DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claims 1, 4, 7-10, 12-13, 18, 20-22, and 27 objected to because of the following informalities: the term “elongate pins” in the aforementioned claims should be corrected to “elongated pins”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1 -14 and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 FILLIN "Insert either \“(a)(1)\” or \“(a)(2)\” or both. If paragraph (a)(2) of 35 U.S.C. 102 is applicable, use form paragraph 7.15.01.aia, 7.15.02.aia or 7.15.03.aia where applicable." \d "[ 2 ]" (a)(1) as being FILLIN "Insert either—clearly anticipated—or—anticipated—with an explanation at the end of the paragraph." \d "[ 3 ]" anticipated by US 2004/0141887A1-Main q uist et al (hereinafter “ Main q uist ”). Regarding claim 1 , Main q uist discloses a material layering assembly ( apparatus and related methods for processing s ubstrate s urface features. s urface features typically include s amples or other arrayed materials, s uch as microarrays , para. [0006], lines 1-4, apparatus 100, para. [0069], line 5, Figs. 1A & 1B) comprising: a base plate (supporting member 106, para. [0069], line 20, Figs. 1A & 1B) comprising a face (supporting member 106 include a face, shown in Fig. 1B) and a perimeter surrounding the face (supporting member 106 includes a perimeter—surrounding border of member 106, shown in Fig. 1B) and comprising a plurality of ], line elongate pins (fasteners 116, para. [0070], lines 11-12, Fig. 1B ; and pins 112, para. [0072], lines 7-9, Fig. 1B ) provided along, and extending vertically from, (Fig. 1B shows fasteners 116 extending vertically from member 106 ; and pins 112, para. [0072], lines 7-9, Fig. 1B ) a surface of the perimeter of the base plate (fasteners 116 shown vertically from surface of the perimeter of the base plate—support member 106 ; and pins 112, para. [0072], lines 7-9, Fig. 1B ) ; Main q uist discloses and a top plate (sealing member 126, para. [0071], lines 1-2, Fig. 1B; further, Main q uist discloses a sealing member may include e.g. a lid, a cover or the like, para. [0098], lines 2-3) comprising a face and a perimeter surrounding the face (sealing member 126 includes a face and a border surrounding the of member 126, shown in Fig. 1B) and comprising a plurality of apertures provided along a surface of the perimeter of the top plate (a surface of s ealing member 126 that engages s eparating member 102 when s ealing member 126 is mated with s eparating member 102 typically includes recessed grooves 130 that are structured to receive a portion of s ealing components 128 , para. [0071], lines 13-17 ) , wherein, upon placement of the top plate over the base plate, each of said plurality of apertures provided along the perimeter of the top place is sized and/or shaped to receive a separate respective one of the plurality of elongate pins extending vertically from the surface of the perimeter of the base plate to thereby align the faces of the base and top plates relative to one another and cause one or more layers of material placed upon the base plate to be held between the faces of the base and top plates (a pparatus 100 typically also further includes s ealing components 128 —e .g., gaskets or the like ; disposed between s ealing and separating members —1 26 and 102, respectively —t o further s eal separated s urface features of substrates 108 when sealing member 126 is mated with, e.g., separating member 102 of apparatus 100 ; a surface of s ealing member 126 that engages s eparating member 102 when s ealing member 126 is mated with s eparating member 102 typically includes recessed grooves 130 that are structured to receive a portion of s ealing components 128 , para. [0071], lines 8-17 ; grooves 130 are disposed on top plate—sealing member 126, shown in Figs. 1A & 1B ) . Regarding claim 2 , Main q uist discloses wherein the faces of the base and top plates are elevated relative to the respective perimeters of the base and top plates (Fig. 1A shows the faces the base plate—supporting member 106 and top plate—sealing member 126, where previously mentioned plates are elevated to relative the perimeters or borders of the base and top plates, member 106 and member 126, respectively) . Regarding claim 3 , Main q uist discloses wherein the perimeter of each of the base and top plates comprises a reduced-thickness edge such that the face is raised in relation to the perimeter (Fig. 1A shows a perimeter of the base plate—supporting member 106 and top plate— sealing member 126, includes a reduced-thickness border that the face is elevated in relation to the perimeter) . Regarding