Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This office action is in response to amendments filed on September 28, 2023. Claims 9-18 have been added. Claims 1-18 are pending. Information Disclosure Statement As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated October 14, 2023 and November 11, 2024 are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609, a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the office action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 11 -18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. During examination proceedings, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See In re Zletz , 893 F.2d 319 (Fed. Cir. 1989). T he instant specification states a “computer-readable storage medium” maybe any media including a propagating (i.e., transmission) media “For the present disclosure, a "computer-readable storage medium" can be any apparatus that can contain, store, communicate, propagate, or transmit … examples of computer- readable storage mediums include, as a non-exhaustive list” ([0066]). The transmission media are forms of energy, per se, and thus currently not believed to fall within a statutory category. T he examiner suggests adding the term “non-transitory” to the medium claims to distinguish between statutory and non-statutory subject matter. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (CN105318507A) in further view of Wu et al. (CN109373531A) . Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches a method for controlling an outdoor unit of an air conditioner, comprising: obtaining a first temperature of an environment in which the outdoor unit in a standby state is located ( Step S1, when the air conditioner is started, detecting the first ambient temperature value T1 … of the location of the air conditioner)([0012] ; a starting state is equivalent to a standby state ) ; controlling the outdoor unit to operate for a first predetermined duration prior to obtaining a second temperature of the environment in which the outdoor unit is located ( Step S3, determining whether t ≥ M, wherein M represents the first target time, and if so, executing step S4 … Step S4, detecting a second ambient temperature value T2 ... of the location of the air conditioner)([ 0014] and [ 0015]) ; reading a real-time temperature of the environment … based on a range of a temperature difference between the second temperature and the first temperature ( Step S5, it is determined whether |T1-T2| ≥ A, where A represents the target temperature difference)([0016]) ; and controlling an operation of the outdoor unit based on a temperature difference between the real-time temperature of the environment from the cloud server and the second temperature ( In step S6, the air conditioner is controlled to enter the heat dissipation mode )([0017]) . Xie differs from the claim in that Xie fails to teach the reading of temperature from a cloud server when temperatures differ . However, reading real-time temperature from a cloud server when temperatures differ is taught by Wu ( the meteorological temperature of the detection area is obtained from the cloud server … if the difference is greater ... the weather temperature of the detection area is obtained )([0062] and [0067] ) . The examiner notes Xie and Wu teach a method for controlling an air conditioner . As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie to include the reading of Wu such that the method reads real-time temperature from a cloud server when temperatures differ . One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of improving the accuracy of fault detection ([0038]; Wu). Regarding claim 2, Xie-Wu teach t he method for controlling the outdoor unit of the air conditioner according to claim 1, the method further comprising: transmitting installation environment heat dissipation prompt information of the outdoor unit to a terminal based on the temperature difference between the real-time temperature of the environment from the cloud server and the second temperature, wherein the terminal is a user terminal ( Wu - obtaining the meteorological temperature of the detection area from the cloud server, and determining whether the heat dissipation of the outdoor unit of each air conditioning unit is abnormal according to the meteorological temperature and the outdoor environmental temperature ... after the determination of the abnormality ... corresponding prompt information may be generated according to the detection result ... may be a text prompt or a voice prompt ... broadcast the prompt information, so that the user can know the heat dissipation of the outdoor unit )([0021], [0080], and [0081]) . Regarding claim 9, the claim generally corresponds to method claim 1 and recites similar features in apparatus form. Therefore, the claim is rejected under similar rationale. Regarding claim 10 , the claim generally corresponds to method claim 1 and recites similar features in air conditioner (i.e., apparatus) form. Therefore, the claim is rejected under similar rationale. Regarding claims 11 and 12, the claim s generally corresponds to method claims 1 and 2, respectively, and recites similar features in computer-readable storage medium form. Therefore, the claims are rejected under similar rationale. Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie , Wu, and in further view of Yang ( US20180209673A1 ). Regarding claim 3, Xie-Wu teach the method as applied above, wherein the temperature is obtained from the environment in which the outdoor unit is located (Xie - the first ambient temperature value T1 in a specific range of the location where the air conditioner is located is detected)([0047]) . Xie-Wu differs from the claim in that Xie-Wu fails to teach reading total energy demand of the unit and determining the unit is in standby state when the total energy demand is zero. However, reading total energy demand of a unit and determining the unit is in standby state when the total energy demand is zero is taught by Yang ( the energy controller 41 determines, in step S221, whether the air conditioner outdoor unit 3 is in the inactive state. This may be done by determining whether the alternating current equals zero)([0073]) . The examiner notes Xie, Wu , and Yang teach a method for controlling an air condition er . As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie -Wu to include the reading and the determining of Yang such that the method reads total energy demand of a unit and determines the unit is in standby state when the total energy demand is zero. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of determining an appropriate operation state of an air conditioner ([0 134 ]; Yang ). Regarding claim 13, the claim generally corresponds to method claim 3 and recites similar features in computer-readable storage medium form. Therefore, the claim is rejected under similar rationale. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie, Wu, Yang, and in further view of Taniguchi (US5880361). Regarding claim 4, Xie-Wu -Yang teach the method as applied above, wherein obtaining the first temperature comprises controlling the fan of the unit to start and collecting the first temperature ( Xie - Step S1, when the air conditioner is started, detecting the first ambient temperature value T1 … of the location of the air conditioner … The cooling mode includes increasing the speed of the fan)([0012] and [0058]) . Xie-Wu -Yang differs from the claim in that Xie-Wu -Yang fails to teach controlling the fan for a predefined duration prior to collecting temperature. However, controlling a fan for a predefined duration prior to collecting temperature is taught by Taniguchi (determination of an abnormality of the intake air temperature sensor 24 may be made based on a comparison between a predetermined value and the intake air temperature ... when a predetermined time period has passed after the start of the cooling fan)(column 14 lines 8-13) . The examiner notes Xie, Wu, Yang, and Taniguchi teach a method for measuring temperature. