DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 – 15 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 7. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 8-15 not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi (JP 2010226816)
Regarding claim 1, Hayahi teaches a deployable electric vehicle charging point (figure 1 item 2 an electric vehicle charging device with a charging arm) comprising
a housing for burying substantially below a ground level (figure 1 item 1 is a housing, interpreted as a box. Paragraph [0011] discloses the box is embedded in the ground),
a post (figure 1 shows a post, interpreted as a charging arm item 2), and a socket mounted to the post, the socket being adapted to receive a plug of a vehicle charging cable (figure 1 shows a socket item 5, defined as a charging outlet),
the post being mounted in the housing about a pivotal axis and being movable about the pivotal axis between a stowed position within the housing and an operative position (figure 1 shows the post mounted on a horizontal shaft item 4. Paragraph [0012] discloses wherein the post, charging arm item 2 is housed in the box and raised and lowered by the horizontal shaft 4),
wherein the post is deployed substantially vertically in the operative position, irrespective of the incline of the housing, for enabling the electric vehicle charging point to be installed on an incline (figures 1 – 3 show wherein the post is deployed substantially vertically. Paragraph [0014] discloses wherein the raising angle is self-supporting, thus able to be installed on an incline), and
wherein the post has first and second lateral sides (figures 1 – 3 shows first and second lateral sides),
the pivotal axis extending between the first and second lateral sides (figure 1 shows the pivotal axis item 4 extending between the first and second lateral sides),
the post further having a front- facing side and a rear-facing side (figures 1 – 3 shows a front side and a rear-facing side),
the rear-facing side having a substantially flat surface which in the stowed position forms an exposed upper surface at the ground level (figures 1 – 3 show a rear facing side with a flat surface. Paragraph [0011] discloses wherein the housing box is embedded with the ground. Paragraph [0012] discloses wherein the rear of the charging arm may serve as a ceiling door, thus exposed to the upper surface at ground level).
Hayashi figures 1 – 3 show a deployable electric vehicle charging station
Regarding claim 16, Hayashi teaches the deployable electric vehicle charging point as claimed in claim 1, in which the length of the housing is greater than the height of the housing (figure 1 shows the length of the housing is greater than the height).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (JP 2010226816) in view of Zhang (US 106602642).
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi teaches the deployable electric vehicle charging point as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach in which an electric motor drives the post between the stowed and operative positions.
Zhang discloses wherein which an electric motor drives the post between the stowed and operative positions (figures 1 and 2 show a rotating motor item 10 to drive a post between a stowed position and an operative position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Hayashi reference with the charging system of the Zhang reference so that the charging pile may be easily operated by a controller to be concealed when not in use.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the reference in Zhang reference in paragraph [0007] wherein the charging pile is operated by a controller.
Zhang figures 1 and 2 show a motor item10 for rotating the charging pile
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi teaches the deployable electric vehicle charging point as claimed in claim 1, in which a central axis of the power distribution connector is positioned at an angle to the post of between 20 degrees and 70 degrees (figure 1 shows a power distribution connector, interpreted as a socket item 5 positioned between 20 degrees and 70 degrees).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi teaches the deployable electric vehicle charging point as claimed in claim 1, in which the socket is disposed on the front-facing side of the post (figure 1 shows a socket item 5 disposed in front).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi teaches the deployable electric vehicle charging point as claimed in claim 1, in which the forward-facing side of the post has a front contact surface which in the stowed position contacts a bottom of the housing, or contacts a part which in turn contacts the bottom of the housing (paragraph [0012] discloses wherein the charging arm is housed inside the box and is attached to the box and serves as the ceiling door, thus arm contacts the bottom of the housing).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi teaches the deployable electric vehicle charging point as claimed in claim 5, in which the socket is disposed on the front-facing side of the post and in which the socket is positioned inset rearwardly from the front contact surface of the post (figure 1 shows a socket item 5 disposed in front-facing side of the post and the socket is positioned inset rearwardly from the surface).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (JP 2010226816) in view of Choi (US 20200144831).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi teaches the deployable electric vehicle charging point as claimed in any preceding claim, but does not explicitly teach wherein a plate is provided for covering the housing when the post is in the operative position.
Choi teach wherein a plate is provided for covering the housing when the post is in the operative position (figures 11A and 11B item 414 wherein a plate, interpreted as stiff yet pliable sheets covering the housing item 8 while the post item 34 is in an operative position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Hayashi reference with the covering system Choi reference so that debris, water, ice, snow and dirt do not enter an interfere with the charging during operation.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the reference in Zhang reference in paragraph [0007] wherein the charging pile is operated by a controller.