claim 4 , Main q uist discloses wherein, when the top plate is aligned over the base plate (top plate—sealing member 126 is aligned over the base plate—supporting member 106, as shown in Fig. 1A) , the faces of the base and top plates are aligned with one another such that one or more layers of tissue therebetween are compressed between the faces of the base and top plates (the faces of the top plate—sealing member 126 and base plate—supporting member 106 are aligned with one another such that the one or more platers therebetween—sample is included in separating member 102, which is sandwiched in between the sealing member 126 and supporting member 106 ) and the plurality of elongate pins (elongated pins—116 extending shown extending vertically from the perimeter, discussed previously ; and pins 112, para. [0072], lines 7-9, Fig. 1B ) vertically extending from the perimeter of the base plate (supporting member 106 has fasteners 116 vertically extending f rom the perimeter of supporting member 106, shown in Fig. 1B ) and received within corresponding apertures of the perimeter of the top plate are not load-bearing (a pparatus 100 typically also further includes s ealing components 128 —e .g., gaskets or the like ; disposed between s ealing and separating members —1 26 and 102, respectively —t o further s eal separated s urface features of substrates 108 when sealing member 126 is mated with, e.g., separating member 102 of apparatus 100 ; a surface of s ealing member 126 that engages s eparating member 102 when s ealing member 126 is mated with s eparating member 102 typically includes recessed grooves 130 that are structured to receive a portion of s ealing components 128 , para. [0071], lines 8-17; grooves 130 are disposed on top plate—sealing member 126, shown in Figs. 1A & 1B) . Regarding claim 5 , Main q uist discloses wherein each of the base and top plates is of unitary construction ( the apparatus of the invention are fabricated as s ingle integral units that include s ubstrates disposed therein , para. [0113], lines 4-6) . Regarding claim 6 , Main q uist discloses wherein each of the base and top plates is formed from a single piece of material via an additive manufacturing process or a subtractive manufacturing process ( the apparatus of the invention are fabricated as s ingle integral units that include s ubstrates disposed therein , para. [0113], lines 4-6; further, Main q uist discloses a pparatus components (e.g., s upporting members, s eparating members, s ealing members, s ealing components, etc.) or components thereof are optionally formed by various fabrication technique s or combinations of s uch techniques including, e.g., machining, s tamping, engraving, injection molding, cast molding, embossing, extrusion, etching , e.g., electrochemical etching, etc., or other techniques , para. [0112], lines 1-9) . Regarding claim 7 , Main q uist discloses wherein each of the plurality of elongate pins is removably attachable to the perimeter of the base plate (Fig. 1B shows fasteners 116 and pins 112, being removably attachable to the perimeter of the base plate—supporting member 106 ) . Regarding claim 8 , Main q uist discloses wherein each of the plurality of elongate pins comprises a base section (Fig. 1B shows each of the plurality of elongated pins—fasteners 116 and pins 112, each have a base, shown as the bottom of openings on supporting member 106, where each fastener 116 and pin 112 is shown connecting to a base on supporting member 106, shown via dashed lines in Fig. 1B) . Regarding claim 9 , Main q uist discloses wherein the base section of each of the plurality of elongate pins (the bottom of openings on supporting member 106, Fig. 1B) is configured to releasably fit within a respective aperture provided along the perimeter of the base plate (Fig. 1B shows each of the plurality of elongated pins—fasteners 116 and pins 112, each have a base, shown as the bottom of openings on supporting member 106, where each fastener 116 and pin 112 is shown connecting to a base on supporting member 106, shown via dashed lines in Fig. 1B, where the ending of each of the dashed lines of fasteners 116 and pins 112 corresponds to an opening on supporting member 106, also, shown in Fig. 1B). Regarding claim 10 , Main q uist discloses wherein the base section of each of the plurality of elongate pins is configured to releasably fit within a respective aperture via a slip fit connection (Fig. 1B shows fasteners 116 and pins 112, being removably attachable to the perimeter of the base plate—supporting member 106; further, Main q uist discloses