zoom mode is activated the user's view is restricted, to a portion of the displayed scene that the user might expect to see if looking through binoculars. However in normal mode of display the mask is not visible since there is no masking operation on the scene area portion prior to display.”); and
in accordance with a determination that the user gaze corresponds to a second position in the representation of the media item different from the first position, displaying, via the display generation component, zoom center (Fig. 7-8, Fig. 9B, ¶0051, “In step 928 a change is detected in user head orientation, e.g., head position, e.g., due to the user moving his head due to change in the direction of gaze for example. Operation proceeds from step 928 to step 930. In step 930, in response to detecting a change in the user head position, the center portion of a displayed scene, e.g., comprising of the left and right images used to generate the stereoscopic scene, is changed by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during said zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments changing the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor in step 930 includes moving the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation which is implemented in sub-step step 932.” ¶0080, “In some embodiment while viewing the displayed scene the user changes his/her head position, e.g., rotating, tilting and/or or otherwise changing the direction of gaze. The head position monitoring module 1218 monitoring the user's head position detects a change in user head position and provides the detected change information to the display controller 1230 in some embodiments. The display controller 1230 is configured to change the center portion of a displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during the zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments the display controller 1230 is configured to move the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation, as part of being configured to change the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor.”).
Cole does not explicitly disclose “the representation of the media item at a third zoom level that is greater than the first zoom level”. However, it is quite obvious in view of Cole alone that “the representation of the media item at a third zoom level that is greater than the first zoom level” because the first zoom level is mapped to non-zoom mode. Any zoom-in is greater than non-zoom.
Cederlund discloses “the representation of the media item at a third zoom level that is greater than the first zoom level” (Cederlund, ¶0063, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area and while pressing hard on a pressure sensitive touchpad with one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs), it is possible to zoom in or out on said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where each hard press toggles between different zoom levels.” ¶0077, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area while moving a finger (e.g. one of the thumbs) in a circular motion, it is possible to zoom in or out of said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where a clockwise motion performs a "zoom in" command and a counterclockwise motion performs a "zoom out" command or vice versa.” ¶0078, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area and in connection to this holding one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs) still while moving another finger (e.g. the other thumb) upwards or downwards, it is possible to zoom in or out of said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where an upwards motion performs a "zoom in" command and a downwards motion performs a "zoom out" command or vice versa. ¶0079, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area while double-tapping on the touch screen with one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs), it is possible to zoom in or out of said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where each double-tap toggles between different zoom levels.” ¶0080, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area while sliding two fingers (e.g. the two thumbs) simultaneously in opposite horizontal directions, it is possible to zoom that object or object part.” ¶0081, “By gazing at a zoomable object and in connection to this holding a finger (e.g. one thumb) still on the touchscreen while moving another finger (e.g. the other thumb) in a circular motion, it is possible to zoom that object or object part”).
Cole and Cederlund are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to user interface. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cole with the features of “the representation of the media item at a third zoom level that is greater than the first zoom level” as taught by Cederlund. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to enable user interaction with a computer provided with an eye tracking device allowing the user to control, select and activate objects and parts of objects presented on a display of the computer using his or her eyes in a more intuitive and natural way (Cederlund, ¶0007).
As to claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cole and Cederlund discloses the one or more user inputs corresponding to the first zoom-in user command includes: a first pinch gesture; and a second pinch gesture occurring subsequent to the first pinch gesture (Cole, ¶0040, “pinch-spread action on the interface 206” Cederlund, ¶0057, “pinching with two of his or hers finger, it is possible to zoom that object or object part.” ¶0153, “releasing contact of less than all the fingers with the touchpad 51 will allow for a secondary action to be performed, such as a pinch motion to enable resizing of the window.”).
As to claim 3, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cole and Cederlund discloses the one or more user inputs corresponding to the first zoom-in user command includes a two-handed de-pinch gesture (Cole, ¶0040, “pinch-spread action on the interface 206” Cederlund, ¶0057, “pinching with two of his or hers finger, it is possible to zoom that object or object part.” ¶0153, “releasing contact of less than all the fingers with the touchpad 51 will allow for a secondary action to be performed, such as a pinch motion to enable resizing of the window.”).