Choi figures 11A – 11B show a vehicle charging station with a door or lid to cover a recessed opening
Claims 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (JP 2010226816) in view of Freeling-Wilkinson (US 20210053456).
Regarding claim 17, Hayashi teaches the deployable electric vehicle charging point as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach comprising a communication means for communicating with a network.
Freeling-Wilkinson teaches comprising a communication means for communicating with a network (defined in paragraph [0093] wherein communication means for communicating with a network is performed within the system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Hayashi reference with the charging system of the Freeling-Wilkinson reference so that user may communicate and control the charging station when he or she is ready to charge.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the reference in Freeling-Wilkinson reference in paragraph [0095] wherein network communications between the user and the station is taught.
Freeling-Wilkinson figure 1 shows an aperture item 32 for holding charging connector.
Regarding claim 18, Hayashi teaches the deployable electric vehicle charging point as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach comprising an alarm means for alerting person within the vicinity.
Freeling-Wilkinson teaches wherein comprising an alarm means for alerting person within the vicinity (defined in paragraph [0029] lights or other visual warning are used. Paragraph [0045] discloses wherein a person is detected near the charging station. Paragraph [0166] discloses wherein the user is notified of an obstruction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Hayashi reference with the charging system of the Freeling-Wilkinson reference so that user may communicate and control the charging station when he or she is ready to charge.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the reference in Freeling-Wilkinson reference in paragraph [0095] wherein network communications between the user and the station is taught.
Regarding claim 20, Hayashi teaches the deployable electric vehicle charging point as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach in which a charging cable holding means is provided for securing at least a portion of the electric vehicle charging cable.
Freeling-Wilkinson teaches in which a charging cable holding means is provided for securing at least a portion of the electric vehicle charging cable (figure 1 item 32 shows an aperture for holding a charging cable and securing at least a portion of the cable)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Hayashi reference with the charging system of the Freeling-Wilkinson reference so that user may communicate and control the charging station when he or she is ready to charge.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the reference in Freeling-Wilkinson reference in paragraph [0095] wherein network communications between the user and the station is taught.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (JP 2010226816) in view of Kauffmann (US 20130113425).
Regarding claim 19, Hayashi teaches the deployable electric vehicle charging point as claimed in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach in which a heater is provided for warming the post and/or housing.
Kauffmann discloses in which a heater is provided for warming the post and/or housing (figure 1B item 113 a heater as disclosed in paragraph [0039] installed in the charging container).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Hayashi reference with the charging system of the Kauffmann reference to prevent moisture in the containment.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the reference in Kaufmann reference in paragraph [0039] wherein preventing moisture within the containment is taught.
Kaufmann figure 1B shows a heater item 113 within the charging containment
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the claim limitation pertains to a cover plate moves with the post to close off the opening in the housing when the charger is deployed. The prior art does not explicitly teach or suggest this cover plate, thus it is objected to as it depends on rejected claim 1.
Regarding claims 9-15, the claims are dependent upon claim 8 and support the limitations disclosed in claim 8, thus is objected to due to the reasons disclosed above.
Conclusion
Us 20110095724 A1 Docking Station Byrne; Norman R.
Us 8951054 B2 Retractable Power Tap Byrne; Norman R. Et Al.
Us 20200144831 A1 1 Protective Arrangement System Choi S Et Al.
Us 20200144831 A1 1 Electrical Vehicle Charging System Choi; Sangeun Et Al.
Us 20210086601 A1 1 Linear Positioning System Choi; Sangeun Et Al.
Us 20160332525 A1 1 Electric Charging Device Kufner; Annika Carolin Et Al.
Us 5821731 A 1 Connection System Kuki; Heiji Et Al.
Us 20110077809 A1 1 Charging Electric Vehicles Leary; Kevin Walter
Us 8165643 B2 1 Charging Cradle Lin; Chu-Keng
Us 20180015836 A1 1 Connecting AVehicle To A Power Source Madon; Bezan Phiroz
Us 20130249470 A1 1 Vehicle Charge System Martin; Douglas Raymond Et Al.
Us 10978843 B2 1 Electric Conduction Apparatus Okazaki; Yuya Et Al.
Us 11479135 B2 1 Charging Station Price; Marcus Et Al.
Us 20220126718 A1 Autonomously Charging An Electric Vehicle Zhao; Xiang Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859