fasteners may include s crews, bolts, clamps, clips, latches, or the like , that fasten mated separating and s upporting members 102 and 106, respectively , together , para. [0070], lines 11-14 ) . Regarding claim 11 , Main q uist discloses wherein each of the plurality of apertures provided along the perimeter of the base plate comprises at least a first section having a diameter and length and an opening flush with a surface of the perimeter (each of the openings along the perimeter or border of the base plate—supporting member 106 includes a first section having a diameter (that is the diameter of the opening of the corresponding or mating fastener 116 and pin 112; and it has a length and an opening that is flush with surface of the perimeter of supporting member 106, shown in Figs. 1A and 1B) . Regarding claim 12 , Main q uist discloses wherein a length and a diameter of the base section of each of the plurality of elongate pins is less than the length and diameter of the first section of each of the plurality of apertures to thereby create a slip fit tolerance therebetween (the length and diameter of the base of each of the elongated pins—fasteners 116 and pins 112, is less than the length and diameter of first opening to create a slip fit tolerance based on the type of fastener 116) . Regarding claim 13 , Main q uist discloses wherein each of the plurality of elongate pins comprises a top section configured to be received within a separate respective aperture provided along the perimeter of the top plate (s eparating member 102 further includes positioning components 120 and resilient coupling component 122 that position substrates 108 relative to separating member 102 when substrates 108 are supported by s upporting member 106 and supporting member 106 is mated with s eparating member 102 , para. [0070], lines 20-25 ) . Regarding claim 14 , Main q uist discloses wherein the top section is cylindrically tapered and comprises a tip for piercing one or more layers of material (fasteners 116, positioning components 120, and pins 112 are shown in Fig. 1B having a top section which is has a cylindrical tapered portion and the tip includes a tip or a bottom of the latter components, pins 112, and fasteners 116 , include a tip or a bottom portion capable of piercing one or more layers as shown in Fig. 1B ) . Regarding claim 1 8 , Main q uist discloses wherein each of the plurality of elongate pins comprises a mid-section configured to be received within a separate respective aperture provided along the perimeter of the top plate (fasteners 116, positioning components 120, and pins 112 are shown in Fig. 1B includes a mid-section arranged to be received within another or separate opening on the perimeter of the top plate—sealing member 126; further, Main q uist discloses a pparatus 100 typically also further includes se aling components 128 (e.g., gaskets or the like) disposed between s ealing and separating members (126 and 102, respectively) to further s eal separated s urface features of substrates 108 when sealing member 126 is mated with, e.g., separating member 102 of apparatus 100 , para. [0071], lines 8-13) . Regarding claim 19 , Main q uist discloses wherein each of the plurality of apertures provided along the perimeter of the top plate comprises at least a first section having a diameter and length (a surface of s ealing member 126 that engages s eparating member 102 when s ealing member 126 is mated with s eparating member 102 typically includes recessed grooves 130 that are structured to receive a portion of s ealing components 128 , para . [0071], lines 13-17). Regarding claim 20 , Main q uist discloses wherein a length and a diameter of the mid-section of each of the plurality of elongate pins is less than the length and diameter of the first section of each of the plurality of apertures provided along the perimeter of the top plate to thereby create a slip fit tolerance therebetween (the diameter of the mid-section of the elongated pins—fasteners 116, and pins 112; include the length and diameter of the base of each of the elongated pins—fasteners 116 and pins 112, is less than the length and diameter of first opening to create a slip fit tolerance based on the type of fastener 116) . Regarding claim 21 , Main q uist discloses wherein the plurality of elongate pins are placed equidistantly apart along the perimeter of the base plate and the plurality of apertures are correspondingly provided equidistantly apart along the perimeter of the top plate (Fig. 1B shows the plurality of elongated pins—fasteners 116, pins 112, and components 120 on the