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie-Wu -Yang to include the controlling of Taniguchi such that the method controls a fan for a predefined duration prior to collecting temperature. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of determining sensor abnormality (column 1 lines 6-7; Taniguchi). Regarding claim 14, the claim generally corresponds to method claim 4 and recites similar features in computer-readable storage medium form. Therefore, the claim is rejected under similar rationale. Claims 5-8 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie, Wu, and in further view of Ueno et al. (WO2012118058A1). Regarding claim 5 , Xie-Wu teach the method as applied above, wherein the unit operates in a cooling mode for the first predefined duration (Xie - In step S1, the air conditioner is started ... In step S3, it is judged whether t ≥ M, where M represents the first target time … the air conditioning and cooling operation is running )([0047] , [0050], and [0055] ) , the temperature difference between temperature s is calculated ( Xie – In step S5, it is judged whether |T1-T2| ≥ A, where A represents the target temperature difference )([0054] ) , and the real-time temperature is read from the cloud server when temperature difference is greater than a value (Wu – whether the difference is greater than the second preset ... if the difference is greater ... the weather temperature of the detection area is obtained from the cloud serve r)([0067]) . Xie-Wu differs from the claim in that Xie-Wu fails to teach operating the unit in cooling mode when measured temperature is within a range. However, operating a unit in cooling mode when measured temperature is within a range is taught by Ueno ( FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the relationship between the outside air temperature (Td) ... the process proceeds to step S104, and it is determined whether 18 ° C. ⟨ Td ⟨ 24 ° C. or not. If "NO" in the step S104, the cooling operation of ... ("eco automatic (cold)") mode is set)([0009] and [0011] ; when measured outside temperature is in a range (i.e., greater than 24°C) a unit is operated in cooling mode) . The examiner notes Xie, Wu, and Ueno teach a method for controlling an air conditioner. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie-Wu to include the operating of Ueno such that the method operates a unit in cooling mode when measured temperature is within a range. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of saving energy ([0008]; Ueno). Regarding claim 6 , Xie-Wu -Ueno teach t he method for controlling the outdoor unit of the air conditioner according to claim 5, wherein controlling, in accordance with a determination that the first temperature is within the second set range, the outdoor unit to operate in the cooling mode comprises: controlling, in accordance with a determination that the first temperature is greater than a second set value, the outdoor unit to operate in the cooling mode (Ueno - the process proceeds to step S104, and it is determined whether 18 ° C. ⟨ Td ⟨ 24 ° C. or not. If "NO" in the step S104, the cooling operation of ... ("eco automatic (cold)") mode is set)([0011] ; the unit operates in cooling mode at any temperature value greater than 24°C) . Regarding claim 7 , Xie-Wu teach the method as applied above, wherein the unit operates in a heating mode for the first predefined duration (Xie - In step S1, the air conditioner is started ... In step S3, it is judged whether t ≥ M, where M represents the first target time … During air conditioning heating operation )([0047] , [0050], and [0056] ) , the temperature difference between temperatures is calculated (Xie – In step S5, it is judged whether |T1-T2| ≥ A, where A represents the target temperature difference )([0054] ) , and the real-time temperature is read from the cloud server when temperature difference is greater than a value (Wu – whether the difference is greater than the second preset ... if the difference is greater ... the weather temperature of the detection area is obtained from the cloud serve r)([0067]) . Xie-Wu differs from the claim in that Xie-Wu fails to teach operating the unit in heating mode when measured temperature is within a range. However, operating a unit in heating mode when measured temperature is within a range is taught by Ueno ( FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the relationship between the outside air temperature (Td) ... In step S102, it is determined whether Td ⟨ 18 ° C. Or not). If YES in step S102, the process advances to step S103, and the heating operation ("eco automatic (warm)") mode ... is set )([0009] and [0011] ; when measured outside temperature is in a range (i.e., less than 18°C) a unit is operated in heating mode) . The examiner notes Xie, Wu, and Ueno teach a method for controlling an air conditioner. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xie-Wu to include the operating of Ueno such that the method operates a unit in heating mode when measured temperature is within a range. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of saving energy ([0008]; Ueno). Regarding claim 8 , Xie-Wu -Ueno teach t he method for controlling the outdoor unit of the air conditioner according to claim 7, wherein controlling, in accordance with a determination that the first temperature is within the third set range, the outdoor unit to operate in the heating mode comprises: controlling, in accordance with a determination that the first temperature is smaller than a fourth set value, an outdoor unit to operate in the heating mode (Ueno - I n step S102, it is determined whether Td ⟨ 18 ° C. Or not). If YES in step S102, the process advances to step S103, and the heating operation ("eco automatic (warm)") mode ... is set )([0011] ; the unit operates in heating mode at any temperature value less than 18°C) . Regarding claims 15-18, the claim s generally corresponds to method claims 5-8, respectively, and recites similar features in computer-readable storage medium form. Therefore, the claims are rejected under similar rationale. Conclusion The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider the reference fully when responding to this action. The document cited therein and enumerated below teaches a method and apparatus for detecting faults in an air conditioner. US20080033674A1 US20210199325A1 US11112137B2 The document cited therein and enumerated below teaches a method and apparatus for controlling air conditioner operation. US20220205671A1 US4841738 US7802618B2 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Yongjia Pan whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-1177 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday, 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Scott Baderman can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3644 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YONGJIA PAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118