As to claim 6, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cole and Cederlund discloses displaying the representation of the media item at the first zoom level includes displaying the representation of the media item at a first size (Cole, Fig.7); and
a three-dimensional environment at least partially surrounds the representation of the media item and includes background content behind the representation of the media item (Cole, Fig. 7, area 702 can be considered as foreground and the rest of 402 404 410 or 412 can be a background.); and
the one or more programs further including instructions for, in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the first zoom-in user command: transitioning the representation of the first media item from being displayed at the first size to being displayed at a second size larger than the first size (Cole, Fig. 8, ¶0041, “The scene portion 804 corresponds to the scene portion of interest that is zoomed, e.g., in response to user selection. The zoomed scene portion 804 displayed to the user corresponds to the scene area portion included in the rectangle 702 of FIG. 7. As can be appreciated from FIG. 8 the displayed scene portion 804 presents a simulated viewing of the user selected scene area through binoculars, e.g., with the displayed left and right circles indicating simulated binocular view and the inside visible scene area being the zoomed version of user selected area.”); and
reducing a visual emphasis of the background content relative to the first media item (Cole, Fig. 8, ¶0041, “The masked portion 802 of the scene area 800 is shown using diagonal line pattern, e.g., to represent the mask. In the zoom mode of display the mask is visible to the user covering the area outside the enlarged area of interest 804. While the mask pattern is displayed to the user the actual portion of the scene 600 under the mask which is outside the zoomed/enlarged scene portion 804 is not visible to the user because of being blocked by the mask thereby simulating a viewing constraint corresponding to viewing through binoculars. Thus when the zoom mode is activated the user's view is restricted, to a portion of the displayed scene that the user might expect to see if looking through binoculars.”).
As to claim 10, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cole and Cederlund discloses displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface at a seventh zoom level, displaying the user interface at the seventh zoom level includes displaying the user interface at a first size (Cole, Fig. 4-6, ¶0039, “The stereoscopic scene 600 normally is the result of combining images captured from multiple cameras, e.g., at least a stereoscopic camera pair including a left eye camera and a right eye camera, and is displayed during a normal mode of display (non-zoom mode of operation).” There are multiple zoom levels so it is obvious to map one zoom level to the claim.); and
while displaying the user interface at the seventh zoom level, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a third zoom-in command (Cole, ¶0034, “the user may control the pointer to interact, e.g., select, move, delete etc., with icons and/or objects displayed on the screen. For example in some embodiments via the interface 206 the user may drag a pointer to a displayed portion of scene and select an area of the scene portion, e.g., by tapping on the touchpad of interface 106 and/or using a area select area, for zooming-in to the selected area. As a result of such a zoom-in operation, an enlarged version of the selected area is displayed” ¶0040, “selecting a zoom-in operation via the interface 206, e.g., by double tapping on the input interface 206 to activate zoom-in function.” “when the user does not specifically select a scene area portion to be zoomed but simply provides an input to zoom-in (e.g., by double tapping or pinch-spread action on the interface 206) then the scene area portion where action occurs, e.g., center of stage, field and/or other performance area, in a displayed scene area is zoomed.”);
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the third zoom-in command: in accordance with a determination that the user gaze corresponds to a fifth position in the user interface, displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface at an eighth zoom level that is greater than the seventh zoom level, wherein displaying the user interface at the eighth zoom level that is greater than the seventh zoom level includes zooming the user interface using a fifth zoom center that is selected based on the fifth position (Cole, Fig. 7-8, Fig. 9B, ¶0051, “In step 928 a change is detected in user head orientation, e.g., head position, e.g., due to the user moving his head due to change in the direction of gaze for example. Operation proceeds from step 928 to step 930. In step 930, in response to detecting a change in the user head position, the center portion of a displayed scene, e.g., comprising of the left and right images used to generate the stereoscopic scene, is changed by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during said zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments changing the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor in step 930 includes moving the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation which is implemented in sub-step step 932.” ¶0080, “In some embodiment while viewing the displayed scene the user changes his/her head position, e.g., rotating, tilting and/or or otherwise changing the direction of gaze. The head position monitoring module 1218 monitoring the user's head position detects a change in user head position and provides the detected change information to the display controller 1230 in some embodiments. The display controller 1230 is configured to change the center portion of a displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during the zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments the display controller 1230 is configured to move the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation, as part of being configured to change the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor.” Cederlund, ¶0063, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area and while pressing hard on a pressure sensitive touchpad with one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs), it is possible to zoom in or out on said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where each hard press toggles between different zoom levels.” ¶0077, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area while moving a finger (e.g. one of the thumbs) in a circular motion, it is possible