base plate—supporting member 106 , which comprise openings corresponding to the latter via the dashed lines on the base plate , which corresponds from the fasteners, pins, and components to the openings on support member 106—base plate ) . Regarding claim 22 , Main q uist discloses wherein the base plate, the top plate, and the plurality of elongated pins comprise a material that is capable of cleaning, autoclaving, and reuse without warping ( apparatus, or components thereof, are fabricated from various metallic materials, s uch as s tainle ss s teel, anodized aluminum, or the like , para. [0113], lines 9-11) . Regarding claim 23 , Main q uist discloses wherein the material comprises stainless steel ( apparatus, or components thereof, are fabricated from various metallic materials, s uch as s tainle ss s teel, para. [0113], lines 9-11) . Regarding claim 24 , Main q uist discloses wherein the one or more layers of material comprises at least tissue (the apparatus of the invention also afford the use of Small Sample , para. [0068], lines 20-21) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 25-2 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2004/0141887A1-Main q uist as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of US 10,994,913 B2-Duan-Arnold et al (hereinafter “Duan-Arnold”). Regarding claim 25 , Main q uist teaches the invention discussed above in claim 24. Further, Main q uist teaches an assembly of the invention, also discussed above. Also, Main q uist teaches samples, which may include ells or the like (para. [0061], lines 5-6). However, Main q uist does not explicitly teach place ntal membrane and a vacuum drying process. For claim 25, Duan-Arnold a support assembly for supporting a biological product (e.g. , a membrane) in an operative position ; t he support assembly can have a base and a cover (col. 2, lines 40-43) and Duan-Arnold teaches membrane 20 can be a natural membrane, such as, for example and without limitation, a placental tissue product of the device—package 100 (col. 13, lines 26-28); additionally, Duan-Arnold teaches a vacuum of the device (col. 18, line 4), which reads on the instant claim limitation of placental membrane and a vacuum. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include placental membrane and a vacuum drying process as taught by Duan-Arnold the packaging or device allows for a natural membrane, such as a placental tissue product to be support ed , stabilize d and protect ed such biological materials during manufacture, storage, transportation and delivery/application (preferably by a health care provider) to an end user (i.e., a human or animal patient) or wound (col. 10, lines 12-16). Regarding claim 26 , Main q uist teaches the invention discussed above . Further, Main q uist teaches multiple layers of the device, also discussed above. Also, Main q uist teaches samples, which may include ells or the like (para. [0061], lines 5-6). However, Main q uist does not explicitly teach an amnion sheet and a chorion sheet. For claim 26, Duan-Arnold a support assembly for supporting a biological product (e.g. , a membrane) in an operative position ; t he support assembly can have a base and a cover (col. 2, lines 40-43) and Duan-Arnold teaches membrane 20 can be a natural membrane, such as, for example and without limitation, a placental tissue product of the device—package 100 (col. 13, lines 26-28); additionally, Duan-Arnold teaches the membrane 20 can be a chorionic membrane product and Duan-Arnold teaches the membrane can be amniotic membrane product (col. 13, lines 29-31) of the device 100, which reads on the instant claim limitation of an amnion sheet and a chorion sheet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include an amnion sheet and a chorion sheet of the device 100 as taught by Duan-Arnold, because Duan-Arnold teaches the packaging or device allows for a natural membrane, such as a placental tissue product to be support ed , stabilize d and protect ed such biological materials during manufacture, storage, transportation and delivery/application (preferably by a health care provider) to an end user (i.e., a human or animal patient) or wound (col. 10, lines 12-16). Regarding claim 27 , Main q uist teaches wherein the plurality of elongate pins (fasteners 116, pins 112, and positioning components 120, shown in Fig. 1B) are configured to pierce the one or more multiple layers of tissue such that each layer is stretched and held in place between the base and top plates and maintained in a substantially flat orientation and prevented from sliding between the faces of the base