Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/19/2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The applicants’ representative asserts that reference Park fails to disclose “wherein AC power is provided to both the first and second set of output pins in response to a second type of coil module being connected to the electronics module”. However, the office respectfully disagrees. The office observes that the Park reference teaches that each switch, specifically switches #1013-1 through #1013-3, is connected to an AC power source #1012. Consequently, each output pins are provided with AC power to enable each of the coil modules when needed. The office agrees with the notion that Park discloses using the same type of coil modules, however, in light of the new rejection set forth below, the argument is moot.
Furthermore, the office notes that the instant applications drawings and specification, do not contain any teachings or disclosure regarding the simultaneous connection of two different type of coil modules, particularly concerning the provision of AC power to both the first and second set of output pins in response to a second type of coil module being connected to the electronic module (“wherein AC power is provided to both the first and second set of output pins in response to a second type of coil module being connected to the electronics module”). Figures 1-4 and paragraphs [0019-0021], clearly state, that the coil modules #200 and #202 are interchangeable depending on the user’s requirement. The office concludes that module #204 is designed to accommodate only one type of coil module during operation. Therefore, the arguments presented are not persuasive.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, in claims 1 and 16, “wherein AC power is provided to both the first and second set of outputs pins in response to a second coil module being connected to the electronics module” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (U.S 2018/0351414 A1) in view of Nakamura (U.S 2005/0068019 A1) and Kim (U.S 2017/0047769 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Park discloses an electronics module (Fig.10, #1010, paragraph [0234-0238]) configured to provide power to one of a plurality of coil modules (Fig.10, #1015-1-3, or l1, l2, l3) utilized for wireless charging, the electronics module comprising: an input power interface (Fig.10, #1011 includes an input side) configured to receive direct current (DC) power; DC-to-AC converter circuity configured to convert the DC power to alternating current (AC) power (Fig.10, #1011 and paragraph [0239], discloses #1011 converting dc power to AC power); an output power interface (Fig.10, conduits leaving from #1013 to #1015) having a first set of output pins (Fig.10, #1013-1 has output pins) and at least a second set of output pins (Fig.10, #1013-2, has a second set of output pins) configured to interface with each of the plurality of coil modules (Fig.10, #l1 and #l2), wherein AC power is provided to the first set of output pins (Fig.10, paragraph [0241], which discloses AC power is selected provided to the first set of pins #1013-1) in response to a first coil module being connected to the electronics module, and wherein AC power is provided to both the first and second set of output pins based on a type of coil module connected to the electronics module (Paragraph [0239-0241], and the office notes that each switch, specifically switches #1013-1 through #1013-3, is connected to an AC power source #1012. Consequently, each output pins are provided with AC power to enable each of the coil modules when needed).
Park fails to disclose: A plurality of different types of coil modules and a fan interface configured to provide DC power to a fan.
However, Nakamura discloses: A plurality of different types of coil modules (Fig.5, #11x, 11y, and 11z are different types of coil modules, configured to each provided different power levels to the charging device, as such the office notes that with the combination of Park in view of Nakamura, the plurality of coils connected to the electronic module (as taught by Park) would be modified to include a plurality of different type of coil modules (as taught by Nakamura) to provide different power profiles).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the plurality of coils connected to the electronic module (as taught by Park) to be replaced by a plurality of different type of coil modules (as taught by Nakamura) to provide different power profiles. By utilizing different type of coil modules, would allow users to select the level of power to be transmitted, therefore allow charging of different types of devices connected to said electronic module.
Furthermore, Park in view of Nakamura fail to disclose: A fan interface configured to provide DC power to a fan.
However, Kim discloses: A fan interface configured to provide DC power to a fan (Fig.10, #1030 is connected to a fan interface providing DC power to operate, see paragraph [0219], as such the office notes that with the combination of Park in view of Nakamura and Kim, the electronic modules used to charge devices wirelessly (as taught by Park) would be modified to include a fan interface (as taught by Kim) to provide DC power to a fan to cool the interior).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the electronic modules used to charge devices (as taught by Park) to include a fan interface (as taught by Kim) to provide DC power to a fan to cool said module. By including a fan interface for a fan, would provide cooling air to flow through and over the coils to prevent overheating and permanent damage.
In regards to Claim 2, Park in view of Nakamura and Kim disclose the electronics module of claim 1, further including: a housing body including cooling ducts extending through the housing body to receive cooling airflow from the fan (Kim, Fig.10, #1000 includes cooling ducts extending through said body to received cooling airflow from the fan #1030).
In regards to Claim 3, Park in view of Nakamura and Kim disclose discloses the electronics module of claim 2, wherein the cooling ducts include a cooling duct outlet located on an outer diameter of the electronics module (Kim, Fig.10, #1000 includes an outlet located on the outer diameter of said module).