to zoom in or out of said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where a clockwise motion performs a "zoom in" command and a counterclockwise motion performs a "zoom out" command or vice versa.” ¶0078, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area and in connection to this holding one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs) still while moving another finger (e.g. the other thumb) upwards or downwards, it is possible to zoom in or out of said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where an upwards motion performs a "zoom in" command and a downwards motion performs a "zoom out" command or vice versa. ¶0079, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area while double-tapping on the touch screen with one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs), it is possible to zoom in or out of said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where each double-tap toggles between different zoom levels.” ¶0080, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area while sliding two fingers (e.g. the two thumbs) simultaneously in opposite horizontal directions, it is possible to zoom that object or object part.” ¶0081, “By gazing at a zoomable object and in connection to this holding a finger (e.g. one thumb) still on the touchscreen while moving another finger (e.g. the other thumb) in a circular motion, it is possible to zoom that object or object part”); and
in accordance with a determination that the user gaze corresponds to a sixth position in the user interface, displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface at a ninth zoom level that is greater than the seventh zoom level, wherein displaying the user interface at the ninth zoom level that is greater than the seventh zoom level includes zooming the user interface using a sixth zoom center that is selected based on the sixth position (Cole, Fig. 7-8, Fig. 9B, ¶0051, “In step 928 a change is detected in user head orientation, e.g., head position, e.g., due to the user moving his head due to change in the direction of gaze for example. Operation proceeds from step 928 to step 930. In step 930, in response to detecting a change in the user head position, the center portion of a displayed scene, e.g., comprising of the left and right images used to generate the stereoscopic scene, is changed by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during said zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments changing the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor in step 930 includes moving the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation which is implemented in sub-step step 932.” ¶0080, “In some embodiment while viewing the displayed scene the user changes his/her head position, e.g., rotating, tilting and/or or otherwise changing the direction of gaze. The head position monitoring module 1218 monitoring the user's head position detects a change in user head position and provides the detected change information to the display controller 1230 in some embodiments. The display controller 1230 is configured to change the center portion of a displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during the zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments the display controller 1230 is configured to move the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation, as part of being configured to change the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor.” There are multiple zoom levels so it is obvious to map one zoom level to the claim. Cederlund, ¶0063, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area and while pressing hard on a pressure sensitive touchpad with one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs), it is possible to zoom in or out on said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where each hard press toggles between different zoom levels.” ¶0077, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area while moving a finger (e.g. one of the thumbs) in a circular motion, it is possible to zoom in or out of said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where a clockwise motion performs a "zoom in" command and a counterclockwise motion performs a "zoom out" command or vice versa.” ¶0078, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area and in connection to this holding one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs) still while moving another finger (e.g. the other thumb) upwards or downwards, it is possible to zoom in or out of said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where an upwards motion performs a "zoom in" command and a downwards motion performs a "zoom out" command or vice versa. ¶0079, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area while double-tapping on the touch screen with one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs), it is possible to zoom in or out of said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where each double-tap toggles between different zoom levels.” ¶0080, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area while sliding two fingers (e.g. the two thumbs) simultaneously in opposite horizontal directions, it is possible to zoom that object or object part.” ¶0081, “By gazing at a zoomable object and in connection to this holding a finger (e.g. one thumb) still on the touchscreen while moving another finger (e.g. the other thumb) in a circular motion, it is possible to zoom that object or object part”);
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the third zoom-in user command (Cole, ¶0041):
in accordance with a determination that the user interface is a first user interface, displaying the user interface at a second size that is larger than the first size (Cole, ¶0041, “FIG. 8 illustrates a stereoscopic scene area 800 displayed during the zoom mode of display which is displayed to the viewer after a zooming and masking operation has been applied, with a displayed portion of the scene area 800 presenting a simulated viewing of the portion of the scene 600 through binoculars.”); and
in accordance with a determination that the user interface is a second user interface different from the first user interface, maintaining the user interface at the first size (Cederlund, ¶0063, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area and while pressing hard on a pressure sensitive touchpad with one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs), it is possible to zoom in or out on said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where each hard press toggles between different zoom levels.” It is obvious for non-zoomable object, the size is maintained.).