and top plates (the sample is placed on the arrays of apertures od separating member 102, which is held in between sealing member 126 and supporting member 106, where the sealing member 126, separating member 102 and supporting member 106 are in a flat orientation as shown in Figs. 1A and 1B, and are prevented from sliding via the fasteners 116, pins 112, and positioning components 120, also shown in Fig. 1A; when all components are sealed/mated together). Regarding claim 28, Main q uist teaches wherein alignment and placement of the top plate upon the base plate causes the faces of the base and top plates to compress the multiple layers of tissue together and prevent air bubble formation and to form a multi-layered construct with a consistent thickness (when the top plate—sealing member 126 and the base plate—supporting member 102 are aligned the faces of the latter are compressed as shown in Fig. 1A) . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: for claim 15, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the top section reduces in diameter over 7.50 mm from 2.50 mm to 0.80 mm inclusive at the tip , where these limitations are in combination with the claims as a whole. The closest prior at is US 2004/0141887 A1 -Mainquist and U S 10,994,913 B2 -Duan-Arnold. Mainquist teaches an invention relating to an a pparatus for fluidly s eparating s ubstrate s urface features. The apparatus include arrays of apertures that correspond to at least a portion of an array of w ells disposed in a micro-well plate and/or are s tructured to fluidly s eparate multiple s urface features dis posed on multiple s ubstrates from one another. Duan-Arnold teaches a support assembly for supporting a biological product (e.g., membrane) in an operative positio n; t he support assembly has a base and a cover . However, Mainquist and Duan-Arnold do not teach or fairly suggest wherein the top section reduces in diameter over 7.50 mm from 2.50 mm to 0.80 mm inclusive at the ti p. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: for claim 16, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the top section reduces in diameter over 7.50 mm from 3.00 mm to 0.80 mm at the tip , where these limitations are in combination with the claims as a whole. The closest prior at is US 2004/0141887 A1 -Mainquist and U S 10,994,913 B2 -Duan-Arnold. Mainquist teaches an invention relating to an a pparatus for fluidly s eparating s ubstrate s urface features. The apparatus include arrays of apertures that correspond to at least a portion of an array of w ells disposed in a micro-well plate and/or are s tructured to fluidly s eparate multiple s urface features dis posed on multiple s ubstrates from one another. Duan-Arnold teaches a support assembly for supporting a biological product (e.g., membrane) in an operative positio n; t he support assembly has a base and a cover . However, Mainquist and Duan-Arnold do not teach or fairly suggest wherein the top section reduces in diameter over 7.50 mm from 3.00 mm to 0.80 mm at the tip . The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: for claim 17, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the top section reduces in diameter over 8.00 mm from 3.00 mm to 1.00 mm at the tip , where these limitations are in combination with the claims as a whole. The closest prior at is US 2004/0141887 A1 -Mainquist and U S 10,994,913 B2 -Duan-Arnold. Mainquist teaches an invention relating to an a pparatus for fluidly s eparating s ubstrate s urface features. The apparatus include arrays of apertures that correspond to at least a portion of an array of w ells disposed in a micro-well plate and/or are s tructured to fluidly s eparate multiple s urface features dis posed on multiple s ubstrates from one another. Duan-Arnold teaches a support assembly for supporting a biological product (e.g., membrane) in an operative positio n; t he support assembly has a base and a cover . However, Mainquist and Duan-Arnold do not teach or fairly suggest wherein the top section reduces in diameter over 8.00 mm from 3.00 mm to 1.00 mm at the tip . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT LENORA A. ABEL whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8270 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 7:00am-4:00pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Michael Marcheschi can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-1374 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /L.A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1799 /MICHAEL L HOBBS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799