In regards to Claim 8, Park discloses a modular wireless charging transmitter assembly system, the system comprising: an electronics module (Fig.10, #1010) comprising: a module input power interface (Fig.10, #1011 input side is interpreted as the input power interface) configured to receive direct current (DC) power, DC-to-AC converter circuity configured to convert the DC power to alternating current (AC) power (Fig.10, #1011 and paragraph [0239], discloses #1011 converting dc power to AC power), and an output power interface (Fig.10, output side of #1030 is consider the output power interface) having a first set of output pins (Fig.10, #1013-1 includes a first output pins) and at least a second set of output pins, (Fig.10, #1013-2, includes the second output pins), and wherein AC power is provided to the first set of output pins in response to a first coil module being connected to the electronics module (Fig.10, #1013-1 is selectively provided with power to power the first coil #L1), and wherein the AC power is provided to both the first and second set of output pins based on a type of coil module connected to the electronics module (Paragraph [0239-0241], and the office notes that each switch, specifically switches #1013-1 through #1013-3, is connected to an AC power source #1012. Consequently, each output pins are provided with AC power to enable each of the coil modules when needed); one of the first type of coil module (Fig.10, #L1) or the second coil module, each coil module having a coil input interface configured to connect to the output power interface to receive AC power from the electronics module (Fig.10, paragraph [0241], which discloses AC power is provided to the first set of pins #1013-1 to the coil #L1 input side (interface) and second set of pins 1013-2 to #L2).
Park fails to disclose: A plurality of different types of coil modules and a fan interface configured to provide DC power to a fan.
However, Nakamura discloses: A plurality of different types of coil modules (Fig.5, #11x, 11y, and 11z are different types of coil modules, configured to each provided different power levels to the charging device, as such the office notes that with the combination of Park in view of Nakamura, the plurality of coils connected to the electronic module (as taught by Park) would be modified to include a plurality of different type of coil modules (as taught by Nakamura) to provide different power profiles).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the plurality of coils connected to the electronic module (as taught by Park) to be replaced by a plurality of different type of coil modules (as taught by Nakamura) to provide different power profiles. By utilizing different type of coil modules, would allow users to select the level of power to be transmitted, therefore allow charging of different types of devices connected to said electronic module.
Furthermore, Park in view of Nakamura fail to disclose: A fan configured to receive power from the electronics module.
However, Kim discloses: A fan configured to receive power from the electronics module (Fig.10, #1030 is connected to a fan interface providing DC power to operate located in the electronics module, see paragraph [0219], as such the office notes that with the combination of Park in view of Nakamura and Kim, the electronic modules used to charge devices (as taught by Park) would be modified to include a fan (as taught by Kim) to provide cooling for the electronics and/or coil).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the electronic modules used to charge devices (as taught by Park) to include a fan (as taught by Kim) to provide DC power to a fan to cool said module. By including a fan, would provide cooling air to flow through and over the coils to prevent overheating and permanent damage.
In regards to Claim 9, Park in view of Nakamura and Kim disclose discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the electronics module is enclosed in a housing body having cooling ducts extending through the housing body to receive cooling airflow from the fan (Kim, Fig.10, #1000 includes cooling ducts extending through the housing to received air from #1030).
In regards to Claim 10, Park in view of Nakamura and Kim disclose discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the housing body includes a first cooling duct (Kim, Fig.10, left side includes an inlet duct) and a second cooling duct (Kim, Fig.10, right side includes an exhaust duct), wherein the first cooling duct is located on a first side of the coil module (Kim, Fig.10, left side) and the second cooling duct is located on a second side of the coil module diametrically opposite from the first side of the coil module (Kim, Fig.10, exhaust duct is located on the right side opposite from the first side (left side)).
In regards to Claim 11, Park in view of Nakamura and Kim disclose discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the cooling ducts extending through the housing body are positioned between the fan and the coil module (Annotated Fig.10, discloses a cooling duct positioned between the fan and coil module).
Annotated Figure 10 of Kim:
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 12, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to Claim 4, no prior art fairly suggests or discloses “wherein the first type of coil module includes a first housing body and the second type of coil module includes a second housing body, each of the first housing body and the second housing body including cooling duct inlets configured to align with cooling duct outlets formed on the electronics module”, in conjunction with the remaining elements.
Dependent claims 5-7 are allowably by virtue of their dependency from claim 4.
In regards to Claim 12, no prior art fairly suggests or discloses “wherein the first type of coil module is enclosed in a first housing body and the second type of coil module is enclosed in a second housing body, each of the first housing body and the second housing body including cooling duct inlets align able with cooling duct outlets formed on the electronics module”, in conjunction with the remaining elements.
Dependent claims 13-15 are allowably by virtue of their dependency from claim 12.
In regards to Claim 16, no prior art fairly suggests or discloses “a housing body including: a top surface for receiving one of a plurality of different types of coil modules.. one or more of the plurality of output terminals based on a type of coil module connected to the electronics module via the top surface of the housing body, wherein AC power delivered to the coil module provides wireless charging of electronic devices; and at least one coil module having a bottom surface configured to be placed on the top surface of the housing body”, in conjunction with the remaining elements.
Dependent claims 17-20 are allowably by virtue of their dependency from claim 16.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835