As to claim 11, the combination of Cole and Cederlund discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, via the display generation component, a representation of a media item at a first zoom level; while displaying the representation of the media item, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a zoom-in user command; and in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the zoom-in user command: in accordance with a determination that a user gaze corresponds to a first position in the user-interface representation of the media item, displaying, via the display generation component, the representation of the media item at a second zoom level that is greater than the first zoom level, wherein displaying the user interface representation of the media item at the second zoom level includes zooming the representation of the media item using a first zoom center that is selected based on the first position and displaying the representation of the media item with a visual effect applied to a first edge of the representation of the media item to indicate that there is additional content of the media item that is not displayed; and in accordance with a determination that the user gaze corresponds to a second position in the representation of the media item different from the first position, displaying, via the display generation component, the representation of the media item at a third zoom level that is greater than the first zoom level, wherein displaying the representation of the media item at the third zoom level includes zooming the representation of the media item using a second zoom center that is selected based on the second position and the second zoom center is at a different location than the first zoom center (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 12, the combination of Cole and Cederlund discloses a method, comprising at a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component and one or more input devices: displaying, via the display generation component, a representation of a media item at a first zoom level; while displaying the representation of the media item, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a zoom-in user command; and in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the zoom-in user command: in accordance with a determination that a user gaze corresponds to a first position in the representation of the media item, displaying, via the display generation component, the representation of the media item at a second zoom level that is greater than the first zoom level, wherein displaying the representation of the media item at the second zoom level includes zooming the representation of the media item using a first zoom center that is selected based on the first position and displaying the representation of the media item with a visual effect applied to a first edge of the representation of the media item to indicate that there is additional content of the media item that is not displayed; and in accordance with a determination that the user gaze corresponds to a second position in the representation of the media item different from the first position, displaying, via the display generation component, the representation of the media item at a third zoom level that is greater than the first zoom level, wherein displaying the representation of the media item at the third zoom level includes zooming the representation of the media item using a second zoom center that is selected based on the second position and the second zoom center is at a different location than the first zoom center. (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
Claims 4-5, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole et al. (US Pub 2016/0219262 A1) in view of Cederlund et al. (US Pub 2015/0130740 A1) and Gallo et al. (US Pub 2006/0156228 A1)
As to claim 4, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cole and Cederlund discloses in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the first zoom-in user command (Cole, ¶0041, “FIG. 8 illustrates a stereoscopic scene area 800 displayed during the zoom mode of display which is displayed to the viewer after a zooming and masking operation has been applied, with a displayed portion of the scene area 800 presenting a simulated viewing of the portion of the scene 600 through binoculars.”):
in accordance with a determination that the media item is of a first type, displaying the media item at a first size (Cole, ¶0041, “FIG. 8 illustrates a stereoscopic scene area 800 displayed during the zoom mode of display which is displayed to the viewer after a zooming and masking operation has been applied, with a displayed portion of the scene area 800 presenting a simulated viewing of the portion of the scene 600 through binoculars.”).
The combination of Cole and Cederlund does not explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that the media item of a second type different from the first type, displaying the second media item at a second size that is greater than the first size.
Gallo teaches in accordance with a determination that the media item of a second type different from the first type, displaying the second media item at a second size that is greater than the first size (Gallo, ¶0013, “According to one embodiment, zooming in to a cell outputs content associated with the cell in greater level of detail. According to another embodiment, zooming in to a cell displays a plurality of cells for outputting content associated with the cell. The content associated with a cell or with a group of cells at different zoom states can be in different media types such as audio, video, text, images and graphics. Further, the content associated with a cell or a group of cells at different zoom states can be obtained from different data sources.” ¶0037, “One type of cell attribute 210 is the geometric properties 213, which specify the size and shape of a cell at different zoom states.” ¶0055, ¶0065, “a content reference associated with a zoom state may provide references to content in different formats, or to content accessible via different media types.” ¶0130, “image 222 a at zoom state 1 is not merely a different resolution version of image 222 b at zoom state 2, but image 222 a can also include different content than image 222 b. Further, the content at different zoom states may occur in different media types such as an image, text, a graph, or video.”. ¶0136, “zoom state definitions 212 for a cell can provide different content references associated with different sizes and shapes for the cell”).
Cole, Cederlund and Gallo are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to user interface. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cole with the features of “in accordance with a determination that the media item of a second type different from the first type, displaying the second media item at a second size that is greater than the first size” as taught by Gallo. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
As to claim 5, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cole and Cederlund discloses in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the first zoom-in user command: in accordance with a determination that the media item of a first type, displaying the media item as a flat object (Cole, ¶0041, “FIG. 8 illustrates a stereoscopic scene area 800 displayed during the zoom mode of display which is displayed to the viewer after a zooming and masking operation has been applied, with a displayed portion of the scene area 800 presenting a simulated viewing of the portion of the scene 600 through binoculars.”).
The combination of Cole and Cederlund does not explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that the media item of a second type, displaying the second media item as a curved object.
Gallo teaches in accordance with a determination that the media item of a second type, displaying the second media item as a curved object (Gallo, Fig. 1. ¶0033, “cells are positioned geometrically at various locations in a cellular environment to represent a particular shape to a viewer, as seen for example in the global cellular environment in FIG. 3D.” ¶0037, “One type of cell attribute 210 is the geometric properties 213, which specify the size and shape of a cell at different zoom states.” ¶0065, “a content reference associated with a zoom state may provide references to content in different formats, or to content accessible via different media types.” ¶0076, “the bitmap image can be displayed on an arbitrarily shaped two-dimensional or three-dimensional area on a screen, such as a portion of a sphere.” ¶0130, “image 222 a at zoom state 1 is not merely a different resolution version of image 222 b at zoom state 2, but image 222 a can also include different content than image 222 b. Further, the content at different zoom states may occur in different media types such as an image, text, a graph, or video.”. ¶0136, “zoom state definitions 212 for a cell can provide different content references associated with different sizes and shapes for the cell”).
Cole, Cederlund and Gallo are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to user interface. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Cole with the features of “in accordance with a determination that the media item of a second type, displaying the second media item as a curved object.” as taught by Gallo. The claim would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations.
As to claim 9, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Cole and Cederlund discloses displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface at a fourth zoom level (Cole, Fig. 4-6, ¶0039, “The stereoscopic scene 600 normally is the result of combining images captured from multiple cameras, e.g., at least a stereoscopic camera pair including a left eye camera and a right eye camera, and is displayed during a normal mode of display (non-zoom mode of operation).” There are multiple zoom levels so it is obvious to map one zoom level to the claim.);
while displaying the user interface at the fourth zoom level, detecting, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a second zoom-in command (Cole, ¶0034, “the user may control the pointer to interact, e.g., select, move, delete etc., with icons and/or objects displayed on the screen. For example in some embodiments via the interface 206 the user may drag a pointer to a displayed portion of scene and select an area of the scene portion, e.g., by tapping on the touchpad of interface 106 and/or using a area select area, for zooming-in to the selected area. As a result of such a zoom-in operation, an enlarged version of the selected area is displayed” ¶0040, “selecting a zoom-in operation via the interface 206, e.g., by double tapping on the input interface 206 to activate zoom-in function.” “when the user does not specifically select a scene area portion to be zoomed but simply provides an input to zoom-in (e.g., by double tapping or pinch-spread action on the interface 206) then the scene area portion where action occurs, e.g., center of stage, field and/or other performance area, in a displayed scene area is zoomed.”);
in response to detecting the one or more user inputs corresponding to the second zoom-in command: in accordance with a determination that the user gaze corresponds to a third position in the user interface, displaying, via the display generation component, the user interface at a fifth zoom level that is greater than the fourth zoom level, wherein displaying the user interface at the fifth zoom level includes zooming the user interface using a third zoom center that is selected based on the third position (Cole, Fig. 7-8, Fig. 9B, ¶0051, “In step 928 a change is detected in user head orientation, e.g., head position, e.g., due to the user moving his head due to change in the direction of gaze for example. Operation proceeds from step 928 to step 930. In step 930, in response to detecting a change in the user head position, the center portion of a displayed scene, e.g., comprising of the left and right images used to generate the stereoscopic scene, is changed by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during said zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments changing the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor in step 930 includes moving the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation which is implemented in sub-step step 932.” ¶0080, “In some embodiment while viewing the displayed scene the user changes his/her head position, e.g., rotating, tilting and/or or otherwise changing the direction of gaze. The head position monitoring module 1218 monitoring the user's head position detects a change in user head position and provides the detected change information to the display controller 1230 in some embodiments. The display controller 1230 is configured to change the center portion of a displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and a zoom factor used during the zoom mode of operation. In some embodiments the display controller 1230 is configured to move the center of the displayed scene by an amount which is the zoom factor times the amount the displayed image would be moved in response to the detected change position if the change in head position were detected during normal mode operation, as part of being configured to change the center portion of the displayed scene by an amount which is a function of the detected change in head position and the zoom factor.” Cederlund, ¶0063, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area and while pressing hard on a pressure sensitive touchpad with one finger (e.g. one of the thumbs), it is possible to zoom in or out on said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where each hard press toggles between different zoom levels.” ¶0077, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information presentation area while moving a finger (e.g. one of the thumbs) in a circular motion, it is possible to zoom in or out of said object using the gaze point as the zoom center point, where a clockwise motion performs a "zoom in" command and a counterclockwise motion performs a "zoom out" command or vice versa.” ¶0078, “By gazing at a zoomable object or object part presented on the information pre